D2 Division 2 2018

There was punches and elbows thrown during the game by both sides, I think they are worse of football incidents, as I think the player should of been expecting contact after giving away a goal in a final.

Yeh I guess you’re right. It’s pretty normal that a bloke runs one direction then changes and runs 20m straight through a blokes jaw whilst he isn’t looking.

Since you’re at parade, can I have the number of the lady in the beanie who was filming the game from the grandstand balcony, or whoever managed to lose the film, as she was probably a volunteer just under instruction.

I need to erase my turnovers from the tape if I make a comeback to footy. I can’t have them appearing on the record and causing character assasination.

There was punches and elbows thrown during the game by both sides, I think they are worse of football incidents, as I think the player should of been expecting contact after giving away a goal in a final.
Probably explains why he was looking at the ball sailing through the goals when Kandalakis ran straight through him....it’s his own fault really. :rolleyes:

I think you blokes are carrying on a bit. I don't think it was his intention to knock him out . Just to rough him up as it was his fault the goal went through. (& I'm not trying to justify any of it)
If you want someone to blame then blame the AFL. This kind of stuff happens in every game when it's the blokes fault a goal goes through. It even happens half the time before the first bounce.
Unfortunately they don't stamp it out at the top level so it'll keep happening in lower levels.
Unfortunately that's our barbaric game. Won't happen in any other sport in the world.

Surely no one could defend that one. That’s Mark Yeats level. Will miss a good chunk of football I’d say

This was violent and unnecesary and a red-card incident yet Old Parade posters appear to be condoning the violence, intimidation and attempted coverup. Player got reminded of his indiscretion straight after by an opponent or two but the charge was more than 40 seconds after he kicked it out on the full. Remains to be seen when VAFA applies their penalty, if the player (I am reading here, he is the captain) is allowed to enter the playing field at all this weekend. I would imagine he has forfeited his right to have any role on gameday.

Actions are what he has to own. The club saying they don't know who it was initially to the VAFA is categorically an insight into the workings of those in control at Parade. Waiting for the G Train to respond

Who at the club said that zeroseven ? I don't know if they did or didn't, but you seem to. I know the people who are in charge at Old Paradians, and giving them a clip is a bit rich. All very good people who do a truckload of volunteer work to keep the club running.

As to the incident, now that I have seen it. It's off the ball, no question. I'd have preferred him to go and celebrate with his teammates, but each to their own. My assessment is that it was a shirtfront. The footage is a bit grainy, but looks like he's dropped a shoulder in. The result was worse than the action. A "dog act" ? No. A dog act is a punch, or an elbow, or king hit, or something way worse than this. In fact I've had a similar thing happened to me in a game. It rung my bells a bit, but i was okay and kept playing with no effects. 6 -8 weeks ? No. I guess we'll have to wait for the record this week to see what charge was actually laid, I'd say about 3-4

I wonder if there was anything behind it other than the out-of-bounds on the full ? Did anything else go on throughout the game between these two ? Maybe.

Wonder where the video came from. As someone else said, our lady was videoing on the other side of the ground. According to this forum, the VAFA weren't videoing the game, and they probably would have been on the grandstand side too.

I think you blokes are carrying on a bit. I don't think it was his intention to knock him out . Just to rough him up as it was his fault the goal went through. (& I'm not trying to justify any of it)
If you want someone to blame then blame the AFL. This kind of stuff happens in every game when it's the blokes fault a goal goes through. It even happens half the time before the first bounce.
Unfortunately they don't stamp it out at the top level so it'll keep happening in lower levels.
Unfortunately that's our barbaric game. Won't happen in any other sport in the world.
Careful Boomer. You'll cop a barrage here for having this type of view.

No mate, most people in here realise the intention wasn’t to knock him out. Stop moving the goalposts

Who at the club said that zeroseven ? I don't know if they did or didn't, but you seem to. I know the people who are in charge at Old Paradians, and giving them a clip is a bit rich. All very good people who do a truckload of volunteer work to keep the club running.

As to the incident, now that I have seen it. It's off the ball, no question. I'd have preferred him to go and celebrate with his teammates, but each to their own. My assessment is that it was a shirtfront. The footage is a bit grainy, but looks like he's dropped a shoulder in. The result was worse than the action. A "dog act" ? No. A dog act is a punch, or an elbow, or king hit, or something way worse than this. In fact I've had a similar thing happened to me in a game. It rung my bells a bit, but i was okay and kept playing with no effects. 6 -8 weeks ? No. I guess we'll have to wait for the record this week to see what charge was actually laid, I'd say about 3-4

I wonder if there was anything behind it other than the out-of-bounds on the full ? Did anything else go on throughout the game between these two ? Maybe.

Wonder where the video came from. As someone else said, our lady was videoing on the other side of the ground. According to this forum, the VAFA weren't videoing the game, and they probably would have been on the grandstand side too.
Here we go again! Making excuses and suggesting there’s more to it despite having no idea whatsoever - that’s muck raking innuendo. And I’ve played plenty of footy and knocking someone front on, whilst they are off balance and not expecting it is a dog act. If he was shaped up and braced for contact then play on throw your weight in and see who comes off best. But to blatantly run through a skinny kid unbalanced is poor.

And who cares where the video came from? It’s there.

Have you seen the Old Parade video of this sad event? Boomer, Boomer just trying to rough him up because he made a skill error! Not trying to justify it but here it is? Is this part of the Parade game plan?
Have you seen our footage zeroseven ? I know i haven't. What does it show that's different to the footage posted on here ?

No mate, most people in here realise the intention wasn’t to knock him out. Stop moving the goalposts

Exactly. It would not have been his intention to knock him out. To rough him up ? Sure. To throw his weight around for the team ? Sure. This happens across the country on a weekly basis. I genuinely feel sorry for the player that he was knocked out. I'm not such an a**ehole to not feel that way. But this wasn't a dog act. It was an action that got the wrong result and Kandilakis will have to accept the consequences of those actions. He's as tough as they come, and a great guy. He's definitely NOT a coward. I'm not aware of him ever being suspended before, so he's not exactly a serial offender.

And who cares where the video came from? It’s there.

And actually, it's not. Video has now been removed, and the YouTube account closed.

Good argument, dennis denuto

I think we all understand the captain in a prelim final didn’t line a bloke up to knock him out on purpose out knowing full well he would miss the grand final.

But does that mater what his intention was?
It was unnecessary and resulted in concussion. He will cop a decent amount of weeks.

Can we just back the truck up on this one for a minute. No one wants to see unsavoury acts, especially when they lead to someone getting concussion, but the player was wearing a helmet. Perhaps he is more predisposed to being knocked out REGARDLESS OF THE REASON. There are players who get concussion from seemingly the most innocuous contact, and others who couldn't be knocked out even if they were hit by Byron Pickett. The result cannot determine the punishment. Only the action should.

I didn't see it. I was celebrating the goal. I kind of wish I DID see it, so i could comment. I didn't though, so I'm not going to throw our rumours and heresay, and if the VAFA have footage of it, then I guess they will use it to do what they do.

One of the more bizarre things I've read on bigfooty in a while. "Perhaps he is more predisposed to being knocked out" - sure but perhaps he should be harder to knock out given that his head is protected by the helmet, perhaps the Parade skipper (as a helmet wearer himself and someone perhaps predisposed to being knocked out) shouldn't be targeting someone else with a helmet like that. Don't say you didn't see it and so won't throw out comments and heresay then put out this kind of rubbish.

Well Old Mate you're right the AFL has a lot to answer for with the tolerance of jumper punches and bullsh*t after goals. They need to get their act together and stamp it out as it is now going on in junior footy as well as metro footy. In the end something like what happened on Sunday occurs despite intentions.

One of the more bizarre things I've read on bigfooty in a while. "Perhaps he is more predisposed to being knocked out" - sure but perhaps he should be harder to knock out given that his head is protected by the helmet, perhaps the Parade skipper (as a helmet wearer himself and someone perhaps predisposed to being knocked out) shouldn't be targeting someone else with a helmet like that. Don't say you didn't see it and so won't throw out comments and heresay then put out this kind of rubbish.
Whether you like it or not it is actually true. Obviously people wear helmets for different reasons however It is also well known that helmets do sweet FA to people who are prone to concussion. They definitely don't need to be hit in the head to have a concussion. Any sort of quick movement (a simple jolt of the brain) will concuss those who are prone.
From the video which is now not showing it didn't look like he got him in the head. Looked more like straight to the shoulder.
This is why the G-Train is saying it could be because if that.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wasn’t Andrew Gaff’s intention to break Andrew Breyshaw’s jaw but he got 8 weeks for it.
Yeah blame the AFL. It’s their fault. Hope Gil writes a letter to the VAFA on behalf of Kandalakis.

Wasn’t Andrew Gaff’s intention to break Andrew Breyshaw’s jaw but he got 8 weeks for it.
Yeah blame the AFL. It’s their fault. Hope Gil writes a letter to the VAFA on behalf of Kandalakis.
Funny how you could even remotely think a hip and shoulder to the side is anywhere near as bad as a closed fist punch and breaking a guys jaw and teeth to the point where he's eating out of a straw for the next month. #peanut

I was broadly commenting on the incident, because the first I saw of it was on the now deleted video. That's why my comments were vague. Nothing in the footage conclusively shows how he was knocked out does it ? It doesn't show definitive contact to the head. Is it probable that he contacted his head ? Yes i reckon it is, but the player might have sustained his concussion from something other than a knock, such as a whiplash or hitting his head on the deck. Saad from Essendon was concussed more through whiplash than contact I believe as an example.

There is no scientific evidence that helmets reduce the chance of concussion by the way. They may lesson the impact slightly, and reduce head wounds for players like Selwood and others who cut open easier than others, but as concussion involves trauma inside the head, they provide minimal assistance. A bit like shoulder strapping for someone with a history of AC joint issues. I'm only commenting on that as a response to you suggesting he might be harder to knock out, not to prove a point one way or the other about this incident.

Just because I have a different opinion doesn't make me right, and it doesn't make me wrong. You call my comments "bizarre", well there has been just as many others doing the same, with wild conspiracy theories about hiding video evidence and the club refusing to cooperate which I'm certain no one on here knows for sure, including me.

The shame for me is that it's taken the focus on what will hopefully be a great grand final, and that Old Paradians are now apparently the biggest thugs in VAFA football, which is completely untrue

Funny how you could even remotely think a hip and shoulder to the side is anywhere near as bad as a closed fist punch and breaking a guys jaw and teeth to the point where he's eating out of a straw for the next month. #peanut

I didn’t compare the incidents. What I’m saying is about the intention. Whether it was his intention to just rough him up or knock him out, the player ended up unconscious. I don’t really care what you say, that player should not have any reason to believe he is about to cop a shirtfront that long after the ball has gone through for a goal. It is a dog act. If that was your teammate who was on the receiving end, you would no doubt be seething.

100% I'd be upset. And I don't condone it. As per what I said previously along with what Mihocek said unfortunately That's Football. Jumper punches for no reason. Continuous bumps and little swings to the gut for no reason. Happens on the daily in the AFL. It's Barbaric and the worst part of our game.
But unfortunately it's a part of the game.
If that same bump happened in the AFL they'd say reckless. No head high contact. Didn't jump off the ground while performing the act. Pay a fine. And excuse the expression. Peanuts for what those blokes make.
(Obviously who knows what the AFL would say but what I'm trying to say is it'll just keep happening and happening until they completely stamp it out)