Dees may lose Viney to Crows

I dont think you could, to be honest. 16 is actually a very deceiving age to be judging talent, as there are so many developmental issues at play. Viney is a bit of a bull and obviously well advanced in physical development, but he's ahead of the curve in that regard. His kicking can be a bit average. Whether he is able to continue to dominate when others with similar or better skills catch up with him physically is the big question.

But surely that is the question that recruiters take into consideration all of the time. It's not the recruiters who choose the captains of underage sides, its the coaches of those teams.

It is hard to accurately predict - hence the AIS squads being a bit hit or miss - but it is rare that folks (especially midfielders) rated top five don't prove to be guns.

I guess the last time we were talking about 16 year olds was when picks were being offered for players that Fremantle picked. And the underage players selected then - Mathew Lloyd, Stephen King, Cockatoo-Collins - all turned out pretty good.

# # #

Actually, I just googled it, and it's not so great. Maybe this disproves my argument, I'm not sure.

* Ben Allan: compensation selection - David McEwan
* Andrew Wills: compensation selection - Adam Houlihan
* Jason Norrish: compensation selection - David Cockatoo-Collins
* Brendan Krummel: compensation selection - Chad Morrison
* Peter Mann: compensation selection - Stuart Cochrane
* Stephen O'Reilly: compensation selection - Steven King
* Todd Ridley: compensation selection - Matthew Lloyd

Steuy Cochrane?
Adam Houlihan?
DAVID Cockatoo-Collins??!

yeah, while I'd love to think Viney will be a massive hit for us, there is every chance he could be the next Tom Swift.
He does have a height disadvantage right off the bat.
At this stage it's far too early to tell.

Sorry Crows guys, I know it's not a pissing contest, but I don't even consider it a possibility that you'll get him.
My only concern is "will he be a star?/will he be an also-ran?"

Entertaining thread...

I posted this in the one on the Melbourne board and it's very valid.

There's no point getting uptight about it because at the end of the day it's Jack Viney's choice with where he wants to go. The kid will make his own decision when the time comes, he'll either decide to go to Melbourne under the father/son rule or he won't. (If he doesn't though there seems to be no 100% guarantee that he'll end up at the Crows, so it's a bit of a risk going down that track)

With regards to Adelaide's current tactics...Jack Viney is a quality kid, I'd be unimpressed with my club if they didn't do anything possible to get him, I've got no problem with it, I'd hope my club would do the same if the situation was reversed.

If he decides he doesn't want to come to us it won't be the end of the world (although I'll be absolutely gutted ;)) however I'm quietly confident, but nothing is certain!

Steuy Cochrane?
He does have a height disadvantage right off the bat.
At this stage it's far too early to tell.

Much like Scully and Ziebell, Viney has been a star at every age bracket since he was 10. He won 4 B&F's in a row at Ashburton Junior footy club. His coach said to my Brother that he's the hardest junior footballer he's ever seen. He described him as "Todd, but with skill". He also said that they had to tell him to pull back because he was hurting so many kids.

Flow on to S.A and he's the youngest premiership player at Prince Alfred College in 134 years as a year 9 student. Then the next year (2010) he makes the S.A under 16 team and wins the most valuable player award at the carnival. S.A also wins the carnival.

Best of all he's going to play for Melbourne. :D

Unless you happen to be in Jack's immediate family, Jack himself or Andrew Dimwitriou, then...

yarly.jpg

Hmmm ok...

Post 119.

Best shown by U16's co-captains Tom Scully and Jaryd Cachia. Yet I rate Cachia highly. His athletecism isn't as great as Tom's, thus hurting the developement.

Recruiters are far better at picking this these days, thus guys like Panos not being heralded by recruiters and somehow ignoring the BigFooty opinions of first rounder.

We'll see how it goes. The 2 best U16 prospects appear to be Viney and Danniher. While Viney is a bull, I think he's got the work rate and 'solid' enough athletecism to sustain his developement.

The classic case is shown here: one goes to be the the number one pick, the other scrapes in through the rookie draft.
IMO cachia deserved to go much higher, and im fuming we chose James Craig instead of him :(. His midfield talent is amazing, and it 's going to waste in the bullants, because he isn't likely to crack into their midfield of judd, murphy and gibbs too soon nor too easily.
I'd hope adelaide might make a play to lure him over soon.

Hmmm ok...

Post 119.

Righto then.

You'll have to forgive me for thinking you're just some random flog, we've had our fair share on here.

Need sauce tho, otherwise claims are meaningless.

EDIT: I do like the 119 reference, incidental tho it may be :D

Hmmm ok...

Post 119.

So your credibility is based on the endorsement of one melbourne poster?

Impressive.

Or not.

As an example of how not important that is....

People, i suggest we place complete faith in Jo172's opinions. Hes seriously close and knowledgable in these things.

So your credibility is based on the endorsement of one melbourne poster?

Impressive.

Or not.

As an example of how not important that is....

People, i suggest we place complete faith in Jo172's opinions. Hes seriously close and knowledgable in these things.

:D

Although fd88 has never steered us wrong in the past!

Much like Scully and Ziebell, Viney has been a star at every age bracket since he was 10. He won 4 B&F's in a row at Ashburton Junior footy club. His coach said to my Brother that he's the hardest junior footballer he's ever seen. He described him as "Todd, but with skill". He also said that they had to tell him to pull back because he was hurting so many kids.

Flow on to S.A and he's the youngest premiership player at Prince Alfred College in 134 years as a year 9 student. Then the next year (2010) he makes the S.A under 16 team and wins the most valuable player award at the carnival. S.A also wins the carnival.

Best of all he's going to play for Melbourne. :D

Nobody is disputing that he is currently one of the best young footballers in the country. What we're all wondering, is if it's his skill that has made him so good against his peers, or is it because at this stage, he has a distinct size/strength advantage over them (which he does). The big question is, whether or not the gap that currently exists will still be there when his peers catch up to him in the physical stakes.

Ahh, the perils of under 16 recruitment. :D

Nobody is disputing that he is currently one of the best young footballers in the country. What we're all wondering, is if it's his skill that has made him so good against his peers, or is it because at this stage, he has a distinct size/strength advantage over them (which he does). The big question is, whether or not the gap that currently exists will still be there when his peers catch up to him in the physical stakes.

Ahh, the perils of under 16 recruitment. :D

Size. His skills, particularly his kicking under pressure, are not above average. He just gets a ton of it and is very hard for same age lads to tackle.

Wasn't Seb Packer the best U14, U16, U18 footballer of his generation ?? How many AFL games did he play ? I know injury cut him down, but just because you're a good junior doesn't mean you will make it !
Like any draftee he will be a risk to Melbourne and/or Adelaide

Just wondering if any of you guys can let me know the status of Todd's contract with the crows. Is he signed till the end of 2011, and does anyone know if he has a get out clause in the contract if he wished to possibly move to the Dee's?

All assistant coaches will be retained for 2011. I'm sure there's a get-out clause there in case he wins a senior coaching position though.

You won't be getting him next year, unless you get rid of Dean Bailey.

As Viney moved back to Adelaide for Family reasons I'd say the likely hood of him leaving Adelaide 3 years after returning low.

I guess it depends if his family for some reason unknown reason move back to Melbourne.

As I said before... Unless you're going to sack Dean Bailey and replace him with Viney, then you can forget about Todd moving back any time soon.

Viney's move back to S.A coincided with his Son being of an age to start year 9 at Prince Alfred College. I suspect that having been gone for so long Todd wanted his children to experience living in his home state while they were young and still able to. He perhaps realised that if he didn't make the move back when he did then Jack in particular may never have experienced living in Adelaide as he's been destined to be drafted into the AFL from a young age and likely to play in Victoria under the F/S rule. It would be highly unlikely that post an AFL career Jack would ever settle in a state that he'd never resided in.

Here's a nice snippet picked up by Supermercado with Todd speaking in an article from the merger match: "I wanted my son (Jack) to play for the Melbourne Football Club, and I remember thinking `It's not going to be the Melbourne Football Club, and it won't be the same as the Melbourne Hawks'".

I very much doubt that Todd's strong feelings for the club he captained have subsided. ;)

Viney's move back to S.A coincided with his Son being of an age to start year 9 at Prince Alfred College. I suspect that having been gone for so long Todd wanted his children to experience living in his home state while they were young and still able to. He perhaps realised that if he didn't make the move back when he did then Jack in particular may never have experienced living in Adelaide as he's been destined to be drafted into the AFL from a young age and likely to play in Victoria under the F/S rule. It would be highly unlikely that post an AFL career Jack would ever settle in a state that he'd never resided in.

Here's a nice snippet picked up by Supermercado with Todd speaking in an article from the merger match: "I wanted my son (Jack) to play for the Melbourne Football Club, and I remember thinking `It's not going to be the Melbourne Football Club, and it won't be the same as the Melbourne Hawks'".

I very much doubt that Todd's strong feelings for the club he captained have subsided. ;)

I'd be pretty concerned however if Todd didn't have strong feelings for the club he coaches at.

I'd also put it to you that Todd had strong feelings for Sturt.

I'd be pretty concerned however if Todd didn't have strong feelings for the club he coaches at.

I'd also put it to you that Todd had strong feelings for Sturt.

Not having his Son play for Sturt is a far cry to not encouraging his Son to play for the AFL club that he played with for 13 years, captained, and proudly sits near Norm Smith in a painting of the Team of the Century.

Todd was also recently a generous donor to our Debt Demolition campaign in which he attended.

Like it, or lump it, Jack will be drafted under the F/S rule.:thumbsu:

Not having his Son play for Sturt is a far cry to not encouraging his Son to play for the AFL club that he played with for 13 years, captained, and proudly sits near Norm Smith in a painting of the Team of the Century.

Todd was also recently a generous donor to our Debt Demolition campaign in which he attended.

Mate, pretending you can see into the future is proving tiresome.

Come up with something reasonable or **** off.

You know you're probably right but if you're so certain it's a done deal why do you keep coming back to post this over and over again. It smacks of insecurity.

For what it's worth while Todd will be involved with Jack deciding what he wants to do, ultimately it will be Jacks' decision whether or not he wants to go to Melbourne, and the fact that staying in Adelaide is an option may change his thinking a little.

But kudos to you for knowing what a 15 year old kid is going to decide to do in 2 years time.:thumbsu: