List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

chump

Its a good draft for talls. In my eyes you take talls early if they have serious performances on the board (and meet other criteria too). Busslinger is the intercepting guy like McGovern/Darcy Moore rather than a stopper with extras like Weitering/Taylor but is too rare and good to pass up if available.

Midfielders are a priority but theres no reason to reach for needs. Outside Ashcroft (who is a better Darcy Parish) no other mids can be taken with great conviction of forcing their way R1 2023 into the team and a hands down safe pick 200+ gamer. There are a few coming along that can get there but for every Dangerfield/Bontompelli/Fyfe/Oliver who absolutely improve out of nowhere there are numerous types who have been reaches with a lot of hope they can improve without ever having done it.
You dont want Setterfield, SPS, LDU, Dow, Logue, Francis or McAsey at pick 2 just to force a need.

The tall fwds all have serious flaws or just simply haven't played well outside small glimpses- so any pick would be highly speculative which we can throw our 19 at if we rate a guy that slide through.

I reckon you could lock Sheezel into a HFF round 1 debut for a club like us.
Jhye Clark (**** his parents are campaigners, who calls their kid that with that spelling) you could lock in for a round 1 debut at back pocket or HBF.

There's a lot of talls now looking like 15-40 draft picks. Hopefully we can draft and develop well, we still need a couple more on the list.

Unless Jackson is desperate to come home, I'd be doing whatever I can to get him to sign a short extension with Melbourne like English has with the Bulldogs. We can reassess in 2 years time when NicNat is on the way out and we've had ample time to assess the ruckmen on our list. Need to use all the picks we've got for youth for at least the next 2 drafts.

Agree with the logic, only time will tell if Nic lasts that long. I certainly hope so.

Without a real major injury or multiple soft tissue injuries he's should last a couple more years. With a developing team its not his tapwork but his ground ball and clearance work inside that is so important.

Jackson to Fremantle only makes sense if Jackson wants to play as a forward who occasionally rucks

If he wants to ruck he either stays at Melbourne to bide his time for another couple of years before taking over from Gawn or he comes to West Coast where he’d spend at least 50% time in the ruck from day one

If I’m his manager I’m telling him to take a 2-3 year deal at Melbourne whilst they’re smack bang in their premiership window then consider an offer from the WA clubs. That 7 year deal will still be there

I'm a big fan of the kids and I know he's young and stats aren't everything but gee his direct opponent had more disposals, 11 more hit outs, 2 more contested marks, 8 more contested possessions and a whopping 12 clearances for the night. Sure Jackson's numbers are decent and he had impact on the game, particularly in light his development but some level of accountability on limiting his opponent's influence around the stoppages would've been nice.
The big O is 27 years old, Jackson is 20 so you'd expect the Big O to beat him. But even with the better of the stats, I thought Jackson had way more impact on the game.

Jackson will only get better, so would be a worry if Freo got him.

The big O is 27 years old, Jackson is 20 so you'd expect the Big O to beat him. But even with the better of the stats, I thought Jackson had way more impact on the game.

Jackson will only get better, so would be a worry if Freo got him.

They would be selling the farm Kelly style to get him though.

You're giving me way too much credit with that explanation!

It's much simpler for me: There are ~6 guys in tier 1 currently who I think are all close enough in talent/potential to be the best player from this crop. I'd be open to trading back to pick ~6 (provided it's paired with something else convincing enough like another mid first round pick) to pick up whoever is left from that tier 1 group - my preference would obviously be Busslinger or Keeler, both guys I rate quite highly. This takes into account our list build at the moment, which is stacked with first round mids (Simpkin, LDU, JHF, Powell, Phillips) and is lacking any real top end key position talent. If we were midfield-poor, you'd have to sell the farm to convince me to give up pick 1 or 2.

I don't think we'll trade the pick, and truth be told, gun to my head, I think the consensus top 3 right now would be Wardlaw, Phillipou and Sheezel in some sort of arrangement based on what clubs feel they need the most in their midfield and will suit their style.

So 1st 3 picks are mids?

North may lose JHF so they may look at a mid. If he stays they should be looking tall.

Reality is at 5 or 6 we would get one of Wardlaw, Phillipou, Hewett, Tsatas or Ryan. Wardlaw just been ranked 5.

Ahscroft will be gone, Sheezle as well or will be too much a risk.

Toby Bedford might be someone I realistically see us going for in the off-season. WA boy, out of contract, and he's got two cousins in Samo and Krstl Petrevski here to boot.

He looks quick and reads the play very well.. Has talent and kicked a ripper goal from the boundary last night ..Yes

chump

Its a good draft for talls. In my eyes you take talls early if they have serious performances on the board (and meet other criteria too). Busslinger is the intercepting guy like McGovern/Darcy Moore rather than a stopper with extras like Weitering/Taylor but is too rare and good to pass up if available.

Midfielders are a priority but theres no reason to reach for needs. Outside Ashcroft (who is a better Darcy Parish) no other mids can be taken with great conviction of forcing their way R1 2023 into the team and a hands down safe pick 200+ gamer. There are a few coming along that can get there but for every Dangerfield/Bontompelli/Fyfe/Oliver who absolutely improve out of nowhere there are numerous types who have been reaches with a lot of hope they can improve without ever having done it.
You dont want Setterfield, SPS, LDU, Dow, Logue, Francis or McAsey at pick 2 just to force a need.

The tall fwds all have serious flaws or just simply haven't played well outside small glimpses- so any pick would be highly speculative which we can throw our 19 at if we rate a guy that slide through.

I'm guessing based on the bolded you are saying it is a good draft for talls - but not necessarily at the pointy end at this stage (other than Busslinger)?

Lemmey or Scully would need to have some sort of back-half of the year to insert themselves into the top 3/4 conversation.

At the moment it seems to be Wardlaw, Ashcroft, Busslinger, Sheezel, Tsatsas - with outside chances of Clark, Lemmey, Hewett and Phillipou in the conversation for the top few picks. Long way to go (as the more-informed-than-me have stated many times - the championships etc sort out the wheat from the chaff), but at this stage a lot of the talls seem to be more likely around our 2nd and 3rd pick rather than in the conversation for our 1st.

To replace Lobb and Taberner.
Jackson’s not as good a key forward as either. It would be overkill paying so much for two rucks. Jackson’s best footy is on-ball, like I said recently he’s basically a more rounded version of Nic Nat (not nearly as elite with his tapwork, equally good with his defensive work and better on the spread)

I'm guessing based on the bolded you are saying it is a good draft for talls - but not necessarily at the pointy end at this stage (other than Busslinger)?

Lemmey or Scully would need to have some sort of back-half of the year to insert themselves into the top 3/4 conversation.

At the moment it seems to be Wardlaw, Ashcroft, Busslinger, Sheezel, Tsatsas - with outside chances of Clark, Lemmey, Hewett and Phillipou in the conversation for the top few picks. Long way to go (as the more-informed-than-me have stated many times - the championships etc sort out the wheat from the chaff), but at this stage a lot of the talls seem to be more likely around our 2nd and 3rd pick rather than in the conversation for our 1st.
Sounds like a good draft to be finishing low and having two second round selections. Midfield depth might not be there, but that's not a problem as we'll get the second or third pick. Then we can grab some talls at the second round. We still need another KPD, a KPF to replace Darling (J Williams might be it, but it would be good to have insurance) and a ruck.

Some have been calling for us to go after Devon Robertson hard. He looked average last night. Hasn’t set the world alight so far, albeit he’s still young, has only played 20 odd games and is struggling to get into the strong Lions midfield. He doesn’t look to have much positional versatility or hurt factor. I’m not against going after him but I’d prefer us to use our first few picks at the draft not trading in unproven commodities.

I do wonder if the phase Lyons out and start playing Devon in his spot to see how he goes.

Hardly a reliable source, but good conversation starter.
I think Monocle knew the Fiorini family from his Vic coaching days and was keen on his character.

I would be OK as a gap filler in our midfield until our soon to be acquired plus Culley/Hough/Chesser develop.

He is 26 next year - averaging 20 disposals a game which is decent without being high. Under contract until the end of 2023 and played the first 10 games this season.

Any chance of a salary dump by GC? I would not want to give up much. Our R3 is sitting mid to high 30's which is too high so possibly a 4th or future 4th.

1656043050003.png

Why wouldnt they?

If Jackson selected any team.......they would want him.
Cost.

There are undoubtedly 18 teams that would want him on their list but that want is limited by need and cost.
Freo have 2 very solid ruck options and what looks like a very good young midfield that will start to demand a lot more money with up coming contract negotiations. Admittedly Im not the full bottle on Freos list or contract status but I a reasonably sure they will be coming under some cap pressure in the next couple of years to keep their core group together. I imagine what Jacko would demand to come across would make it very difficult for Freo to justify.

Hardly a reliable source, but good conversation starter.

Bloke is an attention-seeking nobody, gets some leeway because he’s not quite all there but any relationship between his “exclusives” and reality is purely coincidental.

So 1st 3 picks are mids?

North may lose JHF so they may look at a mid. If he stays they should be looking tall.

Reality is at 5 or 6 we would get one of Wardlaw, Phillipou, Hewett, Tsatas or Ryan. Wardlaw just been ranked 5.

Ahscroft will be gone, Sheezle as well or will be too much a risk.

My take is that North are more likely than not to take a tall at their first pick.
If JHF stays: They have no need for a mid and will grab a tall.
If JHF leaves: Likely to trade to Adelaide for pick 4 + later picks. Going into the draft with picks 1 & 4, grab a tall at #1 so they don't miss outknowing that betweem Wardlaw, Phillipou, Sheezel, Tsatas and whoever jumps up the draft boards, they will have plenty to pick from for the midfield.

My take is that North are more likely than not to take a tall at their first pick.
If JHF stays: They have no need for a mid and will grab a tall.
If JHF leaves: Likely to trade to Adelaide for pick 4 + later picks. Going into the draft with picks 1 & 4, grab a tall at #1 so they don't miss outknowing that betweem Wardlaw, Phillipou, Sheezel, Tsatas and whoever jumps up the draft boards, they will have plenty to pick from for the midfield.
If they want Lemey or Sculley, they can afford to wait until pick 4 if they want a forward. If they want the Gunslinger as their defensive cornerstone and he continues his current protectory, they may need to go early with him at 1. Would seem a waste but that will be their dilemma. This may all change as the development of talls is anything but linear and we have a lot of football to play in 2022.