Don't want, (or need) to start a new thread - still want to post it though

Just found this "gem" on the "best AFL rumour you have ever heard".

"ex-Carlton wingman David Glascott bought a chimpanzee in the late 80s and trained it to w*nk him off. He brought it to parties in a cage hidden under a cloth, bringing it out at the end of the night to perform their 'special trick.' He also lent (prostituted?) the monkey to teammates. The club hierarchy weren't too impressed & that's why he moved to Frankston in 1991."

Jeebus!!!

"ex-Carlton wingman David Glascott bought a chimpanzee in the late 80s and trained it to w*nk him off. He brought it to parties in a cage hidden under a cloth, bringing it out at the end of the night to perform their 'special trick.' He also lent (prostituted?) the monkey to teammates. The club hierarchy weren't too impressed & that's why he moved to Frankston in 1991."

Jeebus!!!

I was in Frankston in 1991. Days of recession, inebriation, listlessness...just like 2020 but a different postcode.

Anyway, as charming as the rumour is I can't help but be skeptical about it. The arrival of such a w***er would have been common knowledge in that lovely little township, and the chimp would have occasioned some comment as well, but I don't recall hearing about either of them.

I was in Frankston in 1991. Days of recession, inebriation, listlessness...just like 2020 but a different postcode.

Anyway, as charming as the rumour is I can't help but be skeptical about it. The arrival of such a w***er would have been common knowledge in that lovely little township, and the chimp would have occasioned some comment as well, but I don't recall hearing about either of them.
I was in Frankston for most of the later 70s. In retrospect, it's a bit of a black hole in my life. I certainly recall the inebriation, and to a lesser extent the listlessness, which probably says more about my lifestyle and age than the town itself. What you euphemistically describe as a 'lovely little township' was hardly the sprawling mess of poverty, affluence, suburbanites and bogans that I recall a decade earlier.

For entertainment there were hotels on 3 corners of an intersection and a police station a stone's throw away staffed by young cops whose aggressive disdain for the public gave the force a bad name. Lots of the townsfolk were of English derivation and the Pines commission area between Frankston and Seaford comprised some of the wildest kids I ever taught.

Frankston had a varied population but the town was always considered a bit of a backwater where the wearing of moccasins, smelly sneakers and tracky dacks was de rigueur. A train journey into the city seemed life threatening due to the calibre of people who hung around the entrance or rode the trains. No wonder Dave is not allowed to use public transport there at night. But I was teaching at a progressive school with a committed but social group of teachers and felt insulated from the general milieu. I've lived in worse places.

I was in Frankston for most of the later 70s. In retrospect, it's a bit of a black hole in my life. I certainly recall the inebriation, and to a lesser extent the listlessness, which probably says more about my lifestyle and age than the town itself. What you euphemistically describe as a 'lovely little township' was hardly the sprawling mess of poverty, affluence, suburbanites and bogans that I recall a decade earlier.

For entertainment there were hotels on 3 corners of an intersection and a police station a stone's throw away staffed by young cops whose aggressive disdain for the public gave the force a bad name. Lots of the townsfolk were of English derivation and the Pines commission area between Frankston and Seaford comprised some of the wildest kids I ever taught.

Frankston had a varied population but the town was always considered a bit of a backwater where the wearing of moccasins, smelly sneakers and tracky dacks was de rigueur. A walk through the train station was life threatening due to the calibre of people who hung around the entrance. No wonder Dave is not allowed to use public transport there at night. But I was teaching at a progressive school with a committed but social group of teachers and felt insulated from the general milieu. I've lived in worse places.

I grew up there, off the Nepean Hwy and just out of the business district. I wouldn't say I love the place, but being born and raised in a place gives you some sort of connection to it. I still dream of the house we lived in --a weatherboard shithole-- every night, and I wake up feeling like I've lost something and wonder how I can get it back. A lost world, and I tell you without a shadow of a lie that I've never felt as at peace with the world as I did at Frankston beach. A long stretch of beach, wide sand, beautiful water, and just floating and gazing up at Oliver's Hill as if I was taking a dip in the Mediterranean.

There were a lot of kids in Frankston, and plenty of them --near where I lived, also in Kananook and Frankston North/Pines-- came from unsteady homes. I was a bit of a loner in early childhood, occupied my own mental universe, but this left me vulnerable to a few beatings along the way. But I grew up, found friends, and started to deal with the challenges of dickheads a bit better. Some might say I became a bit of a dickhead myself...

Things in the 70s and 80s weren't flash, and parts of it was frankly unhinged, but it was then and remains now a fundamentally decent place.

A progressive school with a committed group of teachers? I'll take a guess and say you taught at Frankston High.

I grew up there, off the Nepean Hwy and just out of the business district. I wouldn't say I love the place, but being born and raised in a place gives you some sort of connection to it. I still dream of the house we lived in --a weatherboard shithole-- every night, and I wake up feeling like I've lost something and wonder how I can get it back. A lost world, and I tell you without a shadow of a lie that I've never felt as at peace with the world as I did at Frankston beach. A long stretch of beach, wide sand, beautiful water, and just floating and gazing up at Oliver's Hill as if I was taking a dip in the Mediterranean.

There were a lot of kids in Frankston, and plenty of them --near where I lived, also in Kananook and Frankston North/Pines-- came from unsteady homes. I was a bit of a loner in early childhood, occupied my own mental universe, but this left me vulnerable to a few beatings along the way. But I grew up, found friends, and started to deal with the challenges of dickheads a bit better. Some might say I became a bit of a dickhead myself...

Things in the 70s and 80s weren't flash, and parts of it was frankly unhinged, but it was then and remains now a fundamentally decent place.

A progressive school with a committed group of teachers? I'll take a guess and say you taught at Frankston High.
I actually taught at Ballam Park Tech in the Karingal estate. I did teaching rounds there and loved the school so much I returned there 2 years later after an initial posting to Mildura. Because I showed no preference for tech or high schools, as an English teacher I was shunted immediately into the tech system which was desperate for qualified English teachers. I never left for high schools till the cessation of techs in 1990 gave me no choice but to move into secondary schools. I moved into student welfare and my last tech school posting in St Albans gave me plenty of opportunity to put my caring skills into effect. I actually left for overseas at that point rather than leave the comfort of tech schools and spent 6 years in Bangkok where I landed probably my best job ever at a large British international school.

In 1981, the year after I left, Ballam Park Tech was the Frankston school chosen to host a visit by the queen. The route through which she passed was given a $40000 face lift - signs removed from toilet doors (lest she be offended by the word 'toilet' or 'boys' and 'girls'?), walls were painted, railings added and brass knobs affixed to doors. Years later it was still possible to follow the course of the Queen's journey through the school because of the fancy fixtures and relatively fresh coats of paint.

The school was eventually closed due to changing demographics. I enjoyed teaching there, so much so that being paid just seemed like an added bonus. The school had purchased an old church site with a little hall equipped with a pot bellied stove set in farming country short of Bairnsdale. We had two 22 seater buses and I got a truck/bus licence. With class sizes of 20, the bus transported a form group (generally year 7s as that was my preferred pastoral group level) and a female teacher on camps where the kids would pitch tents and sit around a blazing camp fire at night playing truth and dare, doing night hikes and talking about their lives. In the daytime we'd go swimming in the river or hike into the nearby Glenaladale national park. It was kind of idyllic and I formed a close bond with the students through those experiences.

Because of a lack of teacher volunteers, I coached the year 7 football team and would bus them around to matches. I knew little about the skills of team football, but somehow one year the boys were runners up in the state lightning premiership competition. The opposition only won because there was a howling wind ploughing down the length of the oval, and the opposition coach who was time keeping gave his team an extra 10 minutes with the wind. Everyone knew they had won through cheating. As we drove off, my boys booed the opposition through the windows, and though I feebly attempted to hush them, I was secretly in chorus with their sentiments. To this day, I find it hard to believe that teachers would use such underhand tactics to be victors in a junior footy match.

Frankston council had an active team of youth workers who ran camps for underprivileged kids in the school holidays. My American teaching mate and I (still my closest friend) recruited likely candidates from our school and of course a lot of the participants were from the Pines' area. The stories they told of their home lives were horrifying and their behaviour could be pretty wild, but it says a lot for the camps that we willingly gave up 5 days of each holiday break to go away with the groups. Regulations were lax in those days. You could conduct all sorts of activities without the need to have a person with a bronze medallion or level 2 first aid certificate present, or complete and submit a briefcase full of forms. Life was carefree and fun.

I always associated Oliver's Hill with Graeme Kennedy and his house atop the rise. Frankston pier was a great spot from which to fish or leap into the waters below, and as you say, gaze back on the hill and think of the course life might have taken had you chosen a more lucrative profession. It was a pleasant place to live and work though most of us moved on to other places. I got the travel bug and spent 20 years floating around Asia, working along the way in Japan, Cambodia and Thailand, but returning for teaching stints in Melbourne. Though Frankston seemed a bland kind of environment towards the end of my time there, I cannot recall a more satisfying time professionally or socially.

I actually taught at Ballam Park Tech in the Karingal estate. I did teaching rounds there and loved the school so much I returned there 2 years later after an initial posting to Mildura. Because I showed no preference for tech or high schools, as an English teacher I was shunted immediately into the tech system which was desperate for qualified English teachers. I never left for high schools till the cessation of techs in 1990 gave me no choice but to move into secondary schools. I moved into student welfare and my last tech school posting in St Albans gave me plenty of opportunity to put my caring skills into effect. I actually left for overseas at that point rather than leave the comfort of tech schools and spent 6 years in Bangkok where I landed probably my best job ever at a large British international school.

In 1981, the year after I left, Ballam Park Tech was the Frankston school chosen to host a visit by the queen. The route through which she passed was given a $40000 face lift - signs removed from toilet doors (lest she be offended by the word 'toilet' or 'boys' and 'girls'?), walls were painted, railings added and brass knobs affixed to doors. Years later it was still possible to follow the course of the Queen's journey through the school because of the fancy fixtures and relatively fresh coats of paint.

The school was eventually closed due to changing demographics. I enjoyed teaching there, so much so that being paid just seemed like an added bonus. The school had purchased an old church site with a little hall equipped with a pot bellied stove set in farming country short of Bairnsdale. We had two 22 seater buses and I got a truck/bus licence. With class sizes of 20, the bus transported a form group (generally year 7s as that was my preferred pastoral group level) and a female teacher on camps where the kids would pitch tents and sit around a blazing camp fire at night playing truth and dare, doing night hikes and talking about their lives. In the daytime we'd go swimming in the river or hike into the nearby Glenaladale national park. It was kind of idyllic and I formed a close bond with the students through those experiences.

Because of a lack of teacher volunteers, I coached the year 7 football team and would bus them around to matches. I knew little about the skills of team football, but somehow one year the boys were runners up in the state lightning premiership competition. The opposition only won because there was a howling wind ploughing down the length of the oval, and the opposition coach who was time keeping gave his team an extra 10 minutes with the wind. Everyone knew they had won through cheating. As we drove off, my boys booed the opposition through the windows, and though I feebly attempted to hush them, I was secretly in chorus with their sentiments. To this day, I find it hard to believe that teachers would use such underhand tactics to be victors in a junior footy match.

Frankston council had an active team of youth workers who ran camps for underprivileged kids in the school holidays. My American teaching mate and I (still my closest friend) recruited likely candidates from our school and of course a lot of the participants were from the Pines' area. The stories they told of their home lives were horrifying and their behaviour could be pretty wild, but it says a lot for the camps that we willingly gave up 5 days of each holiday break to go away with the groups. Regulations were lax in those days. You could conduct all sorts of activities without the need to have a person with a bronze medallion or level 2 first aid certificate present, or complete and submit a briefcase full of forms. Life was carefree and fun.

I always associated Oliver's Hill with Graeme Kennedy and his house atop the rise. Frankston pier was a great spot from which to fish or leap into the waters below, and as you say, gaze back on the hill and think of the course life might have taken had you chosen a more lucrative profession. It was a pleasant place to live and work though most of us moved on to other places. I got the travel bug and spent 20 years floating around Asia, working along the way in Japan, Cambodia and Thailand, but returning for teaching stints in Melbourne. Though Frankston seemed a bland kind of environment towards the end of my time there, I cannot recall a more satisfying time professionally or socially.

I admit that the tech school in Karingal didn't enter my head when you mentioned 'progressive'. I had an uncle only 10 years older than me who, if I remember right, was a student there in the late 70s/early 80s, and he's about as progressive as Genghis Khan. I recall some ripples of tragedy at his school at around that time, when a truck working on a construction project accidentally knocked over and killed one of the students. My uncle witnessed it, made a submission to an inquest.

Or it might have been Monterey in Frankston North, which is where most of my family went to school in earlier days, but I don't think so. In any case my uncle wasn't the sort of person I ever pressed for details.

Frankston Pier was great. As a kid, the important thing was to stash your BMX somewhere well away from the pier, because some rough types made a habit of pushing people from their wheels and tossing the bikes off the end. Beyond that, I happily spent many days jumping into the deep.

I admit that the tech school in Karingal didn't enter my head when you mentioned 'progressive'. I had an uncle only 10 years older than me who, if I remember right, was a student there in the late 70s/early 80s, and he's about as progressive as Genghis Khan. I recall some ripples of tragedy at his school at around that time, when a truck working on a construction project accidentally knocked over and killed one of the students. My uncle witnessed it, made a submission to an inquest.

Or it might have been Monterey in Frankston North, which is where most of my family went to school in earlier days, but I don't think so. In any case my uncle wasn't the sort of person I ever pressed for details.

Frankston Pier was great. As a kid, the important thing was to stash your BMX somewhere well away from the pier, because some rough types made a habit of pushing people from their wheels and tossing the bikes off the end. Beyond that, I happily spent many days jumping into the deep.
That incident occured while I was teaching there. At lunchtime, a year 7 boy ran to get a ball, fell over, and had his head squashed under the rear wheels of a cement mixing truck that was reversing on a building site on the school grounds. The first I knew of it was an announcement over the school PA for all staff to go to the area adjacent to it where we formed a barrier to prevent students seeing the body. The boy's sister had witnessed the accident too. Many students (i.e. just about every student in the school) evaded the staff barrier and ran in to see what had occured.

Despite the fact that students who had been with the boy could vouch for his identity, a school assembly was immediately held and students were divided into form groups and teachers checked off who was present so that a positive identification could be made. I well remember my class directly after lunch and the different reactions of students. Some were laughing, others crying and a couple of students vomited out of windows. I cannot recall the boy's name now because I didn't teach him (Peter something?). It is a day that stands out in my memory, particularly for the mix of reactions among the students to the boy's death. I realised then that there are a myriad of ways in which children cope with death.

The inquiry laid a large part of the blame on the construction company as a reversing truck was meant to have someone bearing a flag walking in front of it. Fortunately the teacher who was meant to be on yard duty was present though otherwise occupied or the school would have been deemed liable. The funeral hearse passed through the school car park with the entire school population standing at attention either side as the vehicle passed through.

PM me your uncle's name if that's OK because he was definitely a student when I was there.

Jeebus!!!
If you replaced David Glascott with Jon Dorotich I could almost believe this.

i'm sure many of the frankston boys look back fondly at their first steps to engage other cultures ... such as travelling to broadmeadows to test their skills in other jurisdictions. You really have to feel for young lads being tied down by the lockdown, limiting their prospects at personal development.

1) ???
2) 26 Letters of the Alphabet
3) 7 Days of the Week
4) 7 Wonders of the World
5) 12 Signs of the Zodiac
6) ???
7) 11 Players in a Cricket Team
8) 5 Fingers in a Hand ??
9) ???
10) 29 Days in February in Leap Year
6) 52 cards in a pack
9) 206 bones in the body

EDIT: Had to look up 1) 90 degrees in a right angle.

1) ???
2) 26 Letters of the Alphabet
3) 7 Days of the Week
4) 7 Wonders of the World
5) 12 Signs of the Zodiac
6) ???
7) 11 Players in a Cricket Team
8) 5 Fingers in a Hand ??
9) ???
10) 29 Days in February in Leap Year
6) 52 cards in a pack
9) 206 bones in the body

EDIT: Had to look up 1) 90 degrees in a right angle.
Smartarses! I suppose you both consider yourselves geniuses now. I looked at Maggie's puzzle and my immediate reaction was that I needed to ease up on the whisky and sodas, then you guys made it look so easy. Of course, I am sure I would have got the answers if I had made an effort to work through the list myself! :drunk:

Now?!

The Gimp is an expert about line 5.
The Gimp is expert about a lot of things. He was no doubt otherwise occupied when Maggie posed that puzzle last night - perhaps in bed! Otherwise I am certain that 35Daicos and the spider wouldn't have been the posters gloating over their mensa-speed responses.

I have a friend in Malaysia who keeps sending me these puzzles, memes, and articles. She is such a go getter and continually on the move and normally wouldn't have time for this type of thing so she really is bored. Whatsapp is going crazy.:)

Unfortunately notifications for whatsapp don't show on my phone so I have numerous items to sift through when I do check it. People trying to cheer me up and stuff like that.