Daniel Ward v Joe Hachem

If Joe Hachem had a 7♣ 3 and Daniel Ward had a starting hand of A♦ 3and it was the final hand, would Ward see a pre-flop raise if Hachem raised from $400,000 to $700,000? (clue: the flop came 6♥ 5♦ 4).

Joe Hachem

Born: Lebanon, 1966

Resides: Coburg, Melbourne

Hobbies: Spending time with family, playing golf, watching movies

Other: Having a good meal at a restaurant and enjoying a good cigar in a nice bar. Won $7.5 Million at World Series Of Poker 2005.

Daniel Ward

Born: Australia, 1977

Resides: Crown Casino, Melbourne

Hobbies: Greyhounds, horses, pitbulls, roosters and $2 scratchies.

Other: Plays football between poker tournaments for Sandringham in Melbourne. Would one day love to visit Vegas.

Plays football between poker tournaments for Sandringham in Melbourne.
He played 17 games for Melbourne last year, champ.

Unlike duds such as Carrazzo, Bannister, Saddington, Wiggins, Sultana O'Hairpin and Teague who have their own reserved parking spot at Preston, Ward is actually a decent AFL player.

He played 17 games for Melbourne last year, champ.

Unlike duds such as Carrazzo, Bannister, Saddington, Wiggins, Sultana O'Hairpin and Teague who have their own reserved parking spot at Preston, Ward is actually a decent AFL player.
I know - he sounds like he really enjoys his footy as a past-time away from his real passion champ...

There's a difference.

Joe Hachem doesn't gamble - Poker is a game of skill.

Then again, Ward bet on games he was playing in, didn't he? I mean, he was betting to win, but his bet still counted on his performance to some extent.

If Joe Hachem had a 7♣ 3 and Daniel Ward had a starting hand of A♦ 3and it was the final hand, would Ward see a pre-flop raise if Hachem raised from $400,000 to $700,000? (clue: the flop came 6♥ 5♦ 4).

Joe Hachem

Other: Having a good meal at a restaurant and enjoying a good cigar in a nice bar. Won $7.5 Million at World Series Of Poker 2005.

Daniel Ward

Other: Plays football between poker tournaments for Sandringham in Melbourne. Would one day love to visit Vegas.

What a twit you are.

We all know the real answer is -

Daniel blew all his money backing Melbourne to beat Carlton and couldn't afford the poker tournament entry fee.

Originally posted by one_twelve112
If Joe Hachem had a 7♣ 3♠ and Daniel Ward had a starting hand of A♦ 3♣ and it was the final hand, would Ward see a pre-flop raise if Hachem raised from $400,000 to $700,000? (clue: the flop came 6♥ 5♦ 4♦).
If Hachem raised, Ward would see the raise, yes. :rolleyes:

Would he see the flop? Hard to say, I've never played Ward. Incidentally, the cards that come out on the flop do not often affect whether players will call a raise to see said flop.

Oringinally posted by vinnie_vegas69
Joe Hachem doesn't gamble - Poker is a game of skill.
Don't let Rounders fool you, Poker is a gamble no matter how good you are. The day you are no longer gambling is the day you are guaranteed to win, which is also the day no-one will play you and your poker skills are useless.

Even if you can read hands blind, you can't control the cards that hit the board. A case in point; this hand happened the other day:

The Royal Sampler
KJ

The Predator (fish)
A6

Flop
JJ3 (mixed suits)

Turn
A

River
A

I had a set on the flop against a board pair, bet it correctly, and lost to running cards when he hit a higher full-house. The chances of this happening from my opponent's perspective were (3/47) x (2/46) = 0.277%! Because I read his hand correctly, and played it correctly, I lost. Poker is gambling.

We all know the real answer is -

Daniel blew all his money backing Melbourne to beat Carlton and couldn't afford the poker tournament entry fee.

Actually, I'm thinking he made a killing betting ON Carlton and then threw the games (only possible explanation for your bunch of hacks beating us imo)

Ward tanks and Melbourne lose? Wow you guys must have an ordinary list. Maybe Parrot is right about your mob.

I doubt he works alone.

It would take a concerted effort by the entire best 22, the coaching staff, the cheer squad and the umpiring fraternity to get Carlton over the line against Melbourne.

but the pay day would have been worth it.

Ward tanks and Melbourne lose? Wow you guys must have an ordinary list. Maybe Parrot is right about your mob.

You should masturbate over computer pr0n with him simultaneously. It'll almost be like your really getting it on.

Neeeerddd.

Joe Hachem

Daniel Ward

great post. very funny

It would take a concerted effort...but the pay day would have been worth it.

By pay day you mean blowing a top four spot and any chance of winning a Premiership? Yep worth it for the laughs I reckon. :thumbsu:

You should masturbate over computer pr0n with him simultaneously. It'll almost be like your really getting it on.

Neeeerddd.

Looks like I hit a nerve judging from your enlightening and constructive comments. Years of frustration must be taking their toll on you.

Sounds like you need to rub one out mate.

Joe Hachem

Daniel Ward

lmao gold:thumbsu:

Don't let Rounders fool you, Poker is a gamble no matter how good you are. The day you are no longer gambling is the day you are guaranteed to win, which is also the day no-one will play you and your poker skills are useless.

Even if you can read hands blind, you can't control the cards that hit the board. A case in point; this hand happened the other day:

The Royal Sampler
KJ

The Predator (fish)
A6

Flop
JJ3 (mixed suits)

Turn
A

River
A

I had a set on the flop against a board pair, bet it correctly, and lost to running cards when he hit a higher full-house. The chances of this happening from my opponent's perspective were (3/47) x (2/46) = 0.277%! Because I read his hand correctly, and played it correctly, I lost. Poker is gambling.
There is chance involved in football too - The ball could bounce the wrong way, you could slip over as you go to grab it, but in the end, it's a game of skill. There's chance in every sport, but it doesn't take away from the fact that it is skill-based.

A game of chance is craps or roulette, where you can't affect the outcome by your own actions. THAT'S gambling.

Bit like the Collingwood draft choices over the past 5-6 years I guess. :)
2001-2003 perhaps - Terrible drafting over that period. Hence why we replaced our recruiting manager.

It's been much better over the last three years - Hence why we're not languishing at the bottom of the ladder coming off back to back wooden spoons, like Carlton.

There is more skill involved than roulette, true, but that doesn't mean it isn't gambling. You are gambling that with even luck your skill advantage will win you money. Bad luck still makes you lose.