Mod. Notice Depressed? Anxious? Call Beyond Blue (1300 224636), Lifeline (131114), resources in OP

I have just stepped into this thread and read a few of the comments. First of all can I say that it's sad to hear that some of our people on Bigfooty have mental health issues - this can't be a good thing at all and all I can say is that talking about things is very important and that can be easier said then done but as long as you have support mechanisms in place then I hope those people are on the right track to positive thinking :)

Secondly, mental health (no matter what form it comes in) can be a terrible thing and those people who suffer from it......it must be tough. I think it's important that we are a lot nicer to each other on here. At times I do get a little surprised with how we treat each other on here, lets all make an effort to stick by each other (no matter who we go for). I'd like to see opposition supporters just be nicer to each other, I'm sure if we all make the effort then this site would be a happier place.

We all love our footy, we all want our team to do well but sadly there will be teams who will go through tough times and the tough times can really affect those supporters........especially those supporters who have waited years and years to see their team win a Premiership. I used to get quite annoyed and sad when Richmond were not doing well, nowdays I still get annoyed but after a day I move on and look forward to the next week.

I can't imagine what it would be like for a footy supporter who suffers from for example anxiety and / or depression and then has to watch their beloved team play poorly, it must be really tough for those supporters. All I can say is that as long as there is support around then those sad days can become happy days.

I suggest that the mods of this site create a section on this board to allow opposition supporters get together and just talk about footy and the good times and the close games and the great goals and great marks. Just an idea to think about people.

But at the end of the day.....it's not about just footy, its about all of us being one, helping and supporting each other and making the most of the good times because all of us will go through rough trots. What is important is that we continue to support each other on this board, keep the talks up, keep the laughs going.......lets try and make Bigfooty a positive environment which will then make our life in general more enjoyable because I reckon one of the worst things that happens on this site is when supporters start to have a go at each other..........not good in my opinion.....lets treat each other with respect and lets enjoy each others company. I welcome ANY supporter from who supports any club to come by and send me a message if you want to have a chat and a laugh.

Lastly, lets get a hold on the bigger picture here............AFL is just a sport, we all love it very much but don't let it take over our lives, and that can be hard because we all love the sport and the big marks and the goals etc but sometimes the disappointment can be so much for a footy supporter that it can have a negative thinking on a supporter which isn't good. We should all enjoy life and we should all enjoy each others company. I'll never forget something that my cousin who played AFL once told me, he said: "There is more to life then footy" and I reckon he is spot on.

Cheers everyone and take care one and all.

PerthBoy87.

I think this thread shows that there are a lot of good, caring people on BF. And I do agree, we should try to be nicer than we often are. I'll stand by my comment above to Wallyt99, however. It's not appropriate to inject this thread with that kind of rubbish. It makes light of what this thread is trying to do - especially since it's not just a little quip at the end of a compassionate post, it's the entire post.

I do feel kinda bad that I gave mxett a hard time on the Drugs in Sport board regarding the Essendon saga - his comments in this thread show him to be a really good and decent guy. So, mxett, I do apologise for being harsh on you in that part of the forum.

I think this thread shows that there are a lot of good, caring people on BF. And I do agree, we should try to be nicer than we often are. I'll stand by my comment above to Wallyt99, however. It's not appropriate to inject this thread with that kind of rubbish. It makes light of what this thread is trying to do - especially since it's not just a little quip at the end of a compassionate post, it's the entire post.

I do feel kinda bad that I gave mxett a hard time on the Drugs in Sport board regarding the Essendon saga - his comments in this thread show him to be a really good and decent guy. So, mxett, I do apologise for being harsh on you in that part of the forum.
No worries, mate, all fair in love and war. I think I can separate 'forum life' from real life fairly well. If I genuinely felt hard done by on the HTB I would have stopped posting there. The debate was a nice distraction at times, although some people did make it a bit too personal, which says more about them than me to be honest. Funny thing was I also received a fair bit of flack on the essendon board for being open to the chance we did cheat. You cant please all the people all the time.

I'm glad you gave Wallyt99 a clip. Trolling in a serious thread about mental health is very poor form.

Today I hit rock bottom and went to the doctor for help, was extremely hard to do but I already feel like a weight has been lifted. Will be a long road to walk down but I hope I can reach the end.

Have been incredibly depressed and suicidal since the sudden/traumatic death of my father late last year, followed by an extreme case of glandular fever which hospitalised me. During this time I have sought relief through food, drugs, pr0n and gambling.. a wicked cocktail. Have put on 30kilos in 5 ****ing months!

I'm 22 years old and far too young to let my life rot away like this.

Today I hit rock bottom and went to the doctor for help, was extremely hard to do but I already feel like a weight has been lifted. Will be a long road to walk down but I hope I can reach the end.

Have been incredibly depressed and suicidal since the sudden/traumatic death of my father late last year, followed by an extreme case of glandular fever which hospitalised me. During this time I have sought relief through food, drugs, pr0n and gambling.. a wicked cocktail. Have put on 30kilos in 5 ******* months!

Good luck mate.

Could write forever on this topic, but an important thing to remember is set backs occur and treat them as bumps not as if you're right back where you started.

Life is beautiful. Be grateful you have the ability to even write a post on an internet forum.

Have been incredibly depressed and suicidal since the sudden/traumatic death of my father late last year, followed by an extreme case of glandular fever which hospitalised me. During this time I have sought relief through food, drugs, pr0n and gambling.. a wicked cocktail. Have put on 30kilos in 5 ******* months!

great effort seeking help, and also being open about your struggles. I really hope this is the turning point you need. Good luck and keep us posted, and of course pm someone if you want or need to talk. All the best

Good luck mate.

Could write forever on this topic, but an important thing to remember is set backs occur and treat them as bumps not as if you're right back where you started.

Life is beautiful. Be grateful you have the ability to even write a post on an internet forum.
too true. Setbacks are very common and just a part of getting better. One thing that really helps me through setbacks is knowing things always change. I know if I have a bad patch I can rest assured a better patch is around the corner. How you feel now will not be the same as how you feel in a few days, weeks or months.

I lost my younger brother a few years ago to suicide who was a talented footballer and my old who was a country footy legend and who could fight as well has suffered it all his life much to the surprise of people who saw him as bullet proof.. And I bloody suffer from the bastard too and at the moment I'm been really struggling but being a single dad with two beautiful girls living with me I think of them when I'm feeling really dark but sometimes the shit going on in ya head scares ya...

mate well done for getting help

Good luck buddy. Remember it will pass now that u have seen a doc...he/she will help u sort it out.

Saw my doctor for my first follow up today.
He's pretty happy with my progress mentally and also how the medication is going but wants to work on replacing it with exercise and socialising (which for someone with Social Anxiety will be difficult) once I feel my life is back in check.

Did not seem at all surprised that the medication had kicked in partly already as he had put me on a higher dosage due to me being fairly solidly built and rather broad (6' and 100kg)

Recommended I switch taking the fluvox to the morning even though its a night time medication as it's not putting me out of a night and is instead making me tired the next day, so hopefully it will have the effect of making me tired at night doing this.

General discussion about my (now) ex and how I'd been feeling. Mentioned that I no longer seem to be having panic attacks when I think about her, but just get a tight chest feeling which he said made sense on the fluvox.

He's pretty happy with my progress mentally and also how the medication is going but wants to work on replacing it with exercise and socialising (which for someone with Social Anxiety will be difficult) once I feel my life is back in check.

Did not seem at all surprised that the medication had kicked in partly already as he had put me on a higher dosage due to me being fairly solidly built and rather broad (6' and 100kg)

Recommended I switch taking the fluvox to the morning even though its a night time medication as it's not putting me out of a night and is instead making me tired the next day, so hopefully it will have the effect of making me tired at night doing this.

General discussion about my (now) ex and how I'd been feeling. Mentioned that I no longer seem to be having panic attacks when I think about her, but just get a tight chest feeling which he said made sense on the fluvox.
Glad things are on the improve mate. Keep in mind that a bit of counselling can really help too. If you're up for it. If you're happy with how you're tracking, keep it up!

looking positive. Did you ask your GP about a mental healthcare plan? Its pretty much free

10 per calender year. But that should be plenty for most people

Yeah I think that's debatable.

Depression isn't a 10 weeks of counselling and your right type condition. Although I believe you can get more if required.

https://moodgym.anu.edu.au/welcome/new/splash

This (free) program was suggested to a family member, who is dealing with depression and anxiety, by her psychiatrist yesterday. Mood Gym (developed by the ANU) aims to:
  • Help you identify and overcome problem emotions
  • Show you how to develop good coping skills for the future
It's obviously not a complete treatment and is not an alternative to obtaining proper medical advice about any personal condition. However, I'm passing it on in case it's useful to to others.

Just came across this thread. What a great idea. I know it's really hard to talk to people when your feeling like this so letting it out on here where no one really knows who you are can be really beneficial.

I think people are starting to see that having mental health problems is quite normal in this day and age, but it's still not always an easy thing to deal with. To the people that are tackling it head on and seeking help I applaud you. To the others that are struggling to come to terms with it, don't be afraid to ask for help, it is much easier then going alone.

My cousin lost her husband this week to suicide. He left behind two beautiful boys. My uncle says that telling them was the hardest thing he's ever had to do. There's always someone that cares for you.

Well done to the bigfooty community and making such an important thread.

Yeah I think that's debatable.

Depression isn't a 10 weeks of counselling and your right type condition. Although I believe you can get more if required.

10 with a psychologist, and/or 2 or 3(?) with a psychiatrist.

I know with the psychiatrist ones, I got 'extra' while working through potential meds, although I think the shrink lost out on it (bulk billed as if they were 'normal' GP visits I think...). Not sure that'd work for psychologists though, as they're (usually) not 'doctors' so probably lack the flexibility. I wouldn't be surprised if there was mechanisms to get more if required though.

10 with a psychologist, and/or 2 or 3(?) with a psychiatrist.

I know with the psychiatrist ones, I got 'extra' while working through potential meds, although I think the shrink lost out on it (bulk billed as if they were 'normal' GP visits I think...). Not sure that'd work for psychologists though, as they're (usually) not 'doctors' so probably lack the flexibility. I wouldn't be surprised if there was mechanisms to get more if required though.
Funny you should say that. I think psychiatrists are incredibly inflexible because they effortlessly resort to the pharmaceutical model of treatment. Whilst there's a place for medicinal treatment, I abhor the use of it as the primary option - and should certainly never be the only option. There is no doubt that by and large psychiatrists don't possess the same skills in thought and behaviour modification that psychologists do. Psychologists can work with a patient and help determine whether medication is necessary. Any psychiatrist who doesn't take that opinion on board is no healthcare professional. I've seen some abysmal examples of psychiatric care. There are some good ones - but they are in the minority. The best advice I can give is that if something doesn't quite seem right with your psychiatrist (Or psychologist for that matter), see somebody else.

Absolutely agree, that's been my experience too.

There is a saying that goes something like 'when a man has a hammer, everything looks like a nail' Psychiatrists have a hammer called a prescription pad....

Then again, most Psychologists tend to think everything can be solved by talking it out.

I've had both ask if I think I should see the other, but usually with little enthusiasm.

Best of luck you have done the right thing. You sound exactly the same as one of my staff members - you are exactly the same age and the best thing he ever did was share his problem with me ... he also is a diabetic and needs to inject insulin.

This may or may not work for you. But he asked if he could address all the staff and do an in house training session with his fellow work colleagues.

Obviously, I said yes. I thought his reasoning was very valid ... sometimes its the people around you that notice the changes long-before you do. The presentation was inspirational & highly educational for both him, the rest of my staff and me. It honestly helped me to cut him a bit of slack ... when I think or he thinks he needs it. The talk he gave explained much of the roller-coaster ride he had been experiencing at work. I also have his medication, jelly beans and some sort of fruit juice in my office as a back-up, but IMHO the act he shared his issue gives me confidence to say if he needed help urgently somebody in the office could help. Prior to his presentation I and the rest of the team would have been absolutely clueless to his plight bar phoning for an ambulance.

He also often now comes and shares his problems far more than he ever did ... its a strength to ask for help.

Now please I'm no medical doctor and had no experience with personal staff health issues prior to this ... so maybe if you do think the idea would help you talk to your doctor first.

Keep positive everyone. It's not easy but remember you have the support of family, friends and the flogs of BF.

I'm sure that for every one of us that have put our hands up in this thread and sought help, there are more yet to do so and hopefully this thread encourages them to take the next step and seek the assistance they need.

Such a fantastic thread, sending my all to everyone posting and also reading, who are perhaps dealing with issues themselves. Have been dealing with anxiety for quite a few years myself, but in a better place since seeing a good GP, and seeking treatment. Lost my dad to depression when I was young, so I know just how much mental health issues can affect a person, and those around them.

Stay strong everyone, and if you're in a rough place, your first port of call should be a GP, that first contact is the beginning of a path to recovery. Just remember though, that recovery isn't always smooth sailing, but my seeking help, you've already made a huge step towards a better head space.

Take care everyone.

Psychiatrists are medically trained, hence many (not all) are pretty wedded to a biomedical belief of depression as an illness in the same sort of way that say diabetes is. Many (again not all) don't consider 'talking therapy' to be in their remit of treatment. On the other hand, having gone through medical training doctors have a lot life and death experience that most psychologists have not had. IMO a psychiatrist who uses primarily a psychosocial formulation, and will pull out the script pad secondarily and with due regard for side effects, is the gold standard. If you can find one then you can get 50+ Medicare rebated sessions per year.

Psychologists, not having the option of the meds, are freer from being biased by the 'pharmaceutical-industrial-complex'. Unfortunately much of a basic psychology degree is taught via a 'rats and stats' approach, which produces therapists who practice a 'symptom-reduction' form of treatment such as CBT. Whilst helpful for many, lots of patients are not looking just to 'get rid' of symptoms, but also to find out what they mean for their lives - something that is pretty difficult in the 10 sessions per year that Medicare rebates offer to see a psychologist. IMO here the gold standard is a psychologist who takes a whole life course perspective (and you can afford to pay 100% out-of-pocket for any sessions over 50 per year as IMO either 1 session per month or 10 per course is inadequate).