• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I felt a bit gross even sharing something from PETA tbh

But yes, it has to go. So does factory farming, that’s just as dangerous

I've hunted my own meat and meat other people have got. Why should we stop? If you're not capable of hunting and killing your own meat at least a few times in your life you shouldn't eat it.

thats going a bit far, like saying if you cannot build a house you shouldn't be living in one, dont get me wrong i have no problem with hunting but it hardly qualifies as a pre-requisite to eating meat.

Do you think people would be blaming Obama like this?
If Obama reacted to this the way Trump did they should be.

Its not just Trumps fault. A lot of this is structural and cultural problems on the US. But he has done everything wrong. Morrison got it wrong once and then was pretty good about how and what info he presented. And its gotten consistently better. Even if different states did their own thing. That happens in the US too. Its federalism.

About the time we shut borders he was still calling it a political hoax.

That alone would have changed how some people reacted to it.

Same here. I’ve caught and killed my food many times. It’s the unhygienic markets that are the problem.

thats going a bit far, like saying if you cannot build a house you shouldn't be living in one, dont get me wrong i have no problem with hunting but it hardly qualifies as a pre-requisite to eating meat.
Well you could kill your own fish or slaughter your own stock or chooks or whatever as well.

At least a few times in your life.

Meat comes from something that was alive, a house is just a fancy cave.

You might want to get used to it because the 'six months' thing could easily turn into two years.

Especially if almost nobody is willing to step up and say 'wait a minute, this lockdown thing is getting silly now'.

I thought you were doing that all on your lonesome.

Try for once in your life to think about this. Australia has handled this better than just about everywhere else, except may be for NZ. Our politicions, to their absolute credit have listened to the people who have counted in this being our Chief Health Officers and have followed their advice. On Insiders today, when pushed by David Speers, Josh Frydenberg was resolute in saying "we will be guided by the medical people as to when and how we come out this". Our percentage of deaths to confirmed case stands at around 0.90%; in world terms is at this low level because the National Cabinet listened to the Medical people. And it is only this high because of the failings around the Ruby Princess.

If the Government bows to the ill-informed people such as you, and allow us to come out of lockdown too quickly, we will go back into another surge in infections, many more people will die and ultimately a far bigger price to pay economically than we will if this is managed properly.

I have confidence in Morrison and the National Cabinet to do this in a way that will see Australians come through this in the best possible way.

I'm not sure why I am bothering to talk about you in the same post as one which talks about the achievements of the National Cabinet, but I am, just to tell you that you have zero credibility on this matter and even less to offer by posting. I for one am sick to death of your mindless drivel.

Same here. I’ve caught and killed my food many times. It’s the unhygienic markets that are the problem.
I am not sold on the market as the definite point of origin anyway. But as you say this is nothing unpredictable.

Its not just markets tho, its all unhygienic farming practices. As well as unhygienic hunting. Selling bad meat. Tho desperate people will eat what they can. That had a lot to do with why China is renowned for this stuff.

If we accept that Trump has made a bit of a meal of the COVID-19 response - and, it would appear he has - what does that say about France, Italy, Spain and the UK? What’s their excuse(s)?

What did they do?

They've all been a little different haven't they. Seems like ages but was probably only a month or less heaps of Italians got on social media and said wtte of:

Take social distancing seriously, we didn't, despite the warnings, and this is turning into a nightmare.

RIP Tim Brooke-Taylor

Goodies star Brooke-Taylor dies with coronavirus
Share this with Email Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with Whatsapp
Tim Brooke-Taylor

Comedian Tim Brooke-Taylor has died at the age of 79 with coronavirus, his agent has confirmed to the BBC.
The entertainer, best known as one third of the popular 1970s show The Goodies, and I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue, died on Sunday.
Fellow Goodies star Graeme Garden said he was "terribly saddened by the loss of a dear colleague and close friend of over 50 years".
"He was a funny, sociable, generous man who was a delight to work with."
"Audiences found him not only hilarious but also adorable. His loss at this dreadful time is particularly hard to bear, and my thoughts are with Christine, Ben, Edward and their families," Garden said.
Brooke-Taylor's career spanned more than six decades and his comedic roots lay in the Cambridge Footlights Club, which he joined in 1960. Membership of the Footlights brought him into contact with Garden, Bill Oddie as well as future Python Graham Chapman.
The Derbyshire-born comedian started his broadcasting career on BBC Radio, before forming The Goodies with Garden and Oddie and later becoming a long-standing panellist on Radio 4's I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue.
A host of comedians have paid tribute to Brooke-Taylor on social media.

I have confidence in Morrison and the National Cabinet to do this in a way that will see Australians come through this in the best possible way.
Orwell had a summary for this type of faith: 'Four legs good, two legs bad'.

I for one am sick to death of your mindless drivel.
Then do us both a favour and put me on ignore. I'm not trying to anger you or anybody else, just sharing my opinions, that's the idea of a forum.

Whenever I can see people getting mad at me on this thread I take a day or two away.

End of the day, I'm hopeful that at some point there will be pro football again in this country, and our club will be part of it.

If that happens, we'll both be cheering on the Rooboys. Hopefully without Ziebell as captain but that's another discussion for another thread :thumbsu:

RIP Tim Brook Taylor

Goodies star Brooke-Taylor dies with coronavirus
Share this with Email Share this with Facebook Share this with Twitter Share this with Whatsapp
Tim Brooke-Taylor

Comedian Tim Brooke-Taylor has died at the age of 79 with coronavirus, his agent has confirmed to the BBC.
The entertainer, best known as one third of the popular 1970s show The Goodies, and I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue, died on Sunday.
Fellow Goodies star Graeme Garden said he was "terribly saddened by the loss of a dear colleague and close friend of over 50 years".
"He was a funny, sociable, generous man who was a delight to work with."
"Audiences found him not only hilarious but also adorable. His loss at this dreadful time is particularly hard to bear, and my thoughts are with Christine, Ben, Edward and their families," Garden said.
Brooke-Taylor's career spanned more than six decades and his comedic roots lay in the Cambridge Footlights Club, which he joined in 1960. Membership of the Footlights brought him into contact with Garden, Bill Oddie as well as future Python Graham Chapman.
The Derbyshire-born comedian started his broadcasting career on BBC Radio, before forming The Goodies with Garden and Oddie and later becoming a long-standing panellist on Radio 4's I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue.
A host of comedians have paid tribute to Brooke-Taylor on social media.
Another part of my childhood gone 😢

Doesn't he have a mate that owns the company that makes it?

Although somewhere in this thread is study from france three weeks ago that raises the possibility that it might be ffective on stopping this virus.

Yeah, I don't know ferbs, I honestly don't even know who he is.

The point I was initially making with my post though was about the weight of balance of the pitchforks always being directed at alternative modalities. You simply cannot criticise alternative medicine without acknowledging the serious harm that western medicine is capable of and has done. All the double-blind peer-reviewed testing in the world doesn't mean that a drug is guaranteed to be either safe or effective. Western medicine has just as much potential to cause harm than anything else, and in this case, the drug Trump has been telling over three hundred million people to take has way more potential to harm those people than some light waves found in nature could cause to the comparatively paltry number of people following a social media account.

Sorry, all this is not aimed at you ferbs. I know you're open to the balances of perspectives. But yeah, that was the original point of my post, just to stop singling out alternative medicine as being the only thing out there that could either cause harm or not work. There's plenty of that in Western medicine too. Even after all the peer-reviewed testing and "science".

Whichever way you want to spin it, the irrefutable truth is that when it comes to the welfare of the American people, the buck stops at Trump's desk.

But to be fair to The Orange Don, he appears to have had a helluva supporting cast in spreading the message.....

Yeah, I don't know ferbs, I honestly don't even know who he is.

The point I was initially making with my post though was about the weight of balance of the pitchforks always being directed at alternative modalities. You simply cannot criticise alternative medicine without acknowledging the serious harm that western medicine is capable of and has done. All the double-blind peer-reviewed testing in the world doesn't mean that a drug is guaranteed to be either safe or effective. Western medicine has just as much potential to cause harm than anything else, and in this case, the drug Trump has been telling over three hundred million people to take has way more potential to harm those people than some light waves found in nature could cause to the comparatively paltry number of people following a social media account.

Sorry, all this is not aimed at you ferbs. I know you're open to the balances of perspectives. But yeah, that was the original point of my post, just to stop singling out alternative medicine as being the only thing out there that could either cause harm or not work. There's plenty of that in Western medicine too. Even after all the peer-reviewed testing and "science".
The hierachy of evidence exists for a reason. Give me double-blind RCT's over anecdotal evidence from a naturopath any day of the week.

Alternative medicine is basically lawless. If something happens it can be swept under the rug. No ethics committees. Limited scrutiny (unless you count comments sections on Facebook :drunk:). Alternative medicines have their place but lets not attack science to push your agenda.

1586727270766.png

Well you could kill your own fish or slaughter your own stock or chooks or whatever as well.

At least a few times in your life.

Meat comes from something that was alive, a house is just a fancy cave.
Nicest bloody meat I have ever eaten. Had a couple of our Belted Galloway happily ploughed through. Scrum diddley dumptious

The hierachy of evidence exists for a reason. Give me double-blind RCT's over anecdotal evidence from a naturopath any day of the week.

Alternative medicine is basically lawless. If something happens it can be swept under the rug. No ethics committees. Limited scrutiny (unless you count comments sections on Facebook :drunk:). Alternative medicines have their place but lets not attack science to push your agenda.

View attachment 856979

Yeah, nah, read my post for what I was saying. I'm talking about weight of criticism being equally distributed. You cannot criticise one modality of medicine without acknowledging that the same happens in others. Western medicine is neither foolproof effective nor safe, no matter how many scientific studies are conducted within it.

Let me give you an example. In veterinary medicine, there is a decades-old NSAID (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory) called meloxicam. It's been double-blind peer-reviewed studied probably more than any other drug in its class, and it's widely used in North America. Now, despite all this scientific study (and don't even get me started on what is done to animals by the thousandfold in order to conduct these studies), to this day, when you administer meloxicam you can get one of three responses in a patient: a) it works a charm, the dog feels better, all is well - EXCEPT that the dog's blood work must be monitored regularly as long as they are on it, as long term use of the drug can cause kidney and/or liver failure, b) the drug doesn't do a thing, the patient feels no better, or c) the drug causes overwhelming gastroinestinal hemorrhage, and the patient dies within 24 hours. I have seen all three happen. So how meaningful was all the testing? How foolproof? How valuable? That's up to the individual to decide, but from my perspective, I certainly wouldn't put all my eggs in that basket as peer-reviewed studies being the final word there. I'd say the patient had the final word, in fact. It's how I usually feel.

Now, take the same dog, and do not give it meloxicam, and acupuncture it instead. One of two results: a) the dog responds immediately, feels great, keep going. b) no response, the dog is still the same. c) there is no C. The dog has not been harmed, and most importantly, is still alive.

And that's just one example. We see a multitude of patients referred to us for the sole reason that the drugs they were put on elsewhere are now the very thing that is threatening to kill them. Sometimes we can help them with TCM, sometimes we can't. But at the very, VERY least, we do not cause them harm, the way the drugs they'd been put on had. Drugs that have been tested. Peer-reviewed. Double-blind. Pick your term.

My point all along has been that positives and negatives exist within all modalities. If you pick out one thing to criticise in one, then you must acknowledge that it also exists in the other. Same with praise. The weight of criticism needs to be fairly applied. And the real proof always lies in the patient being treated.

Yeah, nah, read my post for what I was saying. I'm talking about weight of criticism being equally distributed. You cannot criticise one modality of medicine without acknowledging that the same happens in others. Western medicine is neither foolproof effective nor safe, no matter how many scientific studies are conducted within it.

Let me give you an example. In veterinary medicine, there is a decades-old NSAID (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory) called meloxicam. It's been double-blind peer-reviewed studied probably more than any other drug in its class, and it's widely used in North America. Now, despite all this scientific study (and don't even get me started on what is done to animals by the thousandfold in order to conduct these studies), to this day, when you administer meloxicam you can get one of three responses in a patient: a) it works a charm, the dog feels better, all is well - EXCEPT that the dog's blood work must be monitored regularly as long as they are on it, as long term use of the drug can cause kidney and/or liver failure, b) the drug doesn't do a thing, the patient feels no better, or c) the drug causes overwhelming gastroinestinal hemorrhage, and the patient dies within 24 hours. I have seen all three happen. So how meaningful was all the testing? How foolproof? How valuable? That's up to the individual to decide, but from my perspective, I certainly wouldn't put all my eggs in that basket as peer-reviewed studies being the final word there. I'd say the patient had the final word, in fact. It's how I usually feel.

Now, take the same dog, and do not give it meloxicam, and acupuncture it instead. One of two results: a) the dog responds immediately, feels great, keep going. b) no response, the dog is still the same. c) there is no C. The dog has not been harmed, and most importantly, is still alive.

And that's just one example. We see a multitude of patients referred to us for the sole reason that the drugs they were put on elsewhere are now the very thing that is threatening to kill them. Sometimes we can help them with TCM, sometimes we can't. But at the very, VERY least, we do not cause them harm, the way the drugs they'd been put on had. Drugs that have been tested. Peer-reviewed. Double-blind. Pick your term.

My point all along has been that positives and negative exist within all modalities. If you pick out one thing to criticise in one, then you must acknowledge that it also exists in the other. Same with praise. The weight of criticism needs to be fairly applied. And the real proof lies in the patient being treated.
You're preaching to the choir here. I completely understand the point you're making and the premise - alternative medicines have their place and sometimes you have no other choice or you hit something from a multitude of angles. What I do disagree with is 'weight of criticism being equally distributed' - Scientists operate on a research paradigm. Methodology is one component of that and the hierachy of evidence is one component of that. Nothing can be perfect but it's a structure and it is important. There will be positives and negatives - no one is denying that. It's definitely not perfect but the weight of it holds up more than "I have seen" or "how I feel".

The weights aren't even close to being equal. Your example would qualify as 'expert opinion' - so the bottom. Still valid but not much weight and the risk of bias...

Another part of my childhood gone 😢
I religiously watched The Goodies with my brother and sister at 6pm every weekday on the ABC ( after Catweazel ?) for years. When my own children were young I bought the DVD’s of The Goodies. So I sit down to watch them and realize there are posters of topless chicks in The Goodies house ( Bill Oddies I’m guessing). ....never once did I ever notice the posters as a kid. I’m guessing the ABC didn’t notice them either 😂

The Goodies and Monkee made the ABC cool in the school yard. If you weren’t watching either you were a social pariah