Prediction Changes vs. Brisbane

Neade is a good in. Don't be surprised when he finds himself further up the ground, half forward / wing...

When people think of the good that neade has done in the afl what is it, the hit on Martin, the getting back and breaking the lines delivering the ball against freo in the final, busting through on the outer side v Richmond taking a few bounces v Richmond.. winning the one on one head to head battle v glass I think it was on the outer side of footy park. Those lace out passes to Wingard.... what did they all have in common.... he was further up the ground...on the wing..

The problem was we tried to make him into solely a small forward and he wasn't really suited to it.

He has played better footy for the maggies as he has been further up the ground the last few weeks. Its where he can use his natural attacking creative flair while also putting immense pressure on the opponents around the forward / middle of the ground.

People will be surprised tomorrow...

I actually like Jake Neade's inclusion.

Two main reasons; one of the biggest negatives often stated is his inability to get decent possession numbers - this year and especially the last two weeks he's worked towards fixing that with 20 touches or so.

Also his defensive pressure is massively underrated on here - 20 tackles over the past 2 weeks. The way in which Essendon easily transitioned from half back to a good entry inside 50 was one of the main things that killed us last week. We actually equalled them in clearances, but their outside play and running killed us. Neade is a perfect inclusion to help with this, and has been named in the best the past 2 weeks, and has clearly worked on his deficiencies. His selection is not the outrage made out on here, and if his for, continues to build he will make us a better team.

When has Jake Neade ever had a problem performing at junior/state level? It's what saw him drafted in the first place and rack up 51 games over 5 years at AFL level. 20 tackles against the Panthers and West? Yawn.

Consistently performing and holding his place in the senior side is what his critics have an issue with. What makes this time different? What evidence is there that he won't have the same deficiencies at the highest level?

When our forward line already contains Impey, Sam Gray and a half-rat Robbie Gray as smalls?

It's just more of the same, like the bizarre Toumpas story of the past fortnight.

He's not up to it, but he'll perform ok against the worst team in the league, hold his spot and then go MIA at the MCG the week after.

Then we'll drop him for, I don't know, Monfries(?) and we'll all marvel at how much we missed the veteran's guile, smarts and clutch gene.

I've seen some poor players win premierships, the above all seem to have specific roles. To me the problem is we probably only have room for one of them in the side, not all 3

I can't see it ever working with all three tbh, feels likes it's trying to resolve specific 'now' issues with defence....

The ability to push up into the midfield and not get lost.
Hartlett offers that?

Besides if we dropped Hartlett (or Pittard) and didn't bring in Houston

We would still have 2 of Pittard/Broadbent/Hartlett to push up higher.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

The Neade selection is textbook self preservation. We know he has a low ceiling at AFL level but we pick him because we know that he at least has the experience and capabilities to not completely stink it up.

And there are a few players in the team at the moment who broadly fit that description.

Rather than taking the punt on Atley or Drew or Howard or Palmer who could be anything or nothing, we pick the known quantities, accepting all of their flaws and limitations because we at least know they can be OK AFL players. By choosing not to actually find out and assess the full extent of what we have on our playing list, we limit the potential for improvement. It's the highway to mediocrity.

Neades biggest issue for me is that he doesn't find enough of it. I'm not 100% convinced that is something that is unfixable. So If he starts finding the ball 20 times a game, with his elusiveness, composure, goal sense and ball use (when he's firing) he could still be a quality AFL player. Neades best has been outstanding at times, we just need to see if he can produce that regularly. No harm in giving it a shot while Johnson isn't ready and the only other quick option we have is White.

I just don't know why so many are so keen just to write him off. He may not learn to find more of the footy, but right now he's in his critical years and he is in form, so let's see if he can deliver and if not let's make the cut.

Neades biggest issue for me is that he doesn't find enough of it. I'm not 100% convinced that is something that is unfixable. So If he starts finding the ball 20 times a game, with his elusiveness, composure, goal sense and ball use (when he's firing) he could still be a quality AFL player. Neades best has been outstanding at times, we just need to see if he can produce that regularly. No harm in giving it a shot while Johnson isn't ready and the only other quick option we have is White.

I just don't know why so many are so keen just to write him off. He may not learn to find more of the footy, but right now he's in his critical years and he is in form, so let's see if he can deliver and if not let's make the cut.

I think the issue is that most people consider him to be a limited player with a low ceiling. At 171cm, he's the equal second shortest player in the AFL (only Caleb Daniel is shorter). Unless you are an outstanding prospect - which given it is his 5th year in the system and he has taken until round 13 to get a game, he clearly isn't - a player of that size is always going to be up against it.

It's actually cruel to neade by selecting him. Giving him hope that he has a future with us or even any club. We should be cruel to be kind by letting him and his manager know that he is done with us and allowing him to set up his life financially and to seek a future within the afl or out side so he does not fall into a hole after footy

While I'm not a huge fan of the ins I'm definitely of the opinion that once they are selected we back them in.
We saw last year what Young is capable of - hopefully he'll start to perform.
Houston showed heaps early on and was probably unlucky to be dropped.
Neade (who this week has assumed "whipping boy" status from Toumpas) has earnt a recall, like Toumpas this might be his last shot.

The Neade selection is textbook self preservation. We know he has a low ceiling at AFL level but we pick him because we know that he at least has the experience and capabilities to not completely stink it up.

I'd argue that he's stunk it up plenty.

50 AFL games on career averages of 11 touches, 2 marks, 1 goal and 3.5 tackles. No improvement of note in that time, with his averages pretty consistent throughout his years on the list. If 50 games at AFL level isn't enough of a sample size to have moved Neade on, then god help us. Despite playing most of his career in a far better side, he's barely a statistical or talent improvement on Cameron Hitchcock, he just has more durable hammies.

That said, I could handle his inclusion as outside pace if the team balance was a bit different, and if it wasn't the most obvious opportunity to bring in a developing tall forward in the history of AFL/VFL selection nights.

I think the issue is that most people consider him to be a limited player with a low ceiling. At 171cm, he's the equal second shortest player in the AFL (only Caleb Daniel is shorter). Unless you are an outstanding prospect - which given it is his 5th year in the system and he has taken until round 13 to get a game, he clearly isn't - a player of that size is always going to be up against it.
Yep that's where I differ, I don't believe his size is relevant. He's pushed off big bodies, he is an outstanding tackler and can take down anyone, and he has shown an ability to be super strong in tackles and escape them. So for mine, all of the concern about his height is irrelevant. However I agree I think a lot are predjudiced against him purely based on height before they even consider any other attributes he brings to the table.

For the record I agree that he may still have a low ceiling, and may not make it, but I don't see the point in writing him off based on the fact that we have seen some glimpses of him that have been very good. So I don't see the harm in giving him a crack while in form.

Yep that's where I differ, I don't believe his size is relevant. He's pushed off big bodies, he is an outstanding tackler and can take down anyone, and he has shown an ability to be super strong in tackles and escape them. So for mine, all of the concern about his height is irrelevant. However I agree I think a lot are predjudiced against him purely based on height before they even consider any other attributes he brings to the table.

For the record I agree that he may still have a low ceiling, and may not make it, but I don't see the point in writing him off based on the fact that we have seen some glimpses of him that have been very good. So I don't see the harm in giving him a crack while in form.

I think people have a prejudice against him because he doesn't get the ball and he doesn't kick goals and his reward is playing AFL football this week.

He is in the team as a pressure player whatever that definition is. He certainly covers a lot of ground but I would be interested how many of his tackles have a consistent impact and provide us with a turnover.

Certainly I admit his last two weeks at SANFL level have been better than average. But I think it sends a poor message to some other players at the Magpies who have done more for a longer period of time and are not getting a look in.

And there are a few players in the team at the moment who broadly fit that description.

Rather than taking the punt on Atley or Drew or Howard or Palmer who could be anything or nothing, we pick the known quantities, accepting all of their flaws and limitations because we at least know they can be OK AFL players. By choosing not to actually find out and assess the full extent of what we have on our playing list, we limit the potential for improvement. It's the highway to mediocrity.
That's cause Hinkley is scared of losing his job.

I think people have a prejudice against him because he doesn't get the ball and he doesn't kick goals and his reward is playing AFL football this week.

He is in the team as a pressure player whatever that definition is. He certainly covers a lot of ground but I would be interested how many of his tackles have a consistent impact and provide us with a turnover.

Certainly I admit his last two weeks at SANFL level have been better than average. But I think it sends a poor message to some other players at the Magpies who have done more for a longer period of time and are not getting a look in.
Yep we know damn well even if Gus was fit & available he would've got in on the Westy annihilation & still would've been overlooked for Neade despite having a crazy consistent year trying to force his way back into the league side.

So frustrating knowing we could do with player of his ability that can not only keep a gun half back quiet but actually convert his opportunities unlike Spray, Impey & Young.

It's easy to talk about prejudices based on lack of height but what about age Ken?

When has Jake Neade ever had a problem performing at junior/state level? It's what saw him drafted in the first place and rack up 51 games over 5 years at AFL level. 20 tackles against the Panthers and West? Yawn.

Consistently performing and holding his place in the senior side is what his critics have an issue with. What makes this time different? What evidence is there that he won't have the same deficiencies at the highest level?

When our forward line already contains Impey, Sam Gray and a half-rat Robbie Gray as smalls?

It's just more of the same, like the bizarre Toumpas story of the past fortnight.

He's not up to it, but he'll perform ok against the worst team in the league, hold his spot and then go MIA at the MCG the week after.

Then we'll drop him for, I don't know, Monfries(?) and we'll all marvel at how much we missed the veteran's guile, smarts and clutch gene.
Imo Ken has a problem identifying players that belong at AFL level or SANFL level. Players like S Gray, Ah Chee, Young and a few others will always be good SANFL players but very average AFL players. I believe some players are just cut out to play AFL, we have a few at the Magpies atm.

Suck a big one all you Neade Haters.

You’ve heard it here first.

Jake Neade WILL be a premiership player!

Walk's away hoping that at the very least the Maggies will win the $NAFL premiership!

Not sure why people are melting so much over Howard as it's pretty clear he is being managed through his knee injury.

I'd have loved to see Atley or Drew come in, but hopefully Neade and Young coming in means we will see more of Robbie Gray and Boak in the centre square.

Houston for Pittard is just brilliant all round. Hartlett probably should have been dropped as well, but you can't have everything!
Bassett's our defensive coach. Do you want him sacked too?
Actually I think most of our improvement this year has come from Bassett?
Whilst having Ryder back has helped the midfield our F50 entries still aren't great (actially v poor but didn't want to say suck)
our selections are still crazy
But apart from the Bombers our defensive field positioning and tackling ( Bassett) have greatly improved and even the D50 kick outs ( Bassett?)

I know I am repeating the mantra but it is becoming deafening : Another Tall up front, Tenners back to CHB ,Boak back in the guts etc etc

Hi! Guys, one from the left fields, our coaches are holding back some of our "secret weapons" / talls / newbies for later to surprise & so oppositon wont work us out!! For now we just need to make the 8 (top 4 is still a real chance).

maxresdefault.jpg

"He's actually been pretty close to probably the best player I would have thought throughout the SANFL season. I reckon if you stopped it now and had a look, you'd say Jake, if it was a best and fairest count, he'd be right at the top of it, I think. He's (played) pretty consistent footy. What I've liked the most is his pressure - it's been right back to an elite level over the last four to five weeks. He averages up around 9 to 10 tackles a game, and that's what we need in our side. We play our best footy when we defend really hard and aggressively together. Jake will help us do that."

"It's an interesting one with Dougal, because we did send him back for quite a period early when he was coming back through the SANFL - we played a lot of centre half back, full back type positions, so we were very careful about giving him the opportunity to play just a little more straighter line football. And now we've made the decision two weeks ago to push him back to where we think his future looks and we want, and that is to play a little bit more in the forward line, and last week was a great step forward for Doogs and he's progressed really...he's clearly nearly ready."

"It's just a consistency - he hasn't played much forward line footy. It's a team balance thing for us - do we have three talls in our front half? Does Jacko go back? We are going to trust what we've done over the whole of preseason and the first eleven weeks of the year."