Crows v Kangaroos - Match Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter pjcrows

Top ****ing effort by Knighta to step up for Bassett. It was good to see a youngster standing up for a vet.

Great, great win. :thumbsu:

How pathetic were the commentators when we chipped it around for all of 60 seconds in the last quarter? “Don’t tell me they’re going to chip it around for 5 minutes?”. Pathetic. And they said we had taken 8 marks in a row. WOW! 8!!! The Bulldogs took 22 in a row last week and chipped it around for about 4 minutes non stop. But we’re the Crows, we can’t do it without getting bagged. :rolleyes:

What happened to VB? Didn't play the last 15 minutes and had the track top on. Hope he's alright because he had a career high 25 possessions. :thumbsu:

I would have thought that you were not allowed to throw a player and it seems it should have been a free to bassett as I would have thought that this should have been in the Umps mind....

15.4.5 Prohibited Contact and Payment of Free Kick
A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player where he or
she is satisfied that the Player has made Prohibited Contact with an
opposition Player.
A Player makes Prohibited Contact with an opposition Player if he
or she:
(l) engaging in rough conduct against an opponent which in the
circumstances is unreasonable

Some good games when looking at the Stats

Young Mick - 28 touches
Johncock - 25 touches
van Berlo - 25 touches
Thommo - 30 touches

Great, great win. :thumbsu:

How pathetic were the commentators when we chipped it around for all of 60 seconds in the last quarter? “Don’t tell me they’re going to chip it around for 5 minutes?”. Pathetic. And they said we had taken 8 marks in a row. WOW! 8!!! The Bulldogs took 22 in a row last week and chipped it around for about 4 minutes non stop. But we’re the Crows, we can’t do it without getting bagged. :rolleyes:

What happened to VB? Didn't play the last 15 minutes and had the track top on. Hope he's alright because he had a career high 25 possessions. :thumbsu:

C'mon Drummond it actually takes intelligence to figure out that we played that style then as the Kangaroos players were pretty much into our forward line. Even I could figure that out without them actually putting a camera view there..... :rolleyes:

I would have thought that you were not allowed to throw a player and it seems it should have been a free to bassett as I would have thought that this should have been in the Umps mind....

Yeah, i think Bass deserved a free there, but it was good to see Knighta fly the flag, even if he did give away a goal.

Agree that it was nice to see a little bit of mongrel but they did get a goal out of that possession.

I had to laugh when Walls said we had extra numbers back.

When there was 1 North Melbourne player in their F50.

Just watching the Bulldogs / Freo game and there was a steaker wearing a Borat style pair of undies !

Apart from the win....and departure from the "seige gameplan"......... one of the most pleasing things for me tonight was to see Chris Knights knock over the player that slung Bass into the fence. Sure - it cost us a goal....but it's about time we started to play some hard footy for each other.

:thumbsu:

Agree that it was nice to see a little bit of mongrel but they did get a goal out of that possession.

Thats true, but its one of those things where you've almost got to give away the goal to show a little bit of team spirit. Cant let a team mate get cheap shotted at will from the opponents.

Apart from the win....and departure from the "seige gameplan"......... one of the most pleasing things for me tonight was to see Chris Knights knock over the player that slung Bass into the fence. Sure - it cost us a goal....but it's about time we started to play some hard footy for each other.

How good is it from a young fella like Knighta though.

VB, Knights, Thommo all born leaders.

With the likes of Knights, VB, Griffen, and hopefully Meesen and Maric ( both hot heads ), we might see more of the same in the future.:thumbsu:About time too.

Where are the Massie doubters now? If anybody thinks that this guy is not good enough to play AFL footy then you're a mug. The Swedish gentleman was absolutely fantastic when he was on the field.

Great to see Bocky shut a few people up as well. He's been servicable lately and a few posters have been all over him because he hasn't been starring. He's hardly been terrible either. Brilliant game from him tonight, but please let's not pillory the guy if he doesn't play like that every week.

And lastly Scott Thompson. Will win the B&F this year and will be our captain from next year. Mark it down. Gun!

Really important game. A loss, and going into the break 6-6, almost makes it impossible to get the 14 or 15 wins required to finish top4. I reckon any team that is 6-6 after this round is effectively out of the race, unless they have a miraculous reversal of form.

Great to see Bocky shut a few people up as well. He's been servicable lately and a few posters have been all over him because he hasn't been starring. He's hardly been terrible either. Brilliant game from him tonight, but please let's not pillory the guy if he doesn't play like that every week.

That was me, and I'll happily acknowledge that he played a great game, and even made a thread about him, but if you think he's been performing anywhere near as well as he should have been over the last 2 months then you're talking crap. His skills have been deplorable - marks were bouncing off his chest, he was giving away stupid free kicks, holding the ball up with indecision when we desperately needed to move it quickly and missing easy set shots. I do not expect him to kick 4 goals every game, but I do expect him to put in a good, solid 4-quarter effort every game. His previous 8 or so games had not been good enough. This one was great and I'm hoping he can continue to play like that.

Did it every occur to you that the way we've been playing as a team might have had an affect on his form? Amazing coincidence that as soon as we play some more attacking footy, getting the ball into the forward line faster that he has a much better game. But feel free to stick with the simpletons view. You were probably one of the muppets who's wanted Welsh dropped at some stage this year as well.

Dont get too carried away. It'll be more impressive when he does it against a team with a strong list of KPP.

I never once called for Welsh to be dropped, despite his inconsistant form, and was actually one of his strongest supporters when others were questioning his effort. How about you read what I said. His skills were better tonight - including his goalkicking from set shots and marking. He'd been dropping easy grabs and missing easy set shots since round 2, and the stats support this. I never once said when I bagged his form recently that the way the side was playing was helping him, but his skills were awful and that is something he can control and he is to blame for. You can't blame our midfield for him dropping easy chestmarks or missing easy set shots or giving away undisciplined free kicks. Tonight he lifted his game. The way the side played helped, but his skills and effort were a heck of a lot better this week.

You might also want to check the stats to confirm that his quietest games have tended to correspond with losses. Is it him or the way we've played in those games? Did it occur to you that after his very good games in rounds 1 and 2 that the opposition might start paying a lot more attention to him, recognising him as an important player for us. As for dropping heaps of easy marks, well you must have a better memory than me because I can't recall it being a massive issue.

He generally plays on the oppositions 3rd best tall defender. Last week he was on Egan, with Harley and Scarlett on McGregor and Welsh. The week before he was on Frawley, a first year player, until Perrie went off. It hasn't been often that he's taken one of the oppositions best 2 forwards this year - Perrie and Welsh have generally shared them. I maintain that his output has not been good enough, and his skills have been noticably poor.
Our delivery to our forwards was piss poor in round 1, yet he managed 3 goals 3 and more touches than he had this week. That was a loss, and the team was playing very poorly, yet he performed. Bock needed to lift after a quiet couple of months and he has done so. Good on him, and I hope he keeps it up because I've always been a fan - even when he was written off by many a couple of years back.