Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

We always talk about empty crowds, but what about players being impacted? Could we see teams being forced to abandon games due to the spread of the virus among players?

We could, but remember that all of the experts in pandemics who frequent this thread have advised that the worst that will happen is the sniffles. So she'll be right mate!

The narrative around that doctor changed dramatically from "he's bad" to "he's ok" once it was revealed he was Missy Higgins father.

If the doctor happened to be asian or indian, he'd be a pariah.

Being Missy Higgins father makes him more dislikable in my book.How much pain and suffering can one old man inflict on society ?
And I don't feel convinced by his explanation of having a slight cold that had almost resolved itself but got tested anyway.Why bother if you had no feeling that something was up and you had followed all the protocals ? Just doesn't seem a satisactory explanation.imo.
At best he is slow on the uptake ,lacks a touch of comman sense and seems arrogant.imo

We could, but remember that all of the experts in pandemics who frequent this thread have advised that the worst that will happen is the sniffles. So she'll be right mate!
They’ll still have to quarantine the player(s) even if sniffles.

We always talk about empty crowds, but what about players being impacted? Could we see teams being forced to abandon games due to the spread of the virus among players?

Italian first division football matches cancelled

All matches in Italy’s topflight Serie A division should be cancelled until further notice, the Italian Minister of Sport has said minutes before Serie A games were due to resume in empty stadiums.

Vincenzo Spadafora said that it made no sense to put at risk the health of players, officials, fans and others.
The news filtered through as players from Parma and Spal were already on the pitch in their clash in Parma today. They were invited to return dressing room and the game has been delayed.

All matches in Italy’s topflight Serie A division should be cancelled until further notice, the Italian Minister of Sport has said minutes before Serie A games were due to resume in empty stadiums.

Vincenzo Spadafora said that it made no sense to put at risk the health of players, officials, fans and others.
The news filtered through as players from Parma and Spal were already on the pitch in their clash in Parma today. They were invited to return dressing room and the game has been delayed.

We've got the same number of cases now as Italy did only two weeks ago :( Crazy how fast this can get out of hand.

At least our infection growth rate so far has been relatively manageable.

We've got the same number of cases now as Italy did only two weeks ago :( Crazy how fast this can get out of hand.

At least our infection growth rate so far has been relatively manageable.

That will change here. Look at the climbing rates in other Europen countries.

What we should be doing

That game has now started, Parma v SPAL. It was one of six games scheduled for tonight (our time). All of these games were postponed from the last round because of Covid 19 and are being played before empty stadiums. Given government decisions announced today which effectively quarantine a large part of northern Italy, and the Sports Minister's statement today, it is pretty much certain that after today ALL Serie A games will be cancelled until the end of March at least. I think it is highly probable this will lead to the rest of the season being cancelled.

And this is still a chance the other games scheduled for tonight won't go ahead, particularly Milan at home against Genoa.

I'm trying to get my head around what this means but I can't for the life of me figure it out.

What's your implication here?
Boomers go to aflw? Normal people are hording tp? Footy fans like to stockpile?

Here's a hint, finish the sentence.

" The standard of the March and AFLW game gave me the ***** it was that bad"

-'Everyday we have 200 more patients in critical condition so everyday we need to find 200 more hospital beds.And it is spreading and increasing much faster than we were told it would.
Thats a quote from a health minister in Italy.Hence no public gatherings and cancelled soccer matches.

So if there are many more thousands of cases worldwide, no doubt tens of thousands would you not agree that would make the mortality rate that much lower... like um... influenza for instance?

The Chinese didnt count the deaths as Cov19 if they havent been tested. Reports of bodies being picked up from homes of people who risked not going to a hospital and died at home.

So lets just agree the numbers are under reported.

The death rate will vary from country to country with 1st world nations having a better chance at slowing the spread and saving lives.

How about you put up a number. How many deaths world wide will we see by the end of this year? SARS was 8000 over more than a year.

I'm amazed people criticise different cultures for eating different animals

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Sorry mate but some of the things other people eat is plain, pardon the pun, bat sh!t crazy.

Rhino horn or tiger claw to give you a bigger errection?

Live monkey brain? Thats a 'no brainer' on mother #@*& crazy.

Scorpions, spiders......

Its hocus pokus BS.

You do realise when COVID-19 hits hard, they'll only allow 20 people in each supermarket at once to prevent further spread of the disease. That means queuing outside for hours....hence why smart people are stockpiling.

Is this satirical?

Expect panic buying to increase tomorrow after the sensationalist 60 minutes report. People will move from turd paper to something else.

If we are to listen to the experts the death rate could be in the millions 😳 worldwide. They also say the figures being thrown out by China are ‘malarkey’.

Our blessing is population density, preparedness and a pretty good health system. These will help soften the blow.

Of course things can escalate fast here in Australia, but two things going in our favour is we have the benefit of low population density unlike Europe and we're an island nation.

Yeah, we'll have our own distribution dynamic. But without strict measures we'll inevitably arrive at the same place.

Fear is already having a larger effect then the disease itself, grabbed some lunch at a food court today and there was hardly anyone around so all those small businesses will be done for when this thing breaks containment and people avoid going anywhere public.

They also say the figures being thrown out by China are ‘malarkey’.

Bullshit is the correct term, if you have been following this since January.

If you have been believing the figures out of China, then your relatives should have you sectioned for being terminally mad, or stupid, or both.

Fear is already having a larger effect then the disease itself, grabbed some lunch at a food court today and there was hardly anyone around so all those small businesses will be done for when this thing breaks containment and people avoid going anywhere public.

Agreed.

Lots of focus is on the stock markets, listed companies, bonds etc.

Small businesses will be buggered.

Bahrain Formula One GP to run without fans
Formula One’s Bahrain Grand Prix has been closed to spectators due to the global virus outbreak, but won’t be postponed like the Chinese round of the championship.

The Bahraini organisers’ decision comes as the wider sporting world battles turmoil caused by the new coronavirus.

Bahraini organisers said having crowds at the March 22 race would have undermined “aggressive social distancing measures” used to prevent the spread of the virus, which causes the COVID-19 disease.
Bahrain leads us 85 infections to 80, but we're tough in Australia. We will show corona who's the boss!