Changes vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

I saw on the melbourne fc app today that mckenzie is a chance to play this week.
Would you play him off the bench or straight into the game?

Get him straight in there. He gives us a bit of leadership and a bit of grunt around the packs.

No Brogan for GWS. Leaves them with Giles and... younger rucks? Gawn could well get his chance.

Be good to see that, why they are persisting with Jamar on his own when we have Gawn and Spencer who could at least be on the bench or subs. We need to have a second ruckman because when Jamar is good, he's great when he's bad, he's 186

First off, I agree - get Gawny in. He's an ugly prick, but my god he's beautiful! :p

Next up is something I read on the dee's site in the mckenzie article. Gillies is right to come back this week and looks like he'll be in the side. Now Alot of you guys are banging on about Pedobear, I'm not so quick to agree. I'd much rather see Cam in the team rather than the Gillies spud.

Backman Tom Gillies missed last round with a groin injury, but is likely to play.

“He’s pulled up pretty well and he’ll be a test on Thursday and Saturday, but again, we expect him to play,” Misson said.

In the first round, Gillies played Full Back. Apart from Sammy Blease (who was subbed), Gillies was the only other player to not register a tackle. His stats for that game were: 9 Disp, 6 kicks, 3 handballs, 4 marks. He also gave up 1 free kick.

In the second round, Gillies again forgot to tackle and came up with donuts. Starting off the back pocket, his final stats read: 7 disp, 3 Kicks, 4 handballs, 1 mark. He also gave away 2 free kicks.

We've seen Cam play 1 game. In that game he played out of the forward pocket, and in a game where we were behind all day and let's face it - got drilled, his stats read: 1 goal, 10 disp, 5 kicks, 5 handballs, 4 marks, 3 tackles. He gave away 2 free kicks, however he also scored one, and had 4 inside 50's.

For playing one game where we got smashed, Cam did alright. Gillies on the other hand, has proven up until now that he's a complete spud.

Yep cam over gillies for sure... Spend a few weeks in the VFL gillies and when he has had a few games with at least 5 tackles per game, then let him look at coming back into the side

It looks like Giles and o`hAilpin - theres a definite dropoff in quality there.
I disagree. I reckon, o’hAilpin can do a better job than Brogs. He just never had a chance to prove it last year as he re-injured himself in his first outing for GWS. Watch this space.

I was about to say I was worried Gillies would be straight back in after injury. My dying belief in the coaches would wither a little more if true.
Speaking of over abundant talls,
The list manager said such clubs would be further disadvantaged if Melbourne was awarded another priority pick and used it – as he expected it would – to select another elite young tall such as Victorian key forward Tom Boyd.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-04-11/rival-clubs-opposed-to-possible-demon-priority-pick
I know it's from an outsider but WTFTHX?

Or was that in Neeldy's PowerPoint?
"if we have 6 tall backmen, and 6 tall forwards, and bomb it long and high, no one else will be able to reach the ball!!!
So that explains Dunn's strategy when clearing the ball out of the goal sqaure? And why it constantly fails, because we don't have tall mids!

I disagree. I reckon, o’hAilpin can do a better job than Brogs. He just never had a chance to prove it last year as he re-injured himself in his first outing for GWS. Watch this space.

I dont have a high opinion of Brogan ... at this stage of his career, he's a very immobile, vaguely adequate tap ruckman.

Im more talking about the dropoff in quality between Giles and o'hAilpin.

Maybe it's because it's the end of the day and I'm a bit brain dead (or maybe I just generally brain dead :)) but what do mean by this?

Giles is an AFL-quality ruckman. o'Hailpin is a big bloke we're throwing into the ruck.

It wouldnt surprise me if Melbourne got some good ball supply out of the midfield when Giles is resting.

Giles is an AFL-quality ruckman. o'Hailpin is a big bloke we're throwing into the ruck.

It wouldnt surprise me if Melbourne got some good ball supply out of the midfield when Giles is resting.
You reckon that wouldn't happen if Brogan was in rather than o'hailpin?

Giles is a great ruck man. Would beat Jamar easily. Good challenge for Gawn.

If Gillies plays it will be a big mistake by the FD. Even we can see that he clearly isn't AFL standard and he's given us nothing in the first two rounds. Plus with Frawley, McDonald and Garland already down there having him in the side means we are far too top heavy.

Maaaaaan. I just watched the first half vs WCE. What's everyone sooking about? We were great!*

*I haven't seen the second half

It's at least good to see big Max getting some recognition for his fine form. Not sure if he'll get the nod but at least he is in contention, something most of us have been asking for this week!

Max in, we will start to get some footy from the middle, jamar stays to support the kid which will also help jamar confidence. Gillies should never be mentioned again, cats went with rivers, what does that say ?

Toumpas is struggling no doubt, out for blease, no brainer, Kent for Byrnes, another no brainer if Kent body right to go.

Stellar is no good, crows top draft pick like meeson, crows would be laughing at us like cats, I can't have Dunn, he rates himself for kicking a goal outside 50 and has the audacity to sledge opposition when the only touches he gets Is when he picks up the spare ball after a oppo point.

Tapscott is becoming a worry for a bloke said to be fearless, any chance he can find the pill over 4 quarters or put some oppo players on their backsides.

While he is a tad slow we need magner in 22 at the moment as he wins his own ball, Jonesy would love another in and under

Happy to see Evans in the side, hope the kid can play rest of year with his skills and run.

Mckenzie and Joel Macdonald given they have a fair dinkum crack