Cricket Thread

Danny O'Shea is a mate of mine. You want him in the Test side? Really? Have you ever seen him play?

For 12 months I've told anyone who wants to listen that he is the best spinner in Australia.

His control, flight, ability to turn and subtle variations make him near on unplayable. I've torn apart many decent district teams, but he's the best spinner I've played against.

He was leading wicket taker in premier cricket last season. The boy can seriously play.

Yeah marsh still a massive talent maybe not the best but he's up amongst them.

I have no doubt he is talented. It's just that I fear picking a jack-of-all-trades master-of-none allrounder when a pure batsman or bowler would be better value for the side. I'd like to see him put together one or two good Shield seasons first.

Yeah I see what your saying, As I said I think he's only 21 maybe 22 so he's got a few years to develop. I no the wa coaches were happy with his maturity over the last 12 months in his batting, he's now more controlled in setting out his innings. But he'll miss most this year with the hammy witch is a shame for his development!

if I were picking the team, I'd experiment with something like this if everyone was fit:

Warner
Hughes
Siddle
Watson
Clarke
Hussey
Wade
Pattinson
Starc
Cummins
Lyon

Bearing in mind James Pattinson averages >38 (more than Shane Watson) with the bat and <23 with the ball, you could mount a decent argument that he is the best bowling allrounder in the world at the moment.

Not to mention Siddle probably has the best technique and could do a job dulling the moving ball.

It also gives us 6 bowlers and no excuses if we can't bowl out decent teams on flat decks.

Siddle at 3? Infinite likeage.

He actually values his wicket. We could do a lot worse.

Not sure of the signal it sends to the opposition when you send in a nightwatchman at 3 on the first morning of a test match, but who cares, he just would need to hold up an end and work the singles and get Warner on strike :thumbsu:

I'm still not sold on Lyon.

Maybe we were incredibly spoiled with a spinner the likes of Warne but Lyon just feels like such a "meh" pick to me.

Lucks out and gets a wicket or two if the pitch is spinning a mile but on a batters pitch he seems to have no attack, has little variation and the batsman get their eye in on the same stuff ball after ball.

I'm still not sold on Lyon.

Maybe we were incredibly spoiled with a spinner the likes of Warne but Lyon just feels like such a "meh" pick to me.

Lucks out and gets a wicket or two if the pitch is spinning a mile but on a batters pitch he seems to have no attack, has little variation and the batsman get their eye in on the same stuff ball after ball.

You were incredibly spoiled with Warne !.Best spinner to play the game ever..theres no replacing him

Lyons done ok so far. Plus theres no one else hammering the door down, so u stick with him for a while longer

Its a shame whats happend to Cummins & Pattison, but thats what happens with young quicks.
Cummins reminds me of Shane Bond . Similar action ( & pace). Hope you get a longer career out of him than we did with Bond !

A poll in the Sunday Times has Siddle as Australia's best bowler.

I don't get into polls all that much so i didn't pay too much attention to it but i think it was amongst all current cricketers playing shield level and national level.. he's obviously doing something right Jo.

Exactly. Plus he's a NMFC supporter. I remember a few years back when he had grout in his big toe & couldn't walk. A few pickle-heads here wrote him off but I stuck by him like Hannibal-Nectar did with with Meggs. Yes sir, i was proven right once again.

You guys watch cricket or what?

Lyon will be one of the best spin bowlers in the world very soon. Very very harsh spin crown here in Australia.

I hear he is alright at Poker too
leisure-suit-larry.jpg

There's been a lot of radio discussion this week about 14 and 15 degree arm bends and doosras.

Does any Aussie bowler bowl in the style of Murali and Botha? If not, why not? It's within the laws of cricket.

Are we hurting ourselves by not getting with the program?

There's been a lot of radio discussion this week about 14 and 15 degree arm bends and doosras.

Does any Aussie bowler bowl in the style of Murali and Botha? If not, why not? It's within the laws of cricket.

We aren't hurting ourselves. It would seem very risky to coach somebody to bowl with a 15 degree bend just on feel. If they can do it and exploit, fine, but if not then don't bother.

I think Krejza can bowl one.

The 15 degree arm flex rule is a joke, it was bought in just to appease the Sri Lankans and Murali.

Switching this conversation to our batting, I find it a bit rich that Clarke is saying that the top order batsmen need to "step up". As Australia's captain, and premier batsman, why doesn't he "step up" and bat at number 3, as nearly all our previous captains have done.

He is currently best in the world at number five. We'd be robbing Peter to pay Paul, and the payment to Paul may not be so good.

When did Waugh and Border bat at 3? Tubby was an opener.

In NMFC/cricket related news, the Launceston City council is in the prelim stages of putting a drop-in pitch at Aurora Stadium.

For those not in Tassie, this is a north Tas. v south Tas. spat- When Aurora stadium was initially renovated with state funds, then-premier Jim Bacon stated that the cricket (Tasmania/Australia/Aust. A) matches would stay in Hobart (apart from the occasional Tassie one-dayer or 20/20) and the footy (AFL) in Launceston.

This is the council thumbing their nose at those who got Footy to Bellerive, expect the council to put more pressure on the Tassie cricket board to get more games up north.

It won't affect our deal with Bellerive, but tensions continue to simmer.

Why on earth would you move Clarke to 3 when he's regularly making 100 at number 5 and is arguably the best middle order batsman in the world currently, he's right, our top order has been absolutely pathetic as of late, covering over the cracks with a good innings here and there but unable to impact the scoreboard.

How many times in the last 2 years have people found themselves willing on Clarke/Hussey to save the match by hanging in after 3-4 wickets down?

If anything I dislike Watson at 4, doesn't feel right. He should be Opening or 3.

Just saw the Sri Lankan score card with UWMBCA Welegadara and had to google him, what a mouthful that blokes name is: Uda Walawwe Mahim Bandaralage Chanaka Asanga Welegedara

Who were saying that Siddle was no good on here? The bloke is carrying our attack and has for some time.

If he could be saved for short sharp bursts of over instead of working him into the ground then he would be even better. Time for some other bowlers to step up and give a hand.