macca23

Adelaide Crows
Couldn't get down there myself as the holidays are only a memory now :( . My best mate did go down there however, and he made a few notes for me so that I could pass the info on to other Crows supporters. :)

There were 6 players doing the modified training program away from the main group - Carey, Burns, Welsh, Bickley, Stevens and one he couldn't identify (possibly Massie). Carey and Burns finished their program off with 8 laps of the area between the stands and the end of the oval that the main group was training on, so they ran 8 times the equivalent of about two ovals in area. My mate said that doing one of those laps would have hospitalized him!!! :D

Another player who he thinks was Mattner spent almost the whole training session tackling Schwerdt who was fending him off with one of those tackling bags. When it had finished Schwerdty told Ayres that the player was okay but felt "it", whatever "it" was, when the going got really physical.

The main group which only numbered 29 (which means that another 6 or so players must have trained indoors or not at all) started off with laps followed by 20 minutes or so of skills work, followed by a scratch match of 3 x 15 minute periods. As nearly our whole forward line is still on the modified program, Marsh spent some time at FF as well as changing with Biglands in ruck. The setup was a version of Pagan's paddock with Marsh at FF and Edwards alongside him with all other forwards closer to the centre line. At one stage Edwards strayed away from Marsh and Ayresy yelled out "Tyson, get back alongside Marsh, you know the game plan!!" Edwards was also running on the ball changing with McLeod and Ricciuto. Players were swapping from team to team and position to position as Ayresy barked out the orders to do so.

My mate said that once again it was really fierce, tough and hard, with intense competition for the ball and tackling - no holds barred, but no punch-ups!!! :D The whole idea was to get the ball out into the open and run it down to the goalmouth as quickly as possible. The main goal kickers were Marsh 3, Edwards 3, Ricciuto 3, McLeod 3 and Biglands 2.

Some of the young bucks did really well again, especially Reilly and Schubak on the wings, Matthew Smith in defense and John**** off HB and also a stint at tagging McLeod, who once again at times embarrassed players with his acceleration as he cruised the park like a Rolls Royce. Burton took a speccy which my mate thought was up there with the best of them. McGregor played another beauty as did Edwards up forward and on the ball and Goodwin across HB. Apparently Clarke jumped over Biglands as he did the week before, while Ben Rutten looked a lot better in the backlines.

His best 6 for the scratch match were Edwards, Bode, Ricciuto, McGregor, McLeod and Goodwin.

At the end of the scratch match most players went straight in after doing their warm down exercises. Jarman took Burton and Marsh aside for a session of goal-kicking, while Schwerdt took Riciutto and worked him for another 30 minutes on individual exercises. Roo was knackered at the end of it!! Curran also took Bode Schubak and Goodwin aside and did some individual work with them while these other exercise were going on.

As I did, my mate thought that most players look marginally lighter but quicker than last year.

He's planning to go again next Friday and if he does I'll get the info for another report. :)

Macca, another great post. Thank your mate & tell him to keep up the good work!

Massie probably was the unidentified player, as he is definitely on a modified program. Carey's can't be too injured if he is running all these laps - same with Ronnie too. It will be interesting to see how they are eased into the pre-season games along with Stevo & Welshy.

If Mattner is spending more time with his tackling, I hope this is an indicator we will be using him in run-with roles this year.

Looks like McLeod could be in for another MVP year & the signs are very positive that Kenny will take another step.

Can't wait!! :D

Don't worry too much about Carey, Burns, :p Stevo :p , Welshy, Bicks & Massie. Of those 6 I only see the real concern being Massie, but I am not convinced he would be lining up in round 1 anyway with our new recruits!

Carey & Burns & Bicks are being wraped up in cotton wool! We don't need to over do them! They will be ready I reckon for the Wizard Cup, perhaps only Bicks might not make it until Round 1. Stevo is being nursed through the preseason. His back doesn't take to street running etc. I think you'll find again they are just modifying his program. He would be ready for the trial games and the Wizard Cup I would think. Welshy is a slight concern, his groin appears to still be giving him some trouble, once again they are just modifying his program. I would expect him to be ready for the Wizard Cup or Round 1. Massie - I don't know enough about Cronic Fatigue.......as I said though, I personally don't believe he would make our best side this year......a handy reserve at best.

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Don't worry too much about Carey, Burns, :p Stevo :p , Welshy, Bicks & Massie. Of those 6 I only see the real concern being Massie, but I am not convinced he would be lining up in round 1 anyway with our new recruits!

Carey & Burns & Bicks are being wraped up in cotton wool! We don't need to over do them! They will be ready I reckon for the Wizard Cup, perhaps only Bicks might not make it until Round 1. Stevo is being nursed through the preseason. His back doesn't take to street running etc. I think you'll find again they are just modifying his program. He would be ready for the trial games and the Wizard Cup I would think. Welshy is a slight concern, his groin appears to still be giving him some trouble, once again they are just modifying his program. I would expect him to be ready for the Wizard Cup or Round 1. Massie - I don't know enough about Cronic Fatigue.......as I said though, I personally don't believe he would make our best side this year......a handy reserve at best.

k
xx

I doubt Bicks will play in the pre-season comp. I cannot see him match fit by round 1 either. Stevo will probably be nursed through pre-season comp like he was last year as for Welsh, it doesn't look good. I also doubt that he will play any of the pre-season games. I have a funny feeling he will start the year with Westies:(:(

Thanks for the update Macca and thanks to your mate too!

Im convinced Marsh is going to be given his opportunity reading between the lines

Hopefully he will make the bigfooty crow posters eat the humblest of pies when he serves it up bigtime in the wizard wok showdown....If memory serves me correct he played a blinder of a showdown not too far back.
One can only hope...

No mention of Nigel :confused: darn!!

An excellent update.

Is it common to have so many scratch matches? - seems that a lot of the training is very competitive - and intensive!

I believe that GA has a very definite style and structure to work on this year!

dzm

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
My only concern is with the number of players on restricted programs.:(

No cause for panic, young Stiffy. At this stage there are only 3 players who will be unavailable for the Wizard Wok comp - Bickley, Welsh and Massie. Reidy said this week that Welsh's operation has been very successful and that both he and Massie will be joining the main squad in full training at the start of the Wizard comp.

Bickley will be back in full training by the start of the season proper.

Originally posted by topjars
Thanks for the update Macca and thanks to your mate too!

I'm convinced Marsh is going to be given his opportunity reading between the lines

Hopefully he will make the bigfooty crow posters eat the humblest of pies when he serves it up bigtime in the wizard wok showdown....If memory serves me correct he played a blinder of a showdown not too far back.
One can only hope...

Great work again macca [& maccas friend]

topjars if Ben Marsh can produce the goods that he's been promising for the last 5 years on a regular basis then i for one will gladly eat as much & what ever variety of pie you can dish up, but alas i won't hold my breath in anticipation of a feast of humble pie,

Originally posted by topjars

Im convinced Marsh is going to be given his opportunity reading between the lines

Firstly on Nigel - I should have mentioned both he and Hart as my mate said they were the same old same old snaffling up anything that came their way, which is exactly what they did the week before. No problems there TJ!! :)

I'm sure you're right about Marsh. I think the challenge is being put to him as a forward rather than as a ruckman though because he has been having goalkicking practise with Darren Jarman and playing there in the scratch matches.

On 5AA this morning Mark Mickan confirmed that Marsh was one of the forward line options that they were looking at. He virtually confirmed that it would be Stevens at CHF and Carey at CHF, but that they were interchangeable if needs be. He stated that other forward line options were Hentschel, Bock, Burton and Welsh. Burns would have to earn his spot as a crumber but he was very impressed with his work ethic and attitude. The club wanted and expected Shuback to play games as a crumbing forward as well this year. Throw in the resting on-ballers of Edwards, McLeod, Riciutto and Goodwin and he thought we would have a potent forward line this year.

As for the back lines, apart from regulars such as Hart, Smart Bassett and McGregor he said there was a lot of competition amongst Rutten, Perrie (he was very happy with both these two) and Bock as well as amongst Torney, Begley and John****.

He spoke at length about Carey. He said that he had brought even more professionalism in approach to the club. He stated that our talls had never experienced such difficult marking duels as the ones they had experienced with Carey and that it was a whole new level to them. On top of that at 31, he is in the leading bunch in all of the running exercises.

He concluded by saying, and then repeated, that in the opinion of the club there was not one player on their list who wouldn't make it at AFL level. Very confident!! ;)

Originally posted by macca23
He concluded by saying, and then repeated, that in the opinion of the club there was not one player on their list who wouldn't make it at AFL level. Very confident!! ;)
Theres hope for Ben Marsh & Ian Perrie yet then:confused:
Im startin to bar up

Originally posted by macca23
Firstly on Nigel - I should have mentioned both he and Hart as my mate said they were the same old same old snaffling up anything that came their way, which is exactly what they did the week before. No problems there TJ!! :)

I'm sure you're right about Marsh. I think the challenge is being put to him as a forward rather than as a ruckman though because he has been having goalkicking practise with Darren Jarman and playing there in the scratch matches.

On 5AA this morning Mark Mickan confirmed that Marsh was one of the forward line options that they were looking at. He virtually confirmed that it would be Stevens at CHF and Carey at CHF, but that they were interchangeable if needs be. He stated that other forward line options were Hentschel, Bock, Burton and Welsh. Burns would have to earn his spot as a crumber but he was very impressed with his work ethic and attitude. The club wanted and expected Shuback to play games as a crumbing forward as well this year. Throw in the resting on-ballers of Edwards, McLeod, Riciutto and Goodwin and he thought we would have a potent forward line this year.

As for the back lines, apart from regulars such as Hart, Smart Bassett and McGregor he said there was a lot of competition amongst Rutten, Perrie (he was very happy with both these two) and Bock as well as amongst Torney, Begley and John****.

He spoke at length about Carey. He said that he had brought even more professionalism in approach to the club. He stated that our talls had never experienced such difficult marking duels as the ones they had experienced with Carey and that it was a whole new level to them. On top of that at 31, he is in the leading bunch in all of the running exercises.

Thanx for another update macca23!!!! Great work!!!!!!;)

Before I left for holiday the word out of AFC was that both Clarke and Marsh were having their best pre-season ever so with the hard yards that Marsh has put in during the pre-season there is every chance that he will be given an opportunity in the pre-season comp. I am sure that Marsh is aware that this is his last opportunity to furfill his promise. Ruckman usually peak around the age of 27 - 28 so I am hoping that is the case when it comes to Marsh. I thought his 2001 season was pretty decent.;)

That last paragraph is a very big statement macca23!!!! The likes of Schell, Nelson and Perrie (due to poor skill level not due to work ethic) spring to mind as the ones that are unlikely to succeed;)