conodie05

Apr 8, 2008
Crib Point
Blackburn Rovers
Just thought I would start a thread for people to share their reasons behind changing teams you support. Whether it be because a team gained an AFL licence in your area, your old team folded or whether you jumped on a bandwagon.

I changed teams when I was 11. I barracked for Fitzroy (thanks to my mother) before switching to the Pies. Reason being my Grade 6 teacher was a former Collingwood trainer, and my dad's friend was the chief statistician for the Pies. As a result I managed to get into the rooms after a couple of games and was in awe. Conveniently it was 1989 so I didn't have to wait very long for a premiership (unlike most Pies supporters!).

Doesn't make my desperation to see another one any less than anyone else though!

Feel free to share your stories. You won't be judged. Not by me anyway. :D

I really don't know a single person who has changed teams. Not over the age of 10 anyway.

I suppose if your team merged or went out of existance you would have too but I can't imagine finding that passion for another team.

Yep, changing teams to jump on a bandwagon is totally fine :confused:.

I'm amazed at how many blokes (with just a fleeting interest in footy, but still...) get married and then switch to their wife's team!!! I remember watching the 1995 AFL grand final and my next door neighbour (Carlton supporter) giving me hell the whole way through. A decade later, he gets married...now he's a Collingwood supporter. Seriously...

Here are the acceptable reasons to change allegiances:

1. You're from a footy state/city, which didn't have a team when you started following footy, so you just picked a random team. Your state/city gets an AFL licence, you're well within your rights to switch. This will be a big one for Tassie supporters over the next ten years.

2. Your club goes out of existence/merges/relocates. I know Fitzroy supporters who followed them to Brisbane, others who picked another Melbourne-based club to support and more who just stopped caring about the AFL altogether. It's up to you in that situation.

3. You get drafted by a different AFL club to the one you supported.

4. You have an immediate family member who plays for an AFL club.

I reckon it would be hard moving to another state from Victoria, you'd maybe want to change teams then, so you're not bashed by locals, and so you can go to more than 2 games a year.

I'm amazed at how many blokes (with just a fleeting interest in footy, but still...) get married and then switch to their wife's team!!! I remember watching the 1995 AFL grand final and my next door neighbour (Carlton supporter) giving me hell the whole way through. A decade later, he gets married...now he's a Collingwood supporter. Seriously...

1. You're from a footy state/city, which didn't have a team when you started following footy, so you just picked a random team. Your state/city gets an AFL licence, you're well within your rights to switch. This will be a big one for Tassie supporters over the next ten years.

2. Your club goes out of existence/merges/relocates. I know Fitzroy supporters who followed them to Brisbane, others who picked another Melbourne-based club to support and more who just stopped caring about the AFL altogether. It's up to you in that situation.

You've pretty much covered it, but i'd also add that you can change if your age is in single figures.

As far as the partner thing goes, I think you base it on how keen you/they are.

In the example you use, not on, but i've changed two of the girls i've been out with into Geelong supporters simply because they got more into the game from going out with me. They have remained Geelong supporters too, even though it's been years since I went out with them.

I went out with a girl for a while who was a very keen Essendon supporter and I didn't even attempt to change her over.

I reckon it would be hard moving to another state from Victoria, you'd maybe want to change teams then, so you're not bashed by locals, and so you can go to more than 2 games a year.

If I moved interstate there is no way i'd change.

But then, I would never move interstate for the sole reason I need to be able to watch the Cats in person as much as possible (ie every week :D)

My girlfriend was actually looking at jobs interstate, and when we were disucussing if we should move, one of the issues brought up was football. I love the MCG too much.

Reason number 1 above.

Was a die hard Bomber fan in the 80's, mostly as a result of Weston and Copping going there from Glenelg, my local team. Loved the 84 and 85 grand finals, hated 1990.

Adelaide came in in 1991, and I was a foundation member, have been since. Held a soft spot for the bombers for a long time (even enjoyed 1993), was always my second team up to about 2005. Jimmy Hird one of my all time favourite players. No Sheedy, no Hird, no interest any more, and lost last respect for them when they tanked to St Kilda last round in 2008 to lose by over 100 points.

if/when you do move interstate usually all it does is make more desperate to cling to your home town team, because you stand out, you rebel against the local order and you seem less like sheep, well thats the case in brisbane anyway(soft footy supporters up here).

Its also funner when your'e in the minority in the crowd.
Lord knows I've done a fair bit of sh!t stirring at the GABBA;)

Grew up in Albury, wasnt really interested in footy. My best mate in kindergarten went for St Kilda so I decided to follow them. Then, Plugger moves to Sydney, turns out my mate is a bigger fan of Plugger than he is St Kilda so he switches. For some reason, I dont like the idea of switching as well and following Sydney and I also dont like the idea of staying on with the Saints without my best mate.

So I decided to pick a new team. I remember it was a close toss-up between Melbourne and North Melbourne. Pretty sure I was swayed by the great man in 18.

Thank christ for that. Almost ended up a St Kilda, Sydney or Melbourne supporter. Was a close-run thing.

Supporting a new team is weak, if your team sucks then just have a second team or other teams you like, but dont switch.

Living in Perth I supported geelong from around 91, in 92 and 94 i was shamed, 95 was bad also, then we were robbed in 97 against adelaide, those were some dark days

I threw a Big Mac at a girl who told me she changed to Essendon. She used to go for Carlton. Was pretty blind, and Essendon had beaten Carlton the week before.

Said she was tired of waiting for them to come good.

So she changed to Essendon like 2 years ago. Yep, she aint that sharp.

if/when you do move interstate usually all it does is make more desperate to cling to your home town team, because you stand out, you rebel against the local order and you seem less like sheep, well thats the case in brisbane anyway(soft footy supporters up here).

Its also funner when your'e in the minority in the crowd.
Lord knows I've done a fair bit of sh!t stirring at the GABBA;)

I moved to GC at the start of 08 (shit year to move) and the amount of Collingwood supporters is just unreal. I do a bit of repping up north at the Collingwood love stretches from robina to the sunny coast.

I've met more pies than lions and suns combined

Always supported Port Adelaide as my number 1 team from when I was about 5 years old. As for VFL/AFL, went through stages of barracking for Collingwood, Adelaide and Richmond before Port moved to the AFL.

I will always have a soft spot for Geelong for personal reasons, and that has always been the case, even in their dark years. But Adelaide are like my 2nd love in life, behind my immediate family of course.

I am a closet Fremantle fan.

When i was younger i didnt mind the eagles, however on the schoolyard i suddenly developed a pathological hatred for them, Untill Fremantle came in Hawthorn was the only team for me.

Go to games, support them pretty well. However i have never been able to enjoy watching fremantle as much as hawthorn

I really don't know a single person who has changed teams. Not over the age of 10 anyway.

I suppose if your team merged or went out of existance you would have too but I can't imagine finding that passion for another team.
agree. I'd only change if Freo went out. I wouldnt change if they merged even with eagles (shivers......) I couldnt go on not supporting another team if Freo folded. But i agree mostly with the second bit, I just couldnt find the passion for any other team apart from Freo. it is different if You are under 12 or 13 though.

On another note if Freo folded. I would go for Richmond, Geelong or Collingwood (only cos everyone in my family supports the wobbles .:eek:) :D

Moved here from Sydney in 97 but stuck with the boys even though there is naff all coverage outside of finals time or Foxtel. Can't imagine doing otherwise. The kids can choose for themselves though, it seems only fair.

I only changed when I did because I was old enough to make my own choices. :D

I think my hatred of Fitzbane Bearlions stems more from the fact that Fitzroy went out of existence than the whole 02/03 runners up thing.

Yeah who am I kidding?

So 10 years old was an acceptable age to switch?

Changing teams you support