D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

5-10 years ago... I have heard the past players mention a few large altercations :)

i reckon we have only played each other once in the last 10 year (in 2004) when one match was played in good spirits and the other one was abandoned ............................................due to bad weather.

Then I'm misinformed! Perhaps we can argue about whether we have a rivalry out on the field!

:)

Was that the freezing-beyond-all-reason day a couple of years back, where a ground or two got flooded?

was second last round of 2004. we had a lake at CHF rather than grass/mud. was not disappointed at all when the game was called off.

however the two's had to play at an adjacent ground in the freezing cold which....unlucky for them!!

It was eight degrees and bucketing down (Jeff Farmer got hypothermia at Kardinia Park the same day) but the game was only called off because some rocket scientist at Booroondara Council thought it a great idea to dump a truckload of sand at centre half forward on the Friday. The ground inspection went for about thirty seconds before our then-president began to sink into the quicksand. Still reckon we should have gotten four points not two out of that...

Yes it was a shoker of a day!

As for the rivalry - it stems from the dark ages when Richmond Rozella's / Richmond Amateurs etc used to play against Kew / Collingwood / etc etc........(About 30+ years ago)

Dont forget when the Centrals are a good side, we do make St Mary's and Hawthorn look like a good bunch of blokes.........Its a Richmond thing........

was second last round of 2004. we had a lake at CHF rather than grass/mud. was not disappointed at all when the game was called off.

however the two's had to play at an adjacent ground in the freezing cold which....unlucky for them!!

I remember that day, not like playing in snow but pretty damn cold!

So do I........ Played out at Eltham.

Umpired our ressies, then sat on the bench in the ones & injuries early (weak ba$****$!!!!) saw me play about 3/4 of the game.

And to add insult to injury............ Cold showers. :thumbsdown:

Yeah, I believe it was AP.

That doesn't sound like you Abba! A hard nut like you going off because it's a bit cold!

I remember that day well, was coaching in the Yarra Valley Mountain District league, reserves was called off due to lack of numbers after half time (hyperthermia to a number of players), and seniors was colder, it rained and even a boundary umpire got hyperthermia.

Manny

So do I........ Played out at Eltham.

Umpired our ressies, then sat on the bench in the ones & injuries early (weak ba$****$!!!!) saw me play about 3/4 of the game.

And to add insult to injury............ Cold showers. :thumbsdown:

We sang our song under cold showers... no one cared, they were several degrees warmer than outside!

I remember that day well, was coaching in the Yarra Valley Mountain District league, reserves was called off due to lack of numbers after half time (hyperthermia to a number of players), and seniors was colder, it rained and even a boundary umpire got hyperthermia.

Manny

Hyperthermia is excessive heat.
Hypothermia is not enough heat.

"Hyper" basically = above. "Hypo" basically = below
ie: Hyper-colour T-shirts: Too bright. Hypodermic syringe goes beneath the skin.

Hyperthermia is excessive heat.
Hypothermia is not enough heat.

"Hyper" basically = above. "Hypo" basically = below
ie: Hyper-colour T-shirts: Too bright. Hypodermic syringe goes beneath the skin.

"Dork" = you

Which teams are you most looking forward to playing next year?

Mine are Kew and West Brunswick for obvious reasons.

Yeah Kew should be interesting... Wonder how they'll go? The big merge didn't help them much.
Merge didn't help at all but as far as recruiting goes there is one less club in the area so we will benefit in the long run. We had shocking run with injuries this season and lost 11 games by under 3 goals. When we were up and about at the start of the year we managed to beat Uni High by 10 goals in a practice match. I would like to think that we will be competitve. West Brunswick will be very good Haysey (chf) is a class act and Irving is a gun. The beauty about this time of the year is that everyone is even and has the chance to spruik about their clubs prospects in the coming year. Good luck to all for season 08.

Then I'm misinformed! Perhaps we can argue about whether we have a rivalry out on the field!

g'day waz, hows things mate?

yes there was a strong rivalry especially around 1997-2000 when our former coach Tim ponterfract was there. He used to hate kew with a passion and would build up every game. He came from trinity which used to have a massive rivalry with kew many years ago when they were up in the higher grades. We also had a few close finals with them including one in about 99 or 2000 where we where well up early but ended up getting done by about a goal. I had never seen the boys so gutted in any other game. It was certainly one that got away from us.

Hows the upcoming season looking waz? Picked up any players yet?

g'day waz, hows things mate?

yes there was a strong rivalry especially around 1997-2000 when our former coach Tim ponterfract was there. He used to hate kew with a passion and would build up every game. He came from trinity which used to have a massive rivalry with kew many years ago when they were up in the higher grades. We also had a few close finals with them including one in about 99 or 2000 where we where well up early but ended up getting done by about a goal. I had never seen the boys so gutted in any other game. It was certainly one that got away from us.

Hows the upcoming season looking waz? Picked up any players yet?

So far so good... I have only heard of a few senior players leaving. So as long as we get more than we lose we'll be a really solid team in 2008. I assume there will be 5 teams in the finals this season.... and the favourites are probably:

Kew, WB, Lilydale, SFX and BHN.... But we should have a say in the matter.

Considering where we started last pre-season, the skill level we're at now is another grade higher.

So far so good... I have only heard of a few senior players leaving. So as long as we get more than we lose we'll be a really solid team in 2008. I assume there will be 5 teams in the finals this season.... and the favourites are probably:

Kew, WB, Lilydale, SFX and BHN.... But we should have a say in the matter.

Considering where we started last pre-season, the skill level we're at now is another grade higher.

What's your reason for assuming their will be 5 in the finals waz,do you know something?are they going to allow us in the lower ranks to mix with the elite in the latter weeks of the finals?:D:D:D

It was supposed to be 5 in the finals last season, but the drought shortened the season and we missed two weeks. So it was impossible to have an extra round of finals.

This year, provided there's some rain, I ASSUME (a$$, you, me) there will be five again!