Dawes or Pedo?

Which will have a better 2013?

Both recruited to play similar roles though I think Neeld plans for Dawes to be a stay at home FF and Pedo to be 3rd man fwd / back-up ruck and possibly even swingman to defence. Both have and can play each others role though, are similar and are vital to our progress.

What are your thoughts on these two and which do you reckon will have a better 2013?

Tough one because both have shown very good form in previous years. Dawes was really really good in 2010 and 2011 right up until he broke his knuckle and clearly struggled playing the Leigh Brown type role when he clearly wasn't suited for ruckwork. I think if we get him to play some really good football Collingwood might regret it. I mean, mid 20s gorilla forward, who wouldn't want that?

Pedo also played some good footy in 2011, didn't get the opportunities he should have last year. Still I think Pedo will alternate playing that second tall with Clark and play a bit in the ruck so he'll have the role Dawes had at Collingwood last year. Thought in 2011 he played that role really well.

It's a tough one, I think both are as important as each other. Win-win for us.

I'm going to post what I posted earlier, on a different board, regarding an entirely different subject.

images

If I have to choose one.... Dawes. While I think Pedersen will be a smart recruit for us, Dawes has alot to prove to the football world after 2012 and playing in his natural FF position will help him greatly.

Dawes is there to ensure Pedo has the better year... 3rd defender = sh1tload of goals!!!

I heard a bit of mail that the reson why Neeld was held bent on getting Pederson at all cost was because he felt that he would have great synergy with the Clark and Dawes. Could fit in around the 2 without taking too much away from them. He is a smart footballer, who has a knack of finding good position.

Either way you look at it, we are going to have the best forward line in the comp for the next 5 or so years.

Dawes. Will be surprised if Pedersen is Best 22 by the time Clark is back.
We play a 3-tall back half with Judy, Chip and TMac - why should we not aim for the same up front?

It'll stretch defences bigtime if they have to handle 3 193+ hulking forwards. The problem is 2014 and Hogan, but it's a problem I like to have.

When Clark comes back he'll play the third tall and pinch hit in the ruck.
We play a 3-tall back half with Judy, Chip and TMac - why should we not aim for the same up front?

It'll stretch defences bigtime if they have to handle 3 193+ hulking forwards. The problem is 2014 and Hogan, but it's a problem I like to have.
You get me wrong boys, I think that he'll be relegated to 4th choice when Fitzpatrick deputises Clark.

I knew 100% you would say that. I admire your faith in some of the younger boys like Fitzpatrick and Davis mate, but unless Fitzy improves out of sight Pedersen will play. We didn't recruit him to sit in the magoos.

Just as I predicted your post.

Davis is a goner, but I've been very impressed with Fitzpatrick and could see him having a break out. Been held back by illness for years.

Just as I predicted your post.

Davis is a goner, but I've been very impressed with Fitzpatrick and could see him having a break out. Been held back by illness for years.

I hope you didn't take my post as a criticism though. I guess we both know where we stand and what to expect.

I'd love Fitzpatrick to make it as I think he brings something a little different to the club with his height and pace, but I still think he is at least another year away from being a regular. Pedersen will more than fill that gap for the time being.

I hope you didn't take my post as a criticism though. I guess we both know where we stand and what to expect.

I'd love Fitzpatrick to make it as I think he brings something a little different to the club with his height and pace, but I still think he is at least another year away from being a regular. Pedersen will more than fill that gap for the time being.
No offence taken :tumbsu:

Worth noting that he's coming into his 4th year and, whilst he may not be a regular, I think he has enough going for him to show that he has talent. I could well be proved wrong, of course.

People really forget how good Dawes was in 10', huge reason why the Pies won the flag. I like Pederson though, gives everything his got, as seen by his debut game against the Weagles, where he lone rucked against the 2 best in the comp, and was by no means disgraced. But, it's gotta be Dawes.

I'm hoping Dawes. I think Pedo has been more consistant and really gives his all. I'm confident he'll at the least prove a servicable player for us. I'm more nervous about Dawes but also think he has the potential to be the better of the two.

I'm going to post what I posted earlier, on a different board, regarding an entirely different subject.

images
The problem is, it was funny on the other topic. This tim, it wasn't as it doesn't make sense

Fitzpatrick has a couple of things going for him, athleticism, work ethic and determination - what he doesn't have is basic football skill.

Either he learns to play to his limitations or he doesn't make it.

To a degree I think they will rely on each other. Dawes will no doubt play the more prominent role at FF but it is the system and sharing of load which gives each forward the best chances of performing.

People really forget how good Dawes was in 10', huge reason why the Pies won the flag. I like Pederson though, gives everything his got, as seen by his debut game against the Weagles, where he lone rucked against the 2 best in the comp, and was by no means disgraced. But, it's gotta be Dawes.

Dawes for me. Collingwood played him injured for parts of 2012. Neeldy will know how to play toDawesy strengths and on that reason I think he should have at least 45 majors come last game. Pedo I am not sold on looks like a battler with lack of a weapon or polish . Both will be great for,our resurrection.

If Clark plays most of the year I'd be happy for Dawes to finish on 30+!!

Less of this Clark to ruck talk please.

Dawes at FF, Clark at CHF, Pedersen to give the Russian a chop-out.

Yes, yes, and more yes! Dude kicked 29.18 from 11 games last year without the benefit of gun midfield delivery. Now Neeld says he's going to play more ruck and we all just go, "Mmmm, ok." Clark is our best forward option, Dawes should be a good foil, as he was for Cloke, mauling second defenders, and it should be Pederson who covers the other stuff until he's proven himself.

What about next year though? We can't play all of Dawes, Clark, Pedobear and Hulk in the same forward line. Too tall.

He also happens to be our best ruck option