List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Cheers. Agree not everything is about stats however it's a strong part of decision making especially when investing a top 10 pick.

Tananto averaging 26 touches & a goal a game is far superior to Vennables output. I realise there's a few factors you've mentioned here & on Twitter. But still, picking Taranto ahead of Vennables is a no-brainer for me.
Maybe.

There's plenty that would agree either way though; its that kind of draft.

Maybe.

There's plenty that would agree either way though; its that kind of draft.

Just reading Cal Twomey's new article about potential pick 1's, Scrimshaw got a mention. Not really about being a no.1 pick more about a recuiter saying he's got that sort of potential. Reads a bit like Bontempelli ....
Except that Bont was always a midfielder - he just grew - and Scrimshaw has never been.

Correct me if I'm wrong but at TAC level wasn't Bont more a utility that cut his teeth as a mid only at school footy?
One thing about scrimshaw is he defiantly athletic enough to slot in the guts has the step and agility of someone like Gresham or a much smaller player super overhead as well

Correct me if I'm wrong but at TAC level wasn't Bont more a utility that cut his teeth as a mid only at school footy?
I definitely saw him play on ball at NK.

You're spot on mate, for Vic Metro he was used off half back and half forward. Wasn't consistent enough to break into Metro's midfield rotation. Wasn't until late in the TAC Cup season that he was moved into the midfield for the Knights.
At the time just by watching the U/18 championships, I wanted the Bulldogs to draft Aish if Billings was off the board for the Dogs.

Just an off topic statement, I was down at Sandy the other week for our premiership reunion. And Richo loves the look of Brenton Payne as a CHB. With a bit of uncertainty around Goddard, the club reckons this kid has a chance to hold down the backline with Carlisle when he builds up a tank. They reckon if he was on the senior list he would have played before Goddard. If he keeps on improving at VFL level for the remainder of the year he may even get elevated this season.

Love payne! Such a nice bloke and easy to talk to.

Awesome.

Great to hear :thumbsu:

I've heard this year is very even amongst the top handful with no clear no. 1.

At the moment we are realistically looking at finishing tenth, is there an advantage if we slide back down to pick 6 or 7 and potentially pick up a no. 1 pick standard player?

You're spot on mate, for Vic Metro he was used off half back and half forward. Wasn't consistent enough to break into Metro's midfield rotation. Wasn't until late in the TAC Cup season that he was moved into the midfield for the Knights.
At the time just by watching the U/18 championships, I wanted the Bulldogs to draft Aish if Billings was off the board for the Dogs.

Cheers.

I recall listening to an interview with your talent scout & he said he came across Bont at school footy, as such, called his crew & said he'd found a taller version of Libba that won his own footy & had vice like hands in tight. Pretty good description I reckon.

I've heard this year is very even amongst the top handful with no clear no. 1.

At the moment we are realistically looking at finishing tenth, is there an advantage if we slide back down to pick 6 or 7 and potentially pick up a no. 1 pick standard player?

Imo there are 2 stand outs, luggage & brodie. One is classy and one is a bull.

Throw a blanket over the next 10-12.

Imo there are 2 stand outs, luggage & brodie. One is classy and one is a bull.

Throw a blanket over the next 10-12.

So where would Brodie have gone in last year's draft?
Where would one of the next 10-12 have gone in last year's draft?

Interesting. I would have had Payne as one of the first gone earlier in the year until he lifted in VFL. He has seemingly played some good VFL games. Shows how injuries can hold back perceptions of young kids.

Also shows how the game has changed. He was picked as an undersizer really. Now they are the types of defenders, and even some forwards, that you want due to mobility. And that's Hughie's weakness.

typo. meant no under 6 footers
Funnily enough, I'd LOVE Andy McGrath (179cm), but I reckon he'll go before our pick, as he did in the PD.

Have we got Scrimshaws stats?
Only played one TAC Cup game (last week against a poor Gippsland side), but;

- 27 possessions (52% eff.)
- 8 handball receives
- 9 marks (3 contested)
- 4 tackles

And at the Champs;

vs Vic Country (1st game for 2016)
- 15 possessions (80% eff.)
- 1 mark
- 7 tackles
- 1 clearance