Off the team training on snapchat i could make out:

Moore in white
Sam gray in white (party central)
Jacko black
O'shea white
Mitchell white
Stewart black
Ah chee unsighted maybe the in for this week?

Edit i think thats ah chee tackling gray bcause of the knee strapping party central x2

Edit edit is that ebert or stewart in the distance between moore and gray?

Looks like gray and clurey out trengove ah chee in

View attachment 144448

Ah chee has a big left fore arm tattoo dude. He is also not that white lol. That is Reddo.... Reddo in black? Wtf....

Yeah the brightness on my phone was down. Another pic has him in white on the left maybe someone else is using his guernsey or ken has decided to dump lobbe which would be a bit surprising given he (redden) didn't have the best performance according to hocking in the sanfl this past week

image.jpg

If Harvey's not going to come in I would bring in Butcher, tell him to play loose between half back and centre and run at the goals. He seems more comfortable with that than with his back to goals coming out. And surely he would be a better target for the hurried kick out of defence than Sam Gray.

Westhoff can then actually play as a set tall forward.

Won't happen I know but it's something a bit different.

Butcher certainly played better against West and looks to be doing what few expected of him, having a chance of forcing his way back into this team. Unfortunately the most likely time that he could have done this is now while Ryder is out. And he has just not had the sustained form to warrant a call up. Although I would say if Ken has been prepared to play Sam Gray, which basically leaves us with 17 men on the ground, then playing Butcher can be no worse. In fact Butcher would draw a Carlton player all the time and could be a goalscorer, something we couldn't get from Sam Gray. He also takes an extra defender away from Schulz and Schulz has been a barometer. Whenever he scores 4 or 5 we win; we only have one win when he has scored less than 4.

Yeah nah, that's a very long bow.

Boak - 7 clangers (38% of his disposals)
Gray - 7 clangers (26% of his disposals)
Wines - 6 clangers (25% of his disposals)

Colquhoun - 4 clangers (20% of his disposals)

Whats next, the fringe players are stuffing up which causes the best players to work harder and then they stuff up too? How do we know its not the better players stuffing up causing the fringe players to stuff up?

Specious reasoning at best.

Specious reasoning is you trying to compare three guys who are working hard in the midfield where it is most congested and mistakes are therefore expected vs a player who only has to beat his direct opponent and has the time to deliver a pass, all in an attempt to sound erudite.

Yeah the brightness on my phone was down. Another pic has him in white on the left maybe someone else is using his guernsey or ken has decided to dump lobbe which would be a bit surprising given he (redden) didn't have the best performance according to hocking in the sanfl this past week

View attachment 144493

Interesting that you've taken this photo from the balcony of the Alan Scott facility, where access requires security clearance.....

Was off the club snapchat :)

Krakouer has to come in. As I posted on the Krak thread he is worth a go up forward particularly as Impey seems to the one being groomed as the link man in defence and we have Colquhoun as well. I hope Krakouer is not another player pigeon holed into a position. Apparently Krakouer has some fitness issues but that may not be as noticeable up forward. Not sure why Krak would struggle to see out a game as he has been back at Alberton for two years under Hocking and had a full pre season. He must have been way out of condition at the end of 2013.

As for Butcher, apparently he played in defence against West Adelaide and from all reports did quite well.
I am for leaving him in defence in the SANFL for a couple of weeks to see how he does. If he responds to the straight ahead defensive role he may be worth a twelve month contract extension. If not his time with us is up as I have given up on his ability to play as an AFL forward.

Krakouer for Sam Gray.
Moore for Paul Stewart.

I do like the idea if Pittard to the wing and Krakouer HBF

Pittard can replace the lost dash of White and Polec.

And Krakouer with those low, bullet like kicks into the corridor moving out of defence might be the tonic we need.

Do emergencies train in black?

I think people are reading something into the colour of the guernseys that doesnt exist.

Every time i've gone to a training session they regularly change guernseys depending on the drill.

And Krakouer with those low, bullet like kicks into the corridor moving out of defence might be the tonic we need.

Imagine if Yoey could actually get the ball, him, White, Pittard and Polec would be unstoppable. #bringbacktheflynn

I watched about 10 mins of the footy show last night ( that is about all I can take of that show since it became a circle jerk some years back ) and Stevie J made some interesting comments re how geebung beat the Power.
They were along the lines of watching how other teams beat us, ie blocking the centre corridor and pushing us wide.

Those tactic have been obvious in most ( if not all ) of our losses, but f*** me, if it is that easy to unravell the current gameplan then quite simply something has to be changed, or this season will go as far around the S bend as those of circa 2008 - 12.

I like the idea of getting some much needed run back into the midfield with Pittard, but I am not that confident the curent selection policies are proactive enough for that to happen.

Watching the highlights of Port Vs Cartlon last year we didn't go middle that often, in the first half of highlights it's fast down the wings but the big difference was the willingness to put it out infront of our team mate, not hit them up necessarily but just kick to their advantage and trust they'd win the ball. We aren't doing that this year, we stop and wait and get caught out.

Back on to changes and I'm all prepared to be shitty at what I think will be at best 2 changes to a team that deserves more, one can't help but feel the coaches think we were just beaten by a better side so no wholesale changes necessary.

Watching the highlights of Port Vs Cartlon last year we didn't go middle that often, in the first half of highlights it's fast down the wings but the big difference was the willingness to put it out infront of our team mate, not hit them up necessarily but just kick to their advantage and trust they'd win the ball. We aren't doing that this year, we stop and wait and get caught out.

Back on to changes and I'm all prepared to be shitty at what I think will be at best 2 changes to a team that deserves more, one can't help but feel the coaches think we were just beaten by a better side so no wholesale changes necessary.
So most sides this year have been better sides :( I am actually sick of Ken and Kochie congratulating the oppo teams after our losses. Don't see oppo coaches doing that to us. We have become so nice that we are almost pitiful.

It's pointless attempt to not upset anyone in an attempt to keep rival fans onside and supporting Port as a 2nd team. It's pointless at best.

I better ****ing see S Gray OUT OF THIS TEAM. I don't actually care who comes in but this hobbit needs to bugger off! we can't go into any game one man less than the oppo. and that's what S Gray provides.

Oh and Ken if you don't bring in Krak this week, consider whether coaching is your strong point, because it is so OBVIOUS to everyone else that Krak needs to be in the team and S Gray does not!

Also tell Jonas this week he has no excuses, if he doesn't win one out on whoever he's playing then he needs to be dropped and threatened with a trade because he has been utterly PATHETIC this year.

And Hartlett, my God the best thing he's done all year was his rendition of 'NTUA' at players uncut last night (even that he stuffed up the words). STOP worrying about media bullshit, and instagram and self-image and start worrying about the team and what the team needs from you. You talent is unquestionable, but your execution is up shit creek at the moment. Cumon Hammer, you fire-we fire!!

Specious reasoning is you trying to compare three guys who are working hard in the midfield where it is most congested and mistakes are therefore expected vs a player who only has to beat his direct opponent and has the time to deliver a pass, all in an attempt to sound erudite.
Your argument is essentially:

"Young fringe players have no excuse to turn the ball over because they're not working as hard because the senior players are working harder because the young players are turning it over" - a long bow to put it lightly. Then, when presented with pretty simple facts that dispute this, your argument has turned into:

"The senior players are also working harder and are turning the ball over because they have different roles"

Why are you excusing leaders and experienced players and being savage and ruthless on the role players/kids?

Those three guys are senior (and young) players. One of them spat the chewey after getting beat all day. One gave away two goals through poor errors. One failed in his role to stop their direct opponent - albeit that was due to physical limitations.

And yet here we are, debating whether or not a loss is the fault of a kid coming in for his first game who played quite admirably - or a bunch of under performing senior players.

As an aside - those players are under performing not because of the last three guys picked causing errors, but because the game plan they're being asked to play has been fundamentally found out, thus, the game plan failing has destroyed their confidence and they are mentally shot. Port don't have an ability to change the game plan due to fundamental structural and list issues which have not been accounted for. Namely, a decent key position forward, a decent around the ground ruckman and more pace in the midfield.