Draft Needs

• Thread starter Thread starter dajesmac

Pretty good effort DeeWong.

The Bombers need midfield class more than anything but yes, it would be preferable if we had another quality inside type. Grigg would seem to fit the bill, based on my non-exhaustive scouting. Greene probably better but probably gone?

Thanks. :thumbsu:

I personally think that Toby Greene will be unlikely to last to pick 19. He had a mighty impressive carnival and is expected to be one of the 11 giants picked in the first 14. However, their are often a couple of unexpected draftees who slide (like Atley did last year)

I guess your right. Your backline is aging so adding a defender is probably more sensible then my previous proposal. In saying that, you are getting Jed Bews via F/S so I think that with your first pick, you would go for a tall defender to replace Matty Scarlett. Ben Darrou or Brody Mihocek are both quality options.

Yep, the youngest regular member of our defence is Taylor, and he'll be 26 next year, so that is a good reminder of which area of the ground we need to re-stock. Albeit we've got some good younger players coming through, Taylor Hunt should become a regular this year and Guthrie is promising and there's Smedts as well (Bews is probably a long term prospect because of his slender build) but one or two more, and definitely another tall-ish defender would be needed. Like both of the options you mentioned.

Carlton - I think its pretty obvious they are lacking a key forward. Jackson Paine certainly fits the description.
Even though we cut Austin and O'hAilpin, we have 17 players on the list who are taller than 190 cms. With just Curnow and Mclean outside of our best 22, we need another inside mid and hard nut like Robinson. Won't go tall unless all the good mids are gone.

You have described Koby Stevens.

For mids, the qualities we're probably after are:
- pace
- run and carry
- quality footskills.

You just described Gaff, although you probably need 3 outside type midfielders and only 1 true inside mid like Priddis or Stevens in the side. I think another wingman to maybe upgrade on Rosa will be a go, and im sure the eagles are looking for a replacment for Ebert after not expecting him to go.

Yep spot on, although maybe a bit more flair than Gaff to replace Embley.

Hill may be our Ebert replacement on the HFF.

Yep spot on, although maybe a bit more flair than Gaff to replace Embley.

Hill may be our Ebert replacement on the HFF.

You would think Eagles will seriously look at Nelson at 23 or 28, they may also look at a utility like Lockyer who could be a full back, 3rd tall forward, 3rd tall back replacing Schofield who than fills Glass's position. I also see Lockyer as a capable midfielder/wingman similar to Embley or Fyfe.

Nah - you need all of your mids to be good on the inside, eg. Selwood, Corey, Ling, Bartel.

Priority 1 (pick 23): KPD (no specific order) - Jordan Lockyer, Fraser McInness OR Nathan Blee. Preference is Lockyer or Blee to be Glass's replacement in the soonish future

Priority 2 (pick 28): GUT RUNNING, SKILLFUL MID/DEF - Get Brad McKenzie or Sam Docherty if they are there. If not Josh Tynan :thumbsu:

Priroty 3: (pick 63) ADAPTABLE MIDFIELDER - Steven Verrier (line breaking utility) Alex Woodward (support role for Priddis) Lee Spurr (late bloomer, will be 25 next year - READY TO GO!!!)

Pritorty 4: (pick 81) LUKE BLACKWELL. Deserving of another AFL listing opportunity. Maybe if he hasnt been drafted here we could re-list Jordan Jones. A real shock de-listing for me. He deserved a spot on that senior list more than Dalziell for starters

I would say our priorities in order are:

1- Inside Mid, well publicised (also most of our younger mids that we are currently developing are outside).

2- Small crumbing forward in the Eddie Betts mould would be great. We really lack a real crumber that hits the scoreboard fairly consistently. Davey doesn't kick enough goals, Reimers is inconsistent and Jetta has his moments but I think is better suited in the midfield.

3- Medium, marking forward with some x-factor, Stevie J mould would be great. Our smaller forwards don't seem to be too good in the air.

4- Outside, midfielder with good skills. We have quite a few already in development that's why I don't think its as important right now.

5- Rookie Ruckmen, preferable mature age.

Don't Need: Rucks on the main list (with Daniher to come and Hille/Ryder/Bellchamber, there's no point), Key Position Players, Third Talls.

Priority 1 (pick 23): KPD (no specific order) - Jordan Lockyer, Fraser McInness OR Nathan Blee. Preference is Lockyer or Blee to be Glass's replacement in the soonish future

Priority 2 (pick 28): GUT RUNNING, SKILLFUL MID/DEF - Get Brad McKenzie or Sam Docherty if they are there. If not Josh Tynan :thumbsu:

Priroty 3: (pick 63) ADAPTABLE MIDFIELDER - Steven Verrier (line breaking utility) Alex Woodward (support role for Priddis) Lee Spurr (late bloomer, will be 25 next year - READY TO GO!!!)

Pritorty 4: (pick 81) LUKE BLACKWELL. Deserving of another AFL listing opportunity. Maybe if he hasnt been drafted here we could re-list Jordan Jones. A real shock de-listing for me. He deserved a spot on that senior list more than Dalziell for starters

Eagles will only use pick 28 and 33. I think Lockyer, Nelson and Mcinness if available are certainly going to be good chances to go to the eagles. Ashton hams will be put onto the senior list through pick 63 and 81 will not be used.

Wouldnt surprise me to see them take a risk with Murray Newman.

You would think Eagles will seriously look at Nelson at 23 or 28, they may also look at a utility like Lockyer who could be a full back, 3rd tall forward, 3rd tall back replacing Schofield who than fills Glass's position. I also see Lockyer as a capable midfielder/wingman similar to Embley or Fyfe.
I am a fan of Nelson and would be very happy if we pick him up, but what many people do not realise is that he will not play that inside role for a while.

Reckon he will transition between HFF and an outside link up role like Gaff.

Just does not have the size/strength yet to play that inside game at AFL level and IMO it will take a couple of years.

I am a fan of Nelson and would be very happy if we pick him up, but what many people do not realise is that he will not play that inside role for a while.

Reckon he will transition between HFF and an outside link up role like Gaff.

Just does not have the size/strength yet to play that inside game at AFL level and IMO it will take a couple of years.

Yeah your right, but im not sure you need that inside player anyway. I dont think he will play much in his first year. He use to be more of a wingman through 16's but his clearance, inside work makes it hard not to play him there. May even start as a small forward pocket.

I reckon in that respect he would be a good pickup for us.

I think he could excel in the role we have attempted to force Masten to play.

In fact, I think he is exactly the player WC fans hope Masten could be.

Despite his good late 2011 form, Masten has been a serious disappointment and wonder if its nepotism more than anything else that sees him keep getting chances.

I say draft Nelson, hes a more well rounded prospect and the competition for spots cannot hurt. Also insurance against the loss of a small mid in Masten or Gaff.

No they don't. And certainly not this year (for Petrie anyway).

Fingers crossed there is no rush and we can still get 3-4 years out of Drew. By then who knows where Hansen, Daw, Tarrant, Pedersen and Black will be.

But we went OK without Petrie in 2010 it must be said. Right now, forming a more solid defense and adding some polish to our midfield are more pressing concerns. Our forward line simply needs to improve its accuracy.

Didn't Edwards have the best accuracy in the game this year? How do you clowns expect the club to move forward when you can't even acknowledge that Lindsay Thomas cost games and is a major liability.

I doubt that a supporter with an opinion on BigFooty is holding the club back from progressing.

I would say our priorities in order are:

1- Inside Mid, well publicised (also most of our younger mids that we are currently developing are outside).

2- Small crumbing forward in the Eddie Betts mould would be great. We really lack a real crumber that hits the scoreboard fairly consistently. Davey doesn't kick enough goals, Reimers is inconsistent and Jetta has his moments but I think is better suited in the midfield.
Agree, absolutely the two spots where a kid drafted could play & improve the seniors early next year.

Disagree on the medium forwards - Crameri ensconced, Steinberg coming through, and Reimers there as well, not a huge weakness.

Contrary to your post, I think there's a fair hole for talls. Given all of Daniher, Still, Neagle, TSlatts have gone in the past 2 years to be replaced by Carlisle & Davis; there's very little depth. Simple maths says we're one or two short and simple logic says we need that depth given none of Hooker, Pears, Fletcher or Hurley have played a full season in a while and Fletcher's 94.

I would say Essendon's needs are, in order,
1 really good mid;
2 small forward;
3 prospect tall/s

and a few other bits and pieces (probably an outside mid, prospect ruck, small back maybe).

Richmond - Their forward line and midfield is already mighty impressive. However, I do believe that their backline is expendable. Rance and McGuane seem to play their best footy as third talls. Michael Talia will be a handy addition.

Rance is better than many think, and it's common for many young KPD to play third tall and yet develop (not to mention All-Australian backs just quietly). It's interesting about the defensive situation. TheGeneral stated that Carlton don't need a tall, one of the reasons given was the fact that they have 17 190cm+ players. Well Richmond has 17 (I think) as well (excluding Westhoff, a rookie who I think is being delisted? Can't remember).

So we've got as KPD: McGuane, Moore, Rance, Thursfield, Post, Astbury, Gourdis and Grimes. Moore is 27. McGuane seems a bad kick. Rance is quality. Thursfield is on the out. Gourdis is a potato. So it seems it's up to Astbury, Post and Grimes to fill those last two spots. Part of me says a Talia would provide insurance, the other part says drafting a young tall doesn't change the situation of having a very green backline, and that Richmond should draft best available, and still need to add to a midfield that still contains Edwards, Jackson and on occasions White. As usual, those middling picks are tough.

What Essendon needs probably wont be available at 19. Most important is a mid who can work on the inside and has break away speed. Judd, Murphy or Shuey clones. Obviously Caddy is seen as such. The bonus with him is that he is good overhead and can go forward.

Live wire goal kicking forward. Betts, Milne or even La Cras clone.

Project tall who may allow us to trade a tall at the end of next year.

My dream would be:

#19 Greene/Waldhunter/Ross

#31 Manson

#59 Turner

We get the midfield grunt from first pick and then heaps of goal kicking from the next two. Though Manson is 195 he has enough pace to cause mayhem up forward kicking plenty of goals off scraps. He will do even better if he plays with a Hurley type player who will attract the opposition's gorilla defender.

What Essendon needs probably wont be available at 19. Most important is a mid who can work on the inside and has break away speed. Judd, Murphy or Shuey clones. Obviously Caddy is seen as such. The bonus with him is that he is good overhead and can go forward.

Live wire goal kicking forward. Betts, Milne or even La Cras clone.

Project tall who may allow us to trade a tall at the end of next year.

My dream would be:

#19 Greene/Waldhunter/Ross

#31 Manson

#59 Turner

We get the midfield grunt from first pick and then heaps of goal kicking from the next two. Though Manson is 195 he has enough pace to cause mayhem up forward kicking plenty of goals off scraps. He will do even better if he plays with a Hurley type player who will attract the opposition's gorilla defender.

Dont really rate any of them. Id take Greene with pick 19 though.

Waldhunter dont like or rate at all

Ross not worth anythink near pick 19

I would be aiming for a Grigg, Mckenzie and Markworth is a big chance to go to Essendon. Kavanagh may also slide.

You couldn't work out that I was indirectly referring to Thomas in particular?

Drew Petrie also missed a shitload of gimme goals too. Even Boomer did. Plenty of room for improvement from everyone.

A key defender and a player who brings pace and skills in the forward line and midfield would be our main priorities.
Behind that, another tall forward and a project ruckman would be the next priorities.

I think Lockyer and Newman would be good for the main priorities, possibly supplemented for the latter in the rookie draft with someone like Gilligan.
Lockyer could also possibly be developed as a key forward, or we could take a punt on Manson. Sandilands would be an option for the rookie list but I suspect he will be taken before we will have a chance.

Eagles will only use pick 28 and 33. I think Lockyer, Nelson and Mcinness if available are certainly going to be good chances to go to the eagles. Ashton hams will be put onto the senior list through pick 63 and 81 will not be used.

Wouldnt surprise me to see them take a risk with Murray Newman.

Rumours arose today that we are considering delisting Ryan Neates and re-rookeing him. Hams will be upgraded with 81, 63 will be used.