dajesmac

Perth Demons, Liverpool
I plan to use this as a preliminary draft before using a revised one closer to Nov 24. I know some of these selections aren't true to club needs, but the actual draft rarely pans out that way anyway. I did the top 50, write ups on just the first round. I'll complete the job in my next mock. Enjoy.

#1 GWS - Jonathon Patton (VIC - KPF)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 20/05/1993

Patton is an absolute monster forward. Already weighing in at 95 kegs, he's as ready made as a key forward could come. GWS will be keen to lock this gem away, he's a guarantee to be elite. No further explanation needed. Johnathon Brown comparisons are accurate.

#2 GWS - Stephen Coniglio (WA - Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 79kg, DOB: 15/12/1993

I see Coniglio as a very similar player to Luke Shuey, but with higher potential. A very natural footballer, very ready made and has experience against men (we all know about the 2010 WAFL GF). Dual sided, gun kick, great speed, ferocity at the ball, great tackler. Complete package as a midfielder. Guaranteed gun IMO.

#3 GWS - Dom Tyson (VIC - Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 08/06/1993

Inside player, great skills and a big accumulator.This can be a hard combination to find and thus GWS will be keen to snatch him.High work rate and endurance make him a very attractive prospect.

#4 GWS - Will Hoskin-Elliot (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 182cm, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 02/09/1993

Fantastic wingman. Good overheard, has courage, great speed and has a booming 60m right boot. Great leap, and fantastic endurance (I believe he broke the beep test record). Elite outside prospect that GWS will love.

#5 GWS - Billy Longer (VIC - Ruck)
Height: 202cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 12/05/1993

Ruckman that can have an impact up forward and is good at ground level. GWS need a young ruck prospect and in a draft bare on talls they'll nab him before risking Port taking him with pick 6.

#6 Port Adelaide - Chad Wingard (SA – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 29/07/1993

Pendlebury-like inside/out midfielder with a booming left foot kick. Has immense courage and a strange history with concussions which may make him seen as less desirable for GWS (despite him easily being a top 5 talent). Being a local Port will jump on him, and be very thankful for it.

#7 GWS - Matthew Buntine (VIC – Def/Mid)
Height: 188cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 19/10/1993

Tall half back flank with great skills and playy-reading ability, which makes him a bit Bryce Gibbsesque. Can provide good rebound and has midfield potential in the future.

#8 Brisbane Lions - Adam Tomlinson (VIC – KPF/KPD/Mid)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 90kg, DOB: 10/08/1993

Brisbane are very keen to rebuild their spine and have expressed interest in Tomlinson. Can play as a key defender or forward, so is very versatile. Won't wait until pick 12 to get him, as GWS will no doubt also have their sights on him.

#9 GWS - Liam Sumner (VIC - Mid)
Height: 182cm, Weight: 70kg, DOB: 16/08/1993

Explosive outside line breaker. Easily gets around opponents and hits targets by foot well. Has high hurt factor so doesn't need a ton of ball to influence a match. Stephen Hill-like.

#10 GWS - Myles Bolger (WA - Ruck)
Height: 201cm, Weight: 90kg, DOB: 25/03/1993

Good tap ruckman, good around the ground, and is a solid mark. Isn't a great athlete though. Pick 10 is probably above his value but GWS will want to snatch all the talls they can given their current midfield is very good. They don't have many picks later so will use these now to get talls.

#11 GWS – Fraser McInnes (WA – KPF/KPD)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 91kg, DOB: 19/07/1993

As above, pick #11 is above his value but being a versatile KPP McInnes will be a must get for GWS. Has good versatility from what I hear, has a got of hands and is still definitely a first round talent. His versatility will be attractive.

#12 Brisbane Lions - Toby Greene (VIC - Mid)
Height: 180cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 15/09/1993

Brisbane will look to top off the rebuild of their midfield and are said to be interested in Greene. An inside ball winning machine. Wins plenty of clearances and contested ball and is very good by hand. A strong champs raised his stocks.

#13 GWS - Taylor Adams (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 80kg, DOB: 20/09/1993

Good inside mid that will adapt well to AFL. Nice speed, good tackler. Has a certain untackle-ability, and uses his body well in marking situations. A good option for inside midfield depth for GWS.

#14 GWS - Shane Kersten (WA – Fwd/KPF)
Height: 190cm, Weight: 88kg, DOB: 15/03/1993

They overlooked him in their pre-listing processes but GWS will know Kersten is a good talent likely to be snapped up in the first round. Possibly a touch short to play KPF, may play as a third tall. Good skills, particularly around goals and is pretty ready made.

#15 Richmond - Elliot Kavanagh (VIC - Mid)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 19/05/1993

A potentially elite inside/out talent whose value will be hurt due to a horrific injury history. Is one of the mids who will slide due to GWS' need for talls. Richmond will be happy to pick him up, Kavanagh is similar to Cotchin in that he has great pace and skills for an inside grunt. Will top off their midfield rebuild nicely, at least in terms of inside midfielders.

#16 Fremantle - Brandon Ellis (VIC – Def)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 03/08/1993

A Heath Shaw like half back flank. Built very...cubically, he has great dash from half back and a booming kick. Freo will be happy with another attacking option from defense who can also handle some of the smaller forwards.

#17 Western Bulldogs – Alex Forster (SA – Def/Util)
Height: 189cm, Weight: 81kg, DOB: 14/07/1993

A medium utility with nice skills. Mostly plays back and has done some great defensive jobs. Strong overhead, dualsided and very versatile.

#18 North Melbourne – Sam Docherty (VIC - Def)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 17/10/1993

Extreme rebounding ability from defense. Has great skills and speed and is the half back flank weapon North has been crying out for. Very composed player.

#19 Essendon - Daniel Markworth (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 189cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 03/04/1992

Overager who is relatively new to the game. Is like Nat Fyfe, great hands, plays as a leadup forward with midfield ability. I believe he's actually grown to 191cm too. Good awareness and 55m kick, is new to the game still so has room for development and thus high upside.

#20 Fremantle – Michael Talia (VIC - KPD)
Height: 192cm, Weight: 88kg, DOB: 11/02/1993

Fremantle have an extremely talented young midfield, but need the spine to go with it to become a real force. Talia is one of the better key defenders in the draft and if he isn't taken by GWS or Brisbane will be snapped up by the Dockers. Strong, good work rate, endurance and marking ability.

#21 Sydney - Tom Mitchell (WA – Mid) F/S
Height: 181cm, Weight: 79kg, DOB: 31/05/1993

Fantastic midfield prospect, son of former Swan Barry. Potentially a top ten prospect if not F/S'd. Great attack on the footy, is a great inside ball winner but also links up play well on the outside. Swans are very lucky.

#22 Carlton - Hayden Crozier (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 184cm, Weight: 68kg, DOB: 24/12/1993

High X Factor type kid, great speed and skills. Will be remembered for a while for 'that' mark at Patterson's stadium against WA in the champs this year. That's what he's capable of. Wingman/half forward type like Daisy Thomas. Has a very late birthday and is only 68kg so is more of a project player (hence his slide). Is very talented though, just needs to develop consistency which he knows.

#23 West Coast Eagles – Waylen Manson (WA – KPF)
Height: 191cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 24/04/1993

Crazy talented indigenous key forward from the Kimberley. Amazing leap and goal kicking ability. Is very raw but an athletic genius. Kicked something like 42(?) goals in 5 games including a 10 goal haul for the Waratahs in the NTFL. Was originally a rookie prospect his stocks have soared. Eagles are interested, as are Port (potentially with pick 6 reportedly) and Melbourne (pick 36).

#24 Gold Coast - Nic Haynes (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 191cm, Weight: 70kg, DOB: 18/05/1992

Very skinny tall wingman/half forward. Great skills, but is freakishly skinny especially considering he is a year older. Very talented, but a risk given his development needed. Nice hands and running ability.

#25 St Kilda – Todd Elton (Dandenong – KPF/Ruck/KPD)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 90kg, DOB: 29/04/1993

A bit of a Drew Petrie clone in that he's a little short for a ruckman, so plays as a key forward primarily but is very good. The Saints, who are a little light in both these areas, will nab him.

#26 Richmond - Devon Smith (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 175cm, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 20/05/1993

#27 Adelaide – Mitchell Grigg (SA - Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 02/01/1993

#28 West Coast Eagles – Jordan Lockyer (WA – KPD/KPF)
Height: 191cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 15/06/1993

#29 Fremantle – Josh Bootsma (WA – Def)
Height: 190cm, Weight: ??, DOB: 22/02/1993

#30 Brisbane - Jackson Paine (VIC – KPF/Mid)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 21/06/1993

#31 Essendon - Sebastian Ross (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 07/05/1993

#32 Geelong – Sam Frost (VIC – KPD/KPF)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 28/08/1993

#33 Hawthorn – Brad McKenzie (SA – Mid/Def)
Height: 188cm, Weight: 75kg, DOB: 29/05/1993

#34 Geelong - Thomas Sheridan (VIC – Mid/Util)
Height: 185cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 28/10/1993

#35 St Kilda – Julian Dobosz (TAS - KPF)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 17/11/1992

#36 Melbourne - Shane Nelson (WA - Mid)
Height: 179cm, Weight: 73kg, DOB: 11/05/1993

#37 St Kilda – Josh Waldhuter (SA - Mid)
Height: 184cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 15/03/1993

#38 Hawthorn – Henry Schade (TAS - KPD)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 81kg, DOB: 08/10/1993

#39 Western Bulldogs – Jackson Merrett (VIC – Mid/Util)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 70kg, DOB: 27/02/1993

#40 North Melbourne – Michael Bussey (VIC – KPF/KPD)
Height: 196cm, Weight: 81kg, DOB: 05/07/1993

#41 Adelaide – Alex Woodward (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 179cm, Weight: 79kg, DOB: 11/06/1993

#42 St Kilda – Tom Downie (VIC – Ruck)
Height: 205cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 04/27/1993

#43 Sydney – Brody Mihocek (TAS – Def/Util)
Height: 191cm, Weight: 86kg, DOB: 04/02/1993

#44 Carlton – Josh Tynan (VIC – Mid/Def)
Height: 185cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 06/11/1993

#45 Port Adelaide – Marley Williams (WA – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 181cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 22/07/1993

#46 Adelaide – Clay Smith (VIC – Mid/Fwd)
Height: 180cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 11/05/1993

#47 Brisbane Lions – Nic Murphy (VIC – KPF)
Height: 194cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 22/03/1993

#48 Geelong – Sam Kerridge (VIC - Mid)
Height: 188cm, Weight: 84kg, DOB: 26/04/1993

#49 Western Bull Dogs – Jack Newnes (VIC – Mid/Util)
Height: 184cm, Weight: 74kg, DOB: 24/02/1993

#50 Collingwood – Kyal Horsley (WA – Mid)
Height: 182cm, Weight: 88kg, DOB: 02/09/1987

I reckon based on talent alone you have nailed the order really well maybe mckenzie a bit low

Great effort, really like Ellis I think most people have him too far out so would love him at Freo would cover a big need

I thought West Coasters rated Murray Newman highly, but he doesn't feature in your top 50?

Any reason behind that or do you believe he'll feature later? I'm thinking he'll go in the top 35 personally.

A draft that is different to the others. This let alone deserves a round of applause. Happy to see you didnt put alex forster at pick 27 like all the others. Grigg would be a solid pick up.

Thanks guys!

I thought West Coasters rated Murray Newman highly, but he doesn't feature in your top 50?

Any reason behind that or do you believe he'll feature later? I'm thinking he'll go in the top 35 personally.

I certainly highly rate him. Serious midfield ability. I just couldn't see him going to any other team, and think he could slide all the way to the PSD. Just a feeling more than anything. I couldn't fit Newman into a WA side, but maybe at 29 to Freo instead of Bootsma.

A draft that is different to the others. This let alone deserves a round of applause. Happy to see you didnt put alex forster at pick 27 like all the others. Grigg would be a solid pick up.

Thanks mate. I agree Grigg is a very solid pickup and can impact straight away. I think anyone who picks him up outside the top 25 won't ever regret it. Serious weapons.

#25 St Kilda – Todd Elton (Dandenong – KPF/Ruck/KPD)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 90kg, DOB: 29/04/1993

#35 St Kilda – Julian Dobosz (TAS - KPF)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 17/11/1992

#37 St Kilda – Josh Waldhuter (SA - Mid)
Height: 184cm, Weight: 83kg, DOB: 15/03/1993

#42 St Kilda – Tom Downie (VIC – Ruck)
Height: 205cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 04/27/1993
I would do a little dance if the draft panned out this way

#8 Brisbane Lions - Adam Tomlinson (VIC – KPF/KPD/Mid)
#12 Brisbane Lions - Toby Greene (VIC - Mid)
#30 Brisbane - Jackson Paine (VIC – KPF/Mid)
#47 Brisbane Lions – Nic Murphy (VIC – KPF)

Nice effort Dajesmac. Looking relatively decent.

For Brisbane, I know that you're not worrying too much about needs, but our biggest need at the moment is rucks - I'd expect them to take one - at least with pick 47. Downie or Brown would good choices there...

Also - and not an attack on you Dajesmac, I've seen this on many phantoms - not sure why people want Tomlinson to go at 8... He's a KPP, but after Patton, there isn't a whole lot between a lot of the KPPs... Tomlinson is quite close in skill and potential to McInnes, Kersten, Talia, Elton... I'd even say Dobosz is up there... to waste our pick 8 on that would be quite a reach... though i'm sure there will be many (incl other Lions fans) who disagree with me...

For Brisbane, I know that you're not worrying too much about needs, but our biggest need at the moment is rucks - I'd expect them to take one - at least with pick 47. Downie or Brown would good choices there...

Also - and not an attack on you Dajesmac, I've seen this on many phantoms - not sure why people want Tomlinson to go at 8... He's a KPP, but after Patton, there isn't a whole lot between a lot of the KPPs... Tomlinson is quite close in skill and potential to McInnes, Kersten, Talia, Elton... I'd even say Dobosz is up there... to waste our pick 8 on that would be quite a reach... though i'm sure there will be many (incl other Lions fans) who disagree with me...

Believe me Tomlinson is a cut above every KPP except Patton. He is highly skilled especially with kicking and has a huge aerobic capacity for a big man.

I am speculative as to whether he will still be available at 8

Believe me Tomlinson is a cut above every KPP except Patton. He is highly skilled especially with kicking and has a huge aerobic capacity for a big man.

I don't rate him quite that highly, certainly not a significant amount above McInnes & co - pick 12, sure... 8, no... but that's just my opinion... it's odd though, because as i've been watching, he's gradually been phantomed earlier and earlier... a month ago, Tomlinson was rated as pick 12-15, now he's pick 7-12... all without a single game of footy being played.

As for whether he'll be available at 8, funnily enough, I actually wouldn't be surprised to see him go at 7 (despite my protests of taking him at 8)... but that's because GWS have to pick up diverse players, and as it has been bandied around so much that Bris will get him, they may try to preempt Brisbane by picking him up early (picks 1,2,3,4,5,7,9,10,11 and 'best available' would stick them with 1 KPF, 1 Ruck, and 7 mids). So he may go at 7, but at 8, I think Brisbane have to go with best available, and go after strategy for 12, 30 and 47... even though this would likely see them miss Tomlinson, they should end up with a better mid (WHE, Buntine, Kavanagh would be my main targets at 8, all of whom I rate higher than Tomlinson).

I don't rate him quite that highly, certainly not a significant amount above McInnes & co - pick 12, sure... 8, no... but that's just my opinion... it's odd though, because as i've been watching, he's gradually been phantomed earlier and earlier... a month ago, Tomlinson was rated as pick 12-15, now he's pick 7-12... all without a single game of footy being played.

As for whether he'll be available at 8, funnily enough, I actually wouldn't be surprised to see him go at 7 (despite my protests of taking him at 8)... but that's because GWS have to pick up diverse players, and as it has been bandied around so much that Bris will get him, they may try to preempt Brisbane by picking him up early (picks 1,2,3,4,5,7,9,10,11 and 'best available' would stick them with 1 KPF, 1 Ruck, and 7 mids). So he may go at 7, but at 8, I think Brisbane have to go with best available, and go after strategy for 12, 30 and 47... even though this would likely see them miss Tomlinson, they should end up with a better mid (WHE, Buntine, Kavanagh would be my main targets at 8, all of whom I rate higher than Tomlinson).

Tomlinson is comfortably above McInnes and co IMO.

Crazy talented indigenous key forward from the Kimberley. Amazing leap and goal kicking ability. Is very raw but an athletic genius. Kicked something like 42(?) goals in 5 games including a 10 goal haul for the Waratahs in the NTFL. Was originally a rookie prospect his stocks have soared. Eagles are interested, as are Port (potentially with pick 6 reportedly) and Melbourne (pick 36).

Can you shed any more light on this one?? Where did you hear/read this?

Good call. I only just remembered the Lions real need for a ruck, Downie with a later pick (30/37) would be a good call. :thumbsu:

FootyIcon voices my opinion. I would rate Tomlinson a superior KPP prospect to those you listed spotthedog. It's not a matter of wasting pick 8 IMO, if the speculation is true about Brisbane wanting Tomlinson and Greene then in my opinion they'd go for Tomlinson at 8. The reason being I think GWS would certainly snap him up with picks 9-11 due to their own need for talls, and thus I see Greene being potentially available at 12 still (in other words I think using 8 on Greene would be more of a waste).

As Knightmare suggests in his draft using 12 on Bolger is also not out of the question. :)

Can you shed any more light on this one?? Where did you hear/read this?

Looking back I made it sound more concrete than it is. Sorry, there is only speculation that they will take him there. From what I understand he is one player of a bunch they are considering, but as you can see from my phantom IMO they will go for the best available mid (as they should).

My source was here though:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/sport/11501912/mansons-stocks-soar/

A number of clubs are assessing Manson and there is speculation that Port Adelaide have him among their contenders for their prized first pick, No.6 overall. While that would be a shock, he is unlikely to be available when the Power re-enter the draft at No.45.

Thanks for that. Was asking because I think he is an interesting prospect. I agree that we probably won't use our first pick on him but he would be worth a look thats for sure.;)

FootyIcon voices my opinion. I would rate Tomlinson a superior KPP prospect to those you listed spotthedog. It's not a matter of wasting pick 8 IMO, if the speculation is true about Brisbane wanting Tomlinson and Greene then in my opinion they'd go for Tomlinson at 8. The reason being I think GWS would certainly snap him up with picks 9-11 due to their own need for talls, and thus I see Greene being potentially available at 12 still (in other words I think using 8 on Greene would be more of a waste).

As Knightmare suggests in his draft using 12 on Bolger is also not out of the question. :)
http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/sport/11501912/mansons-stocks-soar/

Thanks for that Dajesmac. Interesting justification. I rate Greene quite highly, and I can understand what you mean there... I think it's a valid option if you rate Tomlinson that highly, which I guess I'm one of the few on BF who don't. Not that i don't rate him, just not top 10.

Bolger would be OK at 12, but I'd prefer Greene. I've done my own phantom (though can't post it, as I'm new to BF and can't create threads), and in that, I've actually got the lions looking at Elton at 12, as he is quite talented, and is a specialist ruck/fwd, which is quite rare, and sought after by most clubs. Ordinarily as a ruck or fwd, I'd rate Elton about pick 20, but for both, i don't see 12 as unreasonable. For the record, my phantom has Tomlinson at 10 for GWS, with Brisbane drafting Kavanagh/WHE (depending on Port) at 8, Elton at 12, and Boseley at 30, giving us an elite mid, a Fwd/Ruck, and a KPD.

No worries. Yeah I just figured if the Lions were targetting Tomlinson then it would require pick eight given GWS' reported interest.

Elton at 12 would be a good call, agree that his versatility as a ruck/fwd makes him more attractive particularly to a team like Brisbane who are rebuilding their spine. A few weeks back I remember doing a phantom (which I never published) having Elton + Kavanagh going to your lot. It seems though that Elton's stocks have slid a touch (at least on bigfooty) into the 20's and Tomlinson has shot right up into to top 10 calculations. That and Brisbane reportedly being interested in Tomlinson is what influenced my decision to put him where I did.

Your phantom would provide a very good haul for Brisbane there ;). Would Brisbane fans be happy with picking Liam Sumner with one of their early picks? 8-12 specifically, I don't mean at 30 :p. He is a potentially elite outside prospect and Brisbane seem to have some very nice inside prospects (if you consider Rich/Redden/Rockliff "prospects") at this stage anyway.

No worries. Yeah I just figured if the Lions were targetting Tomlinson then it would require pick eight given GWS' reported interest.

Elton at 12 would be a good call, agree that his versatility as a ruck/fwd makes him more attractive particularly to a team like Brisbane who are rebuilding their spine. A few weeks back I remember doing a phantom (which I never published) having Elton + Kavanagh going to your lot. It seems though that Elton's stocks have slid a touch (at least on bigfooty) into the 20's and Tomlinson has shot right up into to top 10 calculations. That and Brisbane reportedly being interested in Tomlinson is what influenced my decision to put him where I did.

Your phantom would provide a very good haul for Brisbane there ;). Would Brisbane fans be happy with picking Liam Sumner with one of their early picks? 8-12 specifically, I don't mean at 30 :p. He is a potentially elite outside prospect and Brisbane seem to have some very nice inside prospects (if you consider Rich/Redden/Rockliff "prospects") at this stage anyway.

I've noticed Elton's slid a bit - not sure why... either I missed something, or people are getting carried away... I think people are getting carried away with Tomlinson, but it actually kinda works as a strategy...

I haven't been as impressed with Sumner as many others. I rate Kavanagh, Greene and WHE as 8s, but sumner as a 12... Kavanagh or WHE would be great outside mids, and may even get Kav at 12...

Yeah - those would be great pickups for Bris... I tried not to be biased, and I think i was relatively even, but you know how these things are - you always want what's best for your team...