Crows eye Walker, Jacobs - Part 2

Considering Hale just got traded for a 1st Rd pick to the Hawks after North knocked back the Demons late 2nd rd pick does this give us more barganing power?? Jacobs is 10 times the ruckman Hale is and a lot younger. :confused:

Crows wont be so confident now Jacobs may get to them in the PSD. Keep playing stupid games Crows and enjoy Maric rucking on his own next year and god help you if he goes down.

:rolleyes:

I'm starting to think it will be Sauce and our 3rd pick for 33 and Mckernan.
Don't you mean Sauce and your 3rd pick for McKernan, with Adelaide keeping pick 33?
If 33 or 14 was his true value this deal would have been signed off on Tuesday. All parties want this to go through and Carlton and Adelaide probably agree on his true value - it is just difficult getting this deal done when Adelaide don't have a early/mid-20's pick.
Which begs the question why Swann & Icke didn't sign off on the Bock pick 20 min into trading on Tuesday. I'm almost surprised that you guys haven't been having a go at them for missing out on the opportunity.

I have been saying all along that Jacobs' value was a pick in the late 20s, based on all the recent precedents. The Bock compensation pick appeared to be the obvious trade. It should have been a mere formality, given that Jacobs had already agreed to the trade before trade week even began. But no.. Swann & Icke refused to move from their ambit claim of pick #14 and Adelaide chose to trade it to Tambling instead of wasting their time waiting for Swann & Icke. Now you're faced with pick 33, which is less than you could (should) have got but for the behaviour of your own trade team.

I have no problems with Carlton starting the bidding at pick #14. It's called an ambit claim - you pitch for all you can get and then move towards the centre where the deal is eventually reached. The problem is that Carlton have never moved on from their ambit position - the alternatives I've heard so far are pick #14 or the equivalent in players - Davis, McKernan and Talia. These options were never going to be accepted by the Crows and nor should they have been as all of these options would be paying far more than Jacobs is worth.

It's very much a case of woulda, coulda, shoulda... didn't - and Carlton's trade team has seen their own club lose out as a result.
We are looking at the present. Currently our rucks are much better than yours. Whatever happened 2 or 3 years ago has nothing to do with it.
Forgetting that Adelaide won the hitouts in our one & only encounter in 2010 - and we split them 1-1 when we met in 2009?

Adelaide's ruck division is much better than you (and a lot of other people) give them credit for, even without Jacobs. Conversely, Carlton's ruck division is nowhere near as good as you make it out to be, though it does have significant scope for improvement as players like Kruezer continue to develop.

Considering Hale just got traded for a 1st Rd pick to the Hawks after North knocked back the Demons late 2nd rd pick does this give us more barganing power?? Jacobs is 10 times the ruckman Hale is and a lot younger. :confused:

Crows wont be so confident now Jacobs may get to them in the PSD. Keep playing stupid games Crows and enjoy Maric rucking on his own next year and god help you if he goes down.
North got Hawthorn's equivalent of the Bock pick, but gave their 3rd round selection back in return...

Maric is hardly going to be on his own.. we also have Moran, Sellar, McKernan, Craig and (if we're desperate) Tippett.

North got Hawthorn's equivalent of the Bock pick, but gave their 3rd round selection back in return...

Maric is hardly going to be on his own.. we also have Moran, Sellar, McKernan, Craig and (if we're desperate) Tippett.

Height alone does not make for a ruckman.
Why do people keep doing this?

It's very much a case of woulda, coulda, shoulda... didn't - and Carlton's trade team has seen their own club lose out as a result.

Your whole argument is based on a view supported by hindsight. We didnt know you would bve so stupid to give the Tigers what you did for the hack Tambling.

Adelaide's ruck division is much better than you (and a lot of other people) give them credit for, even without Jacobs.

So why chase Jacobs so hard and then sook to the media when we knocked back the BS offer of #33???

Conversely, Carlton's ruck division is nowhere near as good as you make it out to be, though it does have significant scope for improvement as players like Kruezer continue to develop.

Shut the door on your way out. :o

we also have Moran, Sellar, McKernan, Craig and (if we're desperate) Tippett.

Oh dear and good luck with these blokes who are far from AFL ruckman. Tippett is the only player to show anything from these blokes and that has been up forward.

Moran - Missed all of this year with a knee injury,
Seller - Nothing more than a B grade reserves ruckman
McKernan - more of a CHF type player than a ruckman. See Roughead.
Tippet - is your forward ruckman, who hardly plays in the ruck around the ground unless 100% necessary.
Craig, is 195 yes with a good vertical leap, but is yet to play a game of AFL footy.

Just face it, Jacobs would be your walk up starting ruckman from day one.

Your whole argument is based on a view supported by hindsight. We didnt know you would bve so stupid to give the Tigers what you did for the hack Tambling.

So why chase Jacobs so hard and then sook to the media when we knocked back the BS offer of #33???

Shut the door on your way out. :o

Oh dear and good luck with these blokes who are far from AFL ruckman. Tippett is the only player to show anything from these blokes and that has been up forward.

At the end of the day if the deal doesnt get done it doesnt get done, lets not forget what happened with Ryan O'Keefe before trying to claim that because we made an offer to Jacobs does not mean that we will follow through and trade for him.

Vaders point is valid IMO, if Carlton hold out for pick 14 it wont happen and if it doesnt happen then it doesnt happen. The new interchange rules are going to make it hard to play two ruckman so if we went into 2011 with Maric as our main ruckman I wouldnt be too phased.

If we can get Jacobs onbaord for the right price then well and good if not then it will either be the PSD or nothing at all and the Crows have pretty much said that in the media here.

As for being in the media I dont think you understand how it works over here, even if the club sneezes it makes the paper. It's different when you have 10 clubs to discuss against 2, basicially every aspect of the trade week for both clubs gets discussed in the Adelaide media.

I dont think you understand how it works over here

You have got that right. For only being an 8hr drive away or a 40min flight S.A is like entering another country and full of morons.

Your home ground being labelled Moron Pk by all and sundry that dare go there to watch footy is no coincidence.

Don't you mean Sauce and your 3rd pick for McKernan, with Adelaide keeping pick 33?

You mean you want a player who has shown he can hold a number one ruck spot and has dominated a final and a 3rd rounder for someone who has barely played a game.

Jacobs has the runs on the board and is ahead of McKernan. This is not to say I wouldn't be unhappy with a swap of players, you just don't seem to understand Jacobs' value.

I'm slowly losing respect for you, usually you are a really good poster but you are letting yourself down here.

Which begs the question why Swann & Icke didn't sign off on the Bock pick 20 min into trading on Tuesday. ....

Because we'll be getting pick 14. Your little regional team has a ruck crisis and needs Jacobs. We know that. You know that. Just waiting for the Crows to Cave now. The only way to avoid handing over pick 14 is to cough up an "untouchable". Nothing's really changed since 9 days ago, except for the Tambling Trade disaster.

:)

You have got that right. For only being an 8hr drive away or a 40min flight S.A is like entering another country and full of morons.

Your home ground being labelled Moron Pk by all and sundry that dare go there to watch footy is no coincidence.

Resorting to childish insults is more a reflection on your own insecurities and character than anything else. How are you any different from that fool on the Footy Show? - Good work:thumbsu:

You mean you want a player who has shown he can hold a number one ruck spot and has dominated a final and a 3rd rounder for someone who has barely played a game.

Jacobs has the runs on the board and is ahead of McKernan. This is not to say I wouldn't be unhappy with a swap of players, you just don't seem to understand Jacobs' value.

I'm slowly losing respect for you, usually you are a really good poster but you are letting yourself down here.
Personally, I'd probably be happy with a straight swap Jacobs <--> McKernan.

However, given that Adelaide have already (apparently) knocked back this suggestion.. you'd have to think that a sweetener from Carlton would be required to get it over the line.

Like I said.. I don't rate McKernan nearly as highly as those within the AFC. It's probably safe to say that McKernan's value has risen as a result of the changes to the interchange/substitution rules, due to his mobility/flexibility. On the other hand, Jacobs value will have fallen due to his lack of mobility & flexibility. This probably accounts for the difference. There's no argument that Jacobs has shown more on the field to date - he's also been in the system for 2 more years.

Resorting to childish insults is more a reflection on your own insecurities and character than anything else.

As much as it hurts you it is the truth. Now run along.

Does hurt me in the slightest, I could care less. My only relationship with the place is its footy team, but you don't see me resorting to school yard antics to stroke my ego. Whats next? are you going to tell me Melbourne has a better bridge than Sydney. haha:thumbsu:

Could we make a concerted effort not to have this thread go the way of the last one?

Let's try and keep it civil and maybe even a bit constructive.

Unless that syphilitic nimrod Surfing the Void shows up...**** him.

A good mate of mine who played footy with McKernan reckons his coming home?
Could he be part of a deal to get Jacobs to Adelaide?

Personally, I'd probably be happy with a straight swap Jacobs <--> McKernan.

However, given that Adelaide have already (apparently) knocked back this suggestion.. you'd have to think that a sweetener from Carlton would be required to get it over the line.

Like I said.. I don't rate McKernan nearly as highly as those within the AFC. It's probably safe to say that McKernan's value has risen as a result of the changes to the interchange/substitution rules, due to his mobility/flexibility. On the other hand, Jacobs value will have fallen due to his lack of mobility & flexibility. This probably accounts for the difference. There's no argument that Jacobs has shown more on the field to date - he's also been in the system for 2 more years.

Finally a decent post. :thumbsu:

I think I too would be happy with a straight swap the way this is going. I would say that Jacobs is worth more simply because he has shown he is AFL capable. Whilst he has been in the system longer than McKernan you know what you will get from him but I cannot say the same about McKernan.

At the same time I would say that McKernan edges Jacobs in the potential area so I am slowly growing to like the idea. But as you have said, they may have already rejected that idea.

TBH I'm sick of the back and fourth discussion about it and just want it to be over! :)

A good mate of mine who played footy with McKernan reckons his coming home?
Could he be part of a deal to get Jacobs to Adelaide?

There are always going to be these types of rumours, we will just have to wait and see.

Two of our most respected posters have just spent time writing a perfectly reasonable post, both pretty much spot on, and all you can return with is personal insults?

Could we make a concerted effort not to have this thread go the way of the last one?

Let's try and keep it civil and maybe even a bit constructive.

Unless that syphilitic nimrod Surfing the Void shows up...**** him.
With posters like Chism replying with personal insults to perfectly logical arguements by Vader and relapse, I struggle to see this happening.