Dockers V Weagles -Match Report

Of course. He has grown quite the shaggy do over the summer months.

175220.jpg

How can anyone deny the WA media leans to the Eagles?

Ben McKinley and LeCras booted five goals apiece for the Eagles while Mitch Brown quelled Fremantle skipper Matthew Pavlich and Matt Spangher also put in an eye-catching performance.

Eagles tagger Adam Selwood faces a nervous wait after he was reported in the second quarter for striking Fremantle's Clayton Hinkley.

Hinkley grabbed his face after Selwood swung his left arm across the Docker's body, although Hinkley appeared fine after a free kick was awarded.

West Coast looked dangerous in their forward 50 whenever they breached the Dockers' zone, but getting it in there proved tricky early on.

Daniel Kerr was flattened by Hayden midway through the opening term but the Eagles midfielder shook off the hit to help his side to a slender 26-22 lead at quarter-time.

The Eagles took a one-point lead into halftime but pulled away from the Dockers after the break as LeCras came to life.

The 22-year-old goalsneak kicked two third-quarter goals, while McKinley added two of his own for the term to give West Coast a 13-point advantage entering the final change.

The Eagles surged to a 25-point lead late in the final quarter but just as the game looked done and dusted the Dockers stormed home and stole the win.

Selwood did something in the subiaco end forward pocket to convince me he's not a complete arseh*le.

Hilly went in hard for a contested ball and put his body on the line. He won the ball to advantage but took the hit from Selwood. When he was getting up Selwood patted him on the back.

At least some sportsmanship can be shown between our two teams.

How can anyone deny the WA media leans to the Eagles?

Ben McKinley and LeCras booted five goals apiece for the Eagles while Mitch Brown quelled Fremantle skipper Matthew Pavlich and Matt Spangher also put in an eye-catching performance.

Eagles tagger Adam Selwood faces a nervous wait after he was reported in the second quarter for striking Fremantle's Clayton Hinkley.

Hinkley grabbed his face after Selwood swung his left arm across the Docker's body, although Hinkley appeared fine after a free kick was awarded.

West Coast looked dangerous in their forward 50 whenever they breached the Dockers' zone, but getting it in there proved tricky early on.

Daniel Kerr was flattened by Hayden midway through the opening term but the Eagles midfielder shook off the hit to help his side to a slender 26-22 lead at quarter-time.

The Eagles took a one-point lead into halftime but pulled away from the Dockers after the break as LeCras came to life.

The 22-year-old goalsneak kicked two third-quarter goals, while McKinley added two of his own for the term to give West Coast a 13-point advantage entering the final change.

The Eagles surged to a 25-point lead late in the final quarter but just as the game looked done and dusted the Dockers stormed home and stole the win.
Only Pav, Hayden and Hinkley worthy of a mention, that's a typical slimes article.

Here are my observations from the game last yesterday.

We did win the game and had a great patch where we kicked the nine goals. However the rest of the game was pretty ordinary. At the half way mark through he 4th quarter I was feeling a little numb when it looked as though the eagles had it in the bag. I was thinking that they had not so much won the game but we had lost it.

It is my recollection that the majority of the eagle's goals came from the direct result of poor disposal on our behalf which resulted in give me goals. When I say give me goals- I mean goals where there wasn't a defender in site or we kicked/ handballed it directly to the eagle goal kicker. I recall at one stage we looked as though we were playing the eagles brand of football - over using the handball and putting ourselves into a position through a string of handballs that resulted in more pressure and eventual turnover.

The first half we played the rolling zone and the game was ugly to watch. As mentioned before the eagles were gifted goals when they broke the zone and had 1-2 eagle players all by themselves. Our defenders when zoning were always a good 2-5 meters in front of the eagles forwards. It was similar to the Richmond match. It is heart breaking when you see the ball get delivered into you defence without docker defender in site and the opposition kicking a goal without having to do anything.

I am no expert on zoning football by I would have though that our back line zone would shuffle backwards the same distance that the opposition is moving forward in order to maintain the zone, and I not notice this each time I check out what they were doing. This may be why the eagles broke the zone?

By the second quarter we stopped playing the zone the and the game got better to watch.

We are a long way of from implementing an effective zone defence and we will lose in my opinion more games than not while we try to perfect it.
Harvey certainly continued with playing the guys in different positions. At one point our forward line consisted of what normally would have been our backline.

I think besides schammer, Mundy, palmer, hinkley who played in the middle, and Gilmore who spent the who spent the whole time done back, everyone was rotated through the middle, back and forward.

Here is my observations:

1. Something is up with the Pav. He is all out of sorts. I only noticed him in the quarter and think he did not play in the 2,3 & 4 quarters. He gifted the eagles a goal by centering the ball the top out defensive 50 metres into the hands of an eagle forward. Totally missed a goal you would have expected him to kick. I have watched him in the Freo scratch match, tigers game and this derby and he has been more than unremarkable. Either he is carrying an injury, his loss of weight has unbalanced his kicking ability or he has loss kicking strength or the game has moved beyond where he could play in the centre and should go on a diet of eating burgers and go back to being a power CHF. I concerned because his form is average at present - and that is being kind.

2. Hill - wirra played on him for at least the first quarter and maybe part of the second. Hurn did have him for the second half. Continues to show promise. Getting a manned up by wirra, before even playing a AFL game, shows a lot of respect from an opposition coach. Wirra had the better of him and in my opinion Wirra was close to best on field. When he retires the eagle's back line is going to struggle.

3. Gilly - did not play as bad as everyone on this board keeps suggesting. Yes, he doesn't have a footy brain, however he is a football athlete and his kicking was great. He ran hard, kicked the ball long and effectively on many occasions. I was surprised by his game after the posts of his performance in Canberra.

4. Hayden - fantastic game and freak goal. He is one player who probably could play forward, back and middle. The problem is the is only one of him.

5. Grover - didn't do much up forward, but didn't play much of the game.

6. Ibbo - someone posted that he played? I didn't recollect seeing him.

7. Sandi - was the only Docker who played good old fashion football. He take a mark, move the ball on quickly forward and long to our advantage or he would smash the ball forward, etc When he came back on the field in the final quarter he swung the moment of the game back to Freo.

8. Tarrant - I think in the first quarter he played on Kennedy. Kennedy did nothing so either Kennedy's game was poor or tarrant did alright. To be honest he didn't look too out of place in the back line. But he was not a star by any stretch of the imagination. But he hasn't been a star up forward for us either.

9. Drum - to me he looks like an average defender, which is not what you would want from a top 10 draft pick. I am not sure what they should do with him. Perhaps he will just remain a ok defender.

10. Suban - he played forward, back and in the middle just about like everyone else. He does have a beautiful long kick. I don't expect to much from him in his first year but I think he will develop into one of our better players.

11. Broughton or Pearce? played down back was servicable. Who ever it was made some mistakes by on the whole played a good game.

There are so many new Freo faces on the field I must admit it was hard to work out who was who often (especially when I retreated to the shade of the third tier stand). It really struck me that we had a new look team out there. My eagles mate said even to him it seemed strange not seeing farmer, macca, car brothers, backie, belly out there.
The best positive of the game was we fought back, didn't give up an won. Its been so long since we kicked nine in a quarter, let alone 5 goals in 6 minutes at the pointy end of the game.​

what is exciting for me is that we can play so badly without most of our stars and still get up when down by so much.. again i think that says more about how shizen west coast are than how good we were, but even still it was great to see

broughton had five kicked on him, he looks ok by lecras smashed him, i wouldnt be elevating him on that performance, although he did go hard at it.

walters looks silky, seems to have time and skills.... was unsure about him when we selected him, but i think he could become a player

hill, this kid is a gem, its the first time i have seen him live other than at training, seems to havey robert harvey esk evasion with andrew mcleod excelleration and nice skills as well..... that is a good combo to have

hinkley will win the beacon award this year, he is a champion in the making

clarke, looked ok, definetly a work in progress though.

1. Something is up with the Pav. He is all out of sorts. I only noticed him in the quarter and think he did not play in the 2,3 & 4 quarters. He gifted the eagles a goal by centering the ball the top out defensive 50 metres into the hands of an eagle forward. Totally missed a goal you would have expected him to kick. I have watched him in the Freo scratch match, tigers game and this derby and he has been more than unremarkable. Either he is carrying an injury, his loss of weight has unbalanced his kicking ability or he has loss kicking strength or the game has moved beyond where he could play in the centre and should go on a diet of eating burgers and go back to being a power CHF. I concerned because his form is average at present - and that is being kind.

Pav didn't play against Richmond. He apparently played poorly against the Kangaroo's and he only played a 1/2 against the Eagles. I think he would of had 10 possessions which is a fair effort.

He does still look rusty, but i wouldn't be worried just yet.

Tarrant is the same down back as what he is up front and thats average at best.

Didn't see the game but would take 2 goals in a half a game as a forward, especially with no support from other tall forwards out there, Pavlich and Grover sitting on the pine. You must have some spectacularly below average backmen.

i was a little bit drunk at the game but had a great time explaning to my foreign mates (to the disguist of the simple eagles tool and afew of the legions of grannies) about how the egirls are the evil soulless corporation and that they represent very little.

Two things i clearly remember were that:
1. Kep was great. I had a ball watching him doing all those unco things so effectively.
2. Gilmore stuffed up a lot. and I'm no gilly basher either. He did well to get it alot but made me cringe........ alot.

Surpising that we won really - when you go through the list many didn;t play well or make much of a contribution. A few comments...

Really like Suban, good in traffic and great kick.
Hill just about did a couple of awesome things... even if slightly undersized he will give opponensts plenty of headaches and open up play i reckon. Should play games early.
Gilmore was the best of our ususal headless chooks (Peake and Thornton were indecisive). I think the oppo let these guys (Thornton expecially) carry the ball because he will just run into a dead end and give off a crap handball.
Broughton should be elevated I think. Slightly off the pace but a tough old fashioned player which I think our defence needs.
Mundy was in the centre bounce most times I think - very important player for us now and good things happen when he gets the ball.
Son-son looked a bright spark... good later in the year or next.
Browne just lacks awareness, always seems to get given the ball in bad positions or gets caught up with.
Hinkley - bit worried about his awareness also.
Pav - does look a lot lighter in the legs I think. ususally he stands out from a distance but not anymore, hopefully its for the best. I subscribe to the theory that if its not broken dont "fix" it. Pav has been an awesome power forward, why change it?? Our forward line without him looks a bit light on.
Zone - if all the other teams are playing zone defence perhaps we can play one on one defence. None of the other attacking teams will know how to "break" it as they only know how to break zones this year... lets be different!

Also lets not forget the flag was won by Buddy, Hodge, Mitchell, Roughhead, Rioli, Sewell, Osborne, Young - not the zone. Did Geelong play zone all last year??