Draft Profiles - Let's get some info.

Might as well look forward. Rightly or wrongly, happily or unhappily, we're going to end up with Picks 1 and 2.

My knowledge is only limited, but here are the names I've heard being bandied around in the mix for the top few.

Scully
Morabito
Trengrove
Butcher
Rohan
Lucas
Stevens

Feel free to add other names if you feel there are others worth mentioning for those first couple of picks, and let's see what we can find out.

I think there are a few, myself very much included, who could do with a bit of a guide on the top few. We've heard lots about Scully, but what specifically will he bring? Why has Butcher falling out of the running? What was it about Trengrove's carnival that has put his name up there, only slightly behind Scully?

Spill.

I haven't paid as much attention to this draft in comparison to others, mainly because there is not as much talent on show(imo the second best pick probably being Trengove would be on a talent level similar, but probably lower than Sidebottom in last year draft, he would have been taken by adelaide at as the highest he could go)

Scully - Athletically built midfielder, average height, average weight/athletic, has killer vision and works incredibly well in tight, can also play outside at a really good level, but not as highly as others would claim, good mix though, can be expected to be a goal a game player from the midfield, gut runs and has extremely good endurance, can pin pass a 50m pass of either foot on the run, average to good pace, pretty much the complete modern day midfielder, Apparently good off the field as well, doesn't drink, trains every day etc.
Comparison - Simon Black
Prediction - #1

Morabito - Strongly built outside midfielder, tall midfielder, boy in a mans body, extremely fast and gets away from his man with easy, can take a strong mark, terrible foot skills on the run but is good by hand, line breaker, can be summed up by the words X-factor.
Comparison - David Rodan
Prediction - top 5

Trengrove(TRENGOVE!) - Strongly built inside midfielder, medium height, good build but could be developed more, a quite player who goes about his work, imo not a star, but gets a lot of the ball and is generally smart with it, good in the clearances, good skills but not fantastic, can get ball outside, but is better in the inside, average pace.
Comparison - Jarrad Mcveigh/Dane Swan
Prediction - top 5

Butcher - Tall forward, he has a build to be expected of someone his height/age, Very tall, 198cm+, Extremely athletic for someone his size as well, presents well on the lead, hard to beat because of his size, capable of tearing a game apart in a short time, can take an ok contested mark. Very big ego off the field apparently.
Comparison - Fevola
Prediction - top 5

Rohan - Fanta pants, small forward pocket with potential to go into the midfield, average build, will test extremely well at DC, should be top 10 for pace, repeats, agility and vertical leap/running leap, has a lot of x factor and Cameron Ling-esque hair, could see him running off a wing and Blease off the other kicking it to Bate with Cheney in the backline, he can kick a goal and breaks lines. Very very impressive at the championships, but has not stood out in what is an extremely potent Geelong team this year.
Comparison - A consistent Dale Thomas
Prediction - Difficult but 5-10 after DC, could even go higher)

Lucas - Medium outside midfielder, rated him last year but has slid a lot since, apparently terrible WA colts form and his championships weren't fantastic, can find a lot of the ball, and use it extremely well, but is what I consider to be a soft outside player, can play in the centre, but does not look entirely composed doing it, pretty good pace and endurance.
Comparison - our Morton
Prediction - A bad DC will mean a big slide, around 10ish, would've struggled to been picked after Swift(20+) last year.

Crichton - Lightly built outside midfielder, because he's from tassie he doesn't get as much recognition as he deserves, built like a twig with average height, has extremely good pace and a mean defensive side, can get a lot of the ball and breaks lines with almost exceptional skills, Excellent white blond mullet as well.
Comparison - Sam Blease(if anyone's seen his tapes)/ Danyle Pearce
Prediction - A good DC will see him top 10

Stevens - Athletically built midfielder, medium height, great pace, decent skills, havn't really paid much attention to him/ hasn't really stood out to me - take my opinion with a grain of salt, others who have rated him, have him much higher.
Comparison - ? Maybe Brad Sewell
Prediction - A lot have him high up, 5-15

Panos - Strongly built tall forward, Sa boy, probably the best key forward of the carnival, nothing special athletically but has some talent, excellent shot on goal, does what a key forward should without being a standout at that position, can take a contested grab, has a good build and should be able to become a monster after a few years in the gym
Comparison - Daniel Bradshaw
Prediction - 5-15

Tapscott - Medium forward, Sa boy, strongly built, showed enough at the carnival for me to rate him, good evasiveness, excellent defensive pressure, probably doesn't have enough of a tank to ever become a fulltime midfielder but would be able to pinch hit, good skills very good mark and presents well on the lead, I don't think he will perform very well at DC though.
Comparison - Porplyzia/Medhurst
Prediction - top 20

Griffiths - Tall forward, injured all of this year but was a good player for the knights last year, continuing that form he would be a top 5 selection, tall strongly built forward, kicking is erratic but presents well.
Comparison - Warren Tredrea style of play, probably not as talented.
Prediction - top 15

Fitzpatrick - Slightly built ruckman, is an absolute beanpole and as such is soft as butter, tap skills are ok, athletically is good for a big man, great tank, can go forward for a goal, ok mark, doesn't rack up huge numbers, but has the potential to, decent skills when under no pressure, A good prospect imo(if he can gain weight...).
Comparison - Similar to Leuenberger/Vickery if anyones seen them play, otherwise Josh Fraser
Prediction - top 20, more likely towards the middle though

Vardy - Vic country ruckman, Tall and well built, will be a monster in time, very good tap skills and has been the standout ruck this year for mine, gets a bit of the ball around the ground and can go forward, uses his body well for a big guy, not athletic but not a plodder, pretty good skills for a big man.
Comparison - Darren Jolly
Prediction - Will probably surprise a few to be top 15, possibly top 10

Grimes - Mark 2, not as good as his brother but will interest a few, medium defender/ HBF, probably won't go into the middle but could be a rebound player, decent build, decent mark, decent skills, nothing really stand out about him though.
Comparison - Plays a similar game to Sam Fisher
Prediction - Could be top 30 but more likely to be top 50

Carey - Solid inside midfielder, medium height, sa boy, just like Trengove in style, doesn't get as big numbers though, solid inside midfielder who can kick a goal, good inside, good vision and body use, decent skills, not great pace but good endurance.
Comparison - Marc Murphy
Prediction - top 20

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/82008/default.aspx

Draft watch: the 16 most likely

John Butcher (Vic Country/Gippsland Power)
Still looms as the most likely tall to be taken first in this year's draft. Booted five goals in his last outing for Gippsland Power and although he is now unlikely to be the first player selected in the NAB AFL Draft, he is still expected to go top five.

Ben Cunnington (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)
Well and truly a top 10 selection now, he is viewed by some recruiters as being a top-eight pick. Best on ground for the Falcons last week against North Ballarat Rebels. A versatile type, he is fearless in his attack on the footy.
Jordan Gysberts (Vic Metro/Eastern Ranges)
Still in the first round mix and at this stage looms as a 12 to 16 selection, despite missing out on All-Australian U18 honours. His versatility has seen him compared to Melbourne young gun Jack Grimes.
Lewis Jetta (Western Australia/Swan Districts)
The 20-year-old is likely to be the first mature-age player drafted. The small forward kicked three goals for the Western Australian state team this year and had 24 touches for Swan Districts last round.
Kane Lucas (Western Australia/East Fremantle)
Although there have been some mixed views on where exactly he sits in the draft pool, it would surprise at this point if he was not taken in the top 12. He has been in good form since winning All-Australian selection at the under-18 champs.
Dustin Martin (Vic Country/Bendigo Pioneers)
The ball-winner shone for Bendigo last weekend, kicking three goals. He was his side's best in a losing team and continues to impress.
Andrew Moore (Vic Metro/Eastern Ranges)
Like Gysberts, the forward remains right in contention despite playing much of his football with Yarra Valley Grammar. Moore has been likened to Sydney Swans premiership player Ryan O'Keefe and is the younger brother of Tiger defender Kel.
Anthony Morabito (Western Australia/Peel Thunder)
The stocks of the run-and-carry dasher remain high and he now looms as a top three selection. There has even been speculation he could be No.1 if a Western Australian club has the first pick.
Matthew Panos (South Australia/Norwood)
On the back of his excellent under-18 champs, when he kicked 14 goals (including five in one outing), the All-Australian full-forward is still right in the mix, especially with few tall forwards available.
Gary Rohan (Vic Country/Geelong Falcons)
Plenty are excited by Rohan and it's easy to see why. He has transformed from a full-back with country club Cobden this time last year to a high-leaping half-forward who is now viewed as a top-10 selection.
Tom Scully (Vic Metro/Dandenong Stingrays)
At this stage, it would be a major surprise if Scully's was not the first name called out in this year's draft. He is an outstanding midfielder, with one recruiter likening his running ability and engine to West Coast great and now Tiger Ben Cousins
Koby Stevens (Vic Country/Gippsland Power)
The midfielder/flanker has been regarded as a "footballer's footballer" and looms as a 9-13 pick at this stage.
Daniel Talia (Vic Metro/Calder Cannons)
Named at centre half-back in this year's All-Australian team, Talia has come right into the equation due to his ability to fill a key position at either end of the ground. He is the grandson of 1954 Footscray premiership ruckman Harvey Stevens.
Luke Tapscott (South Australia/North Adelaide)
The powerful midfielder/forward has such a mature body for his age that one recruiter believes he would be ready to go for round one next year. His shape has also been compared to the great Leigh Matthews. One of the best kicks in the mix.
Jack Trengove (South Australia/Sturt)
The midfielder/forward remains one of the most sought after players in the country. Touted as a potential No.1, but now appears more likely to be a top-three pick. Has played four senior matches for Sturt since returning from the under-18 champs.
Nathan Vardy (Vic Country/Gippsland Power)
Height and the ability to play forward makes the 198cm tall a likely first-round pick. Among Gippsland's best players in its most recent match against Oakleigh Chargers.

Top write up Beats. I jumped off Butcher earlier in the year but without being able to see much in QLD and reading snippets like that I'm warming back up to him. I'm a sucker for player comparisons too and he ends up like a Fev then it would be a great cobination with Watts

I haven't paid as much attention to this draft in comparison to others, mainly because there is not as much talent on show(imo the second best pick probably being Trengove would be on a talent level similar, but probably lower than Sidebottom in last year draft, he would have been taken by adelaide at as the highest he could go)

Morabito - Strongly built outside midfielder, tall midfielder, boy in a mans body, extremely fast and gets away from his man with easy, can take a strong mark, terrible foot skills on the run but is good by hand, line breaker, can be summed up by the words X-factor.
Comparison - David Rodan
Prediction - top 5

Great post Beats.

"Terrible foot skills on the run" scares me. A linebreaking mid would be great, but will be so damn frustrating for all if he can't deliver inside 50 properly.

Looks to be a pretty weak draft if pick 2-3 is equivalent in potential to Sidebottom. Despite the potential baggage, Butcher may well be worth the gamble if that is the strength of the midfield candidates after Scully.

Despite the potential baggage, Butcher may well be worth the gamble if that is the strength of the midfield candidates after Scully.
Exactly what I think now mate. Plus I read that Blease would've been a top 3 pick this year if he was in the mix, so I think with him and Strauss to come in and with Grimes moving into the midfield we'll be OK for mids.

Some useful info here, I doubt we would be privy to it but the psychological evaluations would also be interesting to hear come draft time. As far as Butcher goes is it fair to say he is his biggest fan? 198 cm is a big lad, how would he fair with a young up coming team and possibly playing 2nd fiddle to Watts up forward? His upside sounds pretty damn good.

ohan - Fanta pants, small forward pocket with potential to go into the midfield, average build, will test extremely well at DC, should be top 10 for pace, repeats, agility and vertical leap/running leap, has a lot of x factor and Cameron Ling-esque hair, could see him running off a wing and Blease off the other kicking it to Bate with Cheney in the backline, he can kick a goal and breaks lines. Very very impressive at the championships, but has not stood out in what is an extremely potent Geelong team this year.
Comparison - A consistent Dale Thomas
Prediction - Difficult but 5-10 after DC, could even go higher)

ding ding we have a winner
Imagine a whole team of rangas, would be something truly awsome to behold

Looks to be a pretty weak draft if pick 2-3 is equivalent in potential to Sidebottom.

That's cause it's wrong. Trengove would easily be the equal of Hamish Hartlett last year.

He's a footballer's footballer. He's no Usain Bolt but like DalSanto and Pendlebury, no one can catch them. And IMO he's a touch quicker then them.
Playing SANFL and doing really well.

Class player. Dream team Scully and Trengove.

Butchers got nice hands, reads it well, positions himself well so with preseasons he will do well in the AFL. Iffy goal kicker. Don't think he'll disappoint.

Suprised to quite regularly read how good Scully is and a lock for pick #1, and then, that should a WA side get the top pick they won't pick him. I don't believe that. West Coast took a man by the name of Chris Judd who turned out alright for them while he was there.

I think it's down to Scully, Trengove and Butcher.

I would be inclined to go with Scully and Butcher at the moment, as we can improve the two areas which require the most attention, and in doing so, attain two top prospects in their associated positions. In saying that, I would be happy with the Trengove/Scully combination too.

Morabito is out because of his footskills, as I couldn't bear for Melbourne to add another player with questionable kicking.

EDIT: By the way, great write up Beats ;)

Say if we do get picks 1&2, does anybody know the order we get the rest of the picks in the draft?

2 possibilities at this stage I would think, presuming we lose to North on the weekend.

Freo winning only 4 games
Pick 1,2,19,35,51,67,83

Freo winning 5 or more games
1,2,18,34,50, 66, 82

Someone feel free to correct me if I am wrong but I think that is how it would go. As stated in other threads would be nice if we could trade our way to a couple more picks in the 1st and 2nd rounds

[FONT=&quot]Hey guys, first time poster on this board but long time reader and Melbourne fan. I find it very interesting that they are describing this draft to be so limited as I think there is a lot of undiscovered talent out there. The APS system has produced many stars over the last few years including Judd, Ball, Goddard to name a few and has seen many first year players play a major role at AFL level in their first year out of school, Cyril Rioli and Jack Ziebell most recently. Last years number 1 Jack Watts and most probable next years Tom Scully along with recently debuted Dan Hannebery have all being running around for their schools this year. From seeing a number of games including when the above mentioned have played and although they have played well, they haven’t exactly set the world on fire as others have had the same if not greater influence on the game. Why is it that Tom Scully is rated so highly when every week other boys are matching him in school football? I think Draft camp is very important this year and particularly the last few rounds of TAC now that school football is finished.[/FONT]

I think we will get pick 2 and use it on
Morabito, we have players that do Trengoves
role.

We are going to have Blease and Strauss add
some pace into our side next year.

Morabito has is going to be one hell of a player.

Butcher wont amount to much, quote me on that,
he is tall - his attitute suits dominating junior
football, but it wont do him any good against
the best of the best, he will fail.

However, our main focus should be ending 2009
with a couple more wins on the board, build
some confidence going into 2010, the boys
deserve it after a tough year.

Just having watched a couple of Morabito videos on YT, his kicking is a real worry.

Great dash no doubt, and knows how to find the ball, but continually missing targets and a tendency to kick the ball way too high. I'm off his bandwagon for the time being.

If MFC loses 3 of the 4. Beats Freo.

Freo winning only 4 games:
MFC picks 1,3,20,36,52,68
Freo winning 5 games or more:
MFC picks 1,2,18,34,50,66

Spot on Professor. Forgot about the fact we may not finish last. There are 3 possibilities then as we could still beat freo and finish last, though that is not the most likely scenario. However, a full strength St Kilda in round 22 could push us into last place.

Just having watched a couple of Morabito videos on YT, his kicking is a real worry.

Great dash no doubt, and knows how to find the ball, but continually missing targets and a tendency to kick the ball way too high. I'm off his bandwagon for the time being.

I agree BC. Beats did a great write up, however his comparison to Rodan was interesting. Probably play in a similar style, however Morabito is about a foot bigger (not exactly to scale :)) He has been compared to Adam Goodes by a lot of recruiters. However we need to stick to our policy of recruiting blokes who can kick the football. This years crop we recruited and most of last years for that matter are really good with the ball in hand. I think we need to continue along this theme. Look at the best players at the saints, Geelong and the doggies. Other than Daniel Cross name another player for me who is not a gun by foot.

For what its worth Trengrove has been playing well in the SANFL. Think he is a boy who could play straight away for us next year. To me I see similarities to Zeibell and Hartlett from last years draft.

I say take the best two players with the picks we have, whether that be picks 1,2 or 1,3.
So Scully and who?
Personally Butcher would be handy , Jurrah would benefit as would Watts , in just knowing its not tall on them. But saying that you need some players to kick to them, either way i think we need at least one more KPP . If thats Butcher so be it, if its someone from 2nd or 3rd rounds so be it. Either way despite our bounty of key backs i think we are down on quality talls in the front. If Panos survives till round 2, perhaps him.And definately another ruckman,(if we do get rid of either PJ or Spencer!) either rookie or late pick.

Draft Profiles - Let's get some info.