Dani Bacha - The Block

Dani Bacha - Should Ch9 boothim from The Block?

• Yes

Votes: 11 45.8%
  • No

Votes: 13 54.2%

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Dani Bacha - The Block

Originally posted by jacqui9
WTF SHOULD HE BE ON TELEVISION? OF COURSE HE IS GOING TO BECOME A CELEBRITY.

Geez, give me a break.

Simple solution - don't watch. Seems a better answer than getting offended on behalf of two thirds of the population, who will also be appalled by all of this, and who will then sit down in front of the cathode-ray tube and send Nine's ratings through the roof.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Now you're embarrassing yourself.

Prisoners have next to no rights, have limited choice in what they can eat, have little contact with their family and friends, are confined to space, and locked in a cell each night.

You're a fool of the highest order.

Oh, and you know right???

You have no idea.

THey choose what they eat - which by the way is the best quality food, see their families three times a week, are allowed out of their cells during the day, receive television, gyms, videos, video games, budgies, complete Uni courses and TAFE - all paid for by the tax payer. Some work on a prison farm, keep chooks, have their own green houses, work for Freedom Furniture building furniture, doing carpentry etc....

But I suppose they deserve all that when they go and commit a crime. As I said, I have a prison officer in the family.

problem

I have no worries with a former criminal finding work. The issue I have is someone getting celebrity status out of it.

Slight problem there. He's not 'cashing in' on his having been in prison. He's not wearing a badge saying 'hey, I did time!'. As I understand it, this is a media beat-up.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Dani Bacha - The Block

Originally posted by red+black
Agree with that. There are millions of other ppl that could have been selected. Maybe we should let this **** become PM. Where does it stop?
But he got selected. His convistion shouldn't be an issue.

Most ppl can get through life without committing a felony or being convicted and imprisoned. Crims get it too easy.
But you want to deny them a legit job. You may as well tell them they should turn back to crime as there is no way in hell they will get a decent job.

Can you please address this issue. You keep avoiding it.

I never said I am perfect. I just havent commited a crime.

Does this mean you aren't old enough to drive a car, and as a consequence have never exceeded the speed limit? Have you never jaywalked? Is there nothing in your house in the way of, say, stationery, which really belongs at your workplace or school? Have you ever submitted a tax return?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Dani Bacha - The Block

Originally posted by skilts
Totally agree with all you've written Bunsen, with the exception of this statement.

I think he makes a lot of stuff up anyway. I don't have a problem with Chopper's success.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Dani Bacha - The Block

WTF SHOULD HE BE ON TELEVISION? OF COURSE HE IS GOING TO BECOME A CELEBRITY.

Just address the question please. Oh, that's right, you can't.

(from the Herald Sun)

Nine silent on Block drugs row
Robert Fidgeon
13jan04
THE Nine Network went into damage control yesterday after it was revealed on Saturday one of the contestants in its second series of The Block had been convicted of manufacturing drugs.
Dani Bacha, 29, and his wife Monique Koryzma were one of four couples selected from 4000 couples around Australia who applied to be on the show.

Bacha, a former stripper and owner of Playboys Afloat, spent six months behind bars awaiting trial after being charged with being an accessory before the fact of knowingly taking part in the manufacture of methamphetamine, or speed.

Bacha pleaded guilty in the New South Wales District Court in November 2002 and was released on a good behaviour bond, taking into account the time he had already spent in prison.

His good behaviour bond ended a month ago, the same time Channel 9 said it chose its contestants.

--------
As I said. In the eyes of the court he's repaid his debt to society.
None of us can say he doesn't deserve the chance to make the most of the opportunities that come his way.
A society that operates under a strict moralistic caste system is not a society I want to live in.

Why try and justify your opinions. I dont agree with what is going on. So yeah, I guess I wouldnt give him a job on television.

Oh and I dont pocket stationary, or stuff that isnt mine, I always put my tax in, am careful on the speed limit in case I get fined and it is too dangerous to jaywalk here in Adelaide.

As I said - the system is too soft. Crims do get too much for little effort - even on the outside. I mean come on, why do heaps of organisations do background checks to make sure you havent been convicted.

Making a go of it. He could of made a go of it before he committed a crime.
a) it's too late
b) You can punish people as much as you like (ie don't let them be on crap TV shows), but it won't prevent crime
c) No that he wants to rehab, you want to say that it's too late.

Why try and justify your opinions. I dont agree with what is going on. So yeah, I guess I wouldnt give him a job on television.

Oh and I dont pocket stationary, or stuff that isnt mine, I always put my tax in, am careful on the speed limit in case I get fined and it is too dangerous to jaywalk here in Adelaide.

As I said - the system is too soft. Crims do get too much for little effort - even on the outside. I mean come on, why do heaps of organisations do background checks to make sure you havent been convicted.

This post tends to militate against your assertion that you aren't perfect.

THey choose what they eat -
No they don't. They have a choice between normal diet, veg diet, vegan diet, and muslim diet. Once they choose one of those (they can't chop and change everday - they have to put in an application to change their diet), they eat what they are given.

which by the way is the best quality food,
Get your hand off it.

see their families three times a week,
Depends on which prison. Most prisons are 1 visit per fortnight.

are allowed out of their cells during the day
[quote ]Gee. that's such a privelage. Sounds like Club Med.

complete Uni courses and TAFE - all paid for by the tax payer. Some work on a prison farm, keep chooks, have their own green houses, work for Freedom Furniture building furniture, doing carpentry etc....
Rehab

But I suppose they deserve all that when they go and commit a crime. As I said, I have a prison officer in the family.
Obviously one with a chip on his shoulder.

Cracks me up how everyone seems to know everything about everything, and everyone knows someone who knows someone on the inside or rah rah rah.

Just to clarify, i dont have a prison officer in the family, but i think what you speak of Jacqui is a remand centre. Which, in my opinion is totally fair enough. Remand centres are there for before you are convicted of a crime... you know that, innocent before proven guilty crap?

I dont think its that big a deal. The guy is not going to be an International Celebrity. He'll be on TV, yes. Thats not the same as being a celebrity, or famous. He will have exposure to the entire nation (those that watch The Block anyway), will reap SOME benefits, such as being able to attend special events and maybe some money from attending public functions etc. And hey, he may even win. And if he does win, it will be because of his skills as a renovator, thats all. Its given him no special benefits on the show, he is just like everybody else. The last Block, where are those people now? Apart from little Amity TRYING to make a singing career for herself, and a little public awareness of who they are, it isnt that much of a big deal.

He made a mistake, he committed a legal crime (not a crime against morality though sorry, just our legal system) and paid the price. End of story.

I had an affair with a married man once. I lost my job, and was stereotyped as a young tart after an older married rich man. What do you think should be my price?

My point is, we are all human and none of us perfect. Some people commit crimes, whether its a social crime or a legal one. Shouldnt have to pay forever.

Originally posted by bluechampion
As I said. In the eyes of the court he's repaid his debt to society.
None of us can say he doesn't deserve the chance to make the most of the opportunities that come his way.
A society that operates under a strict moralistic caste system is not a society I want to live in.
"eyes of the court" <> "eyes of the public"

don't have time now to give u a full response bb

Why try and justify your opinions.
Well you have stated your opinion. I have exposed a negative effect that would result from your opinion. You should be able to either refute my opinion. But we all know you can't.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Well you have stated your opinion. I have exposed a negative effect that would result from your opinion. You should be able to either refute my opinion. But we all know you can't.

I can. But you dont see my point because you dont want too because you are one of these posters that always has to be correct.

Did anyone see the interview with Agassi yesterday about drugs in tennis. He said something along the lines of "You dont need to have any knowledge to have an opinion." It was a tongue in cheek comment and I belive it was referring to our beloved Pat Cash, ( a man who always has knowledge to back up his claims.)It might be well worth thinking about when posting opinions when you have no real knowledge of what you are talking about.

Dani Bacha - The Block