Dan Collins

• Thread starter Thread starter Grimreepah

Speculation about speculation.
Really, no one has any idea what is going on.

what he said!

some of the stuff on here, about people they don't even know, is right up there with Hamilton's articles!

Might be slightly off topic, but if we cannot get Paul Roos, then I'll be happy enough for Choco to join as an assistant....

Somehow it all reminds me a little of 1998, when former favourite son Roger Merrett was installed as caretaker coach and then with the assistance/guidance of the AFL, Leigh Matthews came to town.

Yes, was thinking the same thing about Choco..

He should have. The entire comp, as rationalised by the vast majority of contributors to Big Footy and a large chunk of the footy media, are more interested in the lowest draft pick than winning. The number one draft pick is the new flag. This very prevalent line of thinking does my head in.

Was referring more to the fact that Bailey has played it so he is under no pressure to win in his first 3 years and counting. Whereas Voss has denied himself that grace period, has aimed high from the start and is now under the pump 18 months in. Perhaps Voss could have played it a bit smarter in buying himself more time before the vultures set in.

To put things into perspective for me was Hammo the journalist that Lethal inferred was a enuch?

Not as such.

Sam Newman made a controversial comment on the Footy Show that week about Eunuchs and Leigh said at a press conference in a joking referential way that journos were eunuchs.

Hammo, unaware of Sam Newman's comments went on a hysterical rant in his column about how out of line Lethal's comments were. Hammo, once made aware of the contect of Lethal's comments, was too weak to issue a retraction.

At this point in time, every other club must be looking at us and taking notes on "what not to do" and considering us a case-study in how to screw up a football club.

People might say that it can take a backward step or two prior to going forward, but that implies that there is some recognised need and intention for blood-letting that is being acknowledged as part of an overall plan. That wasn't the case, and going into this season, I don't think the club was intending on us going backwards or to be bleeding like it appears to be currently. In fact, quite the opposite, if you take the club's public perception of itself as a guide. It is like as if we have gotten ahead of ourselves so far and got it so wrong and have free-wheeled into disaster.

I really have a bad feeling about how everything is going to pan out for the Lions in a lot of areas.

At the risk of sounding inflammatory Stocka, time to shit or get off the pot.

This outrage sounds eerily similar to 9 months ago when there was a frenzy of criticism on here about the new logo and jumper. Everyone was claiming to be ropable and demanding blood.

Come AGM time, what did we see? Just myself, stitchface and whataboutbob asking the hard questions... and very little from anyone else.

Forgive me for expecting something similar this year.

Come AGM time, what did we see? Just myself, stitchface and whataboutbob asking the hard questions... and very little from anyone else.

Congratulations TBD, you are now fully qualified to be a Union Sub-branch rep at my school.

I simply can't believe some of the absolute crap being written here. Blaming the media for our present position- hello people, we've lost 9 of our last 10. In case you missed it, I repeat- lost 9 of our last 10. Not the media- the Lions. In case you missed yesterday's news, that's a worse consecutive season 2010 losing record than Port which has just sacked its coach.

The CM [rag of a paper it is degenerating to since it became a tabloid, but that's another story[ hasn't been losing games, the Lions have. The 22 we turn out each week haven't done the job. Not Andrew Hamilton. I'm not here to defend the bloke, but he is writing the story, not creating it.

There ain't no Murdoch conspiracy, and I'd very much doubt there was any collaboration between any of the journos cited. What would be their motive? Some people are speculating it's to bring down the Lions. Why? What would be the point. This is just rubbish. It's analogous to saying that if only 'The Australian' had left Rudd alone he'd still be there. Get real.

We are eating ourselves becasue of our current playing position. If there are internal rumblings, which Hamilton says there are, then is it any wonder? To blame the media for our woes is stupid. If anything, we've probably got off lightly, the Melbourne media simply repeating our line that the cause of all our woes is injury.

Injuries are one important factor, sure, but they don't account for the dreadful, totally unacceptable recent performances when players, with a few exceptions, haven't been putting in.

Hammo, backs up for round 2 today, either Hammo is going after Collins due to something personal that has happened between them or he is getting leak after leak from people within the club.

The media is the most powerful tool to influence change just ask K.Rudd!

There's no doubt that injuries have made an enormous contribution to where we sit at the moment, we all agree on that, but that doesn't and can't excuse the lack of spirit and effort shown over the past couple of months.

Last year we were all proud of the side's refusal to lie down and accept defeat, at the moment the opposite is happening. Something is dreadfully wrong within the club, and I fear that we presently don't have a wise and experienced figurehead to turn things around a la Leigh in 1999.

In my view, leaving any issues about Collins to one side, one of our main problems is that our club leaders Kelly and Bowers lack the strength, authority and real footy experience to properly analyse the situation, make the hard calls on coaching personnel and give Vossy the support he needs.

As much as I agree that we need a complete overhaul of our coaching box ( and maybe the Choco idea is worth exploring :eek:), I would love to see some real change at the top first.

Its been obvious that somethings bothering the players.
On match day, its usually a 5-10% diff in attitude that wins the day.
Our attitude from Q1 onwards is SHOW me THE SCONES

Of particular note in orig article (it should have all been posted) is the bit about Vossy referring all requests from players to Mr Collins, ie Collins is the WALL that Vossy has put up between himself and the players.

Also that Collins said Fev was dropped v Carlton (Voss said 'injury' )
Obvious Hammo was dugging amongst the skulls, but we've all been smelling a rat, and it seems like the players are spilling the beans. So Journo :thumbsu:

I've been calling for a club review to straighten things out. Noboddies been listening. At last somethings been ferreted out from the inner sanctum. Its the Football Manager/Department.

But I'm not satisfied with Collin's head. Who put him there? Who is over-riding the medicos? Who can't select a team that can't give 100%? There is more to this than just Collins. CLUB REVIEW to get ALL the changes done that need to be made.

It's funny how quickly one little article can change the head most people want chopped off. I don't pretend to know what is happening within the club because im not there. As an outsider, all i can see is something isn't right, and seeing changes done behind the scenes in the off season will be enough for me to know that something is being done.

To me, it sounds like Dan Collins is performing a bit of a toe cutter type role, an no one likes toe cutters. I don't think he really needs a strong footy background to performa toe cutting type role, so im happy for Voss to deligate tasks to his staff, that is what they are there for. I would just like to see some changes and more experience in the coaches box, and i think this experience would trickle down to the fitness department as well.

With how badly we are going, no one should be happy at the club. I'd be more worried if everyone was all smiles and rainbows. You can see how tired Voss is with it all, and that's a positive to me, because it shows he cares, and if he cares, he will try and fix it. Copping crap from the media all the time would wear my patience thin as well, as if the problems within the club aren't enough to handle, you have to worry about the crap that gets printed every week.

I simply can't believe some of the absolute crap being written here. Blaming the media for our present position- hello people, we've lost 9 of our last 10. In case you missed it, I repeat- lost 9 of our last 10. Not the media- the Lions. In case you missed yesterday's news, that's a worse consecutive season 2010 losing record than Port which has just sacked its coach.

The CM [rag of a paper it is degenerating to since it became a tabloid, but that's another story[ hasn't been losing games, the Lions have. The 22 we turn out each week haven't done the job. Not Andrew Hamilton. I'm not here to defend the bloke, but he is writing the story, not creating it.

There ain't no Murdoch conspiracy, and I'd very much doubt there was any collaboration between any of the journos cited. What would be their motive? Some people are speculating it's to bring down the Lions. Why? What would be the point. This is just rubbish. It's analogous to saying that if only 'The Australian' had left Rudd alone he'd still be there. Get real.

We are eating ourselves becasue of our current playing position. If there are internal rumblings, which Hamilton says there are, then is it any wonder? To blame the media for our woes is stupid. If anything, we've probably got off lightly, the Melbourne media simply repeating our line that the cause of all our woes is injury.

Injuries are one important factor, sure, but they don't account for the dreadful, totally unacceptable recent performances when players, with a few exceptions, haven't been putting in.

Who blamed the media for our woes. Not me. Better read what I write a bit better mate.

There's no doubt that injuries have made an enormous contribution to where we sit at the moment, we all agree on that, but that doesn't and can't excuse the lack of spirit and effort shown over the past couple of months.

Last year we were all proud of the side's refusal to lie down and accept defeat, at the moment the opposite is happening. Something is dreadfully wrong within the club, and I fear that we presently don't have a wise and experienced figurehead to turn things around a la Leigh in 1999.

In my view, leaving any issues about Collins to one side, one of our main problems is that our club leaders Kelly and Bowers lack the strength, authority and real footy experience to properly analyse the situation, make the hard calls on coaching personnel and give Vossy the support he needs.

As much as I agree that we need a complete overhaul of our coaching box ( and maybe the Choco idea is worth exploring :eek:), I would love to see some real change at the top first.

Well spoke Judge. Undoubtedly there are problems, but 1 constant of success is that you need all 3 branches of a club to be strong & working in the same direction - admin, coaching & players. That is not happening - it is obvious. Unfortunately I agree that Kelly & Bowers do not appear to have the ability to turn it round.

If you need an example just look at Geelong. Success did not come from Bomber. Success came from Costa , Cook and Thompson.

As to the article that started this whole discussion. With our current performance it is no wonder there is dissent & finger pointing. To invest in short term success as we did in drafting. To be considered genuine top 4 material pre-season & flag contenders. To win the 1st 4 games. Then to lose 9 out of the next 10 & be considered genuine wooden spoon contenders.

There is, undoubtedly, internal friction and dissent. Whilst he may have picked the wrong target, all Hamilton has done is pick up on that. With exposure of the issues mayhap it will force a resolution of the issues instead of the public 'it is all good - don't worry' line we have been getting.

More power to Andrew Hamilton. Something stinks at the Lions & if this publicity is what it needs for change - so be it. With the whole paddlepop, court case with Fitzroy, financial under performance and onfield issues confronting us, if we must implode to bring new direction out of the rubble, bring it on I say. Because we are rapidly going no where right now.

Who blamed the media for our woes. Not me. Better read what I write a bit better mate.

First off, don't be too precious about it John. There are plenty of posters in this thread that are willing to blame the media for it, so I'm not sure it was directed at you at all (and BTW you weren't even quoted).

Tassie4ever, I agree 100% with what you say. We will be one of the few lone rational voices on here about the media, but blaming them for a Club starting to rumble after going 1 and 9 is ridiculous. It's their job, would you rather the Club got it soft from the media when things are going atrociously, or perhaps maybe just maybe a critical eye isn't so bad???

I tell you what, if Voss had to face the Melbourne football media multiple times every week they would go a hell of a lot harder at him than some of the softball lobs he currently gets.

I haven't seen anyone blaming the media for the how the team is performing.

Given Hamilton's role in the Aker saga please forgive those who question his motivation. In general the media much prefer a story of scandal and actual facts seem to not be required.

Being heavily lambasted daily in the media will not assist the club in rectifying its current situation (just ask Carlton and Richmond).

Might be slightly off topic, but if we cannot get Paul Roos, then I'll be happy enough for Choco to join as an assistant....

Rockliff might not be too keen on that...

I haven't seen anyone blaming the media for the how the team is performing.

Given Hamilton's role in the Aker saga please forgive those who question his motivation. In general the media much prefer a story of scandal and actual facts seem to not be required.

Being heavily lambasted daily in the media will not assist the club in rectifying its current situation (just ask Carlton and Richmond).

Don't know if any of those are the best examples.

Aker is himself a story everyone wants to read about. Don't know what in particular Aker story you're referring to, but blaming the media for it is a bit b/s IMHO. People want to read it, so the media write it. They have had to hardly 'create' anything when it comes to Aker.

As for Carlton and Richmond - right now they are going pretty well.

Unless I was very much mistaken Collins was standing behind Voss on the bench in the last quarter. Obviously a statement by Voss but wtf is a COO doing there.

Not to mention he was holding up the white-boards at the breaks.