Strategy Does Cyril Play?

• Thread starter Thread starter Move P

Does Cyril Play?

Could have held his piece for him. No need for him to exert more effort than needed pre-game.

I surprised with the attention on him this week that he would go to the shopping centre.

Hahah My hands were already full.

He was shopping with the Mrs.......more therapeutic than sitting in the house.

Can't fathom why we would play Cyril. I get that he was one of the few that turned the 2008 GF on its head, 6 years ago. He's also gone missing before including 2012 when Smith decimated him. So why would he suddenly reverse that match-up in a situation where he's not played for two months? Madness.

Can see much better reasons for including Sewell, who I don't think is at his peak anymore but still guarantees you a hell-bent contest every time and has been consistently good on the big stage. Also can see arguments why you would and wouldn't include folks like Suckling, Ceglar etc.

But the Cyril one is almost defeatist - ie. we can't win unless Cyril magically comes back from the dead and plays a blinder? Really?! I'd rather worry about more hard bodies in the contest and what we're doing in defence. Existing team minus Cyril has no problem kicking lots of goals if we're getting the ball down there.

Can't fathom why we would play Cyril. I get that he was one of the few that turned the 2008 GF on its head, 6 years ago. He's also gone missing before including 2012 when Smith decimated him. So why would he suddenly reverse that match-up in a situation where he's not played for two months? Madness.

Can see much better reasons for including Sewell, who I don't think is at his peak anymore but still guarantees you a hell-bent contest every time and has been consistently good on the big stage. Also can see arguments why you would and wouldn't include folks like Suckling, Ceglar etc.

But the Cyril one is almost defeatist - ie. we can't win unless Cyril magically comes back from the dead and plays a blinder? Really?! I'd rather worry about more hard bodies in the contest and what we're doing in defence. Existing team minus Cyril has no problem kicking lots of goals if we're getting the ball down there.

Did Cyril really play a blinder in 2008 ? it was a defensive contest on the wing that turned the game on its head. That's what he can still offer.
Also he did kick a nice goal roving off the pack running into an open goal. We know how damaging he is with the pill, but there is more to his game than ball in hand, its his defensive work that also makes him oh so valuable, enough to make any Sydney backmen nervous with the pill in hand. Cyril also takes a very good player with him, which means someone else gets off the chain. if you're a Sydney defender, and you decide to run of him, you do so at a massive risk.

The question should be 'can we win without Cyril?'.
My answer is a big YES, so I would not risk him.
Despite all the talk I believe our best is better than theirs - even without Cyril.

Mitchell put it into context in his presser yesterday. The important thing for the players and coaches is that he is fit enough to play his role properly. If he can then he will probably play. If not, he won't. Of course if he can play his role then his magic touch gives him the edge over others vying for the position.

The question should be 'can we win without Cyril?'.
My answer is a big YES, so I would not risk him.
Despite all the talk I believe our best is better than theirs - even without Cyril.

i agree with this...and the longer this week drags on, i think this is what will happen....

if we dont play him and lose....i doubt we will be saying, "if only we'd risked Cyril"...our best is good enough with or without the great man...he will not be the difference playing or not playing....

if he doesnt play - and nick smith goes to Bruest -- is that perhaps a greater risk to take?
I reckon yes. Breust was possibly in career best form in that game. Has been very quiet the last few weeks and could benefit from having the second best small defender - of which there isn't really one. If Rioli plays then Nick Smith goes to one of them and the other has a very good chance of bobbing up for 3 goals on a lesser defender.

I reckon if we lose it not be because of Cyril and his dodgy hammies, but there could be a good chance that if we win he has had a hand in it with a 5 minute burst of brilliance.

Given his 12 weeks off and three quarters at Box Hill at half pace, I cant see him coming in. Not even as sub.
If a defender or mid goes down early, we just wont be able to cover it. Even a forward goes down , he's gotta be able to run both ways all day.

I reckon yes. Breust was possibly in career best form in that game. Has been very quiet the last few weeks and could benefit from having the second best small defender - of which there isn't really one. If Rioli plays then Nick Smith goes to one of them and the other has a very good chance of bobbing up for 3 goals on a lesser defender.

If it wasn't for this factor, I'd answer no, but this alone is massive. Having two small forwards like Breust and Cyril in will make their running defenders think twice about streaming forward when they win the ball in the backline - a turnover in the middle of the ground would leave Sydney highly expose if their runners choose to leave Cyril or Breust. Their rebound from the backline was the main factor in our loss in 2012, and if Cyril in would partly curtail that, I think it is worth the risk. That and the second defender to either Breust or Cyril is enough to sway it to a yes for mine. Having said that, this is based on the assumption that the fitness staff have actually tested Cyril sprinting at 100%. I think we can carry him if his endurance is down, but not if he can't go 100% in short bouts when he needs to, as explosiveness is a big part of what makes him dangerous. If he can't do that, then we are taking a player who is both underdone AND not fully recovered from injury (not quite the same thing), and in that case I'd vote no.

Struth....I seem to remember starting a similar thread only last week about Sewell & Spangher only to have it canned....Some consistency would be nice mods!

In ATQ....Does a bear shit in the woods?!!!

Harden up....who really gives a sh*t.
Its all about Cyril.

Harden up....who really gives a sh*t.

I expect better than this from you!....No one asked whether you or anyone else give a shit or not....The fact I need to point this out to you combined with your need to post such garbage does you no favours!

Likewise....I also expected better from you, the fact that you felt the need to winge about a thread that was either deleted or merged over a week ago says that you really need to get over yourself.
This is now about Cyril the Grand Final and Hawthorn......think bigger picture, who cares about a thread from over a week ago.

Not a nice look mate. There are no hard and fast rules here. Lighten up and enjoy the week.

He plays for mine. I fully expect a high scoring game, rather than a defensive slog. Both games between these sides in round 8 and 18 were both won 15 goals to 13.

We need 15 goals. Cyril creates goals. It's a no brainer. We're going to bleed goals on the overlap anyway, I don't see Cyril's lack of puff causing anymore of those goals than what he can create.

Likewise....I also expected better from you, the fact that you felt the need to winge about a thread that was either deleted or merged over a week ago says that you really need to get over yourself.
This is now about Cyril the Grand Final and Hawthorn......who cares about a thread from over a week ago.

I believe the point was one of consistency sweet-heart!....But don't let principles get in the way of your dribble!

Once again, we know this thread is about Cyril, Ta for pointing that out Sherlock!

Not a nice look mate. There are no hard and fast rules here. Lighten up and enjoy the week.

Cheers for the aesthetical & gravitational advice sport...I'll reserve my right of reply all the same.

I believe the point was one of consistency sweet-heart!....But don't let principles get in the way of your dribble!

Once again, we know this thread is about Cyril, Ta for pointing that out Sherlock!

Ohhh precious....would it make you feel better if this thread was either deleted or merged.