Discussion Coronavirus

• Thread starter Thread starter George

COVID-19 may kill more SME businesses than people.

The government's stimulus package won't do sh1t for many of them. Partial let off from BAS payments will be about it.

If our current levels of containment, social distancing and contact tracing (ie around any new cases) then we may avoid going into full lockdown mode.

It is all about how many new cases per day occur. If that remains low, then spread is low and our health system does not get overwhelmed.

If the infection rate starts to become logarithmic they will look to clamp down harder.

However severe measures such as a full lockdown also create a raft of other problems including maintaining supply of food, petrol etc.

Italy had to act so dramatically as they had ignored their problem for too long (infections started in December n Italy) and so they are hoping that a total shutdown will drastically slow the massive spread that they now have.

You can only contact trace when you do not have a lot of infected people to trace.

The more people practice social distancing and even self-isolation (if things start to ramp up) as well as improved handwashing etc then the slower the infection rate will be. On the plus side it will also slash the cases of flu, common cold, gastro etc as well.
Well I didn’t practice social distancing yesterday and neither did about 100 others at the Rosstown. That’s the problem. If someone had it yesterday then problem about 5 or so would have today and if those 5 see people today all of a sudden 30 could have it. Then it goes on and on. There is no way the numbers are even close to right. It would hundreds if not thousands more who have cv in Australia

Wouldn't surprise me if the actual numbers of infected were double currently reported or higher.

Jeebus, f**k it. Now we're not going to the footy cos of this stupid Bl00dy Corona Virus.

Oh well, I'm ok with it really. No, really I am............... AUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dude if your wearing a jacket with tassels then you shouldn't be allowed into the footy anyway.

Wouldn't surprise me if the actual numbers of infected were double currently reported or higher.

It would have to be because your only symptom could be a sore throat and how would you possibly know whether it’s a minor seasonal thing or the real thing? You’re not going to get testing for that alone.

Not denying the health crisis but some perspective from Worldometers

Problem with Covid-19 is there is no herd immunity or vaccine.

The reason for these drastic measures is that it is more deadly than flu and look at the flu numbers for the year below.

2020 will be bad, however Covid-19 is not the plague.

Screenshot_20200315-091301_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

Was funny. Dutton deserves everything he cops. Meathead.

I know a couple of guys who used to work as senior advisers for the federal libs. They don’t mind most of them, they like a few, but Dutton in their opinion has no redeeming features. Worst of the worst. Power for power’s sake.

It would have to be because your only symptom could be a sore throat and how would you possibly know whether it’s a minor seasonal thing or the real thing? You’re not going to get testing for that alone.
Where I am now (in Sweden) and across Europe, if you’re considered low risk (as I am) you can’t even get tested.

I rang the health hotline here yesterday as I’m pretty sure me and my wife have it (have most symptoms and sore lungs) but they just say to rest and isolate at home for a week or 2 unless it gets worse and then call an ambulance.

I feel ok really, have had worse flus and, having started to feel unwell on Tuesday am hopefully through the worst, but the thing is I’ll never know if I’ve had it or not (it could be a normal cold/flu) and there must be thousands like me at home around my adopted city today sick and not getting tested, meaning we aren’t included in the numbers. South Korea, with their massive testing efforts, seem to be the country that is on top of things the most and have the most accurate numbers. Everywhere else the figures can’t be trusted.

The numbers are way, way off. It’s already circulating around Europe freely and I’d say Australia. I’d just advise everyone to isolate their elderly parents/relatives and make sure they understand how damn contagious it is. I FaceTimed with my parents and made sure they didn’t go to church for example and learned how to shop online for groceries which will hopefully help.

The next few weeks will be trying for everyone, it’s a real worry how it has taken off all over Europe.

Where I am now (in Sweden) and across Europe, if you’re considered low risk (as I am) you can’t even get tested.

I rang the health hotline here yesterday as I’m pretty sure me and my wife have it (have most symptoms and sore lungs) but they just say to rest and isolate at home for a week or 2 unless it gets worse and then call an ambulance.

I feel ok really, have had worse flus and, having started to feel unwell on Tuesday am hopefully through the worst, but the thing is I’ll never know if I’ve had it or not (it could be a normal cold/flu) and there must be thousands like me at home around my adopted city today sick and not getting tested, meaning we aren’t included in the numbers. South Korea, with their massive testing efforts, seem to be the country that is on top of things the most and have the most accurate numbers. Everywhere else the figures can’t be trusted.

The numbers are way, way off. It’s already circulating around Europe freely and I’d say Australia. I’d just advise everyone to isolate their elderly parents/relatives and make sure they understand how damn contagious it is. I FaceTimed with my parents and made sure they didn’t go to church for example and learned how to shop online for groceries which will hopefully help.

The next few weeks will be trying for everyone, it’s a real worry how it has taken off all over Europe.
Don’t think my parents will have a problem not going to church but Mum May have a real issue not going to the pokies.

I hope you and your wife have a complete and quick recovery.

Dude if your wearing a jacket with tassels then you shouldn't be allowed into the footy anyway.

That should be the only way you're let in to the footy.

Last week I was overseas for work. I was scheduled to return in another week. Thursday I was advised of impending travel embargoes. Potentially I was going to be stuck in a foreign country for weeks or even months. My family back at home.

Due to travel bans everyone was scrambling to purchase flights & leave ASAP. Luckily I was able to get on a flight Friday afternoon despite initially told earliest flight was Sunday evening. I secured the ticket & boarded but I did not feel safe until I airborne & flying across the ocean!

As trivial as this may sound for some people this was one of the scariest times of my life. Just happy to be home with my family. What is even scarier is coming home to a country so complacent after witnessing the proactive nature of other countries.

I was working with a couple of Brits & they have to self quarantine for 14 days upon arrival home. Other countries implementing total travel bans. Business closures. Sport canceled. At the very least temperature checks upon entry to all businesses...masks everywhere. Australia..”she’ll be right mate”.

In Australia we are yet to witness the devastation & disruption this virus causes. Watch what’s occurring overseas to see into our future.

I’m not trying to heighten fear...however just be smart. Practice social distancing, self isolate, if you can you should work from home, use proper hygiene & only go out if completely necessary. Most importantly keep yourselves & your family safe.

Last week I was overseas for work. I was scheduled to return in another week. Thursday I was advised of impending travel embargoes. Potentially I was going to be stuck in a foreign country for weeks or even months. My family back at home.

Due to travel bans everyone was scrambling to purchase flights & leave ASAP. Luckily I was able to get on a flight Friday afternoon despite initially told earliest flight was Sunday evening. I secured the ticket & boarded but I did not feel safe until I airborne & flying across the ocean!

As trivial as this may sound for some people this was one of the scariest times of my life. Just happy to be home with my family. What is even scarier is coming home to a country so complacent after witnessing the proactive nature of other countries.

I was working with a couple of Brits & they have to self quarantine for 14 days upon arrival home. Other countries implementing total travel bans. Business closures. Sport canceled. At the very least temperature checks upon entry to all businesses...masks everywhere. Australia..”she’ll be right mate”.

In Australia we are yet to witness the devastation & disruption this virus causes. Watch what’s occurring overseas to see into our future.

I’m not trying to heighten fear...however just be smart. Practice social distancing, self isolate, if you can you should work from home, use proper hygiene & only go out if completely necessary. Most importantly keep yourselves & your family safe.
That was good you got back. I still think you need to live your life. I go to my mates every Friday and usually the pub on Saturday night and when footy starts, local that is and if it starts, I will be going there. We also need to support local businesses if that’s what we usually do otherwise their business maybe lost.

COVID-19 may kill more SME businesses than people.

The government's stimulus package won't do sh1t for many of them. Partial let off from BAS payments will be about it.

The RBA should quickly announce plans for quantative easing.

They should also inject massive liquidity into the markets to allow the banks to support small businesses to keep employing people with ‘compassionate’ lending terms. Cash flow is king.

Announce it quickly. Decisively. Underpin economic confidence. Short circuit impending panic which will allow the economy to rebound quickly.

It’s all about leadership.

Maybe think lateral, to reduce the chance of virus spread, instead of a footy match, we get two Coronavirus-free boxers in a ring in the middle of Marvel Stadium- one with a Saints jumper and one with a North jumper, and have a 10 round match and the winner gets the premiership points for that team?

Was funny. Dutton deserves everything he cops. Meathead.

So you are wishing a deadly virus on another human who has been an ex copper and served in the public arena for a long time. Classy. You don't have to like Dutton or the LNP but he has done more for country and community than you I can easily imagine.

Anyway, yes let's listen to a footballer from Moags Creek that has never had a real job yet. 🙄