Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

View attachment 2428697

Robertson finished top four in the VFL B&F.

We didn’t have anyone get more than six votes in the Sandover.
I'm going to let you in on a secret. If your team wins games you get more votes in the end of season awards.

Lions finished 6th out of 21 teams with 11 wins, 6 losses, 1 draw.
Eagles finished last with 2 wins, 16 losses. Of course they didn't poll B&F votes.

Reinforces what a lot have been saying here for a while now.

1. Duursma.
2. Sharp.

No need to overthink it.

CDT also now talked up for being a forward, ruck downplayed. We definitely don't need.
Agreed, need to forget about splitting these picks and just throw everything at trading up to Gold coast's port pick. Hawks pick, promising not to bid on Uwland or Patterson and hopefully landing something decent from the AFL we can use as well should be more than enough, then hopefully use that pick on Cummings or Robey.

Duursma, Sharp, Robey/Cummings, our NGA's would be a very good draft

We could offer butler 2.5million over 4 years with front loaded 800k year 1 and 700k year 2 .

Really stick it up the hawks and make them pay overs to keep him or better yet get butler .
Yes, this is the way. Currently we are dreadful so nobody is coming here on a discount. Just pay overs like St Kilda are doing to get a bunch of the players they'll be acquiring. Who else do we have to spend the money on, all of the other super-talented players on our list?

Agreed, need to forget about splitting these picks and just throw everything at trading up to Gold coast's port pick. Hawks pick, promising not to bid on Uwland or Patterson and hopefully landing something decent from the AFL we can use as well should be more than enough, then hopefully use that pick on Cummings or Robey.

Duursma, Sharp, Robey/Cummings, our NGA's would be a very good draft
Yep, or we don't trade up and end up with

Duursma, Sharp, Fred R, Curtin, out NGA's. Would also be good.

Allen played only 12 matches and played poorly in a lot of them, Chesser played 4 senior matches, and while Ryan played 20 matches I wouldn't say he was particularly close to his previous best. Plus one would hope for natural improvement given that we had just about one of the youngest and most inexperienced sides in the comp.
We replace Chesser and Ryan atleast wirh assets that will contribute zero in 2026.

The potential is higher but the ability to win games now is much worse off

I'm going to let you in on a secret. If your team wins games you get more votes in the end of season awards.

Also teams that kick more goals than their opposition tend to win more games, and people that are tall tend to hit their head on more stuff.

Yes, I know players in good teams get more votes, but this is one player in a slightly better than average team that finished top four in his comp.

I really don't want to split this year unless we get a deal so outrageous the other teams list manager gets sacked.

In the middle of a rebuild, Clay Hall won our best emerging talent award (no disrespectto Clay). We have heaps of young players, we need some top end talent, and while this may not be the best draft, we have the picks.

Trade up for a third top 10 pick if we can, some NGAs and call it a good day.

I happened to be reading about this yesterday, Tas Cricket reckon their problems aren’t unsolvable and they won’t hold up the process: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2025-09...support-macquarie-point-afl-stadium/105774588

State Cricket are never supportive of stadiums they don't own and control.

They will always have complaints but ultimately, they know if they want to lock in Tests in their state - they'll get on board and they don't REALLY need to worry about the shadow on the pitch issue - the BBL is the money spinner for Tassie cricket and the majority of games are played under lights - playing it under a roof will only broaden the appeal (and lessen the games lost to Tassie's crap weather.)

Guarantee you that Melbourne, North, Carlton and probably bloody St Kilda also have a pinged at Devin Robertson. He won't be short of options. Yes, still.

He has that 'good club' rub to him that kept Quentin Narkle bouncing around the comp as long as it did.

Brisbane have used 36 players this year in their 25 games so far which was =10th fewest (we used 39) but had a very settled side

• 9 players played every game
• 4 players missed only 1 game
• 2 players missed 2 games
• 1 player missed 3 games and
• 1 player missed 4 games

In total 17 players collectively missed just 15 games between them

The rest of the squad were fighting for 6 positions each week
• Fort played 19 games
• Answerth played 17 games
• Gardiner and Lohmann played 16 games
• Payne and Day played 13 games
• Starcevich and McInerney played 12 games

Of those 8 players, Day is probably the only non best 23 player

There wasn’t a lot of opportunity for players outside best 23 to get a game which goes some way to explaining why Robertson only got 4 games. He was stuck behind a talented and healthy list - something he probably should’ve realised would happen 2 years ago

He’s still relatively young (24) but has a mature body after 6 years on an AFL list and knows what it’s like to be part of a successful program. Depending on who else we trade in he’d be the 14th oldest player on our list

Would be in our best 22 (admittedly only just) and would come for virtually free. There are players I’d probably target first but he remains a solid fallback option if the likes of Butler don’t eventuate