Daring to dream

rines

Suspended
Sep 28, 2007
i was bored and decided to have some fun with the AFL ladder predictor.. wondering just how many upsets would be required for the bombers to make the 8.. one can always dream :)

i was surprised by the number of lower teams we play in the run home.. with guys coming back from injuries and so forth.. if we can beat carlton again (we have already once), beat richmond (who i think we can if we are up and running), I think we could still be in the hunt (as a very very very long shot)...

so i was just wondering how many ppl i could get to label me a flog or alternatively if you wanted to check it out and put your own tips in:

http://afl.allthestats.com/misc/ladderpredict.php

it took me just three upsets (and not just bomber wins) to get the team close to the 8...

I tried to be as realistic as possible. Going by current form and pending no injuries, we do play lesser sides.

My ladder prediction determined that Essendon would finsh 10th this year just behind Carlton.

Anything could happen ;)

I have us 8th if we beat Carlton, Freo, Richmond, Melbourne, W. Coast, Collingwood, Adelaide in Melbourne and Saints in Rd 22.

Not gonna happen.

I had us winning 2-3 which might end up being slightly off the mark.

We may win 4 but Melbourne are playing some half decent footy.

i was bored and decided to have some fun with the AFL ladder predictor.. wondering just how many upsets would be required for the bombers to make the 8.. one can always dream :)

i was surprised by the number of lower teams we play in the run home.. with guys coming back from injuries and so forth.. if we can beat carlton again (we have already once), beat richmond (who i think we can if we are up and running), I think we could still be in the hunt (as a very very very long shot)...

so i was just wondering how many ppl i could get to label me a flog or alternatively if you wanted to check it out and put your own tips in:

http://afl.allthestats.com/misc/ladderpredict.php

it took me just three upsets (and not just bomber wins) to get the team close to the 8...
Clutching at straws here mate

I had us finishing 7th for the first one which I put them to win the rest of games. Not gonna happen.

The other I did I had us winning all but 3 games and we finish 8th. If we are playing our best footy especially the way we have been playing recently and play 4 quarters, we MIGHT and I said MIGHT have a chance. Very doubtful but you never know.

For us to finish 8th:

We beat:

Other upsets:
North over Port and Port over North (they play twice)
Carlton over North.

All other results as predicted.

yes mate 14th or 15th will help us more but who the f*** would want their own team to lose???:eek:
your a disgrace to essendon

this all sort of came up with so many ppl talking about tanking and so forth and how we should aim for crap.. and i guess my point was.. we can actually still make the finals.. so i think it is stupid to think about draft picks when you still have a shot at finals.. and yeah we may lose the finals.. but we were meant to win the flag in 1999 and 2001.. sometimes finals do very weird things to teams.. and we still have stars capable of smashing it.. like lloyd and lucas going off and kicking bags.. so i think you have to take the attitude of giving it your best shot of trying to get there and then hope things go your way..

Daring to dream