Chris Hyde?

Stevens is Grouse

Oct 24, 2004
Carlton Football Club
Looking over Richmond's starting 22 thread I noticed only about half of use had Hyde in the starting 22. I thought he had a reasonable year and showed enough to say that he will/should play 20 games next year. I was just wondering what people think Hyde's future at Richmond holds and what he weaknesses he need to work on?

He has limited ability and is not damaging with his skills so he has to try and make it as a tagger. Last year did some reasonable jobs, but he never did any outstanding jobs where he hardly let his opponent touch the ball. I don't know if he has that much improvement left in him. Having said that he'll probably play most of the games next year.

Chris tries his best, but juts doesn't have it to be an elite midfielder.

Can easily be used as a back-up midfielder in a pinch, but i think he could thrive as a tagger.

Interesting that we have recruited Polo who sounds like the 2nd coming of Hyde, so i wonder if Hyde will play a sort of mentoring role to Polo and show him the ropes.

The plan seems to be that Chaffey will get a chance to become the tagger. He has more upside than Hyde if he claim the role. Also Newman and Hartigan will be wanting the job as well. Tuck is probably another best suited to a run-with role. And from 2006 onwards you can see the likes of Roach, Polo and Gilmour given the task to help ease them into the game.

So a big queue forming behind Hyde for his job, he'll want to improve his kicking and actually shut-down some guys in 2004 or he could find himself getting passed by others.

Hyde gets a hurry-on
11:00:22 AM Tue 23 November, 2004
Paul Gough

Chris Hyde's AFL career certainly got a hurry-on in 2004.

Delisted by the Tigers at the end of his first season with the club in 2001, the 22-year-old began this season with just eight AFL games to his name and with the jury well and truly out as to whether he had a long-term future at Punt Road.

But that verdict is certainly in now after a vastly-improved 2004 season, which not only saw Hyde play all 22 games but cap off his season by running fifth in the Tigers' best and fairest award.

And after for so long being worried about whether he would retain his place on the club's list - Hyde is now looking forward to the future under new coach Terry Wallace with renewed confidence.

"I will enjoy the break but I am really looking forward to next year," Hyde said.

"I am enjoying my footy at the minute even though we had a lean year but things are looking good going forward."

Hyde emerged this year as the player most likely to develop into the Tigers' next long-term tagger following the retirement of Duncan Kellaway.

After having always been renowned as one of the fittest players at Richmond, Hyde proved in 2004 he also had the skills to back up his fitness as he was finally given the opportunity after three frustrating years at the club prior to this season.

"The first year I got picked up at pick 40 in the 2000 draft but then I was told I would be de-listed at the end of 2001 (despite not having been given a senior game)," he said.

"I then got re-drafted in the 2001 draft (at pick 68) so it's been a bit of a rollercoaster ride for me."

"At the start of the year I certainly didn't expect to play all 22 games this year after playing only eight in the last two years."

"I wouldn’t change anything that has happened but it's certainly made me grow up pretty quickly."

Hyde put his form turnaround to simply getting a regular opportunity to play - citing the round six win over Hawthorn as the turning point.

That night Hyde finally got the chance to start a game in midfield and produced a superb first quarter, including a great goal on the run, as the Tigers beat the Hawks by a point at Telstra Dome.

"Spud (former coach Danny Frawley) said to me during that week 'I am going to play you, you are going to start and get a good run' and I got my mind around that and that was the start of it," he said.

Now Hyde wants to nail down the tagging role at Richmond for the long-term.

"I want to play on the good players and just learn something off them and try and keep them to not having a huge influence on the game and also try and get a bit of the footy as well."

as long as he keeps imporving this season he'll be right, got enormous aerobic capacity, just needs to hurt opponents more with his run..

Chaffey as a tagger? hes too slow, i cant see a future for him beyond this season and I hope he doesnt take the place of a youngin trying to crack the first team. Gone downhill, i wouldve delisted him

Chaffey is way too slow.. Not to mention he gets lost in traffic. I would like him to win a contest in defence before even considering giving him "added" responsibility.

Newman is probably our best tagger. He just does such a great job in defence that it is hard to take him from there. Hopefully he will have zantuck to help him next year as it was when zantuck was dropped that our defence totally collapsed.

Hyde doesnt have the physical strength to tag. He is a better outside player. At least with hyde, his skills arent bad and he will make a contest at ground level so he is not a complete receiver like our illustrious captain.

Hartigan is probably our best bet as tagger just because of his leg speed. Hopefully a big preseason will help him bulk up a little. His skills arent as good as newmans or hydes but they are passable so he is certainly more suited to this role.

Let me just say that there are much worse then Chris Hyde. Chris tried really hard this year in a poor side. I think we have forgotten how well he played in most of his games.

Id put him in my top 22.

tigertime said:
Chaffey is way too slow.. Not to mention he gets lost in traffic. I would like him to win a contest in defence before even considering giving him "added" responsibility.

Wheadon literally wrote the book on the principle of using your slow players in the midfield. Wallace is another who uses that principle with guys like Liberatore, Dimmatina and Romero in tight.

Slow guys like Chaffey can be easily exploited if they are caught out in space on the flanks. They are better off in the traffic where their lack of pace can't be exploited and there are other guys in the vicinity to block, tackle and apply pressure.

If you have quick players you want them on the flanks where they can use their pace. Doesn't make sense to put a speedster like Tivendale somewhere where he only has time to take two steps before someone is at him.

I don't think Chaffey will make it as a tagger, but it has to be tried. It is too much of a luxury to carry a 143 game veteran as a loose man in defence. It is the easiest position on the field to play and his skills don't warrant giving him that role. It is midfield or nowhere for Chaffey.

He is gutsy, strong and experienced. He'll get first shot at tagger, we'll have to see if he can get the job done.

You make some good points weaver.

1) Tivendale shouldnt be in tight.. Thats pretty much spot on. Let him use his pace.

2) Chaffey as loose man in defence.. I hope we dont have a loose man in defence this year. If we do, I pray it is not chaffey because he is embarrassing in this role. Too short and too slow to make the contests. Put a schultz, hall or morrison type player who at least can get their body in the way and make a physical presence like Gale used to.

I reckon chaffey will either find a slow defender to play on or be delisted at the end of the year. If there is a good matchup in defence, then he is serviceable.

I cant see another role for him. The lions & port dont have anyone slow in their midfield. He wont make it as a tagger. He is not renowned for his tackling.

I think, in chaffey's defense, he reads the game very well, is a great mark and likes to play it tough. An area where guys like Tivendale and Hyde struggle. He also provides good run out of defense and while his disposal was a bit sloppy last year, he still has fairly good skills and is a long kick. I thought that he probably was our stand out defender last year in a defense that was close to the worst in the league. I don't believe he is that slow either! And I hope to god we don't delist him as it is players like this that forwards hate playing on. Looks at the Scott brothers in Brisbane. Neither are that quick but pivotal players for Brisbane and especially in defense. They are hard players to replace!

Unfortunately, Chris Hyde isn't up to it. Him coming fifth in the B&F is like Brian Leys playing 100 games. It could only happen at Tigerland.

kipp said:
Unfortunately, Chris Hyde isn't up to it. Him coming fifth in the B&F is like Brian Leys playing 100 games. It could only happen at Tigerland.

I dont think he is that bad a player.

At the very least i hope him to be a squad player.

Thanks for your replies everyone :) :rolleyes:

I must say I agree with your thoughts on Hartigan. This kid will be a gun off the HBF or wing. Playes some ripper games this year and is one of my favourites behind Chris Judd.

Nick Stevens said:
Thanks for your replies everyone :) :rolleyes:

I must say I agree with your thoughts on Hartigan. This kid will be a gun off the HBF or wing. Playes some ripper games this year and is one of my favourites behind Chris Judd.

Hartigan is a gun. Very glad we have this kid at the club. Im sure he will a leader in Richmonds new era.

Chris Hyde?