Roast Channel 7 do it again

The AFL said in a statement in the Herald Sun that they have instructed Channel 7 that tonights game can be shown live, but that the final decision is totally up to Channel 7.

Surely the AFL have to put a clause in the next TV rights, where if they want a game shown live (or if one is soldout), then the TV network has to show that game live.

We are living in the past, ask the Yanks or Poms what "delayed sport" on TV is, and they'll probably say a game that starts late for weather reasons.:eek:

I'm getting the impression from all the news coverage of the talks that the AFL is backing down somewhat on demanding live TV for the next rights.

Foxtel showing live coverage is an improvement, but it's far less than what viewers want. Foxtel only has a 30% penetration rate in Australia, half of which probably don't even like AFL.

So the bulk of people who watch footy via FTA might miss out again.

I'm getting the impression from all the news coverage of the talks that the AFL is backing down somewhat on demanding live TV for the next rights.

Foxtel showing live coverage is an improvement, but it's far less than what viewers want. Foxtel only has a 30% penetration rate in Australia, half of which probably don't even like AFL.

So the bulk of people who watch footy via FTA might miss out again.

AFL Would Not Care at All about if the Networks have Live Footy as long they get as much money as possible:rolleyes:

Here i go bitching and whining on a public forum.. why??

BECAUSE I LIVE IN BRISBANE AND ALL I WANNA DO IS WATCH THE ****EN FOOTBALL ON A FRIDAY NIGHT!

But noooo. Channel 7 televise the NAB cup GF at 1.00am Sat morning... Thats right.. A 6.5 hour delay...

I wish my partner would let me get foxtel....

LOL

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Given that we have two new teams coming in that the AFL will be bank rolling for at least the next decade I think you're right TD. Its sad, but I reckon the AFL will compromise to ensure they have the dosh to cover the financial blackhole that GWS will be for at least the first decade.

Just means we get shafted up in QLD...sigh...

BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS 7.30pm FRIDAY ???????

What is channel 7 thinking of if at all by putting Collingwood Carlton on a 50 minute delay by having Better Homes and Gardens at 7.30pm and the football at 8.30pm .

Surely there is enough Collingwood Carlton supporters to suggest that the advertising revenue would be greater with a live telecast .

Channel 7 the Collingwood Carlton game starts in Melbourne at 7.40pm just in case you have your times mixed up .

Surely there must be a live telecast .

Re: BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS 7.30pm FRIDAY ???????

Don't see why they can't adjust it so it's only a 20 minute delay.

7 are just ridiculous, and the AFL needs to step in here and find a way for 9 to get it at the negotiations.

7 has friday night footy on delay, why does this still shock everyone, they even came out before round 1 and said it would stay on delay.

Want to watch it live go to the game, can't make it but want to stay up to date listen to any of the four broadcasters on the radio, otherwise wait for the delayed telecast.

7 has friday night footy on delay, why does this still shock everyone, they even came out before round 1 and said it would stay on delay.

Want to watch it live go to the game, can't make it but want to stay up to date listen to any of the four broadcasters on the radio, otherwise wait for the delayed telecast.

Yep, people have to realise that it's simply not viable for a network to show the football live on Friday nights.

If you want live night football, support the idea of Monday and Thursday nights. Both would rate a lot better relative to crappy lifestyle programs.

Not saying it's me, but not everyone can afford to go the footy and there a lot of families who want their kids to see footy. I assume some families don't want their kids up until 11:30.

Why can't they put the footy on live and put Better Homes and Gardens on 7TWO? Is that so hard, Seven?
It is time Channel Seven paid for it's terrible coverage of AFL sport, with a ratings drop.

I, and everyone I know has already boycotted all but 2-3 shows a week (hey, if you've been watching a show for 5 years, you ain't gonna stop), and especially stopped watching their Seven O'Clock news, which is the reason their Sunday coverage is so bad.

As for Friday Night this week, the AFL has to step in, it's a special night for Pies fans, and it should be live, whether on "normal" channel 7 or TWO or 7Mate.

It's time the AFL grew some balls and demanded live TV in it's next TV rights agreement, although I know that's about as likely as Eugene Arocca facing up to his errors while at Collingwood.;)

Having to wait until 11.55 (advertised time) and then watch 20 minutes of exactly the same National News (read Sydney gossip) which aired at 6.pm, then 15 minutes of local news (read tide reports for the South Coast) and then eventually get the game on at 12.30am, 5 minutes into the first quarter with the scores at 2 goals all, followed by 12 ads then come back to the score at 3 goals to 5, then 12 ads then back for the quarter time chit chat gets a bit ****en annoying though when you're out of Victoria.:(

That's the exact sort of shit we put up with in Canberra.
Or the EPG telling you the game starts at 3.00pm Sunday only to turn on and find it started at 2.00pm like yesterday.

If I ran the country TV exec would be open targets no different than Oil company execs.
Put em in the ground.

Roast Channel 7 do it again