News Coaching changes

Not really anything that hasn't been said before but I don't know who makes up our selection panel but they clearly got it wrong way too many times this year and there has to be massive changed to that panel. I can only assume Vossy and Ken drive selection so i hope Vossy is replaced as senior assistant.

Well Voss isn't senior assistant.

The difficulty for our selection panel is that they don't have the benefit of hindsight like your rant above did.

I think our selection panel did really well tbh. They bought in players who had performed in the SANFL. Funnily enough, despite our meltdowns - when there were particularly controversial team changes, we tended to win and the players bought in usually had an impact. I reckon ken said it well when he was asked about selections, he said not everyone will be happy with all the selections but that's footy.

Keep in mind we were dealing with an injury hit list in which our depth was really tested. What choice did we have? We still dropped Jonas, Monfries and Lobbe during the year, two of them are in leadership roles. Hindsight works both ways, I reckon we did alright with what we had available.

We unearthed gray, ah chee and got games into clurey, amon, hoon and butcher. Of all of the ins from the 2nds only one player was not in form at the time, and that was o'shea. Who still played some very important roles for us. Aside from Mitchell, there were no other players genuinely knocking down the door for selection.

I think the only selections we genuinely got wrong were redden and mitchell (at times). However mitchell was genuinely hard not to select given his SANFL form.

Lastly, we also gave Moore a go, and found him wanting, and Young too for the most part. Overall our selections were pretty good, and I had my fair share of meltdowns only to be proven wrong in most cases.

Yep selections were fine this year, bar the non-selection of Butcher until the last month of the year.

Never seen the point of gnashing your teeth every Thursday evening at team selections and which player is our 22nd best player when as fans we're all working off imperfect information. Selections weren't where we fell down this year.

Yeah the curious case of Tommy Jonas explains in one neat little package what was wrong with selection this year

Anyone says otherwise dare I say it but.... Carn

the selection team backed in our leaders and players that performed last year, whilst i agree Tommy Jonas couldve been dropped earlier but they backed him in to get it right, had faith in him as a player and a person to turn it around

Far from fine.

Refusal to drop leadership group players until the season was effectively over. Do that earlier and it's probably an extra 2 or 3 wins.

You also need to trust and back your best players to rediscover form in the A grade. Dropping your best players to the reserves isn't always the best idea.

The only selection I really hated was Reddens promotion.

And wasn't keen on Mitchell over Arch I guess.

Otherwise I thought the majority of selections this year were sound. We'll never agree with everything the coaches do.

People complain about Jonas, especially when he was brought back into the side after an underwhelming show in the SANFL.
Yet, he was one of our better players over the last few games, reverting almost back to 2014 form.

Not a question from me on bringing him back but rather persisting as long as they did before dropping him. The guy needed to go back for a confidence boost, it was painful to watch.

I think people get the wrong idea about getting dropped.
You really think a guy who was easily best 18, probably one of the first selected in 2014, was going to get a BOOST in confidence from getting dropped?
#carn

I'd give the selections 5/10. Every week, every year on here there are tantrums come selection time. It will never change.

Funnily enough one of the only weeks where everyone was pretty happy with selection was the Carlton game and it was our worst game of the year.

I think people get the wrong idea about getting dropped.
You really think a guy who was easily best 18, probably one of the first selected in 2014, was going to get a BOOST in confidence from getting dropped?
#carn
Yeah but on the flip you can't persist forever under the guise of "she'll be right he'll come good"

Yep Jonas was great in the final four games it was the previous ten that were the problem, some suggest his SNAFLE form was average so what did t achieve but the fact he was dropped should've been the wake up call he needed.

Being told if you don't improve you're dropped and being dropped sound like similar things but they aren't especially if your feeling comfy about your role in the team, anybody whose played sport they've cared about and had this happen to them would know this

Blind faith in players cos they're x games played and y in the BnF is what we all complained about with Choco suddenly that sort of loyalty is what we need?

News Coaching changes