Chris Tarrant appreciation thread

The grab against Melbourne in 2001 I think, had a seat right in the pocket & it was a great place to watch his run & leap over the top of the pack.

His goal against Syd in either '02 or '03 at Telstra Stadium. Outside 50, on the boundary line. First rate view with the reverse angle camera on TV, split the middle.

Edited; Ow, by the way, it was raining aswell, heavy ball from 55 out.

jabso said:
Heavily underrated player especially around the traps of bigfooty.
He has been labelled overrated by so many people that he has become underrated.

Agree, most wouldn't of even seen him play more than a couple of games usually against there own team and just spew out stats.

Good luck Taz you were my fav player 2007 isn't gonna be as good without ya!!

You had so many great moments, won so many awards, won the hearts of thousands of fans. You are a legend and always will be. Well done, the Pie fans will ALL miss you.

i was and still am a fan of his, hopes he still does well there.
he had many freat moments, 11/6/01 queensbday game, what should have been mark of the year, the whole 2003 season including mark of the year...... there are so many memories to list, im gonna miss that boy:(

medhurst better learn how to not be a hack!

-Goal after the siren in 03 against the Crows to win the game
-MArk in 03 against Geelong
-a tackle he made right in the forward pocket which was practically impossible then won the ball in the same contest and kicked a ripper goal

and there is so much more

- Me and my mates having a Tazza Mark count in the middle page of the record. We didn't have enough fingers.

- Taz's sensational marks.

- Goal after the siren vs Adel, R7, 2003..."It's a.....Collingwood win" - Tim Lane

- Goal vs Hawks last year

Going to miss him for sure.
I hope he absolutely blitz's the competition at Fremantle and shows all the doubters he is a genuine superstar.

Wish we could have kept him...but pick 8 and medhurst will do us more good than Tarrant just like Tarrant will do Fremantle more good than pick 8 and keeping medhurst would have.

Fremantle is contending, we need to gear up for contention in the next 2-3 years and the trade certainly helps us achieve that.
Plus its time for Rusling to step up.

get over it people!
i recall the hawks fans 'crying' over croady when they traded him for pick one and subsequently luke hodge.
doesnt look so bad now tho does it?

i say...screw taz.
he WAS one bloke we have all defended too much.

now he is freo's (and his own) problem.

stuff him....lets move on.

A Warrior named Lica said:
get over it people!
i recall the hawks fans 'crying' over croady when they traded him for pick one and subsequently luke hodge.

i say...screw taz.

yea, all hail KING MEDDY

A Warrior named Lica said:
get over it people!

i say...screw taz.

Exactly mate. Good Luck to you Freo, I hope you have as much fun with him as we did!

Yep... it used to be "we wish you a chrissy tarrant on your football team".... or "take me to the tazbahh!!" ... but I rekcon he is a taz.... been..... memories be buggered.... a forward that can't kick goals is like a forward that can't kick goals..... yeah piss of Taz to bum crack no where... we don't need you!!!

cats2rise said:
He seemed to like taking hangers over Matty Scarlett at the dome. Did it two years in a row!

Ahh yes, golden memories. Seeing him take those hangers while all my Cat fan mates watched in awe was great.

OneEyedPie7 said:
Gone, but not forgotton good luck Taz

List your favourite Taz moment and any other comments regarding the bloke

for me sinking the Crows at AAMI after the siren

I was at AAMI the night he kicked the goal after the siren, always knew he would put it through the big ones, had no doubts at all. What a Night of Celebration it was, wonderful drive home to Geelong.

All the Best Chris, we will cheer you when we play Freo will go over to see you. Thanks for nine years in B&W many happy memories. You never lacked endeavour and were committed to Collingwood. I hope you find happiness in Fremantle. Watching you play was a joy.
Miss you Mate.

Yeah being a Carlton supporter it was good to hate Tarrant, just didn't fit in too well at Collingwood, he seemed so happy that he was leaving, one would think he will be a champ for Freo and could well be the difference of them making the GF next season. Just needed a change, I'm glad the majority of you aknowledge what he did for the Pies instead of remembering failed GF appearances (where he wasn't the only one to blame).

Good luck Tarrant, I can like you more now you play for a side other than Collingwood. :thumbsu:

bluesforever said:
Yeah being a Carlton supporter it was good to hate Tarrant, just didn't fit in too well at Collingwood, he seemed so happy that he was leaving, one would think he will be a champ for Freo and could well be the difference of them making the GF next season. Just needed a change, I'm glad the majority of you aknowledge what he did for the Pies instead of remembering failed GF appearances (where he wasn't the only one to blame).

Good luck Tarrant, I can like you more now you play for a side other than Collingwood. :thumbsu:

Thankyou for your positive comments.

Chris Tarrant appreciation thread