Tim the Toolman

Brisbane Lions
Beaconsfield Super Rules
I promised those of you with me at the Dome tonight that I'd give myself a 24-hour breather before I posted on BF but I've got an hour to wait before the next train leaves for Berwick and I just cannot help myself!

First point: Lethal and the players get held up at Brisbane Airport yesterday because their special chartered jet breaks down (thankfully on the tarmac thank you Timothy Livingstone! tish tish) and they're 2 hours late coming to Melbourne.

Muggins takes the afternoon off work, annual leave, gets the kids and drives an hour into the city for our special sponsors night and allow my children to meet these heroes that are on TV and my 76 year old father comes in, also an hour's drive for to get photos of his grand children and his sponsored player and enjoying the fruits of our joint sponsorship which costs us some money that yes can be spent on petrol, mortgage et al....

Lethal decides that no, the players having spent a couple of hours wasting away at Brisbane Airport have no time for the Melbourne player sponsors, regardless of whether they have flown from Hobart, taken time off work, driven hours to get there, argued with spouses whom believe monies should be better spent on actual living expenses and also decides that the general Melbourne fans aren't good enough either cancelling the after match function because there's important matches coming up and finals are more important.

THAN WHY THE F__K DO THEY TURN UP TO MELBOURNE AND GIVE US THAT SHIT LETHAL????

Honestly, I was over it last night. Fair enough I said. If Lethal reckons we're in it for the long run than he's right isn't he? If he wants the private jets, wrap the players in cotton wool, don't meet the Melbourne fans because we'll always join up and visit the Melbourne games because we're old Fitzroy stock and we will always see it through...well guess what Lethal? I'm not joining up again with this shit if you're going to take us for granted! Enough is enough.

If you were taking shit players into the game, or they were injured, then what's the harm in letting us meeting with the players and getting our time in the light with them? That's the whole point of the sponsorship!!! I felt so sorry for the kids who were there last night and I felt equally sorry for the poor Melbourne Lions' staff who must be wondering what the hell they should do for a living?

Yes, you were held up in Brisbane; yes you needed to have that meeting - and must have been a pearler! What did you discuss? "Team: we're not wearing those piddly white guernseys and Browny kicks ass against Essendon so we're home and hosed. I know we were shit against Melbourne but just go out there and win!!!"?

Why couldn't you do that in Brisbane whilst you had those hours at the airport and give your Melbourne sponsors something to enjoy?

I gave it to Lethal at both half time and full time when he came down from his ivory tower. He walked strong and didn't flinch but I yelled out the question "why couldn't you let the players meet the fans - was it worth it?" I also gave the big spray to the players coming up the race "you are better than this" and Mitch Clark gave me the dirtiest of looks but you know what? That's Melbourne - we are passioniate about our football, we give it hard but then again, when you guys have a real crack, us old Fitzroy supporters are the best supporters in the land - just ask Johnno or Lynchy?

Time has come for us Melbourne supporters not to be taken for granted and given some dignity Leigh. I'm not sure where our membership is at the moment but I know we're 4th bottom overall in fan base and I'm also sure you can't afford to lose your Melbourne patronage.

If you're going to get a successful team up and running again you will need the boys performing in Melbourne. To date this year there hasn't been much to write home about from Victoria and I suggest you stop wiping the bums of your kids and get them down here for some Vic weather, some harsh Melbourne "love", get them belly to belly with the real fans, not that Brisbane soft-mummy fans and stop protecting them from the harsh reality of Victorian football.

Cancelling Melbourne events is not the way Lethal.

I met a girl crazier than any of us tonight and my God, she had the passion!!! And guess what, she was from Brisvegas!

Footy Knowledge and Passion is alive and well in sections of the QLD AFL community. Let it be known that we don't accept the crap that was served up tonight, i just feel sorry for the 8 or so players that are carrying our team, i don't know how the other blokes look them in the eye.

I feel for you. Is this function apart of your sponsorship? Thats just not right. To do that to people who pay their hard earned to the club.

A good waste of 4 hours yesterday. Saw some players on their way to training but that's it. Saw ''Tim the Toolman'' yesterday....highlight of my day ;)

Oh my god, that is disgraceful to hear how you and other Melbourne based player sponsors have been treated. After all the trouble you go to to support the team. It's not right. You make some very good points in your post. Perhaps you should write to the Club and let them know how you feel.

Tim, what I think you should have done is stand back for 30 seconds and tell us what you really thought:D

Now that I have one of my personal favourite quotes out of the way, I have to say that I am completely, 100%, unreservably agree with everything that you said.

I personally could not believe that the post match function was cancelled, it is such a small thing for the players I would have thought, but such a huge thing for the fans.

The sponsor function is an amazing decision. As a first time sponsor this season, I found the Brisbane function to be awesome. I almost purchased a Melbourne based package as well, as I travel down for many of the Melbourne games, but for one reason or another, I couldn't get the flights at the right price, thus decided against the purchase of the additional sponsorship (OK, Mrs CtD kept rolling her eyes when I mentioned it as well). If I had of, and travelled to Melbourne, and was dealt that rubbish, I too would have been pissed beyond belief.

I seriously do hope that the Toolman can recover in time for the Dome in a couple of weeks, I will keep an eye out for you:thumbsu:

Tim, what I think you should have done is stand back for 30 seconds and tell us what you really thought:D

Now that I have one of my personal favourite quotes out of the way, I have to say that I am completely, 100%, unreservably agree with everything that you said.

I personally could not believe that the post match function was cancelled, it is such a small thing for the players I would have thought, but such a huge thing for the fans.

The sponsor function is an amazing decision. As a first time sponsor this season, I found the Brisbane function to be awesome. I almost purchased a Melbourne based package as well, as I travel down for many of the Melbourne games, but for one reason or another, I couldn't get the flights at the right price, thus decided against the purchase of the additional sponsorship (OK, Mrs CtD kept rolling her eyes when I mentioned it as well). If I had of, and travelled to Melbourne, and was dealt that rubbish, I too would have been pissed beyond belief.

I seriously do hope that the Toolman can recover in time for the Dome in a couple of weeks, I will keep an eye out for you:thumbsu:

After the Melbourne and Essendon games,any Lion's fan who rolls up to the Dome in a fortnight is a glutton for punishment - but true supporters do stick through thick and thin and hope springs eternal

7 games in 7 weeks in 4 states.

I'll be there:thumbsu:

Oh, but don't forget the Bulldogs game:eek:

Sponsors night wasn't a total waste Tim....

You got to meet me:p

Tim the toolman - fabulous post. You should put this thread on the main board, because then everyone will see it, and everyone should. What you were served up shouldn't be swept under the rug, and what all Melbourne based Lions supporters witnessed at the Dome last night shouldn't be swept under the carpet either. It was unacceptably heartless. Our "second tier" players lacked heart and lacked spirit. Too many times they stood off the ball instead of attacking it. Newsflash for them - Black/Brown/Power aren't going to dominate every week, and when they don't, the second tier have to shine, or find a new career, and last night they did not shine. (Exceptions IMO were Clarke who shut Lloyd down well for most of the match, and Collier who for a 3rd gamer did some very good things).

Tim the toolman you're well within your rights to be very angry about what happened both on and off the field last night and I applaud you for giving Leigh a spray, and I applaud you for starting this thread. What the Brisbane Lions do NOT need is heartless fans who turn up only in the good times, and leave at 3/4 time when we're losing, like the Swans. We are Melbournites who grew up with the hardest road in football - barracking for Fitzroy, so loyalty in times of disappointment is 2nd nature, but accepting sub standard performances is not. Well done for speaking up.

First point: Lethal and the players get held up at Brisbane Airport yesterday because their special chartered jet breaks down.

Back to the 1st point Tim.
Imagine how much worse the efforts would have been had the players not been on a chartered jets at our last 3 Melbourne appearances. :eek:
Just be glad for the extra 1-2% that these flights improved there efforts.
Ironically your $$$ are subsidising these chartered flights Tim.

Against Richmond throw them on Jetstar.
Could it really be that much worse, & as a bonus we may save a few $$$$.

Very heartfelt post Tim and I agree with you 100%. I am a Brisbane/Fitzroy Lions Melbourne based member and the crap that this team has dished up here in Melbourne has been really dissapointing to say the least.

I was seated on level 2 just above the Lions race and unfortunately I let my emotions get the best of me and I also gave the boys one almighty spray at halftime. The last time I gave the boys a serve like that was when they were leading and ultimately drew with the Tigers at the Dome.

Also, the cancellation of the 'meet and greet' players after match function was really difficult to explain to my kids. Having it postponed to a weekday training session is not practical given that I have to work and the kids are in school !

Love ya Lions but c'mon, lift ya game!

Do you think that it could possibly be that our players are injured and they need the recovery time before and after games?

Kimp, these blokes get paid heaps of dollars to play the sport they love, sure they have sacrifices etc etc, but they get paid all this coin because dicks like us buy memberships and choose to watch the footy on tv above everything else. The least the Lions can do is honour their commitments, if all the non injured players attended and apologised for the injured blokes then any normal person would understand that.

Also, the cancellation of the 'meet and greet' players after match function was really difficult to explain to my kids. Having it postponed to a weekday training session is not practical given that I have to work and the kids are in school !
Should double check on the kids LK the last two weeks have been school holidays down here?

Nice Post Tim... you did threaten this when we had a drink together on Friday. A man not afraid to speak his mind, as you know I don't totally agree with you on this but it's more a personal opinion and I shall leave it there 'cos you have justified it well in your post. It should be an interesting evening Friday week. :D

Kimp, these blokes get paid heaps of dollars to play the sport they love, sure they have sacrifices etc etc, but they get paid all this coin because dicks like us buy memberships and choose to watch the footy on tv above everything else. The least the Lions can do is honour their commitments, if all the non injured players attended and apologised for the injured blokes then any normal person would understand that.

Maybe that's exactly what they don't want to show.

Should double check on the kids LK the last two weeks have been school holidays down here?

Doh!. . . . I should have read the Vic newsletter properly, I dont know why but I thought it was postponed until the friday before the Tigers game. Cheers

Kimp, these blokes get paid heaps of dollars to play the sport they love, sure they have sacrifices...

You know, I'm thinking about the letter I'm going to write to Grahame Downie this morning (cc'd to Leigh, Laurie Serafini and Tim Livingstone) and I remembered seeing a senior player outside the hotel on Friday night, very polite and chatty with myself and my son - I did not approach him, he asked about my son and we talked briefly from there - and he told me he was going out for dinner and was casually dressed. That was part of the frustration from my behalf, to think that all of the sponsors were ditched yet the players, and I'm assuming that one player is allowed to go out for dinner than all are, have a free pass!

I also took part in the sponsorship program for the sports foundation, ice vests etc... so it's not like I'm not also putting my hand in my pocket and supporting player rehab? I understand this, I did used to be a Sports Trainer with Fitzroy whose job it was to get the players up and running for the following week, but I also hold a Graduate Diploma in Marketing including one Unit of Sports Marketing & The Sponsorship Alliance from Monash University so I know what I'm talking about. I am also what's known as a "Dysfunctional Supporter" according to the research, a person whom feels the pain of a loss for a long period of time and whose emotions are countered by how the team is going: something that obviously a lot of people on BigFooty are as well?

My point here is that in Marketing "the customer is always right." That does not mean that if the customer is saying it's black and the specification they signed said white than they get white, that is a misunderstanding of the term. It means that if you do not provide the right product, at the right venue and at the right price bringing your customer in with the right promotion (the old Marketing 4 P's) then they will buy elsewhere hence voting with their feet. For the Lions, they have set up fortress Gabba and it appears (perception is reality) that Leigh is running his boys back to Brisbane at every chance not wanting them to get tainted with any evil in Victoria.

I remember distinctly 2001 when we had a win at the G against Hawthorn and we 'finally cracked the code'. Afterwards the players all came across to the Hilton for a huge after-match and all the planets aligned for a day. They loved the Fitzroy support, they finally won at the G, Browny took mark of the year, they won from behind and the players were embracing us, Leigh was embracing us. Now, it's feels like it's us and them. We don't need an us and them down here. How much shit do you think I get for barracking for an "interstate" club down here? How many people do I explain myself to? How many times do I argue with my wife about the hours I spend away on those very few times the Lions come to Melbourne and also argue the value of the membership for only 5 games a year and then you have to book seats for most of them as well?

Let's talk about sacrifices and players, it's a bit of two-way street here.