Toast Dale Thomas

Bit of a knob. Fitting he has his career cut short by the club he chose for $$$. Then at his old club Pendles is soon to be lining up for his 300 and captain.

Great for us and one of the more exciting players I’ve seen live. However his attitude towards the pies before just leaving and after leaving was unprofessional.

He put in to be the best he can ??? Wasn’t he caught drunk as a skunk mid season at a footy function.

You would’ve done the exact same thing in his shoes
You don't know that unless you a very close friend or relative of Lockyer24. Some people choose loyalty over what in grand scheme of things wouldn't make a difference. (I mean when you're earning say $600k a year, what difference would $750k really be? Either way your still earning an absolute shit tonne more than the average Joe). If he left purely because he couldn't stand being at Collingwood with Buckley or whatever then fair enough, although some might say he could've gotten over that if loyalty meant a lot to him. He had loyalty to Mick and $$$, not the club. That's why many didn't like how he left.

On another note, I don't think he's retired, just leaving Carlton, probably because of that bullshit over a glass of wine he had. If he's lucky Gold Coast might be interested in him as backup.

Thanks for what you did for the Pies Daisy, but can't help think that if you'd stayed with us thinks would've turned out a bit better for you playing wise.

I get people didn't like the way he went and where he went but it sounds a bit like a bunch of bitter ex's the way people carry on about him.
  1. We clearly got rid of him at the right time by not offering him the $$$ he wanted
  2. We ended up with the highest compo pick ever at that point in time
  3. We have played in more Grand Finals than he has finals
  4. He played for THE worst club in the AFL over that time, multiple wooden spoons, regularly finished bottom 3
  5. His form has been garbage until this year.
Can we move on? He has suffered enough, we have benefitted from the whole fiasco. The level of maturity being shown to shocking. Good on Daisy for a great career. Should have a career after footy in the media and I hope he has success in that field too. :beercheers:

Career in the media? He has the charisma of a potato.

I get people didn't like the way he went and where he went but it sounds a bit like a bunch of bitter ex's the way people carry on about him.
  1. We clearly got rid of him at the right time by not offering him the $$$ he wanted
  4. He played for THE worst club in the AFL over that time, multiple wooden spoons, regularly finished bottom 3
Can we move on? He has suffered enough, we have benefitted from the whole fiasco. The level of maturity being shown to shocking. Good on Daisy for a great career. Should have a career after footy in the media and I hope he has success in that field too. :beercheers:
yes mum

After watching Shaun Higgins single handedly destroy the English language in his "analysis" of the Pies vs Crows game this morning, I couldn't agree more. Daisy would fit right in down at Cretin Central.

Daisy was a great player for the pies. I believe he was influenced by his mentor and close ally, Mick Malthouse who inherited a shit list at Carlton and needed instant success.
I will never forget that both Mick and Daisy gave me one of the best days of my life and will be forever grateful that they were a part of the Collingwood family.
Congratulations Daisy and no hard feelings from me.

I think you miss the central point - he left US - for more money - ...

... and because he didn’t see us going anywhere under Buckley, which was a fair point during Buckley’s early years as coach. Remember, in Buckley’s first game in charge he selected Yagmoor (only game he ever played for us) and Paine.

But yeah, times change.

... and because he didn’t see us going anywhere under Buckley, which was a fair point during Buckley’s early years as coach. Remember, in Buckley’s first game in charge he selected Yagmoor (only game he ever played for us) and Paine.

But yeah, times change.
Which is kind of odd because in his last two years with us, Nathan’s first two years as senior coach, we made finals both years.

He became a flog at Carlton

But he is one of the reasons we won in 2010

Watch his 3rd quarter in the 1st grand final. Bloke was smashing into packs to win the ball as St Kilda were gaining ascension. He truthfully was the main reason they didn’t score several more goals

You don't know that unless you a very close friend or relative of Lockyer24. Some people choose loyalty over what in grand scheme of things wouldn't make a difference. (I mean when you're earning say $600k a year, what difference would $750k really be? Either way your still earning an absolute s**t tonne more than the average Joe). If he left purely because he couldn't stand being at Collingwood with Buckley or whatever then fair enough, although some might say he could've gotten over that if loyalty meant a lot to him. He had loyalty to Mick and $$$, not the club. That's why many didn't like how he left.

On another note, I don't think he's retired, just leaving Carlton, probably because of that bulls**t over a glass of wine he had. If he's lucky Gold Coast might be interested in him as backup.

Thanks for what you did for the Pies Daisy, but can't help think that if you'd stayed with us thinks would've turned out a bit better for you playing wise.

It was a 5 year deal so you're now talking a $750K disparity which is not to be sneezed at. I think it was more the term of the deal at the Blues as much as the $$$'s.

You don't know that unless you a very close friend or relative of Lockyer24. Some people choose loyalty over what in grand scheme of things wouldn't make a difference. (I mean when you're earning say $600k a year, what difference would $750k really be? Either way your still earning an absolute s**t tonne more than the average Joe). If he left purely because he couldn't stand being at Collingwood with Buckley or whatever then fair enough, although some might say he could've gotten over that if loyalty meant a lot to him. He had loyalty to Mick and $$$, not the club. That's why many didn't like how he left.

On another note, I don't think he's retired, just leaving Carlton, probably because of that bulls**t over a glass of wine he had. If he's lucky Gold Coast might be interested in him as backup.

You turn down a job offering you almost 1/5th better pay. You can't hate him for taking the cash. Jesus the club cuts players regularly, can't complain when the players look after themselves.

Congrats on your career Daisy. As has been said, was an absolute weapon when he played for us.

I reckon he'll get another gig elsewhere. He has probably put together his best season since he moved to Carlton. It's kind of funny that this is the year they decide to get rid of him! Surely there's a few other spuds on that list who get delisted before him.

Nonetheless, once he officially retires, I'll probably ease up on my feelings towards him for leaving the club, and chose to reflect on the vital role he played in the 2010 grand finals. He was one of our best across both games. I'd trade the last few years of having to watch him in the navy blue for that premiership every day.

You turn down a job offering you almost 1/5th better pay. You can't hate him for taking the cash. Jesus the club cuts players regularly, can't complain when the players look after themselves.

Congrats on your career Daisy. As has been said, was an absolute weapon when he played for us.

I think that's fair enough. I think there was probably a bit more than money behind it though. I reckon he went for Malthouse, and also probably was one of those guys who wasn't completely playing for Buckley at the time.

But you can't dispute that he would have had to play under a much shorter contract, for much less money, if he had decided to stay with Collingwood. I reckon though he has faded into non-relevance at Carlton. He was a much loved player at the Magpies. Leaving meant that he lost the love from the magpies army, and I don't think he ever won over the hearts of Carlton fans given that they probably had to sacrifice Eddie Betts to make room to bring in Daisy (and he did nothing for the first few years of his contract). So it was probably a career that faded out in the end when it was looking like he would become an all time great.

Can never take away the fact that he is a Collingwood premiership player though

Great Collingwood champion and Premiership player. Feel we managed to see him off at the right time and whilst bog ordinary after that, he did well to keep his career going as long as he did -albeit at the scum. Once he has pulled the pin the taint will be rinsed through and he will be a favourite son again.

He never really recovered from that tragic surfing accident during the big swell off Torquay ;)

Toast Dale Thomas