Mega Thread Draft Talk Part 1

Re: drafting

I would be keen on Gumbleton at the right price. Played well in the VFL on the weekend.

Would give us surplus KPF stocks which is what you want.

If his body did finally come good it would be an absolute steal as at 200cm with his tank he is one of the toughest matchups i would think.

Would happily give up someone like Daniel Connors/Daniel Jackson or our second round pick.

Before people jump up and down regarding the second round pick remember how crap this draft is and how good Gumbleton could be. Pick 2 in the 06 super draft.

I would be keen on Gumbleton at the right price. Played well in the VFL on the weekend.

Would give us surplus KPF stocks which is what you want.

If his body did finally come good it would be an absolute steal as at 200cm with his tank he is one of the toughest matchups i would think.

Would happily give up someone like Daniel Connors/Daniel Jackson or our second round pick.

Before people jump up and down regarding the second round pick remember how crap this draft is and how good Gumbleton could be. Pick 2 in the 06 super draft.

I would be more then willing to give him or Hansen fresh starts. They are both talented just something has not quite clicked.

I've been saying for a couple of years gumby needs a fresh start and approach. Injuries have cut him down badly and maybe his body is not built for AFL but I firmly believe that being stuck in the same environment which would be depressing can have a substantial mental impact which means he isn't doing his recovery as completely or something but a new club and environment could really be a positive

Agree but the only thing that might make this different is that 17 kids have already been taken out by GWS last year. So maybe pick 14 is pick 31.

I think it was 10 kids. It was the same last year but I wouldn't mind a darling, atley, Harper, Guthrie, brodie smith or Isaac smith

the thing i see with this year is that because it is seen as a weak draft, the clubs with higher picks will be going for more riskier players who have high upside but are no certainty to reach their potential. i think if we get a really solid 10 year player who can either win the hard ball in the middle or play on a HFF we will have done well, its not just about superstars, we need good players with good skills who have a footy brain.

With Scully, Ward, Palmer, Coniglio, Wingard (top 3 picks) you would think that GWS are going to need to take a couple of KPP's before our pick. This might mean that some of these big guys come higher up the order than what they otherwise would and one of the highly rated mids like Kavanagh slips to us. This is going to be a very interesting draft imo.

I think people chasing KPP and midfielders in this draft at 14 are reaching, not knowing their limitations and taking short cuts for a warm fuzzy feeling.

The safe smart quality, list booster pick is Docherty otherwise a spec on the tassie full f for mine.

Quite simple this draft , apart from Morris everything else is speculative 2nd round onwards so let FJ do their work

Tom Downie
Club: North Ballarat Rebels
Height: 205 cm
Weight: 95 kg

"Represented Australia in the World Under-17 Basketball Championships in Germany 2010 before playing football for St Patricks College Ballarat this year, then joining the Rebels at the end of the season for two matches, averaging 13 disposals, showing outstanding natural talent."

Tom Downie

"Represented Australia in the World Under-17 Basketball Championships in Germany 2010 before playing football for St Patricks College Ballarat this year, then joining the Rebels at the end of the season for two matches, averaging 13 disposals, showing outstanding natural talent."

Watched him before and he is extremely unco. A bit like gus in that way, though there was a little bit that suggested he could get on a list.

Looking at the Ruckmen who do you pick and why? I think Leif Cope deserves a chance as a rookie pick.

Links on Cope:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...5/default.aspx

http://rangesfc.matchvision.com.au/player/leif_cope

Video of Cope:

http://lon-cdn220-is-1.se.bptvpd.ngc...t/cope_1Mb.mp4

2011 NAB AFL Draft Combine - National
Ruckmen

Victoria:
Jackson Coleman

Club: Sandringham Dragons
Height: 196 cm
Weight: 90 kg
"Left-footed ruckman/tall forward who is strong overhead and an accurate kick for goal. Represented Australia at under-19 level in the Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in 2010 but focused on AFL this season with encouraging results. He has averaged 14 disposals, seven marks and has kicked 34 goals this year for the Dragons."

Leif Cope
Club: Eastern Ranges
Height: 203 cm
Weight: 98 kg
"Athletic ruckman who is still developing. He shows good ability below the knees and has averaged 11.4 disposals, four marks and three clearances with the Rangers this year."

Tom Downie

Todd Elton
Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Height: 197 cm
Weight: 92 kg
"Part of the 14th intake into the AIS/AFL Academy. He represented VIC Country at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships playing in all five games. He has the ability to gather the ball below his knees very well and dispose effectively. He shows great character and leadership on the field, averaging 12.6 disposals and six marks for the Stingrays this year."

Jay Lever
Club: Geelong Falcons
Height: 200 cm
Weight: 86 kg
"Represented Vic Country at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships playing in all five games and averaging 10 hit-outs. His strengths include his kicking ability, speed and agility, positioning, ability to play a required role, and marking when in front or on a lead. He has averaged 12.2 disposals and four marks for the Falcons."

Billy Longer
Club: Northern Knights
Height: 202 cm
Weight: 96 kg?
"All Australian Under-18 ruckman who is mobile and excels at stoppages. He can go forward and be dangerous with his marking and speed off the mark. He has averaged 11.7 disposals and four marks with the Knights this year."

Fletcher Roberts
Height: 195 cm
Weight: 84 kg
"Tall athletic player who can play at both ends of the ground and in the ruck. He reads the play very well, has good skills and uses his body extremely well. He had 21 disposals and kicked three goals in his season best game against Gippsland on the weekend."

Callum Sinclair
Club: Port Melbourne
"Tall forward/ruckman who competes well in the air, is extremely mobile and reads the play well."

Cameron Tudor
Weight: 78 kg
"Shows good athletic ability in the ruck and marking contests which has certainly been a highlight. Works hard to play his role for the team and is very team oriented."

Western Australia:
Myles Bolger

Club: South Fremantle
Height: 201 cm
"Part of the 13th intake into the AIS/AFL Academy. He played for WA in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, averaging 17.4 hit outs a game. He is a very physical ruckman with a terrific work rate who has good overall understanding of the game."

Corey Gault
Club: Swan District
"Represented WA at the NAB AFL Under -8 Championships. He played in three games, averaging 10 hit-outs, after injury had restricted his availability. He is a naturally a very athletic player who is still developing his craft in the ruck."

Tasmania
Benjamin Brown

Club: Glenorchy
Height: 198 cm
Weight: 89 kg
"Represented Tasmania in three games at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. He averaged 11.7 hit outs and 3.3 clearances a game. Strong marking player with an impressive natural leap."

He does sound like a good prospect, I'm annoyed I missed last Sunday's game at VISY now. He played just before our Etihad game so I didn't go.

He played against the Chargers but Ballarat was knocked out of the finals, so I won't get a chance to look at him before the draft.

here's a write up of how he went in that game.

Tom Downie:
The ruck #47 was absolutely dominant early, and neither my record of the TAC website tells me who he is, so he's going to remain a mystery. Quality tapwork, couple of good marks around the ground, even set up one of the Rebels 1st qt goals with a clearing handball from on his knees in a pack. Faded almost completely later, not sure what happened there.

Deffinatley one to keep an eye on with interest.

Looking at the Ruckmen who do you pick and why? I think Leif Cope deserves a chance as a rookie pick.

Links on Cope:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...5/default.aspx

http://rangesfc.matchvision.com.au/player/leif_cope

Video of Cope:

http://lon-cdn220-is-1.se.bptvpd.ngc...t/cope_1Mb.mp4

2011 NAB AFL Draft Combine - National
Ruckmen

Victoria:
Jackson Coleman

Height: 196 cm
"Left-footed ruckman/tall forward who is strong overhead and an accurate kick for goal. Represented Australia at under-19 level in the Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in 2010 but focused on AFL this season with encouraging results. He has averaged 14 disposals, seven marks and has kicked 34 goals this year for the Dragons."

Leif Cope
Club: Eastern Ranges
Height: 203 cm
"Athletic ruckman who is still developing. He shows good ability below the knees and has averaged 11.4 disposals, four marks and three clearances with the Rangers this year."

Tom Downie

Todd Elton
Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Weight: 92 kg
"Part of the 14th intake into the AIS/AFL Academy. He represented VIC Country at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships playing in all five games. He has the ability to gather the ball below his knees very well and dispose effectively. He shows great character and leadership on the field, averaging 12.6 disposals and six marks for the Stingrays this year."

Jay Lever
Weight: 86 kg
"Represented Vic Country at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships playing in all five games and averaging 10 hit-outs. His strengths include his kicking ability, speed and agility, positioning, ability to play a required role, and marking when in front or on a lead. He has averaged 12.2 disposals and four marks for the Falcons."

Billy Longer
Club: Northern Knights
Height: 202 cm
Weight: 96 kg?
"All Australian Under-18 ruckman who is mobile and excels at stoppages. He can go forward and be dangerous with his marking and speed off the mark. He has averaged 11.7 disposals and four marks with the Knights this year."

Fletcher Roberts
"Tall athletic player who can play at both ends of the ground and in the ruck. He reads the play very well, has good skills and uses his body extremely well. He had 21 disposals and kicked three goals in his season best game against Gippsland on the weekend."

Callum Sinclair
Club: Port Melbourne
"Tall forward/ruckman who competes well in the air, is extremely mobile and reads the play well."

Cameron Tudor
Weight: 78 kg
"Shows good athletic ability in the ruck and marking contests which has certainly been a highlight. Works hard to play his role for the team and is very team oriented."

Western Australia:
Myles Bolger

Club: South Fremantle
Height: 201 cm
"Part of the 13th intake into the AIS/AFL Academy. He played for WA in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, averaging 17.4 hit outs a game. He is a very physical ruckman with a terrific work rate who has good overall understanding of the game."

Corey Gault
Club: Swan District
"Represented WA at the NAB AFL Under -8 Championships. He played in three games, averaging 10 hit-outs, after injury had restricted his availability. He is a naturally a very athletic player who is still developing his craft in the ruck."

Tasmania
Benjamin Brown

Club: Glenorchy
Height: 198 cm
Weight: 89 kg
"Represented Tasmania in three games at the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. He averaged 11.7 hit outs and 3.3 clearances a game. Strong marking player with an impressive natural leap."

all this is good but we need a ready made ruckman- not one that is going to take 3 years to develop

No. Someone referred to some talk on WA radio indicating that Freo were keen on Mitch Clark. Keen enough that they might be shopping Zac Clarke to make the Mitch Clark deal happen. If this is simply media knobs talking crap then I wouldn't be holding out hope of securing Zac. If there is actually some basis of truth to it, then perhaps there's a small chance of it happening. I wouldn't be getting too excited.

logic says the only reason fremantle will chase mitch clarke is they want a key position forward.
they have three talented ruckmen but they dont have a decent kpf.
with sandilands turning 30 clarke is their future they will do everything in their power to keep him. that would be plain old common sense and good list managment.

personally i dont think freo has a premiership list harvey thinks different and i reckon it will cause his downfall.

if they were honest they would say to themselves yep we need to find a couple of key forwards and in the not too distant future a quality key defender to replace the aging mcpharlin and grover. they also lack midfield depth and quality as was shown to be the case when injuries hit.
imo their better players are aging and their best is behind them.

to get m clarke freo will probably have to include a third party as i cant see pick 16 doing it for them. they will get a concession pick from gws for palmer.

if in their shoes id be useing pick 16 on the best tall forward available and chasing someone like gumbleton from essendon on the cheap.keeping 16 for a promising kid in the draft.

if it was up to me and i was to trade a player for early picks i would take a step backwards to take two forward and trade sandilands. at 30 his time is limited and he plays in one position where they do have cover.
they wont do this because harvey believes they have a window which i disagree with.

sandilands would fetch what on the open market.

I think it was 10 kids. It was the same last year but I wouldn't mind a darling, atley, Harper, Guthrie, brodie smith or Isaac smith

i actually thought it was 6. but 6 or 10 not all would be first rounders and especially if it was 17 there would be less.the 17 yr old would be a mini reflection of the draft.
also i dont think any draft in the last 5 yrs has dramatically dropped away before pick 50ish.
to me id like 3 or 4 picks inside 40 45 and make it a normal draft yr.

how we do it or go about achieving it i dunno. but picks 14, one in the mid twenties, 36, one in the low 40s and pick 54 would do me.
it would be the equivalent of a late first rounder, a mid to early third rounder, a late third rounder and mid to late fourth rounder. almost a normal draft.
use the psd pick and target a couple of mature players from minor leagues. we turn over 6 or 7 from the list proper and have almost a normal draft in a compromised yr.

people forget most of the good players are taken in the first 3 rounds compromised draft or not.

Got to be happy with that. If we did land Maric in the trade period and then got Kavanagh in the first round, I'd be open to looking at Downie with our second rounder

Im hoping we can do player/player trades. Keep our picks. Would imagine McKenzie is more realistic to be there. Maric maybe for Morton. Talk of GC wanting a mature body in exchange for Nicholls. Have u seen much of him Toady? Swap for Jackson/Morton? Other teams probably don't want our picks anyway.

AFL site has us taking either Brad McKenzie or Elliot Kavanagh with pick 14.

I always shiver when injury is mentioned. Just a hamstring complaint???

Western Jets midfielder Elliot Kavanagh would also fit the bill nicely. He's a tough competitor who was slowed by a serious hamstring complaint earlier in the year and didn't take part in the championships as a result. He showed he was on his way back to his best with 23 possessions against the Falcons late in the season. He can play inside and out and his addition would give the Tigers' onball brigade a potency and depth that would carry the club onto bigger and better things.

Lets just hope the kid can play, the Tiger mob will have a field day with that one! :D

Im hoping we can do player/player trades. Keep our picks. Would imagine McKenzie is more realistic to be there. Maric maybe for Morton. Talk of GC wanting a mature body in exchange for Nicholls. Have u seen much of him Toady? Swap for Jackson/Morton? Other teams probably don't want our picks anyway.
GC wont give Nicholls away for Jackson or morton