Crows Fan King Hit

• Thread starter Thread starter beartoo

just maybe said:
No, he did NOT deserve to be PUNCHED IN THE FACE for harmless, stupid verbal abuse of Brogan.

You may be level-headed at times, Stiff, but this time you're way off the deep-end with utter stupidity. What Dale got in no way was justified or deserved. Get a grip on yourself, such violence is utterly unacceptable.
Please spare me the politically correct bull:D:D:D:D. Our society is in the shape it is now because you can say what ever you feel like but not face the consequences. Quite simply if this Dale character had any manace and any sort of solid upbringing this incident would never have happened.

Stiffy_18 said:
Whats this height crap got to do with it?:
So you contend that regardless of a persons mental or physical abilities it is ok to punch them out if they mouth off. I guess in Iraq you would would shoot or bomb them Violence is not the answer

I missed the news but I'm embarrassed as a Crows supporter if he came out in a Crows guernsey telling his story. He was the one who probably started this mess & the best thing he could do is lie low & shut up, rather than dragging AFC name through the media with this rubbish. BTW, I also do not condone what Brogan allegedly did & he should have known better being an AFL player being in the public eye.

Stiffy_18 said:
Please spare me the politically correct bull:D:D:D:D. Our society is in the shape it is now because you can say what ever you feel like but not face the consequences. Quite simply if this Dale character had any manace and any sort of solid upbringing this incident would never have happened.

What a load of crap, Stiffy. Unadulterated, stinking rubbish. I'd expect you to be above condoning violence, but instead you're actively supporting it's use in a completely unbalanced situation.

So much for your measured views, and you have the gall to call this Dale bloke a fkwit. :rolleyes:

beagle2 said:
So you contend that regardless of a persons mental or physical abilities it is ok to punch them out if they mouth off. I guess in Iraq you would would shoot or bomb them Violence is not the answer

Brogan wasnt to know if this guy is mentally disabled or not. I also belive that 'you d-head' would be a highly dumbed down version of what he might have said.

just maybe said:
What a load of crap, Stiffy. Unadulterated, stinking rubbish. I'd expect you to be above condoning violence, but instead you're actively supporting it's use in a completely unbalanced situation.

So much for your measured views, and you have the gall to call this Dale bloke a fkwit. :rolleyes:

You for real JM:confused:

The guy admitted he goes to the airport to heckle AFL players geez only a matter of time before one of them smacked him one.

Nobody is saying it is right that Brogan smacked him one we are saying he got what he deserved.

Lets put it into another persective, if when you were at school some lil prick kept heckling you what you in the end going to do??? Deck Him.

maccas_no1 said:

The guy admitted he goes to the airport to heckle AFL players geez only a matter of time before one of them smacked him one.

Nobody is saying it is right that Brogan smacked him one we are saying he got what he deserved.

Lets put it into another persective, if when you were at school some lil prick kept heckling you what you in the end going to do??? Deck Him.

No there is nothing 'deserved' about a smack in the face for dumb heckling.

The fact that some of you so easily laugh off violence as a valid result to some bloke mouthing off is unbelievable. This is why we have so many problems with pub violence and brawls - because stupid :D:D:D:Ds like you think that if someone mouths off at you, its a legitimate response to clock him in the face. You say it was a 'matter of time' until it happened to Dale - well that kind of bogus thinking assumes that violence is a legitimate response to harmless mouthing off and that AFL players don't carry an extra degree of responsibility - both of which are ridiculous assumption.

It's a sad reflection of our society that some people - such as Brogan, and maybe those saying the punch was a deserved result - that some people are so mentally slow that they have to respond to a bunch of ill-thought out words with a fist to the face. I mean, how monumentally stupid must Brogan be if he can't think up a verbal retort to what, from all reports, sounds like the most base, gutter mouthing off imaginable. If Brogan is that flat-out dumb that he can't think up a comeback and has to instead smack a teenager in the face, he deserves every punishment he gets.

just maybe said:
The fact that some of you so easily laugh off violence as a valid result to some bloke mouthing off is unbelievable. .
The fact that you continue to defend a knobhead who does it week in week out tells me you condone his boorish behaviour.

FFS society is soft when someone can give it but cant take it. I am a strong believer if you cant back up what you dish out then dont dish it out.

Sure , once again Brogan lost it, but dont make Dale the innocent in all this

Whew.... finally got to the end.

Anyone remember in 1994 when Shane Heal of the Brisbane Bullets confronted and struck a fan at the 36ers game (game 3 of the quarter finals) after Brisbane had been elimintated from the finals?

Well that was me. Long story short he was giving Phil Smyth and Brett Maher hell all series. Gave the crowd the finger during that game coz he finally scored a breakaway layup (he didn't get back on D and there was a long rebound) just before halftime to get on the scoreboard. After that (and dropping some knees into Phil) he was copping abuse from the crowd everytime he touched the ball. After the game me and my buddies hung around waiting for the carpark to clear. Brisbane players had finished showering and Heal was out on court mingling. Some buddies suggested I yell something out to him... not usually an abusive type but always up for some witty fun I got his attention and said 'Hey Shane... you're number 1!!' and showed him the number 1 salute he had been kind enough to give the crowd during the game. He was most enraged. Offered to have me kindly come down to the court level to rely my respects to him again. A few interested Dave's (colbert and simmons.. 6 7 and 6 9 from memory) were wandering over looking kinda curious so I laughed and declined indicated he was more the welcome to join me. So he did. At a pace I had never seen him match on the floor. As he was approaching I realised that what for me was a funny joke from the euphoric high I was on from the sixers winning the series was probably a really crappy way to end the year for him. He made this all the clearer by asking me to kindly join him outside and using the f word in quite large doses. So I stood up and started to apologise. 'Look mate it was only a joke. You're team is 15 points down and you're giving the crowd the finger its not that bright'. I can't remember but there were a few other words exchanged just before that and I offered him my hand to shake it off. Professional athletes can't let go of things as easily as we mere supporters can. He had just had his season ended and being the jerk he usually was had probably copped a ton of abuse over the course of year. He slapped my hand away then struck me in the forehead. Not a real punch, I think he managed to restrain himself a little, but an opened handed (kung fu like) crack to the forehead. Didn't hurt given how hard that bone is but snapped my head back very sharply I can assure you. I just stared at him in amazement. I couldn't believe something so trivial had escalated like that so fast. Was a good lesson for me to understand the pressures on people in the public eye so much I guess. Anyway, security jumped on him and dragged him away kicking and screaming as he still wanted to make more of it. I was still speechless at this point but started to laugh as all the 36ers supporters still around started really giving it to him.

Was amusing that week to read brisbane's rag (can't remember the name) that alleged that fans followed Heal straight after the game (not after his shower and change which was the truth) and confronted him in the players race (not up in the stands where he confronted me). Boti Nagy seems to be a decent journalist as he didn't say anymore than he knew (which wasn't much). Via a buddy who was connected in BASA and let the 36ers know they could contact me if they needed to hear the story from me for any issues that might have come out of it. What really made me laugh was the melbourne (we were playing the tigers the next week) papers saying Bradtke was kinda worried about coming back to Adelaide after that incident. Heal was 6 1 I coulda taken him... Mark Bradtke is another story :) (tongue firmly in cheek here..)

Anyway.. I really wanted to tell that story first :) but now my thoughts...

Dale is an idiot. He didn't 'deserve' to get his face punched in but if he is any kind of decent human being he will take the blame solely as his own and learn from it. If he tries to make more of this issue and get Brogan in worse trouble I have nothing but contempt for him. I'm already pretty close to it to be honest.

Brogan deserves every punishment he gets. I feel for the guy but we CANNOT allow people to assault anyone for such trivial circumstances. Guys at his level are under so much pressure and they SHOULD NOT have to face the kinda crap Dale was serving up but you CANNOT do what he did. No one here should be condoning it or even cheering it on. Honestly, I'd possibly do the same myself... and this is where I think players need maybe better training and possibly even anger management classes as someone said to try and deal with this reality they will face throughout their career.

I have far more respect for Brogan in this situation than Dale BUT Brogan needs to learn his lesson as Dale possibly already has.

SpringChoke said:
Why would he only get a fine? Assault demands a criminal penalty and a criminal record.

I would bet the level headed of the Port supporter base would/should be very disappointed with Brogan. I would be gutted if a Crows player assaulted a member of the public.

Unprovoked, yes i'd be gutted... If someone taunts him, he's essentially asking for it, so i'm glad he stood up for himself. Unfortunately he will suffer dire consequences due to his actions, but Dale got what he deserved.

If a guy was holding a gun to your head, woudl you sit there calling him names? No.

On the same token, if someone much bigger and stronger than you, who could whoop your ass, walks past you, you wouldnt say anything bad to them, in fear of gettin bashed. Dale obviously thinks "he's a football player, its my god given right to insult him" and decided to insult Brogan.

Brogan wasnt taking any of it, and whacked the guy in the head, like he deserved. He may as well have had a giant neon "hit me" sign on his forehead.

And he says "you're playing for the wrong team d******"

honestly, WHO THE HELL would say that? that is the most DERO comment i've ever heard. And obviously something like that isn't going to provoke an elite athlete, who is used to this stuff. I'm fairly certain, that he said much worse, but isnt going to admit to it.

SpringChoke said:
Santos and Rory do you realise, using your agrument, the guy that king
hit Hookesy is in fact the victim. Hookesy had a history of being quite mouthy and apparently he was mouthy with the bouncer before the incident.

hitting someone in the face, when they are looking at you, and mouthing off at you, is different to hitting someone in the back of the head, when they are walking away.

Killing someone, is different to hitting someone.

Sure, the dude that killed Hookes, didnt meant to kill him (i'm guessing not anyway), but it happend, and its a serious consequence.

If brogan had hit this guy and killed him, that would be a different matter.

What kind of dumb idiot mouths off at someone twice the size of you, and you know is a world class athlete, so is very strong?

Let's put it another way

If Dale was walking around his local park, and a 199cm/100kg giant, who looks to be in great physical shape walked by... Would Dale call him a name? or Even decide to do anything that might bother him? I highly doubt it. So why does he suddenly feel 'protected' because Brogan is an AFL footballer.

This is the reason that they suddenly have this courage, to stand up to someone who normally, they wouldnt even look back in the eyes of.

They think "i can make myself look all tough here, because he wont do anything"

If i provoked a fight with anyone, and got decked, i woudl keep quiet about it. Personally, i wouldnt insult/bother anyone that I couldnt take, as that would just be plain stupid.

Whilst I am not fully aware of the all facts at this point (litigious USA),the only comment I will make is:-

This bloke has said he has gone to the airport and said probably similar things to other AFL clubs players yet we have had no other previously reported incidents. Is he a tosser - no doubt.

The fact is and I think a number a people on this site are missing this, is that this guy (read tosser) verbally abused him using the word "*ickhead". Hardly a justification for physically violence and getting a broken in the nose.

What don't you people understand - Brogan should not have decked him - end of story! Brogan is an AFL player in a public place being paid big bucks and he should have controlled his actions. Whats next, shoot him coz he called me bad names. Get a grip people!

1. Bloke is a tosser
2. Brogan to face criminal charges.
3. People need to become more thick skinned - Remember the saying we use to say at school - "Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me"

PS : I know this is at odds with most on this site but hell some of the responses have been utter crap!

Interesting snippet in todays paper from Geoff Roach:

According to reliable sources, the powerful Port ruckman may also now be called to account for an alleged similar incident within the past six months, despite the efforts of Port officials to conciliate with a dog owner.

Gee how foolish do some of you Crow and Power supporters who tried to justify Brogans actions look this morning. The guy has obvious anger managment/thuggery issues. I wonder what excuses you will come up with this time. The Dog provoked him.

maccas_no1 said:

You do realise some people go to the football week in, week out just to yell abuse at players. Hell if assult was a justifiable reaction for verbal abuse half the punter at English soccer games would be carrying broken noses by half time.

just maybe said:
It's a sad reflection of our society that some people - such as Brogan, and maybe those saying the punch was a deserved result - that some people are so mentally slow that they have to respond to a bunch of ill-thought out words with a fist to the face.

Its a sad reflection on the state of our society and the way young people are brought up these days that sports people are considered fair game for abuse in their private life and are expected to simply put up with it.

Sure Brogan is obviously a hot head and may have anger issues. He shouldnt have punched him. The fact that this guy thinks its acceptable to regularly heckle opposition players in their private time says more in my opinion.

Macca19 said:
Its a sad reflection on the state of our society and the way young people are brought up these days that sports people are considered fair game for abuse in their private life and are expected to simply put up with it.

Sure Brogan is obviously a hot head and may have anger issues. He shouldnt have punched him. The fact that this guy thinks its acceptable to regularly heckle opposition players in their private time says more in my opinion.

My point exactly. people shouldnt have to put up with it, and agree it is the way kids are brought up these days.

Where did the story that this guy goes to abuse opposition players regularly come from? All the reports I've read say he was there to drop off his girlfriend for her flight. No mention of him being a serial verbal abuser, anywhere I've read other than in this thread.

Apparently the whole thing was caught by the security cameras and the footage has been handed to the police. It will be interesting to see what the true story is.

Macca19 said:

Dont know about Brogans anger issues,but I see this in the same consequence as any celeb. being hounded by the media and scum bag photographers that follow them around day and night.
It happened recently with Barry Humphries decking a photographer and smashing his camera.
If these people want to act in that way, they deserve what they get.
I don't condone violence by any means but people can only take so much.

It proably wasn't the first time that this idiot had abused him so he had probably had enough. Not the right thing to do in the wrong place but everyone has their tolerence level.

Crowked said:
Where did the story that this guy goes to abuse opposition players regularly come from? All the reports I've read say he was there to drop off his girlfriend for her flight. No mention of him being a serial verbal abuser, anywhere I've read other than in this thread.

Apparently the whole thing was caught by the security cameras and the footage has been handed to the police. It will be interesting to see what the true story is.

Dale was last night interviewed by ch7&9 for their news coverage, and he said he 'regularly goes to the airport the heckle opposition players'

We'll probably never know the true story.

Apparently the TV news (I didn't watch it) said the guy often went to the airport to give opposition teams a "send-off". Sounds like a right loser.

Brogan still should have known better - and I think most people acknowledge that.

They were both in the wrong to varying degrees.

Macca19 said:

And PAF reckons i'm biased. Yet another predictable comment from a Port Power supporter. In your world, would verbal abuse still "says more" than assualt if the player was a Crows player. No, of course not.

SpringChoke said:
You do realise some people go to the football week in, week out just to yell abuse at players. Hell if assult was a justifiable reaction for verbal abuse half the punter at English soccer games would be carrying broken noses by half time.

Hopefully you realise the difference between yelling abuse at a game and elsewhere.
Most people seem to be thinking along the same lines ie. Brogan totally did the wrong thing in belting him but "Dale" is looking more and more a tool for various reasons , among them:
allowing himself to be set up by the media ie being filmed and photographed in Crows gear ( does he really think this will engender sympathy?)
using emotive terms like "king hit" when he openly states he saw the punch coming
playing up being a "teenager" ( looks older I reckon)
having his "soon to be" brother in law as some sort of poor mans Max Markson
( will Eddie be round at his place now with a can of bourbon?)
If stories of him phoning media are true then he really is naive , there were surely enough people around who would love their own 15mins of fame

RogerRabbit69 said:
We'll probably never know the true story.
I reckon we might get a clearer indication in the coming days. Apparently the whole incident was captured on security camera and the footage has been handed to the police.

I cant imagine why someone would go out of their way to go to the airport to heckle football players in their spare time. Sounds like the guy has some pretty serious issues. So does Brogan though it seems, with two current cases of violence being investigated.

Markthirtytwo said:
Dont know about Brogans anger issues,but I see this in the same consequence as any celeb. being hounded by the media and scum bag photographers that follow them around day and night.
It happened recently with Barry Humphries decking a photographer and smashing his camera.
If these people want to act in that way, they deserve what they get.
I don't condone violence by any means but people can only take so much.

It proably wasn't the first time that this idiot had abused him so he had probably had enough. Not the right thing to do in the wrong place but everyone has their tolerence level.

Poor old Dale. He's gone from "seeing his girlfriend off" too regularly hanging around the airport and abusing opposition teams to stalking Brogan.

Just of interest, if he was a regular at the airport wouldn't that imply that he was maybe a few screws loose and therefore there was even more incentive for Broganb to turn the other cheek and walk away. Brogan obviously has serious issues. Instead of yet again covering up a players indiscretion maybe Port Power needs to acknowledge that Brogan has a problem and seek help for him. Surely the public needs to be protected from criminal elements within the sporting community.

SpringChoke said:
You can't make that comparison Springy.

Waitng to catch a plane is a bit different to playing a game of football