centrelink1

Suspended
Wigan Athletic
Essendon fan here in peace. I really like Richmond, but it's easier for me to view objectively than it would be for most on here. I'd like to stress calm, as the positive steps your club is taking are evident, and in the end, round 1 is never a true indicator of anything.

I also found when Carlton hit you on the break, something that was really damaging last season, the defensive structure in place was far more evident, and actually effective. I lost count of how many times Carlton pumped the ball in long to almost no effect.

Again, clear steps in the right direction, and I urge you all to stay positive.

midfield got smashed tho, and the inside 50's and centre clearances clearly showed a one-sided affair. Were quite lucky they kicked so many points and we were very acurate converting shots on goal, with us at 11.1 at one stage.

overall not too concerned, while I think carlton should have put us away much earlier, we were also only 1 goal away from taking the game when scores were 73 to 84 our way, the next goal at that point was the momentum decider IMO.

Your mids couldnt get in the game Martin had a bad one when he gets more of it he will be damaging.

If I was a Carlton supporter id be worried.

@ OP, cheers nice to see another support of another team come in here and say someting positive :thumbsu:

lucky they didnt put us away and we almost took it from them, pity we didnt, but thats just how it turned out. encouraging sign and hope we can sort out some more play before next week with the saints!

Your mids couldnt get in the game Martin had a bad one when he gets more of it he will be damaging.

I wouldn't. They won comfortably in their opener despite kicking about 80 one pointers. If they had had their shooting boots on they would have won by 50.

Take the leading ball-winner/clearance dude out of any midfield, it'll take a bit of replacing. Might take a little while for others to step up in Tuck's abscence.

Lots of good signs IMHO.
Probably 2 or 3 who really didn't play well; but the vast majority (including the 3 debutante kids) did reasonably well. Conca very good signs, sees it really well, Rance didn't do badly IMHO, Vickery looks much more dangerous, & so on. Far more good than bad.

I was happy with the effort. Midfield was flat in the first half and will be better for the run. Foley was sick as well so that didn't help

If I was a Cartlon supporter I would be very disappointed.

What can they really take out of the game as a positive with the exception of the 4 points? Although they did deserve to win (though we should not have lost from 3/4 time), the final margin simply reflected three quick goals at the end when the Tigers had all dropped their heads.

Their gun onballers did well, but that was always to be expected.

On tonight's performance they will be very lucky to make the finals.

To be honest i think all AFL fans are far too quick to look at games and dismiss victory by asking "what can the winners take out of the game" as if the losers can take more.

Footy games are about winning and losing. Carlton take a win against an ancient rival, 4 points, a positive percentage. Richmond take a defeat, zilch points and a negative percentage.

Carlton won. We lost........as usual.

Your boys were very honest for most of last night with the exception of a couple of lapses at the start and finish of the match. IMO, you were harder at the ball than Carlton for the majority of the night.

How good would it have been to have a second viable forward option aside from Reiwoldt? I think the lack of another serious forward option is probably what cost you the win last night.

Stick tight, in 18 months time you will be beating Carlton. You have the bones of a very good side assembled, now all you have to do is add some meat.

Some of our better players were quiet (Martin, Deledio, Cotch) and we still hung around. Good signs IMO and in no way am I discouraged.

Thing thats annoying is our next 3 games are very tough and we will more than likely be 0-4. Confidence killer there.

To be honest i think all AFL fans are far too quick to look at games and dismiss victory by asking "what can the winners take out of the game" as if the losers can take more.

Footy games are about winning and losing. Carlton take a win against an ancient rival, 4 points, a positive percentage. Richmond take a defeat, zilch points and a negative percentage.

Carlton won. We lost........as usual.

Head up mate.

we still haven't got our forward line together yet due to injuries to Post and Griffiths.

Nason wasn't playing.

Taylor still to prove his worth and Foley had gastro.

Yes they kicked poorly and let us in but what Richmond did in the 3rd quarter was very impressive.

I was thinking at the half time break we'd get blown away.

Another great thing was that our 3 kids all had really good games on debut especially Conca.

He looked at home out there.

We just need to share the goals more instead of Jack doing all the work.

We will get there believe me.

This year is like last year.

I think our kicking tackling and general play has improved greatly from the same time last year.

Just watch our side develop and enjoy the ride.

P.S. I know Nahas gets bagged all the time in here but he gave 110 percent last night.

Good on you Nahas!

Some of our better players were quiet (Martin, Deledio, Cotch) and we still hung around. Good signs IMO and in no way am I discouraged.

Thing thats annoying is our next 3 games are very tough and we will more than likely be 0-4. Confidence killer there.

I think it's great we are getting 3 top teams to practice with.

After those games,it will get easier for us.

We might get blown away but it is good development for the youngsters.

..as others have said, still a very young/raw tigers team you have and the game conditions upped the difficulty factor i thought..

..serious question here, and i can really relate.. ..drove me crazy last season with gibbs off hbf.. ..why is lids used the way he is..?.. ..too unaccountable as a defender.. ..personally i reckon you need a defender than can run and create.. .. ..not a linebreaking mid that cant defend well.. ..you'd play better with lids on-ball i reckon.. ..yet seems a lot of coaches go for using a mid as their creative halfback, which i believe is risky if said mid isnt a tight accountable player..

Another player who sometimes cops it, White,also played a terrific game.
Made some errors, but completely took Yarran out of the game and Yarran had been going well during preseason.

If I was a Cartlon supporter I would be very disappointed.

What can they really take out of the game as a positive with the exception of the 4 points? Although they did deserve to win (though we should not have lost from 3/4 time), the final margin simply reflected three quick goals at the end when the Tigers had all dropped their heads.

Their gun onballers did well, but that was always to be expected.

On tonight's performance they will be very lucky to make the finals.

-
come on now, take out the full back, CHB, CHF & full forward as well as a kruz type of player from any team & what happens ? it gets close. In all honesty if we had kicked straight & you guys had kicked at least 2 or 3 points instead of straight shooting up to half time it wouldve been 10 goals plus, we wouldve been flying with confidence & your young team would've been a bit deflated.

I'll say that at least your now on the path to getting better, good coach finally & good recruits but it'll take a season or two still.

At least it was a good, close-ish game & think both teams can take something out of it. personnally dont think the blues are as bad as some like to make out, especially with those outs considered.

Look forward to more even battles with the traditional foe as your mob gets better over the next years, wonder who'd be a better grand final foe, pies or tiges ?

ctacp
curlier than a catoggio pube

Judd was the difference, superstar. Cotchin has more class than Gibbs or Murphy, and Richmond have more to look forward to than Carlton who have too many dinosaurs like Thornton, Simpson and Scotland, and too much inconsistency from stuttering 'stars' like Betts and Garlett. With so much noise about the Blues outs, it seems their fans are nervous already. The Tigers were exciting and fantastic with so much to look forward too, great effort boys! And we also found some excellent new blood in Houli, Griggs, Batchelor, Astbury, and Helbig. Oh, and may I say young Rance announced himself as a potential champion defender of the club, well done son! Cleaning up Waite was a dream come true.
Go Tigers!:thumbsu:

Cant remember who he was playing on but he shut him down the whole game :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yarran

Nice to see him have an accountable and negating role and do it well. Be interesting to see whether hardwick gives him a simlilar role in future games.

..as others have said, still a very young/raw tigers team you have and the game conditions upped the difficulty factor i thought..

..serious question here, and i can really relate.. ..drove me crazy last season with gibbs off hbf.. ..why is lids used the way he is..?.. ..too unaccountable as a defender.. ..personally i reckon you need a defender than can run and create.. .. ..not a linebreaking mid that cant defend well.. ..you'd play better with lids on-ball i reckon.. ..yet seems a lot of coaches go for using a mid as their creative halfback, which i believe is risky if said mid isnt a tight accountable player..

Hopefully Batchelor replaces Lids to release him back into the middle.