D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Ah yes - well done on the ton Hollywood.

Well done coach, massive effort on the w/e!!

16 goals equalled the all time club record, first player to kick a 100 for the club also!! Not a bad day!! Dunno how he didnt get B.O.G, his stable owners are not impressed!! ;) lol

Looks like Bulleen were the biggest victims out of Eltham's loss to UHS!

Bulleen disappointed - but Eltham are a well oiled machine with some large blokes to be playing D4...

Two massive units playing out of the goal square in the magoos as well... Either of them could step up & play a role in the one's should coach's knee/hamstring not come up...

Anyway - it will take a very good team to beat them in finals. In general they were a very disciplined team as well... (May have been easier than some other weeks given the margin!)

Congrats Hollywood on the 100 would have been nice if you could have left it at just that instead of kicking a dozen more!

Also a big thanks to the guys at the cobras who double up on the weekend not easy thing to do when your playing against a class outfit like eltham.

The St marys boys could take a leaf out of elthams book on how to conduct yourself after a game. Even after a 200+ point win I didnt hear 1 player rub it in. In fact most came and wished us luck in getting back on track next season. Well done to all the boys at turtle land.

Congrats Hollywood on the 100 would have been nice if you could have left it at just that instead of kicking a dozen more!

Also a big thanks to the guys at the cobras who double up on the weekend not easy thing to do when your playing against a class outfit like eltham.

The St marys boys could take a leaf out of elthams book on how to conduct yourself after a game. Even after a 200+ point win I didnt hear 1 player rub it. In fact most came and wished us luck in getting back on track next season. Well done to all the boys at turtle land.
Well said KC. I would have to agree with that. Some of the Eltham blokes I spoke with after the two's game couldn't believe how Bulleen had dropped to new lows. All wished the club well though. I sincerley hope they make through to D3 with the D4 flag (but a part of me doesn't want them to up cos they are such a great team to play against and a great bunch of blokes).

huru

Well said KC. I would have to agree with that. Some of the Eltham blokes I spoke with after the two's game couldn't believe how Bulleen had dropped to new lows. All wished the club well though. I sincerley hope they make through to D3 with the D4 flag (but a part of me doesn't want them to up cos they are such a great team to play against and a great bunch of blokes).

huru

It is a shame as to the on-field preformance, we (eltham) have battled out some cracking games against u blokes and theres alot of respect for ur club and the people down there!! Hopefully u can take a leaf out of Richmonds book and just build urself up, it only take 1-2 years and ur back in the hunt!

Keep at it, and if ur a disheartned player, dont leave, dig deep, and get ur mates down there and help em out next year!!! :thumbsu:

Back luck to the Richmond boys... a 7 goal to 1 first quarter was pretty much the differece at the end of the game. It just took us too long to get into the pace of the game. Its certainly a lot faster pace playing the top three sides, and especially on that tiny ground.

We'll learn from that, so bring on UHS! It'd be great to finish the season off with a big upset of the ladder leaders :)

It is a shame as to the on-field preformance, we (eltham) have battled out some cracking games against u blokes and theres alot of respect for ur club and the people down there!! Hopefully u can take a leaf out of Richmonds book and just build urself up, it only take 1-2 years and ur back in the hunt!

Keep at it, and if ur a disheartned player, dont leave, dig deep, and get ur mates down there and help em out next year!!! :thumbsu:

Good to see this forum can be nice and compliment others.
Keep it up.

Like every club at some point, the need to recruit players is important to improve. Recruiting 3 or 4 great players can make a massive different each year. Im sure Bulleen will do this next season. Agree with centrals comment, they have improved massively througout year. From all reports they really took it up to St Marys for most of game.

From all reports they really took it up to St Marys for most of game.

Reckon this has been the case with many sides this year. Many of the lower down sides have challenged good sides at some stage and been close to major upsets. Last year the top sides belted all the lower sides but this year has been a lot more even.

Richmond have taken it up to all the top sides at some stage, we pushed Eltham til very late in the game, Eley Park got done by a kick against BHN, Syndal were apparently very good against UHS....etc..

The competition has been very interesting all year.

Well done to Eley Pk on the weekend. We were awful but you guys put on a display with some of the best shooting for goal you'd see anywhere. 25 goals 4 behinds at one point when I looked up at the scoreboard! And we're talking 45 metre plus golas from close to the boundary several times. Very unenjoyable day!

Back to the two's for me this week v Bulleen in lead up to magoos finals. Looking forward to seasons end to be quite truthful!!

Looking forward to seasons end to be quite truthful!!

You're not the only one OZZA, trust me on that one...

huru

huru
Great atmosphere all round at the turtle dome on sat.even the loyal eltham crowd realized the effort of the cobras blokes doubling up but still giving it a red hot crack,after match atmosphere also a credit to both sides,great to be involved in footy when it is like that,:thumbsu::thumbsu:

My predicition is Richmond Centrals will fold midway through the season, and the rest of D4 can at least have that entire weekend off, instead of having to front up and belt them by 40 goals. It is a virtual bye anyway.
Good Tip Tibia

I'd like to add to the praise being given to the Bulleen boys for their efforts, both in the twos and in the seniors, at the Turtle Dome on Saturday.

You blokes may have taken a beating on the scoreboard but you certainly won plenty of respect.

A big call given the strong rivalry and history of 'spirited' matches between our clubs.

The efforts of the Cobras who backed up from the twos to also play seniors wasn't lost on the Turtles. I hope you get some reward for your dedication to your club in the final round.

That original comment was posted 18 months ago mate. That's a long time to hold that chip on your shoulder.

can't post crap like that tibia and expect people to forget it, and there was alot more than that said about the centrals. so yes the chips remain, I think we are entitled. :D

I'm confused

Nellup, I need your years of experience to answer a question or clarify a rule for me - since when is it a free kick to hold an opponents arm when he has the ball under his other arm? I always thought it would be holding the ball if incorrect disposal.

On saturday that very situation occured and umpire paid a free kick against the player holding the arm - his comment loud and for all to hear was 'you cannot hold a players hand/arm'. All players around the ball starting laughing, both coaches well we just looked at each other - I was actually livid as it went against our player.

Please clarify as I was asked to explain to my player - sadly this was one of many for the day which had both sides scratching their heads.

Also well done Coach on a great season, 100 goals is significant regardless of the division one plays in - I like others believe Eltham is the best team we have played against by far.

Manny

Re: I'm confused

Nellup, I need your years of experience to answer a question or clarify a rule for me - since when is it a free kick to hold an opponents arm when he has the ball under his other arm? I always thought it would be holding the ball if incorrect disposal.

On saturday that very situation occured and umpire paid a free kick against the player holding the arm - his comment loud and for all to hear was 'you cannot hold a players hand/arm'. All players around the ball starting laughing, both coaches well we just looked at each other - I was actually livid as it went against our player.

Please clarify as I was asked to explain to my player - sadly this was one of many for the day which had both sides scratching their heads.

Also well done Coach on a great season, 100 goals is significant regardless of the division one plays in - I like others believe Eltham is the best team we have played against by far.

Manny
Very hard to make comment when i didn't see it,but and here is that big
word, if:
If the player had the ball and the tackle was below shoulders and above the knee,and by your description it was, then i am unable to find anything in the section of "illegal contact" that would back this ruling.If the ball had spilled free whilst the players arm was being held it would have been play on as there is a specific reference to this in the book.This one has me baffled,glad it wasn't me though,suggest you get onto wiggy for a chat,his door is always open you know mate.And we are being pumped with lectures at training as a result of comment coming in,so he is listening,give him a chance at it.Things carn't be corrected if he doesn't know about them!!!!

Thanks for all the congratulation messages guys :thumbsu:!

Tipping board will be up later today and good luck to all who have their last match of the season this weekend, I could imagine a fair bit of drinking will happening? Enjoy....

Ok for the final rd of year. Rd 18.

BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 23pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 103pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 78pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 11pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 31pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Mt Lilydale by 44pts

Finals:

- 2 cracking games.

Eltham vs Uni High
St Marys vs Mt Lilydale

Ok for the final rd of year. Rd 18.

BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 23pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 103pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 78pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 11pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 31pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Mt Lilydale by 44pts

BHN by 4 g's
Eltham by forfeit?... at least in the twos, maybe the ones as well. That is one heck of long way to travel for the last game of the season when your really struggling for numbers. Plus, it would keep them out of the potentially dangerous bottom 4 on percentage if BHN beat Syndal. I hope not, but it is a possibility? Otherwise, Eltham by 150.
St Marys by 10 goals, getting primed for the finals.
NB by 1 point... could go either way.
Richmond v UHS - Snakes pull the upset of the year when UHS are sleeping :)
Eley Park upset Lilydale by 1 point! Go sharks!

BHN Vs Syndal- BHN by 210pts
Eltham Vs Sth Morn- Eltham by 102pts
St Marys vs Albert Park- St Marys by 66pts
Bulleen Vs Nth Bwick- Nth Bwick by 12pts
Rich Vs Uni High- Uni High by 30pts
Mt Lilydale Vs Eley Park- Eley Park by 1 Point

BHN v Syndal - BHN to do their best to stay a finals chance - taking the points against the ciggy papers by 57.

Eltham v Sth Morn - Eltham by 160 points.
St.Mary's V Albert Park - St.Mary's to sneak in by 17 points
Bulleen v Nth Brunny - North Brunny by 1 point.
Rich v Uni High - UHS by 44.
Mt.Lilydale v Eley park - Mountain men by 4 points and to sneak into the 4.

Good luck to BHN (and I guess Eley Park in that case) - would like to see you guys make it.

Good luck to Sth Morn two's - knock off Eltham with the seven players you have left and give us top spot in the magoos!!