Kickett Punches Read

South Mandurah Football Club
got this idea from the adelaide board, thought it was interesting to look back at some of our players over the years who for whatever reason didnt make it, even though they had all the attributes, my nominations are the following:

andrew ship- had all the talent, really looked an exciting player for his first couple of years, then he just dropped away. he was playing in the VFA last i heard, but had let himself blow out a bit. thing i remember about him the most was his awareness. shame he never made it

Paul Maher- was a brilliant wafl CHF, had he not blown out his knee against the crows, the same day as luke toia did, he could have been one of our best ever forwards. footy is cruel that way

Gary Dhurrkay- was a sublimely skilled player, has unfortunately passed, he never reached the heights that his talent probably deserved, i remember a game against collingwood at victoria park, where gary kicked an impossible set shot from a ridiculous angle, showed what class and talent he truly had, in a better side he may have been more of a household name

andrew ship- had all the talent, really looked an exciting player for his first couple of years, then he just dropped away. he was playing in the VFA last i heard, but had let himself blow out a bit. thing i remember about him the most was his awareness. shame he never made it

First guy I thought of when I read your first paragraph. Shippy was one of my favourite players at the time and I reckon he was very hard done by - just stopped getting opportunities as soon as CC took over. I reckon he would have been a Harvey type player too. Very hard at it.

Clem Michael was one we really crapped out on. He would have been an absolute monster of a ruckman if his knee hadn't disintegrated.

Ben Allan, JLo, Haddrill and even Modra were other important players whose full services we were robbed of thanks to injuries. Though in Mods case I think a lack of desire might have had a bit to do with it too.

Dion Woods was another shame. That guy could have become a brilliant player if he hadn't imploded.

Clem still stings, should have been the poster boy for Fremantle in the AFL.

JLo still stings as well.

Most (normal) people take anything said about Clive with a grain of salt, but jeez... he had his fair share of injuries which didn't help at all with his consistency and they also seemed to sap his superpowers a little as he got older.

Robbie Haddrill, Duke Webland, Justin Longmuir, Daniel Haines... the list goes on.

Ben Allan, JLo, Haddrill and even Modra were other important players whose full services we were robbed of thanks to injuries. Though in Mods case I think a lack of desire might have had a bit to do with it to.

Dion Woods was another shame. That guy would have become a brilliant player if he hadn't imploded.

unfortunately some players just dont have the application, woods had a brilliant kick, monkey like arms... just didnt have the desire. :(

ahh robbie haddrill, could have been the best full back in the game... again injuries were not kind. he was a key figure in our brilliant "no-name defence"

I agree with Andrew Shipp, one of my favourites. If I recall the story he went along to Springvale (?) training because his mate wanted to try out. Shipp ended up making the team and got drafted by us the next year. It was a bit out of the blue to be recruiting guys from the VFL/VFA at the time.

His first year was very promising, played smartly, knew when to pass, knew his limitations too. I think injuries and Drum getting the sack pretty much ended his career. I recall when Ben Allen took over as coach he tried Shipp down back and it was a disaster, barely got a look in with Connelly.

One of Shipps best games was one of his last against Bis at the Gabba. We were in front at 3/4 time and Shipp was close to BOG, Leigh Matthews had Aker tagging Shipp but he ended up injured and didnt play the last. Aker then went into the middle and friggin destroyed us. Bris kicked 10-12 goals in that last quarter and ended up a thrashing.

I would hope Ballantyne could end up being the player we hoped Shipp could have been.

Luke Toia (was nicknamed medicare at one point), good Kalgoorlie prospect with all the skills, balance, and toughness. Unfortunately his game worked against him.

Whinston Abraham (I remember that mark at the WACCA at the West end. We were ddirectly in front of it, I think he missed the goal though), he had a good career however he never seemed to play to the level we knew he could consistently for us.

Andrew Browne (he looked like he had the goods, did all the 1 percenters

Andrew Foster - he burst on to the scene and looked like a great goal kicking mid.

Clem and JLo definately the biggest cob's

McPhee?

Clem Michael

Agreed. He always gave us something out of the middle. Even when our midfield was poor. Tremendous skills and he reminded me a LOT of his father who was one of hte best footballers I had ever seen. A REAL pity that he was rucking on a bung knee that was never to get better. Really bummed about him.

An excellent player who never got the chance to show everyone. Especially, those footy supporters that dont follow Freo.

- Clem Michael is the one that always eats away at me, I stand corrected but he would only be about 33 now so could still be playing if fit
- Justin Longmuir, what happened to him just sucks. Him at FF right now with the odd run in the ruck would be the best ruck combo in the league with Sandi
- Robbie Haddrill no frills and hard at it, Mr Reliable when he played
- Dion Woods, as someone else said all the talent but not the desire. I remember Michael Long once saying he was the most naturally talented Aboriginal player in the league

Does anyone remember Dhurrkay kicking a 50m bannana goal from the north/west Subiaco flank in the wet? It was so long ago my memory is probably wrong..

Against Carlton? and it was so dark they had to turn the lights on in the middle of the day?

Brad Dodd: Had a mental first year, then a bad case of 2nd year blues, followed by a knee injury. When he came back, he kicked a few goals in a game, and injured himself again. Career over D:

Against Carlton? and it was so dark they had to turn the lights on in the middle of the day?

Brad Dodd: Had a mental first year, then a bad case of 2nd year blues, followed by a knee injury. When he came back, he kicked a few goals in a game, and injured himself again. Career over D:

Yeah your memory is wrong, Dhurrkays goal that you describe was against St Kilda but yes it was a gem:)

Ben Allan, JLo, Haddrill and even Modra were other important players whose full services we were robbed of thanks to injuries. Though in Mods case I think a lack of desire might have had a bit to do with it too.

Dion Woods was another shame. That guy could have become a brilliant player if he hadn't imploded.

The death of his father was the reason I remember correctly.
Clive getting in his way or jumping over him didn't help.
Micheals,Haddrill and Woods stand out for me.

I agree with Andrew Shipp, one of my favourites. If I recall the story he went along to Springvale (?) training because his mate wanted to try out. Shipp ended up making the team and got drafted by us the next year. It was a bit out of the blue to be recruiting guys from the VFL/VFA at the time.

His first year was very promising, played smartly, knew when to pass, knew his limitations too. I think injuries and Drum getting the sack pretty much ended his career. I recall when Ben Allen took over as coach he tried Shipp down back and it was a disaster, barely got a look in with Connelly.

One of Shipps best games was one of his last against Bis at the Gabba. We were in front at 3/4 time and Shipp was close to BOG, Leigh Matthews had Aker tagging Shipp but he ended up injured and didnt play the last. Aker then went into the middle and friggin destroyed us. Bris kicked 10-12 goals in that last quarter and ended up a thrashing.

I would hope Ballantyne could end up being the player we hoped Shipp could have been.

Shipp - His problem was that after training he used to go around my brother's house and buy a bag of weed. He was a stoner, so was never going to make it professionally. You could see it all over him.

Polak - His name was bandied around a bit as being someone who had the above issues, however this was unsubstantiated as far as the media are concerned, although he's not done yet.

Browne - Anyone know what the F happened with him?

Fabian Francis - Not an AFL couldabeen, but a Docker couldabeen.

Clem Michael - Absolute disaster. Could have been everything for the club.

Justin Longmuir - As above. Right when he got good. He had just become elite and never got to show it.

Collard
- All the talent in the world can't get you a game when you're a ********.

Haddrill - What a performer at FB! Was missed, considering Parker had to go back to playing that role again.

Woods - Dad died, he shut up shop.

Webster - Knee's and Dad dying didn't do him any justice.

Shipp - His problem was that after training he used to go around my brother's house and buy a bag of weed. He was a stoner, so was never going to make it professionally. You could see it all over him.

Well I guess playing out at Lathlain was not the best environment for him. I actually believe a bit of weed is good for footballers, not too much mind you.

Clem Micheal: Career ruined by poor injury management
Clive: Forced to play out of position in a consistently weak side
Dion Woods: All the ability in the world yet lacking the dedication (Tragic death of his father contributed)
Justin Longmuir: See Micheal

Not sure I agree with Shipp and Toia, both tried their guts out but lacked the weapons