Coronavirus & Lockdowns - the Positives - Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter peternorth

My comedy will be known as Corona Comedy, it will take your breath away.

People are indirectly being less selfish, not wanting others to get sick (because it would increase their chances of being sick too).

Everyone is going through more stress some form or another. So theoretically, there might be more public compassion and understanding for those who have suffered from mental illness.

Some people.

Others think that "stay home" means take your entire family on an outing to Bunnings.

I wonder if less or more people have been going to Bunnings since the shut down?

More, easily.

Midday on a Saturday the nearest one to me usually has a half full capark during peak sausage sizzle time. Car park has been nearly full every time I have been in the last 3 weeks. Mostly people pottering about aimlessly buying pot plants.

I wonder if less or more people have been going to Bunnings since the shut down?

Bunnings has not slowed one bit according to my girlfriend. Customers keep coming through the doors and some have been forcing their way into the timber yard despite being told to stay out and wait.

We're too free a society to be locked down. You can't really even consider our restrictions here a lockdown TBH. People are finding any excuse to get out and about. My local park is a state park and the carpark is as busy midweek as it normally is on weekends.

Great point mate. Ask person X what they're doing on the weekend, X says "gonna go for a drive, catch up with a mate. I'll be right".

Petrol half price....But are they related & in what way?.....The plot thickens.
Cheap oil kills Russia economically but it also kills the US and Canada
Great news for any one with spare capacity to store

More, easily.

Midday on a Saturday the nearest one to me usually has a half full capark during peak sausage sizzle time. Car park has been nearly full every time I have been in the last 3 weeks. Mostly people pottering about aimlessly buying pot plants.

Bunnings have halted the Sausage Sizzle during Covid-19 m8y

Cheap oil kills Russia economically but it also kills the US and Canada
Great news for any one with spare capacity to store

Iran also....as if they weren't alredy being squeezed economically enough via sanctions as it is.

People can remember what ANZAC Day was like before the Rodent turned it into a jingoistic flag waving exercise .
Could hear a neighbour practising his bag pipes for it the other day
lucky it was a fair way off so it sounded interesting instead of like strangling a cat

Got a pizza dough proofing in the fridge for a celebration on the 25th

The date was chosen by convention, as it was the day of the year 1945 when the National Liberation Committee of Upper Italy (CLNAI) officially proclaimed the insurgency in a radio announcement, propounding the seizure of power by the CLNAI and proclaiming the death sentence for all fascist leaders (including Benito Mussolini, who was shot three days later)

I'm aware. I'm talking regular non-COVID Saturdays. That is peak time.

Now with no snags it is busier at 10am on a Tuesday that it normally is during peak sausage time.

A couple of weeks ago my local Bunnings had lines to restrict entry. My local Coles did the same. They have both scrapped that now as the traffic is pretty light. I suspect it's because days of the week don't really exist any more and the usual weekend peak time is spread over the week.