Diet and nutrition

Yeah none of mine are laying at the moment, well apart from the 2 five year old Silkies which is kinda funny because they would be about the last chooks in the the place that I'd guess would be doing it as they generally lay bugger all at the best of times.

How do you eat your eggs?

Usually with my mouth.

Sorry bad joke!

Preferably poached or Lightly fried, cooked white runny yolk

Ha, I'm a big scrambled egg fan.

Yeah I like scrambled eggs but depends how far you wanna go with health etc..
Cooking the yolk effects the iron & oxidises the cholesterol hence why most experts advocate runny yolk but what effects it will/may have long term , who knows, also pending the amount of scrambled eggs you eat weekly.
But having said that I'm tipping scrambled eggs 3 X a week is better then 3 Big Macs a week!

if Bazzar wasnt on a sabbatical im certain he would have posted this.
sadly i cant provide any Bazzar like commentary but the information is interesting enough itself.

Pasta Not Fattening, Italian Study Finds

...or is it?

Pasta Keeps You Slim According to Bizarre Study by Barilla - Fools Major Media

Eating More Pasta Makes You Slimmer. Who are these guys?

Glorious pasta-doesnt-make-you-fat study was paid for by a pasta brand

make of it what you will

I just love your sig poopingHindi :)

Although i'm not a big fan of Dave Asprey, I'm very interested in learning more about nootropics

https://www.bulletproofexec.com/13-nootropics-to-unlock-your-true-brain/

Here is a recipe for a golden latte which is similar to a chai only 1 thousand times more delicious (and healthier).

1 cup of coconut milk (from a carton - otherwise you can use almond milk)
grated or thinly sliced ginger (i always peel ginger as it's prone to mould)
1/2 tsp cinamon
1/2 tsp tumeric
pinch of cayanne pepper (optional but seriously not optional)
honey

mix in a high speed blender and heat so it's warm but don't boil.

so incredibly delicious :)

i just watched the 2 part Catalyst program on gut bacteria on ABC I view (it had been on before but i hadn't seen it then and was replayed over the last 2 weeks on free to air) very interesting re the vitally important part that healthy gut bacteria plays in the overall health of the immune system. not peer reviewed information yet but very good anecdotal and trial results in animals and humans.

what i took out of it was their diet recommendation was similar to the LCHF style diet ie. just eat natural foods with an emphasis on leafy greens, fresh fruit, vegetables and meat, + focus on eating a very high amount of dietary fiber. also they nearly went as far but not quite in recommending vinegar as a miracle elixir. the other difference from the LCHF diet was the limit dairy part.

Anyone see the Steven Febey interview with Mike Sheehan? The guy was a fat turd and now is an absolute beast, he has been using the nutritional diet Isagenix for the past 9 months. My mum was near on diabetic, she started the Isagenix program 18 months ago and has lost 25kgs, her specialist has said from all her results it has saved her life. I am really skeptical about fad diets and the herbal life cult but I have seen what this bloody shake diet does and it blew me away. My cousin who was AIS for footy, VIC Metro and just missed on being drafted has been using the Isegenix for the past 3-4 months and his body has improved dramatically, the kid is a beast.

Anyway, I thought it to be interesting that Febey used the program, I haven't used it but gauging the results and the tests that came back from mum and the info her specialist has given her regarding what she has been doing has me intrigued to give it a crack.

Anyone experienced Isagenix or know of anyone?

Anyone see the Steven Febey interview with Mike Sheehan? The guy was a fat turd and now is an absolute beast, he has been using the nutritional diet Isagenix for the past 9 months. My mum was near on diabetic, she started the Isagenix program 18 months ago and has lost 25kgs, her specialist has said from all her results it has saved her life. I am really skeptical about fad diets and the herbal life cult but I have seen what this bloody shake diet does and it blew me away. My cousin who was AIS for footy, VIC Metro and just missed on being drafted has been using the Isegenix for the past 3-4 months and his body has improved dramatically, the kid is a beast.

Anyway, I thought it to be interesting that Febey used the program, I haven't used it but gauging the results and the tests that came back from mum and the info her specialist has given her regarding what she has been doing has me intrigued to give it a crack.

A friend of mine owns a PT gym and her and her partner did a 30 day Isagenix course.

I've seen the program and what you eat/drink etc and I think it boils down to something like X amount of shakes per day and one solid meal, and both of them lost weight but made no discernible increase in muscle (although its hard to tell in 30 days).

I think like most diet 'styles' if you stick to it and it puts you in a calorie defecit, you'll lose weight. I've read a lot of not so glowing stories about it though and often hear it compared to Herbalife since Isagenix business model is basically a pyramid scheme, like Herbalife.

A friend of mine owns a PT gym and her and her partner did a 30 day Isagenix course.

I've seen the program and what you eat/drink etc and I think it boils down to something like X amount of shakes per day and one solid meal, and both of them lost weight but made no discernible increase in muscle (although its hard to tell in 30 days).

I think like most diet 'styles' if you stick to it and it puts you in a calorie defecit, you'll lose weight. I've read a lot of not so glowing stories about it though and often hear it compared to Herbalife since Isagenix business model is basically a pyramid scheme, like Herbalife.

I'm 176cm and 79kg 13% bodyfat, I'm pretty solid but you can almost see my abs so I was looking at it like the final leg to pass under the magical 10% bf.

My mum swears by it, I think she can sell it but she doesn't bother, I know she'd most definitely be diabetic without it's assistance.

You mentioned the muscle building aspect, from what I'm lead to believe theres a few different options. My cousin has actually never had more mass in his life, we were at the FF performance centre in the city and done our measurements and the prick is 187 - 90kgs and 9% BF, I near on fell off my chair. I know what you mean by thinking it's like herbal life, I genuinely believe Herbal life is a cult lol... I'm not sure if Isagenix conduct those rah rah Real Estate type chest puffing conferences that Herbal life does.

Anyway, if I actually do it I will do it 100%, I might even show my progress here and give some solid and sound feedback. I'm open to it but also very skeptical.

I'm 176cm and 79kg 13% bodyfat, I'm pretty solid but you can almost see my abs so I was looking at it like the final leg to pass under the magical 10% bf.

My mum swears by it, I think she can sell it but she doesn't bother, I know she'd most definitely be diabetic without it's assistance.

You mentioned the muscle building aspect, from what I'm lead to believe theres a few different options. My cousin has actually never had more mass in his life, we were at the FF performance centre in the city and done our measurements and the prick is 187 - 90kgs and 9% BF, I near on fell off my chair. I know what you mean by thinking it's like herbal life, I genuinely believe Herbal life is a cult lol... I'm not sure if Isagenix conduct those rah rah Real Estate type chest puffing conferences that Herbal life does.

Anyway, if I actually do it I will do it 100%, I might even show my progress here and give some solid and sound feedback. I'm open to it but also very skeptical.
Well that's the thing I feel with pretty much anything fitness and health related, you may as well try it, do it properly and see how you respond. I'm 185/101 at 13-14% at the moment, but last year during my cut I got down to 89kg and 10% following MP (metabolic precision). I wouldn't go back, not because it doesn't work but because I don't think its efficient. Having said that though, I learnt some new things and at the end of the day I still incorporate some of the MP principles into my dieting and excercise.

I watched the program and i can tell you what helped him turn his life around and it wasn't some magic drink, it was the fact he stopped taking drugs and drinking on 4 day benders. No doubt this type of lifestyle lead to little exercise and with extremely poor food choices. Simply cutting out the drugs, alcohol and bad food he would of achieved what he has so far. A supplement drink would not account for this on its own.

I will say what something like Isagenix can do is give someone the drive to change, there thinking if i am going to spend X amount of dollars on this and all this time exercising why undo it all your hard work with a crappy diet. Its more of a physiological state of mind rather than a physiological affect on the body.

Likewise with your cousin, his improvement would be done to hard work, training, diet and natural development as opposed to a supplement drink. Once again if Isagenix makes him feel better maybe that is giving him more confidence in his ability to play.

I would say the same with your mum, it's all the improvements she's made in her diet to lose the 25kgs not a supplement drink.

Honestly again mate, i wouldn't bother with it. Coming from someone with experience, i competed in a body building show last year, im 178cm, i dropped from 95kg 18-20% BF down to 78kg and 5-6% BF. Its all to do with diet, no magic drink will directly help you lose weight unless you are eating 100% spot on. Supplements are exactly that, they help supplement your diet and exercise no be the direct cause of any fat loss/muscle gain.

When i was training for my comp, i was using a greens powder and fibre supplement as well as some digestive enzymes, then staples BCAA's, whey protein, creatine and glutamine. No doubt they helped me, more so with recovery to train the next day but it was my diet and training that proved to be the main keys.

but if you really want to try give it a go and see what happens! Even if it only gives you the physiological edge to improve your diet and training then it will help.

Well that's the thing I feel with pretty much anything fitness and health related, you may as well try it, do it properly and see how you respond. I'm 185/101 at 13-14% at the moment, but last year during my cut I got down to 89kg and 10% following MP (metabolic precision). I wouldn't go back, not because it doesn't work but because I don't think its efficient. Having said that though, I learnt some new things and at the end of the day I still incorporate some of the MP principles into my dieting and excercise.
I've done MP too. Found it too time consuming and costly

I watched the program and i can tell you what helped him turn his life around and it wasn't some magic drink, it was the fact he stopped taking drugs and drinking on 4 day benders. No doubt this type of lifestyle lead to little exercise and with extremely poor food choices. Simply cutting out the drugs, alcohol and bad food he would of achieved what he has so far. A supplement drink would not account for this on its own.

I will say what something like Isagenix can do is give someone the drive to change, there thinking if i am going to spend X amount of dollars on this and all this time exercising why undo it all your hard work with a crappy diet. Its more of a physiological state of mind rather than a physiological affect on the body.

Likewise with your cousin, his improvement would be done to hard work, training, diet and natural development as opposed to a supplement drink. Once again if Isagenix makes him feel better maybe that is giving him more confidence in his ability to play.

I would say the same with your mum, it's all the improvements she's made in her diet to lose the 25kgs not a supplement drink.

Honestly again mate, i wouldn't bother with it. Coming from someone with experience, i competed in a body building show last year, im 178cm, i dropped from 95kg 18-20% BF down to 78kg and 5-6% BF. Its all to do with diet, no magic drink will directly help you lose weight unless you are eating 100% spot on. Supplements are exactly that, they help supplement your diet and exercise no be the direct cause of any fat loss/muscle gain.

When i was training for my comp, i was using a greens powder and fibre supplement as well as some digestive enzymes, then staples BCAA's, whey protein, creatine and glutamine. No doubt they helped me, more so with recovery to train the next day but it was my diet and training that proved to be the main keys.

but if you really want to try give it a go and see what happens! Even if it only gives you the physiological edge to improve your diet and training then it will help.

And listen, everything you have mentioned above I absolutely do not disagree with and certain elements such as " I don't want to waste my money " " I must get off the couch and make the most of this diet " would be spot on. I also feel that from my research and knowledge ( albeit limited to yourself by the sounds of it ) it does have a lot of nutritional benefits. My body has always reacted to changes pretty well and I would know within a month whether I am getting benefits from it, I certainly wouldn't be looking at it like a Herbal life program.

Currently I have been doing 16 hour daily intermittent fasts, from 8pm-12pm, it has been good and I have lost a little around the waist but not enough to scream KEEP GOING.

I love food, thats my biggest issue, I love having a nice solid breaky on the weekend whether that be porridge and dry fruit or some fruit toast and jam and then eat some burgers saturday night. I need to sacrifice more on the weekend and I think I will get more gains, I barely drink which is a bonus but if I do have an event and drink I tend to dabble in the prince charles to lol.

Anyway, I'm still tossing whether to give it a good for a few months, I've been told as I am really quite healthy as it is I wouldn't need to do the cleanse so that is a positive.