Does anyone else think we are almost gone

• Thread starter Thread starter BEEG

Does anybody think that 08 is a ride of because how it is going atm

I love the pies and would love to see us up high in the finals like 08 but cant see us doing anything in the finals let alone making them most of the team is injured

Rocca = Gone
Reid = Gone
Rusling = Gone
Davis = Doesnt look right since the ankle
Burns = Still doesnt look 100%
Didak = Not 100% seems like he will really struggle late in the year
Presti = Cant expect him to get back this year and play good footy
Goldsack = just isnt right no preseason
Fraser = Haha never right but really srtuggling with the knee
Johnson = Out of form

I think if we are struggling late in the season we will put the players in for surgery and get them right for 09 i really think we could pull of a 09 like the Dogs have this year and it wouldnt hurt this year to finish low and get a decent pick

hate to be negative but we are struggling all clubs do when they get injuries

what do you guys think

I love the pies and would love to see us up high in the finals like 08 but cant see us doing anything in the finals let alone making them most of the team is injured

Rocca = Gone
Reid = Gone
Rusling = Gone
Johnson = Out of form

I think if we are struggling late in the season we will put the players in for surgery and get them right for 09 i really think we could pull of a 09 like the Dogs have this year and it wouldnt hurt this year to finish low and get a decent pick

what do you guys think

Obviously havent been watching recent games

We are certainly struggling with injuries at the minute.

But we will be fine. I'm confident we can still go a long way this year. And BTW, Johnson has been pretty good of late.

I don't think we will win the flag, but i wouldn't write off our season either.

Watch in 10 days time if we beat Sydney, people will be back on the bandwagon, regardless of injuries.

If we lose to Sydney and Adelaide, I reckon we're gone.

I hate to say it, but it feels like the year we had to have. Cloke, Thomas, Goldsack and Clarke have struggled. Pendlebury and H Shaw have been down at times. Injuries have killed us, and we haven't had the players to cover them (not an excuse, just a fact).

I'd still like us to sneak into the finals because if we make it, there will be some nervous teams. However, I think we have a very bright future considering the core of 19 to 24 year olds we have.

If we lose to Sydney and Adelaide, I reckon we're gone.

I hate to say it, but it feels like the year we had to have. Cloke, Thomas, Goldsack and Clarke have struggled. Pendlebury and H Shaw have been down at times. Injuries have killed us, and we haven't had the players to cover them (not an excuse, just a fact).

I'd still like us to sneak into the finals because if we make it, there will be some nervous teams. However, I think we have a very bright future considering the core of 19 to 24 year olds we have.

Im actually going up for the Sydney game so i hope we win we match up really well

It just seems like we are having one of those years

Lost to Brisbane and North in average circumstances
Lost to Carlton twice that speaks for itself
and we just cant get players 100% with niggling injuries
3 Forwards are preety much out for the year

We have tried hard with that Magpie spirit that we always bring to the big games but when will it take its toll

swear we have one of these threads after every loss

Listen Idiot

This thread wasnt started because we lost

its Mid year and you can usually can determine how we will go in the last 10 matches and our run home is not easy

I dont think we can make it deep into the finals with all the injuries we have and with this being the last year of the true draft it wont hurt to get a decent pick which we have been punished for as late because we are so competitive

As the way things are going at the moment the outlook doesnt look good. However, as history has shown us, it is these kind of moments which really test the character and strength of the team. There are a number of opportunities for individuals on our list to really stand up and if this happens then I think the next half of the season could be pretty interesting. If the Pies can stand up and not let injuries and 1st half season form get them down, mentally and physically get over what is holding them back then I say watch out. The next 2 or 3 games will be a good indication of how we should go. Win them we may have kick started ourselves. Lose and we can safely say that year 08 isnt our year. But once in finals anything can happen as last year showed us.

I am leaning towards thinking we are in a bit of trouble - not to say we won't make the finals, just that we won't threaten if we do.

Injuries to key talls seems to be the recurring theme and what may ultimately cruel our year.

Rocca, Fraser, Presti, Reid and Rusling. Be more than handy to have all of them up and about.

Won't be the end of the world if we finish mid-table anyway - plenty of young talent and the chance to grab a good youngster with a top 10 pick.

At the end of the day we will struggle in our defence. Clement has left a HUGE HOLE and we need another midfielder.

finish 7th or 8th.

There is no way we are almost gone.......

There is no way we should we writing off the season and tanking.

We can beat any side in the comp on our day.

Alot of teams are in the rebuilding phase atm, anyone in the comp is fair game (Look at North v Hawks last weekend)

Collingwood under MM has never been about our list, its about our run, our pressure and how the almighty MM chooses to set up on game day.

Look at last week, Rhys & Lockyer kick straight and we would have knocked the Doggies over without Cloke & Davis and with Rocca & Reid out of the match. The Dogs looked fragile against us because MM shut down their playmakers, forcing them to go long and high into the forward line, setting us up for constant counter attacks....brilliant!

I think with MM starting to come under real pressure for the first time in nearly a decade at Collingwood, we could have a killer 2nd half. So much rests on MMs preparation and strategy.

As for our injury list:

Goldsack, Presti, Rusling & Reid were not players we were relying on to get us up this year. (Goldsack did have some expectation on him though)

Davis has struggled since his injury and is a concern. (Hopefully wont need surgery though)

Didak & Burns still have the rest of the season to find top form. (Burns against Dees was outstanding) If either of them genuinely needed surgery it would prob spell the end of thier time at the club. Burns: Age , Didak: too much surgery/time playing at 75%

Rocca imo is a loss, but there are some who think our fwd line is more fluid without him. They might have a point.

Fraser may well have let AFL footy get away from him, would be interesting to see how hard he is prepared to work if he doesn't walk straight back into the side. I could smell an early retirement if he spent a bit of time in the VFL 2 half of the year.

We are not that far away, and our team depends more on our game style than the players we throw on the park.

As the way things are going at the moment the outlook doesnt look good. However, as history has shown us, it is these kind of moments which really test the character and strength of the team. There are a number of opportunities for individuals on our list to really stand up and if this happens then I think the next half of the season could be pretty interesting. If the Pies can stand up and not let injuries and 1st half season form get them down, mentally and physically get over what is holding them back then I say watch out. The next 2 or 3 games will be a good indication of how we should go. Win them we may have kick started ourselves. Lose and we can safely say that year 08 isnt our year. But once in finals anything can happen as last year showed us.

Excellent post.:thumbsu: Agree.

Rocca = Gone
Reid = Gone
Rusling = Gone
Johnson = Out of form

what do you guys think

Of course you can't expect Presti to come back and pay good footy this year. When has he ever played good footy in his career ?? He is a goat mate - not sure who is worse him or Maxwell !!!!

There is no way we are almost gone.......

There is no way we should we writing off the season and tanking.

We can beat any side in the comp on our day.

Alot of teams are in the rebuilding phase atm, anyone in the comp is fair game (Look at North v Hawks last weekend)

Collingwood under MM has never been about our list, its about our run, our pressure and how the almighty MM chooses to set up on game day.

Look at last week, Rhys & Lockyer kick straight and we would have knocked the Doggies over without Cloke & Davis and with Rocca & Reid out of the match. The Dogs looked fragile against us because MM shut down their playmakers, forcing them to go long and high into the forward line, setting us up for constant counter attacks....brilliant!

I think with MM starting to come under real pressure for the first time in nearly a decade at Collingwood, we could have a killer 2nd half. So much rests on MMs preparation and strategy.

As for our injury list:

Goldsack, Presti, Rusling & Reid were not players we were relying on to get us up this year. (Goldsack did have some expectation on him though)

Davis has struggled since his injury and is a concern. (Hopefully wont need surgery though)

Didak & Burns still have the rest of the season to find top form. (Burns against Dees was outstanding) If either of them genuinely needed surgery it would prob spell the end of thier time at the club. Burns: Age , Didak: too much surgery/time playing at 75%

Rocca imo is a loss, but there are some who think our fwd line is more fluid without him. They might have a point.

Fraser may well have let AFL footy get away from him, would be interesting to see how hard he is prepared to work if he doesn't walk straight back into the side. I could smell an early retirement if he spent a bit of time in the VFL 2 half of the year.

We are not that far away, and our team depends more on our game style than the players we throw on the park.

You have got to be kidding mate.. 15 other clubs would jump all over Didak - he is a gun and clearly the best player on your list... Hardly think the pies would set him free if he required surgery. You obviously have no F******* idea.... Didak would be in the Top 5 most skilful and innovative players in the AFL, brilliant disposal both sides of the body, great deciosn amker, reads the play quicker than his opponet and a deadly finisher. Yep would be made not to delist him if he needs abit of clean up surgery. Wake up to yourself u should follow the Vixens....

Of course you can't expect Presti to come back and pay good footy this year. When has he ever played good footy in his career ?? He is a goat mate - not sure who is worse him or Maxwell !!!!

Dunno, hard times for defenders at the moment.

Silvagni for example, under the new rules would be forced out of the game on his arse.......Can't chop the arms anymore. Defenders have it much tougher in todays game, it's much harder to cheat your way into an afl career.

You have got to be kidding mate.. 15 other clubs would jump all over Didak - he is a gun and clearly the best player on your list... Hardly think the pies would set him free if he required surgery. You obviously have no F******* idea.... Didak would be in the Top 5 most skilful and innovative players in the AFL, brilliant disposal both sides of the body, great deciosn amker, reads the play quicker than his opponet and a deadly finisher. Yep would be made not to delist him if he needs abit of clean up surgery. Wake up to yourself u should follow the Vixens....

IF he needed surgery that would require him to sit out the rest of the season you wing nut, which was the suggestion of the OP.

Not clean up surgery at the end of the year. ...

Although you are right, im tossing up between the Vixens and Carlton, i think the Vixens might be too hard and tough for me though, they might have too much heart, and they don't cheat enough......

IF he needed surgery that would require him to sit out the rest of the season you wing nut, which was the suggestion of the OP.

Not clean up surgery at the end of the year. ...

Although you are right, im tossing up between the Vixens and Carlton, i think the Vixens might be too hard and tough for me though, they might have too much heart, and they don't cheat enough......

Makes no differnce birdbrain you have no idea - bar Didak being hit my a truck or shot by a bikey -(the later is quite possible considering the company he keeps) there is no way Collingwood would delist him - I have no doubt that if he was to do his knee next game he woul be retained on the list. The boy can play. U on the other hand obviously know very little about the game and would make a very good wing defence - seriously get yourself a Vixens memebership.... There is no way Didak is going anywhere regardless if he needs surgery tomorrow or the next day...

Harris, Rice, Elliott, Pratt

40 years of criminal activity and still going strong

I'm more concerned about our fade-outs than anything else. We lost against Brisbane, North, Carlton (2nd time) and Footscray because we couldn't finish on and we folded like a pack of cards against Hawthorn. I know there were injuries against the doggies but it's just happening too consistently. It's either a lack of fitness or belief and I favour the former (because of that idiotic SA/Dubai debacle - rather than the Arizona trip that had worked so well for us in recent years).

Still, I'm pessimistic by nature - so there's still hope. I gave them away for the year after the 1st Carlton loss and they then produced some terrific footy over the next four weeks. Here's hoping it will happen again - difficult though with our tough draw and injuries (not to mention our inability to close games out).

You are right, adzarani clearly has no clue, why the hell would we get rid of one of our best players, if not our best, just because he had surgery to get his body right, especially after we kept him after the whole biker thing. I guess he would prefer us to play him half fit so can make the injury worse. Besides even if we tried to trade him we probably value him at the same as the Judd deal last year. We do have a history of overvaluing our players.