Health Depression

Never said that playing sport is the only factor that can positively impact on a depressed person's life. The assumptions are bobbing up thick & fast here.

And yeah, I'll just stop here. :)

No I don't, but you people are missing out that when someone is suffering depression, that playing sport isn't going to be an automatic fix.

In much the same way that anti-depressants aren't automatically the devil. Each person is different, and it takes a number of different measures working in conjunction to fix things. No one, except you, is saying otherwise.

Who couldn't care less if they were run over by a truck today?:(

Who lives in the past and doesn't see anything good in todays society?

Music down the pooper,sport becoming a big business,over population.

Feck,not much to be happy about today.

Not ****ing much at all.

Being a drummer(drummers are now extinct)Richmond supporter doesn't fecking help.

Who gets really down that you don't care?

Anti depressants do feck all.

All they do is help you write yourself off.

Tried alot and none of them work.

Please dont give up I read your post at work and felt sadness reading your post.

In 97 I went down that path and swear the only time I was happy was in the last qtr in the last Saturday in September.

The point I am making is that I had a terribly tough year did not go out for 12 months was very depressed. All I can say to you is that 12 years on Im glad I didnt choose a different path when things were dark and gloomy.

I still cry when I see Jarman kick goals in 97 GF, it reminds me of how sad I was and that was the only happiness I experienced that year. In all likelihood Jarman probably saved me.

My advice would be is to go to a church (religion irrelevant) that you feel comfortable with (or counsellor) and get some assistance. Go for walks along the beach or in the park by yourself to clear the head and think rationale and calmly.

It is darkest before the dawn. (I know its Batman quote) But your dawn will come.

Take care.

As I said I dont know you but felt such tremendous compassion for you.

You don't understand anything about depression obviously.

Mantis, I think it's you that doesn't understand depression. Anti-depressants may not work for some but for me they have been a life saver in the past. Exercise may not be a cure but it definitely helps in a lot of cases.

l really hope you feel better soon and find something to be happy about.you are not alone and there are people are lot worse off,you should really go and talk to someone they might be able to help.And with the meds l hope you find some that can help l know some people with mental illness they (the doctors) took 5 plus years to put them on the right meds.you should do something every now and then that makes you happy it doesn't matter what it is. l think it cool that you can drum better things will happen take care.

Mantis, I think it's you that doesn't understand depression. Anti-depressants may not work for some but for me they have been a life saver in the past. Exercise may not be a cure but it definitely helps in a lot of cases.

Spot on.

Anit-depressants basically helped to kick-start my own recovery. It also depends on the type of anti-depressant you are given.

I was initially given a drug by a GP. It basically completely doped me out. I couldn't function properly. In fact, it was so bad, I ended up in hospital. I was assessed properly by people from the mental health unit and was prescribed a new anti-depressant and it worked really well.

I have suffered from depression for a few years now + anxiety

one thing I have noticed is that most people seem to think depression = sadness but it's not (well not in my case anyway) for me it's just a numbness. I do have some moments of sadness and equally some moments of hapiness but 90% of the time I just feel empty

I've never had depression but I had a long year between mid 2007 - late 2008 where I was either constantly anxious or upset. Killing the problem or cause of the problem is often the hardest thing to do. I started hitting the gym lots because I realised I had poor self esteem ( I looke dangerously thin but was completely physically healthy). Gym helped alot and socialising and talking with mates lots. Devoting more time to interests like pubs, watching/discussing footy, gym, cars etc made me feel lots better. I guess I kinda got over it a bit but every now and then the thing that makes me sad comes back for a day or so. I can't get out of bed to do anything but have somehow found myself at the gym or with a mate without consciously having to really think about it. OH, retail therapy works a bit too.

Coincedently I listened to a radio interview on the topic of depression today and the chap being interviewed made the point that excercise and socialising where amongst two of the most important things in dealing with depression.

Who couldn't care less if they were run over by a truck today?:(

Who lives in the past and doesn't see anything good in todays society?

Music down the pooper,sport becoming a big business,over population.

Feck,not much to be happy about today.

Not ****ing much at all.

Being a drummer(drummers are now extinct)Richmond supporter doesn't fecking help.

Who gets really down that you don't care?
Care less about music, sport and us ******* gen Yers and take care of yourself.

Also, put Loveless on. :)

One thing I wish could have been forced upon me in my worst days: sleep proper hours.

Late last year I was pretty down due to a few things that were going on in my life. I was regularly only getting 4-5 hours of sleep at night, and I'm certain now in heinsight that this compounded the problem. It's amazing what regular good sleep will do for your mood and energy levels. I'm talking a good 8-9 hours in bed, going to bed the same time each night and getting up the same time each morning. It might not cure your problems instantly, but it'll certainly make you feel a bit better.

I find that to be the worst possible thing in dealing with depression.

Taking a long walk along the beach or from Glenelg to Brighton which I have done several times has helped me to gather my thoughts and have helped me gain a resolve. I have suffered obviously from depression and have found this has helped.

IT IS NOT THE WORST THING in dealing with depression.

Your gaining some exercise and Vitamin D exposure (ie Sunshine) is well know to help alleviate depression.

This person needs help DO NOT offer him bad advice please.:thumbsdown:

Taking a long walk along the beach or from Glenelg to Brighton which I have done several times has helped me to gather my thoughts and have helped me gain a resolve. I have suffered obviously from depression and have found this has helped.

Your gaining some exercise and Vitamin D exposure (ie Sunshine) is well know to help alleviate depression.

Everyone's different.

I think walking alone would have been horrible for me. Sometimes it's just too much time to think.

I think all doctors etc that I have seen have suggested getting out to get fresh air, sunlight and exercise is far better than being in the foetal position in bed.

With that said I know that getting out of bed can be the greatest challenge at times when you are depressed !

I had a close relative with depression and did a fair bit of research. As per Power King's post, the beyond blue website is a really helpful starting point.

This person was on medication for a while but stopped taking it of their own accord and I believe that was mainly assisted by the support received from his family and friends. We made an effort to call more often and let him know he could call us whenever he needed 'someone'. Letting him 'offload' without deriding, being encouraging and positive, and also arranging short get-togethers and activities whenever we could to involve him at every opportunity to make sure he wasn't just sitting home alone day after day. Sometimes it took some convincing but the efforts of his 'support network' no doubt helped him.

Considering the points debated throughout this thread so far, I'll point out that under 'Help Yourself' the site lists a number of points and has helpful links with more information, with the key headings being...

(1) Reducing stress and anxiety

- Practise slow-breathing exercises to decrease stress and anxiety.
- Learn and practise relaxation techniques.
- Understand how important physical activity is for good mental health

(2) Getting enough sleep

(3) Keeping active
- Regular gentle exercise is helpful.
- Exercise such as walking, swimming, yoga, dancing, golf or a gym workout can help relieve mental tension, as well as muscle tension.
- Try to do some exercise every day, even if it's just walking around the block.

(4) Reducing alcohol and other drugs

Also, for 'Dealing with a bad day'

(1) Don't stay in bed
(2) Catch up with friends
(3) Keep active
(4) Learn to manage stress

There's heaps of helpful info for people dealing with it, or those trying to help someone else

Help Yourself

I think all doctors etc that I have seen have suggested getting out to get fresh air, sunlight and exercise is far better than being in the foetal position in bed.

With that said I know that getting out of bed can be the greatest challenge at times when you are depressed !

Not if you're alone and feel terrible in public. It may amount to it being no different to being in bed.

Ih

(2) Getting enough sleep

Get 8-10 hours sleep each night waking up at latest at 8:30 am. The purpose of this is intervening a specific stage of sleep with the time where the sun releases a vitamin which helps you feel more awake. Don't try and stay in bed all day, waking up at later than that time, sleeping more does not remove the tiredness.

He meant It's bad because It's times when your walking along on your own in deep though that you start having thoughts of how everything isn't worth it ect...:thumbsdown: