Credibility?

AngelEyes said:
But that is not Stiff's fault. Its other people that chose to agree, and generally yes they do agree with him because he does know what he's talking about. if they disagree you dont slander the guy, you debate it. many people i have seen disagree with him but instead of debating it, slander him.

Nah I would never slander Stiffy - that's why I talk to you AE :p

No 1 Draft Pick said:
I dont think anyone in this thread has bagged Stiffy at all - quite the opposite actually. He has everyones respect here - if you reread mine/RaveSlaves posts then I think you will see this
yes i agree however 2 things;

1. names didn't need to be used.

2. I'm more sticking up for him in the fact that people dont debate topics with him. and the ones that disagree just slander him (eg; Jack Did It the other night) thats what im trying to say.

Mad Dog said:
post away buddy....there's always someone out there who will agree with you - maybe others are thinking what you are thinking but don't have the guts to say it first up.
You might be surprised !!!

Yeah I have been posting on BF for awhile now, but there still is that crediblity thing, I still think you need to have it, I just be careful what i say in reguards to issues, some issues if I am not sure on I wont say anything I will just read and go ahhhhhhh ;)

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah I have been posting on BF for awhile now, but there still is that crediblity thing, I still think you need to have it, I just be careful what i say in reguards to issues, some issues if I am not sure on I wont say anything I will just read and go ahhhhhhh ;)

Just say it and who cares if someone disagrees with you.

At the end of the day it is your own opinion no one else’s but yours, stand by your conviction

maccas_no1 said:
Thats the problem with BigFooty. Everyone just sucks up to one another. At times it gets very annoying when half the threads are just clogged up with people that are trying so hard to get credibility, that they just agree or give comments and smilie rubbish just to try and get respect from the people who seem to have the "credibility"

slappy said:
you should change that habit right now mate!

remember 10000+ posts on bigfooty doesnt mean youre dealing with malcolm blight ... your opinion is just as valid as anyone elses

People should just say what they think on a particular matter.

For example my personal opinion is that Nathan Bassett should have been traded and adds no value to the team whatsoever. He wouldn't be in my best 22 for the Crows.

Nothing anyone says, regardless of their various so-called connections with the Crows or how many posts they have, will ever make me think differently.

Another example is my view that the Rookie List should always have 6 rookies on it. Now several others have disagreed with this, as is their right, but I still think it's the way for a footy club to grow.

I think as long as you don't become a dipstick like Jack Did It people shouldn't be afraid to air their views.

@ maccas_no1 - Say what you think mate and you might just find many others on big footy who agree with you.

The only time I have held my tounge was when the mindless political garbage that was going on during and after the last election.

My decision was just to ignore these posts because the people making the posts in them were left-winged lunatics and not worth arguing with.

Plus I'm really here to discuss footy which is why I found it surprising that ALL the political posts weren't moved to the political forum.

I'm thought for sure that those amongst us who love to sprout their political views would do so in the political forum and not bore us to death with their constant whining here on a FOOTBALL FORUM. Alas no it wasn't to be.

Anyway, that has been the only time I questioned the validity of the posters on this forum.

I have my fingers crossed that next election (whether state or federal) the Moderators of the Adelaide Board step in and ban ALL political posts.

Back on the topic at hand.

Everyone's opinions are unique and I read what people say in relation to the Crows regardless of whether I agree with their view or not.

So speak people and that way you get your point(s) across.

You might find that you are more in-the-know than some of the so-called experts here (me included).

I'm sure all your opinions are highly valued otherwise what's the point of having this as a discussion forum.

Some people may need a reminder that, apart from the odd poster, we are ALL Crows fans here and our goals are more premierships / flags for Adelaide. :)

PowerKop said:
Thats the problem with BigFooty. Everyone just sucks up to one another. At times it gets very annoying when half the threads are just clogged up with people that are trying so hard to get credibility, that they just agree or give comments and smilie rubbish just to try and get respect from the people who seem to have the "credibility"
That really wasn't the point of the thread, but thankyou for your input on how I may get some credibility and reasonable posting on the ADELAIDE BOARD. I don't want or have any need at all to suck up or put 'smileys' in agreeance.

I would like to be credible because I have strength of my convictions, believe what I say and have some knowledge and reasonable opinions to post.

I will look forward to your insite in future powerkop. (tongue in cheek of course)

To everyone else thanks for your kind words :)

Crows98 aka mc_crows *hugs for you* long time no speak, Aims is well thanks as am i... Merry Christmas to you and a wonderful 2005 to come... Oh and GO YOU CROWS!

PowerKop said:

I agree :)

Would also just like to mention that i speak to adelaide_girl both on here and elsewhere and she is an extremely smart person with great ideas and a well structured basis to all her arguments. If you only read one opinion other than your own i encourage you read hers because it will always be backed up and well judged.

FWIW adelaide_girl is one of the people i respect most on BF both on this board and elsewhere.

crows98 said:

At the end of the day it is your own opinion no one else’s but yours, stand by your conviction
That's it, at the end of the day we are here because we have a common interest and most of the times are just voicing opinions. Nobody is right or wrong.

Opinions is what they are, but because we all come from different "backgrounds" we often see things from different angles, and to me THAT is what makes a place like this worth coming to. It can be an eye opener as well as a place to gather information that may not be available through normal media channels.
Thus every contribution is not only respected, but valued also. Be you 12 or 82.
wrt sometimes being "ignored", well don't take it too seriously, most if not all of the times it's more a case of people being comfortable talking to people they are used to, not people you value as such. That probably comes into it even more when you log on once in a while and there are a few posts you might want to reply to but only end up doing so to a couple of them only.
Just keep posting away when you feel you have something to say.

EDIT: FWIW, personally, the only posts I deliberately choose to ignore are the ones that get abusive as in nearly all cases I find them childish to say the least.

To Adelaide girl and the others, great posts and a very interesting topic. This is my main link to what is happening back in crowland and I know that most things said are just opinion but that's what I like about people, their opinions make them interesting to know (except for a couple of complete tossers). So please all keep posting even if it seems that no one is responding to you, cause there are people like me and spinny etc that don't post too often but welcome the news from back home so we read pretty much every post.

crows98 said:

PAfolwr beat me to it so i wont repeat what he has posted but what you & PA both think is spot on.

More than once i have made a fool of myself with some of my brainstorms but i keep coming back for more, just try & keep this & any other forum in perspective & most of us will not go wrong.

I should mention having & showing a good sense of humour wouldn't go astray as well. :)

noddy said:
PAfolwr beat me to it so i wont repeat what he has posted but what you & PA both think is spot on.

More than once i have made a fool of myself with some of my brainstorms but i keep coming back for more, just try & keep this & any other forum in perspective & most of us will not go wrong.

I should mention having & showing a good sense of humour wouldn't go astray as well. :)

Noddy, I'm not a frequent poster (I tend to be a bit voyeurish), but I've already made a few posting clangers that I have regretted later! I think we all do. As far as I am concerned, this is a great board. A lot of fun, a lot of information, just a great place to 'talk' footy -- especially when the cricket is as boring as it is at the moment.

I hope everyone keeps posting passionately and often...helps my days go quicker....

Rock an' Roll.... :cool:

mymansyd said:
Noddy, I'm not a frequent poster (I tend to be a bit voyeurish), but I've already made a few posting clangers that I have regretted later! I think we all do. As far as I am concerned, this is a great board. A lot of fun, a lot of information, just a great place to 'talk' footy -- especially when the cricket is as boring as it is at the moment.

I hope everyone keeps posting passionately and often...helps my days go quicker....

Rock an' Roll.... :cool:

Bring out the Poms. :)

Vincent Price i presume :D

maccas_no1 said:

Nah don't do that mate, keep debating if you believe your right. If your found out to be wrong, then run for the hills. IMO everyone on here has credibilty and valid opinions, from the person with less than 10 posts through to the veterans.

PowerKop said:

Talking about credibility. Why is it you tone down your posts dramatically when you post on here as opposed to the main board in AFC related threads? It reeks of disrespect towards AFC members and IMO is quite cowardly.

Rave Slave said:
An extremely valid point you raise there adelaide_girl - as always :)

Whilst this is the board of my football club and i am intrigued by many of the opinions of those who grace it I have noticed a distinct 'click' if you will.

People on this board have a habit of ignoring opinions of some of the more fringe posters on the board who raise very interesting and thought provoking points, whereas a more respected poster (no offence stiffy but I shall single you out as you are the most respected here - nothing against you mate you post top quality stuff) such as stiffy can post a similar post and everyone leaps all over it.

I think that many people on this board are what I would call 'yes men' - everything the respected people says they agree with. I'm not going to single out individuals but they do exist.

This is NOT a dig at individuals and if people are offended by it then im sorry but I'm with a_g 100% on this one - our board isn't always the most friendly of places to new people starting out. Post your own opinion for once people instead of making love to the opinions of the more respected posters. We cant all think the same ALL the time.

Take in the opinions of others - not just the ones with the highest post counts and have a think for yourself sometime.

*steps down off high horse*

I agree with everything you say RS :o

Hi girl,
As with everything else credibility is earnt over a period of time.
One must be carefull not to confuse popularity with credibility.
Credibility comes from making logically argumented opinions and not necessarily what is popular.
We all have an opinion on everything and it is easy to say the roo is the crows most important player. It is stupid to say Ladhams is. However as an oposition supporter I would say the most important player is Tyson Edwards because when he plays well the crows play well.
Now having said that people who dont rate edwards now think I have no credibility.

SpringChoke said:
Nah don't do that mate, keep debating if you believe your right. If your found out to be wrong, then run for the hills. IMO everyone on here has credibilty and valid opinions, from the person with less than 10 posts through to the veterans.

Who knows what people think and who knows how you gain credibility, everyone has different opinions and I guess people who maybe go to more games, or have better idea's tactically and understand footy down to a fine art, have more voice than those like I am more from purely a supporter's point of view. I have only ever played one season of footy myself, and trust me I anit much good. When I go to the footy I am more there as I guess the supporter, I obviously watch whats going on, but I see it a different way. Where some pople would analyse the game as in a tactical way if you know what I mean, in all honestly there are some things that are posted on here about certain aspects of the game and I wouldnt have a clue what it all means :o

SpringChoke said:

Yes this is very true of some people. :(

(Just for the record I don't mean you either SpringChoke) :)

missionpossible said:
Hi girl,
As with everything else credibility is earnt over a period of time.
One must be carefull not to confuse popularity with credibility.
Credibility comes from making logically argumented opinions and not necessarily what is popular.
We all have an opinion on everything and it is easy to say the roo is the crows most important player. It is stupid to say Ladhams is. However as an oposition supporter I would say the most important player is Tyson Edwards because when he plays well the crows play well.
Now having said that people who dont rate edwards now think I have no credibility.

I think you've just earned yours.

Beautifully put and totally correct IMO. Very similar to respect, where it has to be earned, and not demanded.

Hey, what am I doing responding to someone with only 11 posts to their name!! :o ;) :p

I just noticed that Stiffy hasn't posted today and if you check his profile his location is now showing as "Retired from BF" :(

Stiffy carries this Board through the dull moments with his volume of entertaining posts, and starting new threads. It doesn't matter if you agree with him or not - he's great value.

I'll be one very p*ssed off individual if all that crap about him in this thread has led to something like this. :mad:

macca23 said:
I just noticed that Stiffy hasn't posted today and if you check his profile his location is now showing as "Retired from BF" :(

Stiffy carries this Board through the dull moments with his volume of entertaining posts, and starting new threads. It doesn't matter if you agree with him or not - he's great value.

I'll be one very p*ssed off individual if all that crap about him in this thread has led to something like this. :mad:
I can assure you that was definatly far from the intention of this thread from my part macca23. I was particually careful not to mention any names, and I have always found stiffy to be such an informative and well researched poster.

Would be a sad loss for the Adealaide Board.