Do you like Fritz ?

• Thread starter Thread starter eastaugh36

Originally posted by Lionel Lyon
How bout "let's build sand castles," as opposed to "sand carstles"? Gee that one caused me some grief when we moved from Vic to SA as a kid. I was a laughing stock! After that my cousins in Melb. in visits back accused of saying TEEEVEEE instead of TayVay ;)

And don't forget that ABBA song.... "take a charnce, take a charnce, take a charnce, take a charnce..." :D:D

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Then why isn't it spelled dants?

Oh, now you've opened a real can of worms...

Through, rough, bough, cough, though...get the picture? Apparently, they call it the beauty of language
headscratch.gif
:D

Might I weigh in by insisting that a regular glass of beer be called a schooner, and not a pot, middy or 10 oz ?
A schooner's bigger than a middy. I drink enough of them, I should know.;) ;) :D :D :D :D

I sense the beginnings of an interstate holy war in this thread...

Might I weigh in by insisting that a regular glass of beer be called a schooner, and not a pot, middy or 10 oz ?

:D

Sorry a schooner is bigger than a pot which is equivalent to a middy but is smaller than a pint which is smaller than a jug which is...I'll think I'll stick to stubbies.

Originally posted by PeteLX
Do they say Advarnce Orstralia Fair?

or Advants Ustralya Fair?

I'm an Advants guy myself. I also like to Dants, I wear Pants, Dislike Frants (as opposed to Frarnce) and like to grow Plants (not plarnts).

LMAO me too! yeeaah, go the Vic way of pronouncing stuff :D

We have a guy who recently moved from South Australia in our class. Amuses us to no end, the way he says stuff like dance, answer, France, etc. :D But the one that really got us cracking up? Graph! He said it like "bath". OMG we completely pi$$ ourselves laughing, especially in Maths where he has to say it a lot :D I think he actually got quite offended at first :D scary thing is, I was talking to him the other day and I said "answer" like the way he does, as in "arnswer". oh dear! :S

interstate war? Bring it on!! GO THE VICS!!

ooohhh, STRAS! RIGHT! now I got ya. Yep, love the stuff :D

Do they say Advarnce Orstralia Fair?

or Advants Ustralya Fair?

I'm an Advants guy myself. I also like to Dants, I wear Pants, Dislike Frants (as opposed to Frarnce) and like to grow Plants (not plarnts).

I'm a Vic, but I often say Advarnce, Plarnts, Frarnce, carstle, arnswer... but then I say it the other way about as many times. In fact, normally it's kind of a cross between them. Except for castle, that's always carstle. It sounds so blunt the other way.

I was discussing this with my sister the other day, a dance is almost different to a darnce. Dance to me sounds kind of modern, where as darnce sounds like what old people do.

And bombergal, I graff something, but often the end result is a grarrf.

But I'm English dammit, I have an excuse... Don't I?

Been a long time since I've referred to that stuff as stras. It's devon to me.
I've been up here so long that I speak NSW these days - a palace-type building is a "carstle" rather than a "cassle", a sausage covered in batter is a battered sav rather than a pluto pup etc.
But I spell like a Victorian. NSW people use Zs too often. For example, I prefer to live in civilisation rather than civilization.

As for the national anthem, when I'm saying it it's "Advants Australia fair" but when singing it becomes "Advarnts Australia fair." Even now I can still remember a former music teacher from school "You should talk Aussie and sing Pommie" - he himself both talked and sang with an aristocratic plum in his mouth.

Originally posted by FIGJAM

Nah, nothing. I just find it odd that Adelaide folk hang on to such obscure things to identify themselves! I lived there for 5 years and the traditional things that frustrated me were:

Milk Bars are called Delis. Why?

Dance is pronounced Darnce.

The Pie Floater would be alright if it didn't have a Balfours pie in it and there is a signifcantly better Pie stand in Woolomoloo in Sydney!

The Glenelg Tram is considered to be a tourist attraction.

Oakbank is the horse racing highlight of the year!

Fritz is devon/luncheon dammit!

oakbank is the best !

Call it a corner store if you wucken font, but to me a delicatessen deals in fine foods, not Redskins, Porno Mags & Winnie Blues!! :p :p
Trust me on the Winnie Blues ;) :D

Originally posted by Mr Eagle

And for the record, "derby" is pronounced durby, not darby :D
Yes, I got yelled at when I first got here for calling the game the Western DAH-by. I now say DER-by to not attract attention. :)

Taking the urine out of the local Kiwi population also helps to deflect attention. :D

Are there other 'dialects' of Australia? I guess you can kinda tell a Queensland accent, but that's more putting things differently than sounding different, eh?

Hmm...I don't think I could pick any others....maybe I haven't travelled around Australia enough. I only know tourists!

Good thread Easty. I don't think this was the way you intended the thread to go but well done anyway. ;)

My Dad is a South Australian and every time we ever crossed the border we'd get lectured on how to speak properly. The looks my Mum gave my Grandmother and Auntie when being told to how speak properly would have killed. I also appreciated being laughed at by my 7 year old cousin for not saying "plaren't".

What about someone like Chris Grant? It annoys me when Victorians say Chris "Graren't". We'll leave that to the English and the South Australians. ;)

On the fritz, Dad stocks up on it just before we leave. Is it a South Australian thing to have such a thick chunk of it when you eat it or is that just my Dad? :D

As for pie floaters, the less said the better.

Even in SA I get sh1t for saying 'trarnsport'. If you said 'answer' and not 'arnswer' at school you were considered a yank wannabe. Keep your very American-like way of talkin Victoria, I'd rather sound like a Brit.

It seems that a lot of pronunciations used by Eastern Staters are the same as people in the North of England (graff [ie Newcastle] and poool and schoool [ie Liverpool] etc), while SA seems to mirror the South of England.

Don't know why.

I say Chris Grant as Chirs Grarnt
I say Plant as Plarnt
I say France as Frarnce

It all goes back to SA being established by the upper class compared to the other states, arent we good !

I think the accent goes back to early settlement, when there were lots of free settlers, and a lot of Germans, moving to Adelaide. Other cities pretty much all had convicts, so their way of speaking would be more relaxed, more Irish (thus-American sounding) and less British. That's what I reckon.

How about odd words? Any other words (back to the Fritz thread) that are 'foreign' to us over the border?

Originally posted by dogs105
and poool and schoool [ie Liverpool] etc),
Don't know why.

You are right about that. Everytime I go down to Tassie I get bagged for pronouncing school as schooool and pool as pooool.
Both (according to them) are pronounced the same as rule.

Are there other 'dialects' of Australia? I guess you can kinda tell a Queensland accent, but that's more putting things differently than sounding different, eh?

Hmm...I don't think I could pick any others....maybe I haven't travelled around Australia enough. I only know tourists!

People think I'm crazy, but I reckon there is a central New South Wales accent. I have been there many times and listened to the voices of people from there, and they all have this way of speaking. It's kind of, like...particular. I dunno how to express it, but I picked it anyway. Maybe it's just co-incedence :D

and pool? school? what other ways are there of saying these not like 'rule'??? :confused:

Originally posted by BomberGal

and pool? school? what other ways are there of saying these not like 'rule'??? :confused:

Apparently according to Tasmanians, mainlanders or at least Victorians pronounce the words with elongated oooo's. It seems we say pooool and schooool.

But it is true that different parts of Australia have slightly different accents.

Ask Macca.

"Dance" should sound like "pants". I remember getting told off at school for saying dance instead of darnce!

hey i dont say darnce!! I say dants. I do say trarnce however!

Originally posted by Bee

Apparently according to Tasmanians, mainlanders or at least Victorians pronounce the words with elongated oooo's. It seems we say pooool and schooool.

But it is true that different parts of Australia have slightly different accents.

I say Pool and School like poool and schoool. In a few states they say it like Harry Kewell.