hamohawk1

I am always intrigued with the conversations that i establish with cab drivers on the way home. Normally they are enhanced after being out on the drink all night and can often delve into life's bigger issues

Coming home this morning we had a discussion about corporate power and it's influence. Other times i have had financial advice, life advice and long term planning for each other and Australia (we actually discussed the proposals of having a larger Australia)

It is possible that you get that cab driver that won't join in the conversation but i think there would be some absolute ripper discussions the big footy community has had with cab drivers.

I usually dont chat to them because to be honest they often struggle with english but recently I had a couple of decent convos.

One guy was from the US and gave me heaps of inside info for when I go there in a couple of months. Legend.
The other was a foreigner and we talked about the Dockers game last week and Ballantyne.

This thread is just reminding me of Taxi Cab Confessions. I always loved some of those discussions. Some of those people had pretty interesting stories.

I usually dont chat to them because to be honest they often struggle with english but recently I had a couple of decent convos.

One guy was from the US and gave me heaps of inside info for when I go there in a couple of months. Legend.
The other was a foreigner and we talked about the Dockers game last week and Ballantyne.

381190-mcguire.jpg

"Busy night mate?" :thumbsu:

When out and pissed. Every. Single. Time.

haha. i try and not ask them that because i know everyone that gets in the taxi probably asks them that. but after a bit of awkward silence i end up asking him that anyway. :D

i remember one time after a night out on the piss i ended up talking to a cab driver about betting and i was talking up a hawthorn v collingwood game in particular that i had some money on. hawthorn had pretty good odds and had belted the pies the last 4 or 5 times they played them. the way i was talking it up was as though the hawks couldn't lose. the cab driver's reaction told the story of having a really good think about it before saying "i'm going to put some money on that". as i left the cab though i did try to discourage him as i would have felt bad if the hawks lost. result of the game? pies won by 10 goals or so. and i wonder if that cab driver put money on it or not. haha.

Ahh cabs drivers. Or asking them what time they finish! I had one guy who was pretty awesome. He took 10 bucks off the fee and asked for a beer off me instead. Couldn't say no to that swap.

I mainly talk about cricket with them.

Yeah cricket is always a good conversation starter if the cabbies are Indians or Pakis, they love talking cricket.

If the cabbies are Europeans, South Americans or Africans then talking soccer is usually a good topic, especially if you can name a player or two from their country. Met a cabbie once from Ghana and he was surprised and pretty stoked when I knew who Michael Essien was.

You can have some quite interesting convos with cabbies from other countries, finding out stuff about their homeland and how they ended up in Australia. Pity I can't remember most of them because I'm shitfaced.

Had an interesting cabbie in Brisbane about 5 years ago. He was around 60 and reckoned he'd been a merchant seaman for most of his life and had been everywhere in the world. He was semi-retired and just drove a taxi for beer money.

The conversation somehow moved on to UFOs. He put forward the theory that UFOs were just time travellers from the future. He also said he was taking a topic on time travel in some Queensland university (can't remember which one). Apparently he and some friends also hiked up to the Gympie Pyramid but were turned away by some people before they got there so they couldn't investigate it.

This could have all been rubbish of course but it livened up an otherwise boring taxi ride to the airport.

My mate often gets a discount by talking cricket, he always says he doesn't have the full amount... so pays a few bucks less... good on him.

Love listening to all the sexual favours they get offered... too bad majority of the girls would be disgusting

My mate often gets a discount by talking cricket, he always says he doesn't have the full amount... so pays a few bucks less... good on him.

Love listening to all the sexual favours they get offered... too bad majority of the girls would be disgusting
You think they wouldn't say no, though?

A girl I went to school with had a weird taxi experience. She was going out that night, but was getting a taxi from her place to a friends. She was all up dressed up, as girls are when they go out. Anyway, toward the end of the trip, the derro looking cabbie said something like "you know, this is getting pretty expensive". She looked at the dial, and saw it was only about $11 at the time. The taxi driver then proceeds to instigate one of these favours-for-favours deals. She says "It was my payday today, I don't mind paying". Next thing, he opens up his glovebox, and in there are two pairs of gaudy high heels. He says "I just want your shoes". According to her she'd "always hated them" (psshh), so she did it. Apparently, once they'd gotten there, he was sitting out the front of her mates house for a good 45 minutes...

After a big night out on Brunswick St, I got into a cab to go home, I was absolutely smashed. Bought a pizza, shared it with the driver and just talked shit all the way home, I vaguely remember "what is love" coming on the radio and we bounced our heads "Night of the Roxboury" style, good times, had a good laugh. Got home and searched for money to pay the fare, of course, I had none. The driver laughed, said don't worry about it and took off.

A girl I went to school with had a weird taxi experience. She was going out that night, but was getting a taxi from her place to a friends. She was all up dressed up, as girls are when they go out. Anyway, toward the end of the trip, the derro looking cabbie said something like "you know, this is getting pretty expensive". She looked at the dial, and saw it was only about $11 at the time. The taxi driver then proceeds to instigate one of these favours-for-favours deals. She says "It was my payday today, I don't mind paying". Next thing, he opens up his glovebox, and in there are two pairs of gaudy high heels. He says "I just want your shoes". According to her she'd "always hated them" (psshh), so she did it. Apparently, once they'd gotten there, he was sitting out the front of her mates house for a good 45 minutes...

That shit is maximum weird.

Best cab ride I've had was on the way home from a work Christmas function a few years ago. I was blind, but my semi-sober wife said the driver and myself had a solid 45 minute discussion about which song was better - Steve Earle's "Copperhead Road" or Bruce Springsteen's "Backstreets".

It got f*ckin' deep, let me tell you.

Had an interesting cabbie in Brisbane about 5 years ago. He was around 60 and reckoned he'd been a merchant seaman for most of his life and had been everywhere in the world. He was semi-retired and just drove a taxi for beer money.

The conversation somehow moved on to UFOs. He put forward the theory that UFOs were just time travellers from the future. He also said he was taking a topic on time travel in some Queensland university (can't remember which one). Apparently he and some friends also hiked up to the Gympie Pyramid but were turned away by some people before they got there so they couldn't investigate it.

This could have all been rubbish of course but it livened up an otherwise boring taxi ride to the airport.

Was intrigued by Gympie pyramid, had previously never heard of it so googled away. Seriously just a row of rocks on the ground, and the wiki page has tin foil hat suggestions of Egyptians building it. :eek: