Daniel Rich: Possible Eagle in 2012?

• Thread starter Thread starter makaveli01

Brisbane's locker room will be more settled this year, the unhappy players left at the end of last season. Their salary cap issues combined with Rich wanting to return to WA could help us.

You, my friend, are deluded if you think we are going to finish that high.

14th for me.

It is a matter of opinion, however.

17th to 11th I reckon. It's a completely open season in 2011. Collingwood are the only certainties for flag favourtism, no other club you could say look close to challenging them. Probably a few spots in the 8 will open up, with Bulldogs, Saints, Blues and Hawks positions all in doubt.

At least this year there won't be lofty expectations of us like last year. Maybe we could pull off a Freo and finish in the 8.

Nicoski for Rich. Crazy Vossy would eat that shit alive! :D :thumbsu:

It's a done deal, bookmark it ;)

2011 will be a much better season for us and we will look to target additional players to strengthen the side in 2012 - similar to when we head hunted Chick and Stenglein.

Will be some tough competition from Freo I imagine.

Deluded if you think this, 8-10th we will finish

WHERE is the improvement coming from or are you relying on other clubs tailing off? I'm disillusioned about 2011 with ALL of the young guys a long way off the pace yet.

Add a touch of class to the midfield with Daniel Rich anyday, every day, 2012.

I did hear Luke Power pumping Richs tyres up on Melbourne radio pre Xmas as a future leader @ the Lions.

Lions could win every game by 100+ points and it wouldnt matter. The big problem for them is they have no salary cap room left whatsoever. Richs chances of staying or going depends on the outcome of the whole Fevola saga.

As it stands Id think we will double whatever contract offer Brisbane can throw up
could have plenty of salary cap room if fev is deregistered by the afl...

WHERE is the improvement coming from or are you relying on other clubs tailing off? I'm disillusioned about 2011 with ALL of the young guys a long way off the pace yet.

IN: Kerr Glass Shuey Wilson Gaff
OUT: Lynch, McKenzie, Smith, Ebert, Schofield

If those INs and OUTs dont make us a better team over the year ill eat my head.If the young guys dont improve from a extra pre season under there belts ill eat my arms

Full pre seasons into Dean Cox, Chris Masten, Gerrick Weedon, Brad Sheppherd, Luke Shuey, Adam Selwood, Scott Selwood, Beau Waters, Ashley Smith, Koby Stevens, Tim Houliham plus a few others will help alot more than you think

New coaches, new game plan can only make things better too.

Lions have salary cap problems an alot of unhappy players
Also rich always seemed to me like he wanted to play for the eagles which is why i was worried if freo picked him up, coz it seemed very likely once his contract was up he would find his way to you guys.

An it will be crazy vossy your dealing with in a trade so u wouldnt have to offer much.

Mitch Clarke will be on the move as well IMO, both WA lads, both key targets of GWS, Clarke is interested in Freo, Rich more so the Eagles.:D:thumbsu:

I'd love to see a couple of decent WA lads come home, too many good WA kids get taken interstate, Swallow, Bennell, Franklin, Rich, Conica.

Brisbane is staring down the barrel of a 3>4 year rebuild in the bottom 4, do these guys want to waste the best footy years of their lives or play finals in their home state AFL sides.:confused:

If those INs and OUTs dont make us a better team over the year ill eat my head.If the young guys dont improve from a extra pre season under there belts ill eat my arms

Full pre seasons into Dean Cox, Chris Masten, Gerrick Weedon, Brad Sheppherd, Luke Shuey, Adam Selwood, Scott Selwood, Beau Waters, Ashley Smith, Koby Stevens, Tim Houliham plus a few others will help alot more than you think

Geez, there's a lot to go wrong with all that. I won't be celebrating until we can start to come from behind and win. Forgetting all the other stuff that needs to be right, until the confidence is there like in 05/06 to come from behind...we are along way off.

Yeah, yeah I can hear it now...load of shit..what ever.

Ebert + 1st rounder.

Ebert hardly get a look in the midfield if we had Rich, Shuey, Swift, Masten, Stevens, Gaff, Sheppard, Rosa, Priddis (lol)

Ebert will be wasted otherwise. And Vossy probably rates Ebert highly.

Ebert + 1st rounder ( or Rosa to get the deal over the line + Cash if need be :D shit I'll pay ).

Ebert hardly get a look in the midfield if we had Rich, Shuey, Swift, Masten, Stevens, Gaff, Sheppard, LeCras, Priddis (lol)

efa.

2nd line.

We could finish as high as eighth but that depends on a very good injury free year for most of the list and most importantly our more valuable players. Also some of our younger players to finally deliver on their potential. Building a fortress at home is crucial as well.
8 out of 12 at home and you've got one foot in the door, a few more away and your in.
Realistically we are more likely to finish between 10 to 13th.

If something like eighth to tenth eventuates it creates an opportunity for us to get someone like DR to play for us, as the player sees promise for the future. We can also accomadate a trade easier because our youngsters stocks have risen and we have a clearer vision for our list and what to build towards.

2011 is a big year for alot of reasons. The end of 2010 was a great boost for morale with our exciting drafting and resigning of Lecras and Nicnat. Lets hope we can continue the momentum forward and finally get some luck with injuries. Anything can happen.

:eek:

Not sure if thats an appropriate metaphor. You cant eat your head - thats impossible.

..and you cant eat your arms once youve already eaten your head.:rolleyes:

You are looking for these guys to lift the side ... love your rose coloured glasses !!

Cuz with less than 20 games, Juddy with less than 20 games .... would not have made enough difference to lift the side the way you envisage. Haydn Bunton Snr won a Brownlow in his 1st year, who else ..

Yep, good pre seasons, a good run with injury would help.

Stellar years from Glass, from Kerr, from Cox, from Priddis (how terribly unfashionable) is what we need to get off the bottom. Relying on the kids wont cut it in 2011.
The class of LeCras will be best used on ball ...

Its reality when you are on the bottom ... we are !!!!

You are looking for these guys to lift the side ... love your rose coloured glasses !!

Cuz with less than 20 games, Juddy with less than 20 games .... would not have made enough difference to lift the side the way you envisage. Haydn Bunton Snr won a Brownlow in his 1st year, who else ..

Yep, good pre seasons, a good run with injury would help.

Stellar years from Glass, from Kerr, from Cox, from Priddis (how terribly unfashionable) is what we need to get off the bottom. Relying on the kids wont cut it in 2011.
The class of LeCras will be best used on ball ...

Its reality when you are on the bottom ... we are !!!!
:D
Geez mate if all that happened I would be expecting a berth in the grandy

Ebert + 1st rounder.

Ebert hardly get a look in the midfield if we had Rich, Shuey, Swift, Masten, Stevens, Gaff, Sheppard, Rosa, Priddis (lol)

If Houlihan comes good I doubt he will sign with us again so you could throw him into the mix.

A first rounder plus who for Rich?

Would Pridis get a game with Rich in the side?

Ebert + our 2nd rounder maybe.

If Fev and Mitch Clarke are gone the Lions will need a ruck and another KP forward plus more mids.

Lions will probably need a new coach as well if Fev, Clarke and Rich move.

Here's hoping Rich has a average year in an average team.

Do not want to give up Stevens, Gaff or a Swift for Rich and our first rounder would still net us a decent player.

It would have to be another one of our young inside mids. One of Ebert/Masten for mine, plus a first rounder.

Gaff may end up better than or just as good as Rich AND fills a void for us. Rich does not. Only insides plz.

trade gaff for him.
Hell NO....

So if theose 2 bolded players dont play Who do you think will be our CHB and 3rd defencive tall ???? Mitch Brown and ????

Look I am a huge Rich fan and would love him at WCE in 2012. However for this to happen sooooooooooo many thing have to happen.

1st) We need a player(s) and DP of value to get Brisbane interested.
2nd) We need those players to actually want to go to Brisbane.
3rd) We need to out offer GWS or even match their offer.
4th) Brisbane need to still have Salary cap problems. (with Fev and a few other out I doubt they will)

So we need all of these to happen before we can get Rich, Yep wont happen.:(

Players who brisbane could possibly Retire/Release/Trade to free up room:
1) Fevola- Delist
2) S.Black- Retire
3) J.Charman- Retire
4) A.McGrath- Trade/Delist
5) J.Patfull- Trade
6) A.Raines-Delist
7) X.Clarke- Delist/Trade

The top 3 alone would give them enough to re-secure Daniel for another 3 years.

As of Tradeable players. I would say experiance would be the only thing that would get the deal done.

1) D.Kerr (% of his salary still on us) + 1st round pick.
2) Cox (% of salary) + 1st rnd pik
3) S.Butler + M.Brown plus 2nd Rnd pick

The only way we would get the deal done IMHO.
They already have a surplus of Young mids in:
Polec
Bewick
Banfield
Patfull
Polky
Raines
Redden
Sheldon.

And would get a couple more next year in the draft.

Hell NO....

So if theose 2 bolded players dont play Who do you think will be our CHB and 3rd defencive tall ???? Mitch Brown and ????

Look I am a huge Rich fan and would love him at WCE in 2012. However for this to happen sooooooooooo many thing have to happen.

1st) We need a player(s) and DP of value to get Brisbane interested.
2nd) We need those players to actually want to go to Brisbane.
3rd) We need to out offer GWS or even match their offer.
4th) Brisbane need to still have Salary cap problems. (with Fev and a few other out I doubt they will)

So we need all of these to happen before we can get Rich, Yep wont happen.:(

Players who brisbane could possibly Retire/Release/Trade to free up room:
1) Fevola- Delist
2) S.Black- Retire
3) J.Charman- Retire
4) A.McGrath- Trade/Delist
5) J.Patfull- Trade
6) A.Raines-Delist
7) X.Clarke- Delist/Trade

The top 3 alone would give them enough to re-secure Daniel for another 3 years.

As of Tradeable players. I would say experiance would be the only thing that would get the deal done.

1) D.Kerr (% of his salary still on us) + 1st round pick.
2) Cox (% of salary) + 1st rnd pik
3) S.Butler + M.Brown plus 2nd Rnd pick

The only way we would get the deal done IMHO.
They already have a surplus of Young mids in:
Polec
Bewick
Banfield
Patfull
Polky
Raines
Redden
Sheldon.

And would get a couple more next year in the draft.

I think you are over complicating things EA, all that really needs to happen is for Rich to want to return home. He could round out our list and the club would make the necessary trades ala Chick/Stenglein to get him and with a few more senior players delisted/retired at the end of the year there should be sufficient room in our salary cap. If he is after the cash he will go to GWS but I have a feeling he will want to return home and if so we should be in the box seat to get him.