List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

We had the chance to draft him and opted not to, from memory, as he was a flight risk. Maybe he's grown up since then but there's no shortage of Vic clubs who would pay as much as us to get him in.
Agree, but who is offering what. Not sure too many outside of Richmond can offer the midfield minutes his likely to get.
His fitness seems to improved and will need to continue to improve if his to reach a ceiling of a Tom Mitchell.
As you say he may have grown up, is still young at 21 (I think), and think would be a good low risk addition.

Agree, but who is offering what. Not sure too many outside of Richmond can offer the midfield minutes his likely to get.
His fitness seems to improved and will need to continue to improve if his to reach a ceiling of a Tom Mitchell.
As you say he may have grown up, is still young at 21 (I think), and think would be a good low risk addition.

Saints and Dogs would have a sniff I reckon. Can never rule Geelong out if they see value.

Hewett doesn’t have the ceiling Harley does.

Hewett’s ceiling is very high. A grade, all Australian etc.

Harley’s is generational GAJ type ceiling.

Potential is just that though, potential. Not everybody fulfills it.

There is a world where Hewett becomes the better player. The more likely scenarios though is that both become very good players, but Harley is just a bit better.

Lol, the idea of Hewett is a lot better than the reality of Hewett. Him being out for so long has definitely made us as a fan base pretend he has looked a lot better than he has. I’m confident he’ll be a good player but to suggest the likeliest scenario is Harley is just a bit better than him is hilarious, the gap between them at every point of their careers has been and will be astronomical.

Apologies if this has been presented before, but what would people's thoughts be on getting Ben Hobbs, who I believe is out of contract at the end of this year.
Is a pure inside midfielder ( https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/ben-hobbs/ ) and is being played out of position at the Bombers as he sits behind the likes of Durham, Caldwell, Shiel, Tsatas.
His stats at AFL level are questionable for an inside midfielder but once again this is because his being played on half forward flank.
We could offer more money, and more opportunity in the middle in his preferred role., and it could be a shrewd acquisition.
Yes, we'd like Matt Rowell is an inside bull, but we are not going to get him. A case could be made for Hobbs as a low risk potential high reward return
(And YES I know his not a great kick, but his other skills are things we need in a midfield)
Yeah possible, very fumbley and not great awareness but has a dip and cracks in.

Vic country boy but apparently loves Melbourne lifestyle/

People will hate it but we will have to bring in at least two of this type to help bridge the gap even more so if we go full draft (no Warner and trade Harley)

Erasmus, Brodie, Sheldrick, Hobbs ….. Dev

Some had Jack Graham on the same level and I dont think anyone is arguing he wasn’t a great pick up now.

The hope would be Hall is ready to go full mid time next year, Hewett, our early pick, maybe Bo or Ginbey (one will eventually be a afl standard mid is the hope)

Im not sure Kelly is on the list next year, Yeo probably getting close to HBF time.

Does anyone know if TK has put off contract talks?

Or has he tried to extend and WC have put them off?

I wonder why he's so flat all of a sudden after having such a strong reported preseason

Does anyone know if TK has put off contract talks?

Or has he tried to extend and WC have put them off?

I wonder why he's so flat all of a sudden after having such a strong reported preseason

Hopefully we have nothing in front of him.

Does anyone know how to fix the error I’m having where when I write numbers my posts come out in some insane format haha? I’ve tried everything

Yeah you need to use the website instead of the Bigfooty app or Tapatalk. Both of the later have had their support dropped so won’t have any further updates or fixes implemented.

If you’re using an iPhone you can save the website to your home screen and it becomes its own web app of sorts.

Just take Sharp…until he has a poor game in his second year then pile on to run him out of town?

9nqrm8.jpg

There better be nothing infront of TK right now, ive seen more useful condoms in a nunnery

Is Brady Hough worth a look at in the middle? I mean if it fails he just goes back to what he’s doing. I’d rather have a look at him than watching Duggan in there. He has built his frame up to a point where i think he could easily handle the physical nature of the centre square and stoppages. Certainly has the athletic attributes i guess it’s just a matter of whether he can get his hands on it.

Kelly to the Half fwd flank. Let him play the high half forward role where he only needs to run forward. He doesn’t run defensively so we dont need to see it anymore. That and he goes missing too often when he can’t get the midfield battle on his terms, we need to find some players that will slog it out when it’s tough going. His best footy was in that role at Geelong, I think let him play that way.

Would like to see if Ginbey can use his newfound confidence in defence for short spells in the midfield too. I think his main role should remain in defence but I wouldn’t mind seeing 15-20% in the midfield. He could bring some defensive pressure in there at least when Graham is resting.

Don’t want to see Duggo anywhere near the midfield going forward. He’s just not athletic enough and disposal under pressure is deadset ordinary.

Reid, Graham and Hough as starting mids.

Hewett and Hutch as the main rotations with some support from Baker, Ginbey and Brockman.

I think Mini will stay with what we saw on the weekend for a few weeks but could see the above being an option at some point.

At this point I’d just take Starcevich for free and guarantee him midfield minutes because he’d be better than what we had yesterday and also better than what we have coming through.
He’s not a midfielder. He wasn’t one at U18s (low accumulation) and hasn’t played there since so he isn’t going to be one at AFL level.
If that’s his condition, pass. He’s a very good defender, no sense trying to turn that into a below average mid

Apologies if this has been presented before, but what would people's thoughts be on getting Ben Hobbs, who I believe is out of contract at the end of this year.
Is a pure inside midfielder ( https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/ben-hobbs/ ) and is being played out of position at the Bombers as he sits behind the likes of Durham, Caldwell, Shiel, Tsatas.
His stats at AFL level are questionable for an inside midfielder but once again this is because his being played on half forward flank.
We could offer more money, and more opportunity in the middle in his preferred role., and it could be a shrewd acquisition.
Yes, we'd like Matt Rowell is an inside bull, but we are not going to get him. A case could be made for Hobbs as a low risk potential high reward return
(And YES I know his not a great kick, but his other skills are things we need in a midfield)
agree he is a potential OOC mid who could bring something, but if WC are after this type of player is he in front of Ward from the Hawks who is next in line in their midfield, in a very strong midfield? OOC.
We do need a player like this imo also but Ward looks to have more upside and is a more rounded mid.

It's all well and good to draft with the right intentions but if anything, GC's midfield just goes to show that you really need top end picks in there to truly compete.

Rowell & Anderson were picks 1 & 2 and it shows.

Of course, we have high hopes for Hewett but after missing his entire 2nd year, he's coming from a long way back.

Even then, we'd be hoping blokes picked in the 2nd and 3rd rounds become elite.

I understand we haven't had the picks but if we're banking on Tom Gross to be our next midfield saviour(which I hope he does, of course), then it's just a very hit and hope methodology of list-building.

We absolutely have to hand onto our first rounder this year and try to generate another by letting Oscar walk, IMO, otherwise we'll have scrubbed our chances of ever having an elite midfield via the draft before Tassie enters and will rely on attempting to trade in players, or hope free agents want to join.

Warner would be a mistake unless Reid recommits for 5 years and we have an extra first-rounder to trade for him.
Oscar for Warner direct swap. Deal done.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Is Brady Hough worth a look at in the middle? I mean if it fails he just goes back to what he’s doing. I’d rather have a look at him than watching Duggan in there. He has built his frame up to a point where i think he could easily handle the physical nature of the centre square and stoppages. Certainly has the athletic attributes i guess it’s just a matter of whether he can get his hands on it.

Kelly to the Half fwd flank. Let him play the high half forward role where he only needs to run forward. He doesn’t run defensively so we dont need to see it anymore. That and he goes missing too often when he can’t get the midfield battle on his terms, we need to find some players that will slog it out when it’s tough going. His best footy was in that role at Geelong, I think let him play that way.

Would like to see if Ginbey can use his newfound confidence in defence for short spells in the midfield too. I think his main role should remain in defence but I wouldn’t mind seeing 15-20% in the midfield. He could bring some defensive pressure in there at least when Graham is resting.

Don’t want to see Duggo anywhere near the midfield going forward. He’s just not athletic enough and disposal under pressure is deadset ordinary.

Reid, Graham and Hough as starting mids.

Hewett and Hutch as the main rotations with some support from Baker, Ginbey and Brockman.

I think Mini will stay with what we saw on the weekend for a few weeks but could see the above being an option at some point.
I would have liked to have seen hough ginbey and allan when he comes in rotate through, Ginbey while lacking craft for no is just so big and fast, all he has to do is body line the ball, Allan similar but with some craft and agility, hough is just a dawg

Oscar for Warner direct swap. Deal done.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
They could use Warner’s money for Oscar and would make sense if he is leaving.

While it wouldn’t be a direct trade it would be pretty smart business (if both are leaving anyway)

Eagles - Warner + Sheldrick
Swans - Oscar + Pick 2* (Oscar compo) + Hawks pick 18*

If the Warner thing goes down what picks they want will come down to where their Academy kids are likely to go. They have 3 considered top 25ish and one maybe top 10.

List spots will be getting tight for them.

Good post. Apart from PremiershipNo4 whose strategy to fix our woes is to simply draft an afl competent 18 year old ruck I think most of us can recognise that development takes time.

Unless we’re 100% certain he’s not extending, trading Harley for picks would just set midfield development back two years. I still think he’ll extend.

What Sunday suggests is that if we finish bottom two we should let Oscar walk. Take two of Sharp, Rodriguez and Greeves/Warner. Also insist for us not to match FA offer we get the 1R of a Brisbane or Sydney in exchange for later points which they will need anyway. Take best mid available and Curtin with that and the Hawks pick.
Jeez you say some stupid things!

““I’m just feeling at the moment the he maybe is looking beyond this year and I think he will not be a West Coast Eagles player in 2026.”

Vlahos with some vibes.
This bullshit will be reported every loss we have where he doesn't look thrilled.

Then we'll get reports of him staying after a win.

Maddening shit. Not worth paying attention.