List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

1*dXNzZY_N6indCT7Ic67Rug.gif

Please..if you would, kindly pick one of the options i presented or offer your own appraisal of Mr Reid's contract conundrum and likelihood of him signing on past 2026.

Humbly i request you refrain from offering asinine responses that do nothing to further the discussion.
I must be one of the cerebrally challenged that you are referring to, Apologies.
What i was trying to say was........ That makes no sense whatsoever.
But as Pants said, Patience.

The extensions for these young guys will put the pressure on the likes of Long, Johnston, Brockman, Maric, Hall and co. who come out of contract next year as that list reduces in number

What do people see of Johnson and long? Like to think long needs 12 months to build up after reco.

As much I like long I can’t see him making it. Doesn’t accumulate. And can’t finish around goals as a forward. He’s clever with some good game IQ but he would need to improve in one of the said areas to continue on the list long term.

I must be one of the cerebrally challenged that you are referring to, Apologies.
What i was trying to say was........ That makes no sense whatsoever.
But as Pants said, Patience.

We all suffer moments of confusion, don't be hasty to diagnose yourself.

What part of my post makes no sense?

Is it the overall premise that is frustrating you?

Greggo and Gross I can justify, not sure why Davis got another additional. Hasn't really shown that he can cut it at level. His kicking needs major fixing.

Petrucelle is getting delisted so we need someone to play that "not really a footballer" role on the list now.

Call him Tall Petch.

As much I like long I can’t see him making it. Doesn’t accumulate. And can’t finish around goals as a forward. He’s clever with some good game IQ but he would need to improve in one of the said areas to continue on the list long term.
Long & Johnston have a critical 12 months ahead with their development.
Long will come under pressure from our SF brigade and Newton, will be hard to see him on the list long term if he cant accumulate a bit more and be consistent.
Johnston being only in his 2nd year will get a bit more time to develop, but he also has been inconsistent and probably battling for a wing/HF distributer role inside 50 with Dewar, Davis and needs to bulk up a bit.

He wasn't even their lowest paid player from the 2009/10 season, this is what their salary cap looked like from that year (also a championship season)

View attachment 2345987
Can't stand how the NBA has a salary cap but gives them ways around it, set a cap, stick to it. The players would just have accept it. They'd still be multi millionaires

We all suffer moments of confusion, don't be hasty to diagnose yourself.

What part of my post makes no sense?

Is it the overall premise that is frustrating you?
Thanks Dr Phil.
C +D are a stretch, if he was going to leave the club will trade him this year, and if he did want to leave we will be compensated his worth.
Nah not the premise at all, from all reports it sounds positive that he is going to stay around, which is what we can only go off, not the Vafl media circus.
I reckon we won't delist him either as your bonus option.

Thanks Dr Phil.
C +D are a stretch, if he was going to leave the club will trade him this year, and if he did want to leave we will be compensated his worth.
Nah not the premise at all, from all reports it sounds positive that he is going to stay around, which is what we can only go off, not the Vafl media circus.
I reckon we won't delist him either as your bonus option.

You reckon no chance Reid sees his contract out and requests a trade end of 2026?

Its the worst option for the club but the best option for Reid himself if he has a specific destination in mind

Best option for us is to keep him. Failing that it needs to be a trade end of this year. If he hasn't signed end of this year i will be very very cross and potentially post frenzied abusive messages until my account is permanently banned

I'm leaning towards not delisting him myself but you never know these days

Tom Morris is reporting that Lions deal is 6 years by about 750-800k.

Watch and see if that is enough for band 1 compo.

It would put us in a difficult position if we are forced to decide between pick 19 and matching a 6 year offer.

If we match, dare I say Oscar would accept and stay.
AFL is going to make it pick 2 if he decides to leave. That will be our assistance package. Lions will also make sure its band one they know it’s unlikely to happen if it’s band 2.

Thanks ChatGPT :fire::devil:

1750331039488.png

Tim Kelly right now is firmly in that “underperforming veteran” bracket:

• Form: Output down ~30% from his peak
  • Impact: Not influencing games like a top-tier mid
  • Age profile: 31 this year — no upside left, only risk
  • Team context: Eagles are rebuilding; minutes might be better used developing younger mids

💰 Real Value Bracket:​

Underperforming vets like him usually land in the $450k–$600k range, unless:

• They're carrying leadership or culture weight (like Luke Shuey did)
  • Or, they’re contracted during a period of cap bloat (which West Coast has done before

🧨 Soundbite:​

“Right now Kelly’s value is closer to Dom Sheed money than Bontempelli money. At best, he’s $550k on a team-friendly deal. Paying more than that is nostalgia tax.”

You reckon no chance Reid sees his contract out and requests a trade end of 2026?

Its the worst option for the club but the best option for Reid himself if he has a specific destination in mind

Best option for us is to keep him. Failing that it needs to be a trade end of this year. If he hasn't signed end of this year i will be very very cross and potentially post frenzied abusive messages until my account is permanently banned

I'm leaning towards not delisting him myself but you never know these days
We would be in constant talks with him and his manager, as per what Woosh and Bell say.
They would want to know and if he and his manager are pissing in our pockets saying 'nah all good let's just wait' and he nominates the Cats next year, I reckon every club fans would boo him ten fold worse than what he was getting earlier this year. Everyone knows that would be a dog move, and people are over Geelong and their shady dealings.
But my opinion is on the other spectrum, he is a good fella with morales from all reports, and he will atleast stay on medium term, or worst case he did leave this year and we can deal him to the Vic club that will compensate the most, and not dog us ala next year.

We would be in constant talks with him and his manager, as per what Woosh and Bell say.
They would want to know and if he and his manager are pissing in our pockets saying 'nah all good let's just wait' and he nominates the Cats next year, I reckon every club fans would boo him ten fold worse than what he was getting earlier this year. Everyone knows that would be a dog move, and people are over Geelong and their shady dealings.
But my opinion is on the other spectrum, he is a good fella with morales from all reports, and he will atleast stay on medium term, or worst case he did leave this year and we can deal him to the Vic club that will compensate the most, and not dog us ala next year.

Mate you are a few cards short of the deck if you reckon other clubs fans will boo Reid because he stitched the WCE up

The entire Victorian Footy machine wants him back in the state, what colours he's wearing they could care less

As for being a good bloke i agree he has demonstrated good bloke traits , but i sincerely doubt he would be willing to f**k his own life up to go to a joke of a club like Essington or a fellow current rabble club like 9nthmond just so the WCE don't get bent over in a trade scenario.

He's a winner and he wants to play in wins and flags, it's why the club needs a strong finish to 2025, he needs to be able to see a future that isn't winning 2/3 games a year.

Anyway time will tell and all we can do is eat pray and love, or live laugh love whatever the expression is.

Can't stand how the NBA has a salary cap but gives them ways around it, set a cap, stick to it. The players would just have accept it. They'd still be multi millionaires
It's a lot more complicated now and I'm not across it anymore but IIRC that all started with them manipulating things AFL style so Boston wouldn't lose Larry Bird

Mate you are a few cards short of the deck if you reckon other clubs fans will boo Reid because he stitched the WCE up

The entire Victorian Footy machine wants him back in the state, what colours he's wearing they could care less

As for being a good bloke i agree he has demonstrated good bloke traits , but i sincerely doubt he would be willing to f**k his own life up to go to a joke of a club like Essington or a fellow current rabble club like 9nthmond just so the WCE don't get bent over in a trade scenario.

He's a winner and he wants to play in wins and flags, it's why the club needs a strong finish to 2025, he needs to be able to see a future that isn't winning 2/3 games a year.

Anyway time will tell and all we can do is eat pray and love, or live laugh love whatever the expression is.
You like to hone in on my diagnosis eyy Doc.
Just going off JHF days, other clubs fans think that was dog, and he still cops boos from clubs like the Saints etc who had nothing to do with that transaction.
Harley isn't bigger than the comp, he can't just dictate premierships etc, every player from ammos to the AFL wants to win.
Even If he was on that fairytale pedestal we would be compensated pretty well if he upped and left.
As you said time will tell.